The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 31

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-21
Reviewid: 141163Chapter: 1
Funny / Cute

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-06-30
Reviewid: 89711Chapter: 1
Oooh that's good. Kind've symbolic of Hermione leaving her old life behind, and growing up. (yes, well done Captain Obvious, now will you get on and review the fic) Sweet and charming, very Hermione. I loved her dad reminding her to floss.

Reviewer: ihbvDate: 2004-06-29
Reviewid: 89392Chapter: 1
love it

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2004-05-12
Reviewid: 82387Chapter: 1
Wonderful story, b/c it captures so much more than just Hermione's first contact with the Hogwarts Express. Leaving your parents behind, being on your own, achieving something beyond what they did... it all leaves a bitter-sweet taste. Most of us go through those feelings, though usually at a much later stage in life than Hermione. But hey... she's always been precocious.

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78901Chapter: 1
I thought this story was sad. Hermione can never really be as close to her parents again, because she isn't part of the same world as they are.

Reviewer: MelodieDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78491Chapter: 1
"Not everything was as it seemed, and what was she going to trust, her eyes or a book?" Very funny, Hermione-ish line! :)

I don't usually read one-shot fics, but this one is really nice. I like Hermione's obvious wonder for the wizarding world and magic-- just like any other child her age would be. Her parents are also very supportive of her... They're loving and caring, and Hermione has a close relationship with them.

I think as of GoF, it's canon that Muggles can't go through the barrier at Platform 9 and 3/4.

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-02-16
Reviewid: 70929Chapter: 1
Bittersweet. It is a great story, very well written, lovely, but so sad. Really conjures up that day and the characters feelings.

Reviewer: LettaDate: 2003-10-07
Reviewid: 55703Chapter: 1
OMG. Sadness. Great story, but sad!

Reviewer: emDate: 2003-09-29
Reviewid: 54726Chapter: 1
i like it! Are you going to write anymore?

Reviewer: RachaelDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52831Chapter: 1
Awwwwww...

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-08-20
Reviewid: 48005Chapter: 1
::sob::

I loved the author's name: Felonius Waxmeister! So wizard-sounding!

This was an excellent piece, you know. Poor Hermione.

ta,
~TPR

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-08-14
Reviewid: 47052Chapter: 1
Very touching and bittersweet. Hermione really must have very understanding parents, considering how much and how often the magical world takes her away from them. I think you have a nice allusion to that in those final four words.

~Katinka

Reviewer: Madeline ElsterDate: 2003-08-11
Reviewid: 46560Chapter: 1
Wonderful! Very touching portrait of Hermione and her parents. I felt quite sorry for the Grangers, to be separated because Mr. and Mrs. Granger doesn't "have what it takes." This peice of prose I liked a lot:

"For one wild moment, she thought, If they canít come, I donít want to go either! She would turn around and go home with her parents, to her own room, and go to the Muggle school where--

Where she would be a freak for the rest of her life. It would be just like primary school, sitting in the dull, slow classes wanting something more. But this time knowing that there was something more for her to be."

A brief but poignant way of showing why Hermione wanted go to Hogwarts as much as she did. Good stuff! :)

Reviewer: Mikau A. KaiouseiDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45523Chapter: 1
*sniffle* WAAAAAH~!

That's the most beautiful thing I've ever read...

I love all of these coming-of-age Hermione stories. They're brilliant. I love Hermione, anyway. ^_^;; I may cry.

~Cheers!

ENCOUNTER '97!!

Reviewer: Darth YodaDate: 2003-07-21
Reviewid: 43135Chapter: 1
Cute story. That's all I have to say.

Reviewer: techmeyerDate: 2003-07-20
Reviewid: 43048Chapter: 1
Right here in your fic, I see Minerva McGonagall. I know that in a few hours we'll have the bossy confident Hermione asking if anyone has seen Neville's Toad and telling Ron and Harry that she's learned the coursebooks off by heart. I've never really parallelled the two characters, but I'm thinking of parallels now.

Reviewer: Sweety StephanieDate: 2003-07-18
Reviewid: 42654Chapter: 1
PLEASE WRITE MORE I LOVE THIS STORY SO MUCH!!!!

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-07-16
Reviewid: 42347Chapter: 1
Interesting plot idea. I loved it. Hermione finding out about the platform in a book is very Hermione-esque. Excellently written!

Reviewer: RoseyDate: 2003-07-16
Reviewid: 42341Chapter: 1
Simply beautiful. :)

Reviewer: BecDate: 2003-07-16
Reviewid: 42326Chapter: 1
This was wonderful. I love pre-Hogwarts Hermione stories. And I always love reading about her parents, because I feel so sorry for them (esp. after book 5 - they barely ever see Hermione)

I loved Hermione's awe at the magical world, and her sadness at having to leave her parents behind.

These lines were wonderful -

"Da-ad, Iím not going to hold your hand." Hermione rolled her eyes. She was, after all, practically eleven years old. Was her dad absolutely crazy?

This was her world. This was where sheíd belonged her whole life. This was why she felt so awkward in the real world, because it wasnít the real world, not for her.

If they couldnít see it with their own eyes, they would see it through hers."

Thanks for the lovely little story. :)

Reviewer: ElliottDate: 2003-07-16
Reviewid: 42291Chapter: 1
"And not only magic, but everyday magic, used without the blink of an eye. A place where there was so much magic, it was simply part of life, like electricity."

Yes. This is Hermione.

Thanks for telling the tale.

Reviewer: reedy70002Date: 2003-07-16
Reviewid: 42260Chapter: 1
This story is beautiful. I don't know if its because I am a mother or because I am a sentimental fool but I'm verklempt(talk amongst yourselves LOL)

Reviewer: SharonDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42217Chapter: 1
Lovely fic! I like this part...

"It wasnít fair! She wanted her parents to see her brand-new world, the scarlet steam-engine, and the lady with the sweets, floating them onto the trolley, and . . . and everything!"

I can imagine Hermione wanting to share things with her parents like that.

Well done!

Reviewer: BethDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42196Chapter: 1
Oh, that was so sad and sweet. and Heartbreaking in a way. Thanks.

Reviewer: CinnamonDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42147Chapter: 1
wow! awesome characterization, thats exactly how i pictured hermione. Thank you for a wonderful story.

Reviewer: DidiDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42132Chapter: 1
Oh, that's very good! Brilliant absolutly brilliant job! Very well written! Yesh yesh I do this for like EVERY review but I mean it I swear! :D

Reviewer: gfefeDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42130Chapter: 1
I absolutely LOVED this story! It was so sweet, yet sad. I would definitely want to read it over and over again! I really really love this story! It was very well-written and Hermione was definitely in character! Great job!

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42056Chapter: 1
Ahhh, this is really sad... yet, it is growing up. Nice ficlet.

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42040Chapter: 1
Oh, I loved this. Very poignant, and it really rang true--I can imagine Hermione feeling exactly like this.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42006Chapter: 1
Lovely. Of course, all of your fics are lovely. I've enjoyed them all. I like the idea of going back to the begining after all the heaviness of OotP. And it rings true. It would be interesting to see the same situation from the parent's view. Very bittersweet, I imagine.

Reviewer: highlandgurlDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 41968Chapter: 1
Very sweet story and very well written. I've never read another one like it...good job :)
-ta

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --