The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 38

Reviewer: wingaersheekDate: 2005-05-24
Reviewid: 122672Chapter: 1
That was...amazing. I feel kind of lame writing a review, but it really was an excellent fan fic. I love reading about Severus Snape - I'm a bit obsessed with him - and this fan fiction was one of the best I've ever read. Your writing has a distinct style, and you truly have artistic talent. Rock on.

Reviewer: GeishaDate: 2005-02-26
Reviewid: 114987Chapter: 1
delicately beautiful.

Reviewer: Loving SnivellusDate: 2005-01-27
Reviewid: 112265Chapter: 1
omg, this was so sad & beautiful at the same time!! I love Severus! Your fic made me love him more! (er..if that's possible. Really, this brought tears to my eyes, it was wonderful

Reviewer: Ess LouDate: 2005-01-03
Reviewid: 109588Chapter: 1
This is beautiful! It was truly a joy to read; I savored each sentence. I empathized with Snape in this story, even though his stalker actions could be interpreted as extremely creepy.

I cracked up at this line: "(plus he didn't want to be caught, dead, in the rubber outfit)"

I want to encourage you to write more (of anything) -- your style and perspective are unique and much appreciated.

Reviewer: wendelinDate: 2004-11-24
Reviewid: 105823Chapter: 1
Oh, wow. I remember reading this story sometime long ago, but I don't know if I left a review (probably not).

I'm not a fan of Snape/Lily (even the unrequited love thing), but your writing makes it plausible, believable and completely natural.

The writing is heavy, reflecting, perhaps, the state of Severus's heart... and your style brings to mind unruffled glades hidden by thick fogs. Melancholy, a little creepy, yet intensely beautiful and awe inspiring.

I have a question for you - why haven't you written more? You're a gifted writer, and it would be a real pity if you didn't use your talents...

Reviewer: CarolynDate: 2004-08-16
Reviewid: 97525Chapter: 1
What a great story! I like the insight into Snape's love and what lengths that he was willing to go to show his love of Lily! I also liked the part with James in the attic. It showed that James had a heart and somewhat understood what Severus was feeling and treated him so differently than he did when with his friends. Brilliant detail and feeling went into your story. I look forward to reading more of your writing!

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96878Chapter: 1
This fan fic was written beautifully. I loved the metaphor behind Snape giving up his silver lining. Really dark but truely works. Please keep writing!

Reviewer: xgf48Date: 2004-08-12
Reviewid: 96760Chapter: 1
I liked the footnotes, and story is truly beautiful. You upped my Snape crush factor most enjoyably.

Reviewer: Vikki KennedyDate: 2004-07-07
Reviewid: 91129Chapter: 1
Short but sssooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo Sweet!! I loved it!!

Reviewer: lindenDate: 2004-07-07
Reviewid: 91111Chapter: 1
that was absulutely gorgeous

Reviewer: Angel of MusicDate: 2004-05-29
Reviewid: 85069Chapter: 1
I loved the little intertwinings of other story's "Frankenstein",
"Washington Square", etc. A beautiful modern day Fary Tale, it's nice to know they haven't all been written. This is my second favorite fic but the writing is more advanced than that of my favorite, which I value with relish! Yet I wonder... Why am I so drawn to Snape Fics? Brilliant, Superb!

Reviewer: ThetaDate: 2004-05-21
Reviewid: 83902Chapter: 1
Luminous. A lovely story, like a fairytale but so much more real. And like a thistle, because heart-rending.

Reviewer: Lavinia LavenderDate: 2004-03-28
Reviewid: 76043Chapter: 1
WOW.
I'm not usually a fan of unrequited love between those two, but this was brilliant. *applauds*

Reviewer: MinkychanzDate: 2004-01-01
Reviewid: 65390Chapter: 1
Depressing --,--

Well written, though

Reviewer: BethDate: 2003-11-12
Reviewid: 59855Chapter: 1
Wow. That was absolutely beautiful. Very sad, but still... :) You have a nicew writing style.

Reviewer: kitzamaeveDate: 2003-11-09
Reviewid: 59489Chapter: 1
aawwwwwwww... *sniff* *sniff* so saaad. very frankenstein's monsteresque. :(

Reviewer: AristyarDate: 2003-10-20
Reviewid: 57104Chapter: 1
Ah, sigh. This story was really good. You really pegged the melancholy zone without creeping into the angst area. The whole idea of the silver lining of a cloud is brilliant.

I really loved your characterizations, too. Snape hasn't nearly been so delightful in any of the stories I've read. And this is the first where James and Snape aren't tearing each other into pieces the moment they set eyes upon each other. Even with the new OotP evidence of how brattish James was when he was a child, this story is still believable. And your Lily is original and believable, though somewhat OOC now that OotP has come out. Still, this little fic is an excellent read. It's hard to believe you only spent 2 days on it :-P.

Aristyar

Reviewer: reettaDate: 2003-08-20
Reviewid: 47937Chapter: 1
I only wanted to thank you, as your tale is so very beautiful. I just read it for the first time and it affected me deeply. Reading it I could almost feel and see and hear and smell and taste everything. That is quite rare and an experience I value greatly. Thank you for providing me that.

Reviewer: SomeoneDate: 2003-07-30
Reviewid: 44707Chapter: 1
This was really well written! It's bittersweet and I like it a lot. Some parts about the cloud were a bit confusing, but I got the over-all feel of the story very well. Your word choice is amazing!

Reviewer: SnoozepossumDate: 2003-07-27
Reviewid: 44145Chapter: 1
Daaaaamn, girl, you did it again . . .
Great concept! And you managed to hit the zone - poignant storytelling without a dose of schmaltz!
(bows humbly in awe)

May today tread lightly

Reviewer: *Ginny Starre*Date: 2003-07-24
Reviewid: 43695Chapter: 1
*That really seems like Phantom of the Opera @ the beginning, too. I liked Ur description of the lining material. But that was so sad!*

Reviewer: *Ginny Starre*Date: 2003-07-24
Reviewid: 43694Chapter: 1
*That is the saddest story! I love Snape, he's so cool! That's just so sad!*

Reviewer: krisDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39482Chapter: 1
I loved it, so very touching!

Reviewer: meiyingDate: 2003-06-01
Reviewid: 34967Chapter: 1
This is a beautiful story. Haunting and heart-breaking. It is a beautiful thread that can slice to the bone. I love beauty and the beast stories, because they are always so heartbreaking -- even if the author wusses out and creates a sappy ending. I am so glad you did not do that, it was much more bitter-sweet and beautiful the way you wrote it. Thank you.

Reviewer: JoJKDate: 2003-03-22
Reviewid: 24888Chapter: 1
Oh Oh Oh
This is a jewel of a short story. Most magical of all are the characterisations, beneath which you can see the archetypes of beautiful princess, the repulsive lover and the hero. But all of it is magical, and tragical, and beautiful.

Reviewer: FfyhonnaupenDate: 2003-03-12
Reviewid: 23763Chapter: 1
-sob-That was....-sob- wonderfull!!!!

Reviewer: Lex the LovelyDate: 2003-03-11
Reviewid: 23591Chapter: 1
Oh my gosh, my hart is breaking. That was so, amizingly horrible. It was just mastery of consepts and emotion... brilliant

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-03-08
Reviewid: 23292Chapter: 1
Interesting story. I would have liked to have lived it, rather than had it told in fable form. Also, a few Americanisms really bothered me. "Fooling around."

Still, the concept of the cloud lining is pretty, and I like the idea of the faerie tale. It is innovative and experimental.

Catherine

Reviewer: meDate: 2003-02-25
Reviewid: 21930Chapter: 1
-sob-that was lovely

Reviewer: danabirdDate: 2003-01-10
Reviewid: 15805Chapter: 1
This is just so beautiful and inventive. I was mesmerized by your words.

Reviewer: Ariana DeralteDate: 2003-01-09
Reviewid: 15738Chapter: 1
One thing: You might want to fix your formatting, you paragraphs seem to be splitting in the wrong places...

I will admit that this is not my type of story. I find tales of unrequited love annoying, but this story was beautiful. It reminded me of a fairy tale being told by a master. I thought the touch of James watching Severus make the dress was perfect. The ending left me with a sense of melancoly that fit the tone of the story. An amazing tale. Well done.

Reviewer: LusanDate: 2002-12-15
Reviewid: 12786Chapter: 1
What an extraordinarly lovely concept! Truly magical.Well thought out, dignified and in keeping with Snape's personality. Thank you.

Reviewer: JessanndiDate: 2002-11-18
Reviewid: 9507Chapter: 1
I liked the way that the past was linked to the future and the Snape we know, the idea of taking the silver lining to make a dress is unique. The description of the pain he felt after removing part of his heart was full of empathy

Reviewer: semiellipticalDate: 2002-11-08
Reviewid: 8450Chapter: 1
This is one of my favorite HP fics ever. Snape's secret obsessiveness, the amazing extremes that he goes to to express his love for Lily, is both fantastical and believable. Your look at an adolescent Snape complements what we know of him as an adult so well.

The style you used to write this fits the fairy-tale nature of the story perfectly. And I love how you have used magical ideas so imaginatively. It's a really lovely story, thank you for writing it!

Reviewer: TammyDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3150Chapter: 1
This story was so beautiful! I've always believed that Snape isn't the monster everyone else thought. You seem also to have the gift of finding beauty. You found it in Snape. Keep up the wonderful stories!

Reviewer: NaginiDate: 2002-08-23
Reviewid: 2844Chapter: 1
AMAZING!! A work of art, very touching.

Reviewer: Japetha RazorwireDate: 2002-08-19
Reviewid: 2515Chapter: 1
This has to be the most beautiful snape-lily story I've ever read. And I hate the Snape/Lily pairing too! This is a very very sweet tale, a rare one in which Snape isn't distorted out of character. His temper at James makes sure it isn't too sappy. Great work!

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2002-08-17
Reviewid: 2336Chapter: 1
I read this following a recommendation about fics that weren't as famous as they should be - and I'm so glad I did! It's really beautiful, and what an original idea.

I loved the way you protrayed Snape's inner torment, his longing for something HE could never have, and his slightly skewed perceptions of James/Lily. How HE thought he had shown Lily what beauty was, how her engagement ring was ugly, etc. You have somehow caught that whole muddled thought-process where someone blends what DOES happen with what they WISH could/did happen.

And I really love your imagery - your descriptions of the cloud lining itself, the scenes of Snape constructing the dress and then dancing with it, his destruction ofit in rage and shame, and of course, that beautiful scene where Lily finds the dress in the Forest.

And I did have a laugh at your
olde' spell book - and its paralles to old recipes. LOL!!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --