The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 52

Reviewer: VasilisaDate: 2005-11-30
Reviewid: 136593Chapter: 1
I like this story. It's a very cool concept.

You might think about develpoing it though. It episodes end to quickly, almost as if you don't want the story to connect with the reader.

Reviewer: creevy girlDate: 2005-09-27
Reviewid: 133310Chapter: 1
ohhhhhhhhhh loved it simply glorious but honustly, it was too short for my taste but i still love it

oh and wouln't it be cute if it was harry, hermione and the weasleys on vacation to america!!! that would be a cute fic!

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-04-24
Reviewid: 120462Chapter: 1
Bad News - far too short.
Good News - Simply Delightful. Thanks.

Reviewer: Kit SpencerDate: 2005-03-18
Reviewid: 116936Chapter: 1
I really REALLY liked the ending. I could be interpreting this wrong, but I got a hint that maybe Wormtail gave HIS life for Harry (hence why he is in a place Cedric figures a mass murderer couldn't get into, and what he and Sirius have in common).

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2005-03-11
Reviewid: 116170Chapter: 1
Loved it. Short and sweet. This might be the one way to get me over the obsession about hurted (severely) for killing Sirius. I would ask you to write a sequil, but somethings just won't work with a sequil. I vote send Tonks or Charlie Weasley.

Reviewer: EKWDate: 2005-01-29
Reviewid: 112372Chapter: 1
Great Story!

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-11-01
Reviewid: 103120Chapter: 1
Oh, dear. Wormtail? *eeeevil grin* And I quote, "I figured a mass-murderer..." Anyway, I liked the story- poor Cedric with his foot in his mouth! Very interesting.

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2004-10-09
Reviewid: 100908Chapter: 1
Add more soon, pleeeeaaasse. This is amazing.

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2004-08-18
Reviewid: 97828Chapter: 1
You know, I cried when I read OotP, but this makes it better, to think that now he's with his friends. This is really sweet. Short, sweet, and to the point, very nice.

Reviewer: BrianneDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97748Chapter: 1
Write more

Reviewer: allyx0xDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97723Chapter: 1
This fic was kind of weird, but very interesting! I liked it =)

Reviewer: MarissaDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97712Chapter: 1
Sequel please!!!

Reviewer: BunniDate: 2004-08-09
Reviewid: 96498Chapter: 1
I definetly vote Tonks to go to America with Harry. That'd add a bit of comic releif, no?

Reviewer: EireneDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95147Chapter: 1
The story was very well written, and it was really creative. I liked the whole idea, but I'm curious as to how Wormtail died. *cackle* Hope it was slow and painful.

Reviewer: stefDate: 2004-01-20
Reviewid: 67781Chapter: 1
i think this story is really great and im hoping your gonna make a short sequel to it coz i really wanna find out or at least speculate what james lily and sirius would say to peter if somehow they could have a little chatsy with him... you've added it perfectly here that sirius is welcoming peter back and i just really wanted to know what the three would say to him... you're a really good author and thats why ive only asked *you* this so far...

Reviewer: Trigon's childDate: 2003-12-29
Reviewid: 65136Chapter: 1
I don't get it!>:c

Reviewer: RebeccaDate: 2003-12-04
Reviewid: 61791Chapter: 1
more. sirius. please!

Reviewer: B. Nonymous to readersDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49845Chapter: 1
Hey folks! Sorry I haven't been more chatty here, but I spent my SQ cycles on the contest entry I did with Herm-own-ninny (aka. Mrs. Nonymous). Go and read it if you haven't already - as it will reveal who I am sending to America.

Zisk - read my other (now canon-blasted) works about what I think might happen to Peter if he grows a spine.

Katinka - Yes, as a parent, I'd hate for my children to see something like that about me. And I was wondering, could I have Abby cameo in a future fic?

Ara Kane - Yes "through Snape's eyes" carries some weight, but I do think James did some bad things. And I was also wondering, as with Katinka, if I could borrow a modified version of Hex Holstrom for a cameo in a future fic?

Dr. Monaco AND Ozma - Carlisle Hughes is a FASCINATING man. Think of him as the Wizarding World's equivalent of Ben Franklin and George Washington rolled into one. And Ozma, think "Brother Theo" from B5. :)

Maddy - I can't promise American Football, but I can promise Quodpot (see "Quidditch Throughout the Ages".) which will offer a similar culture shock.

Those who wish more Sirius AU - I wouldn't qualify for the Quill, and I only write for the Quill. Also, I either try to stick to canon, or go COMPLETELY AU. Robin's "Promises Unbroken" is such an AU (change point before any events in the books).

Thanks again everyone!

Reviewer: forgottenone1385Date: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48791Chapter: 1
Keep Sirius. Write an AU fic. I love Sirius and I hate how no one wants to write about him just because Rowling killed him. Wrtie about Sirius, please?

Reviewer: SenecaDate: 2003-08-01
Reviewid: 44994Chapter: 1
I loved this story- It made me feel better about Sirius's death. I would like to see your other work- the ones about Harry's fifth and sixth year. You know, create some fanfiction about Harry's year if Sirius had lived. That would be cool

Reviewer: Carmen SandiegoDate: 2003-07-22
Reviewid: 43400Chapter: 1
this is really good! I love the last line especially! You're a great writer to be able to write this!

I think you should send a Weasley - preferably Bill... hehehe...

Reviewer: KittenDate: 2003-07-22
Reviewid: 43385Chapter: 1
This is a very interesting take on things, i like it!! will there be more?? please please!!

Reviewer: PyroDate: 2003-07-20
Reviewid: 42962Chapter: 1
Aww, SIRIUS!!!! Sirius Sirius Sirius!!! Ooh, I'm still in denial... chocolate NOW. ^_^ Works wonders. Chocolate, hope and denial. ^_^

Reviewer: LauraDate: 2003-07-18
Reviewid: 42688Chapter: 1
that was awsome, i really liked it. And the 'points' were funny, lol.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-07-17
Reviewid: 42482Chapter: 1
Carlilse Hughes is a fascinating man... will you be writing more about him?

The conversation between Sirius and Cedric was powerful, especially the "Harry thinks you're his fault too."

Who should you send to America? I vote for Percy. The poor guy could use some redemption.

Reviewer: jessicaDate: 2003-07-17
Reviewid: 42479Chapter: 1
this is a wonderful story, i love it.

Reviewer: SevenDate: 2003-07-17
Reviewid: 42470Chapter: 1
Awww, that was lovely. A wonderful Sirius-in-the-afterlife story, probably one of the best :D Well done!

Reviewer: CherieDate: 2003-07-17
Reviewid: 42437Chapter: 1
OMG! MY jaw dropped when i saw wormtails name. Can you kill someone whos already dead? Bet Sirius wants too right now. Great start! I can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-07-17
Reviewid: 42426Chapter: 1
Nice little fic. I enjoyed the idea of Sirus having to come to grips with his new situation of being dead, I also liked him meeting Wormtail in the end, it was a nice little piece of irony. Well, I really enjoyed it and wanted to thank you for having the guts to post it on the web for other people to read.

Reviewer: KatDate: 2003-07-16
Reviewid: 42370Chapter: 1
Ooh, I really liked this. I'm glad Sirius finally gets to confront Wormtail. And it shows us, you know, that it's not really ever over for Sirius ... he lives on somewhere...

OK! I suggest Charlie, because I think he's a great character and there are too few Charlie-fics around. I'd like to read one about him.

Reviewer: LizDate: 2003-07-16
Reviewid: 42360Chapter: 1
Really good. You should write another chapter, even though this was meant to be a one chapter fic.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-07-16
Reviewid: 42353Chapter: 1
I loved this! It was amazing, and the last point, with Wormtail, made me smile. Am not a softie of Wormtail. Sned Bill to America.... he seems like he might want to go... Hope this helps!

Reviewer: siriuslyinloveDate: 2003-07-16
Reviewid: 42322Chapter: 1
why don't you go ahead and write sirius? It doesn't have to be canon...it could be Au that's the beauty of fanfiction.

Reviewer: ShipaDate: 2003-07-16
Reviewid: 42288Chapter: 1
i loved it...i just can't accept that wormtail would get to be where sirius is for all eternity. although i am happy that sirius called him wormtail and not his former name. good job!

Reviewer: ZoeDate: 2003-07-16
Reviewid: 42282Chapter: 1
Send Charlie. Yeah.

I loved this - it was so creatively written! I love the part with Wormtail at the end. I suppose he died, since he was in Harry's debt and all. Am I correct?

Very cute. Loved it. Less sad, more heartwarming. Lots of nice details. Superb.

Reviewer: DidiDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42223Chapter: 1
That was good! Especially the Wormtail coming through the Veil! I just read that part of the book where Sirius fell through the Veil for the 2nd time! It's very sad. But hey! He's with Prongs and Lily again! That's cool! :D Very good! And amusing!

Reviewer: MistyDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42218Chapter: 1
I really liked this, well done :) A really nice and interesting idea of Life After Death.
... *mourns Sirius some more*

Reviewer: HeatherDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42211Chapter: 1
Charlie. Definitely Charlie. Ok, anyway, that was lovely. It's such a novel concept, and it is well written. You made some really good points, and gave me something to think about. Well done. :)

Reviewer: NimbusDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42161Chapter: 1
I really liked this story, but I'm slightly confused as to why wormtail went behind the veil. He doesn't deserve to be there! I think that Charlie would be the one most likely to go to the U.S. I'll be looking forward to your story!

Reviewer: BunksDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42158Chapter: 1
It was really good, it kinda takes the edge off of the grief about sirius. But...Wormtail should have gone to hell

Reviewer: SabreDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42105Chapter: 1
loved your idea's about life (death?) beyond the veil. And it's nice to think Sirius has a Dumbledore style figure to turn to in the afterlife...sigh. As to your future fic I second Percy. You did such a good redemption of Wormtail before, I think you'd do a great job with Percy! Just try to keep writing, cause your fics are really lovely pieces of writing. Sabre.

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42097Chapter: 1
Thanks for writing about Paddy. I really really am upset that JFK killed him off. States? Good old Charlie, of course.

Reviewer: MaddyDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42073Chapter: 1
Fun story! I really liked it! I was wondering a bit about witchcraft and wizardry in America, being an American myself.~Maddy

P.S. I think it'd be fun to send either Tonks or Charlie to America.

P.P.S. I thought it would be fun to send a British wizard to an American football game. I dunno, I thought it was a funny idea. It's just a suggestion!. Anyway, I'm rambling so bye!

Reviewer: The Good Doctor MonacoDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42067Chapter: 1
Woohoo! It's a Sirius-in-the-Afterlife story *without* all the sadness!

OK, so there was SOME sadness, but it was not dripping with tears.... I have to admit that I was getting tired of so many of those super-sad Sirius stories. The first few were okay, and some (like Robin's) were really good, but soon there were so many... I dunno... "clone-stories" out there.

All four points were ... (lacking good vocabulary at such a late hour, sorry) ... great. Although, "great" seems like a lame thing to call them. Let's just say that I prefer to think that this is what happened to Sirius.

Point 1 -- Sirius saw Cedric before at the Quidditch game in third year, right? Somehow, it seems fitting that he should be the one to welcome him to the... erm, afterlife.

Point 2 -- Yay!! They can sometimes see what's going on! So, in a way, they aren't totally gone from Harry's (and everyone else's) life/lives.

Point 3 -- Carlisle Hughes has the potential to be a cool OC.

Point 4 -- OK, here's my single nitpick: Why would Peter be there? OK, I guess he might be there if he was redeemed.... But for some reason I can't see Sirius being too happy to see him. (Immediately-Post-OotP!Sirius, anyway.)

OK, who should go to America...? You know, one might question the wisdom of sending only one person on a mission (or whatever) to a foreign country. Safety comes in numbers, you know! :-)

Anyway, my suggestion would be the buddy system. Picking two from your list: Charlie, since he's got experience with international affairs... and Tonks, because I want to see her in a GOOD fanfic. :-) Er, that's not a shipping request, mind! LOL! (Poor girl-- she's being shipped with every character in the books.)

Looking forward to the next fic! :-)

~Dr. Monaco~

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42044Chapter: 1
I really liked this. It was intriguing. And I think you should send Tonks to America--I'd really like to see a *good* Tonks fic, since I know there'll be so many horrendous ones!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42007Chapter: 1
I loved this. I was actually thinking of doing a story like this about John Lennon meeting up with George Harrison in the afterlife and George updates him on Britney Spears and 9/11 and...sorry, blabbing :-p

Anyhoo, you did a wonderful job exploring the various connections Sirius and other people might have with Harry. I loved Cedric's observation about Harry's blaming himself, and you gave James a bit of a chance to redeem himself after JKR-thru-Snape's hatchet job in OotP. (Thanks for pointing out that Harry saw him THROUGH SNAPE'S EYES -- I must admit I had forgotten!)

Ooh, and Sirius met Wormtail! Heh! I would have loved to find out how that turned out.

Now, re: your "wizard in America" fic, I think it has to be Charlie. Bill just took a desk job to stay close to home and we've already seen what Percy, Tonks and Moody are up to in OotP. Give Charlie something to do :-p

Reviewer: SPY_jmr1Date: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42004Chapter: 1
What did I think? It certainly was different, to say the least. I liked it very much, even though i'm not exactly sure why that is. I always think that James and Lily have some interesting things to "say", in the lititary sence of the word.

As for the short list, I'd surely send Mr. International Magical Cooperation himself, Percy Weasley, and all that goes along with that.

Always find American Magic stories interesting, because i'm in that genre myself.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42002Chapter: 1
POINT ONE -- Oh, Sirius recognized Cedric from that Quidditch match, long, long ago! I got a lump in my throat at that memory.

POINT TWO -- "'Of all the times of my life he had to see me, it had to be through Snape's eyes,' spoke James Potter." As a parent, that line carries a lot of weight with me. How miserable James must feel, knowing that Harry's seen him at one of his worst moments!

POINT THREE -- Ooh, very interesting set-up for a Salem-themed story. Until recently, I lived in the Colonial Heartland.

POINT FOUR -- Ouch. I wonder by what means Peter ended up there.

As for your other story, my vote goes to Charlie. The fellow never gets any page-time. :)

~Katinka

Reviewer: ArleneDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 41982Chapter: 1
That was good, but I really don't think Wormtail would deserve to go to Heaven or wherever they are. It was a good story besides that little part. :) Nice story!

Reviewer: meDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 41976Chapter: 1
that was great!! thats all i can really come up with just great

Reviewer: amulderDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 41973Chapter: 1
Send Mundungus Fletcher. Should be good for a laugh. (might have been able to give a more helpfull comment if I knew why you needed to send someone. Do they have to be, er, friends with Harry?)

thanks for sharing

Reviewer: ziskDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 41950Chapter: 1
This is unlike anything I've ever read in fanfiction . . .well done. Loved James' reaction to his son's first vision of him. And I thought the ending was particularly on mark - it's always ncie to think of Peter's redemption :) It's a nice change of pace to see Sirius' death dealt with in an almost optimistic manner (My apologies for the crude wording) Well done!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --