The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 64

Reviewer: SweetSiriusDate: 2005-08-22
Reviewid: 130529Chapter: 7
Eurydice,

Can I just say how much I enjoy reading your Modwin? He's just the most adorably funny character I've come across in a long, long while, and I just *love* his interaction with Charlie. I've thoroughly enjoyed spending time with these people. Nice. The last chapter, also, was just lovely, and you have a really engaging, poetic style of writing. Well done.

All the best,
SweetSirius

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-25
Reviewid: 114885Chapter: 7
The Expert III - What to do, What to say.
#1 = vvg, #2 = even better, #3 = still moving up. Are we near the peak?

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-05-20
Reviewid: 83620Chapter: 2
Modwin was really great in this chapter. He's a well-rounded, interesting OC with a urpose in the story. I really like him. Lookslikes things are going to heat up between Ingrid and Charlie. Looking forward to seeing what develops.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-02-19
Reviewid: 71425Chapter: 1
[Rule Number One was "Do not under any circumstances tease the dragons.")] Hehehe. Or tickle them, eh? ;)

[it sounded miserable, like a chorus of out-of-tune tubas] Great description and imagery. You really nail the exact sound I would expect a sick dragon to make.

I really like the details you put in about dragon care. It has this vetinary quality, which makes it very realistic.

Aw, poor Norbert! I can imagine him being a little depressed since he was raised under such unusual circumstances. I also really like Ingrid. She's so refreshing, very real and down to earth. I like how you keep the romance between her and Charlie simmering just a few notches below boiling. Very well done.

Reviewer: KaylaDate: 2003-10-13
Reviewid: 56401Chapter: 7
that was so sweet!

Reviewer: dr. zDate: 2003-09-27
Reviewid: 54508Chapter: 7
*clap, clap* loved it!

Reviewer: RinaDate: 2003-09-26
Reviewid: 54469Chapter: 7
Cute, I loved your story. I,ve been following it since the first story in this little series. Very good! Write more!

Reviewer: IshtarDate: 2003-09-23
Reviewid: 54060Chapter: 7
Beautiful. I love it! Thrilling and exciting.

Reviewer: orangeDate: 2003-09-23
Reviewid: 54054Chapter: 7
Great story - I've been reading this one eagerly. But what I absolutely have to comment on is the last line -- so perfect for this. Any chance there Bill'll get his chance? Loved his "if I'd met her first" train of thought. Great sibling interaction. Thank you.

Reviewer: ObsidianIdealsDate: 2003-09-23
Reviewid: 54052Chapter: 7
I admit I usually don't review stories, but in this instance I felt strangely comepelled to - partly because your story is so excellent and partly because I feel you deserve some congratulations for developing such a wonderful tale using a lesser character.

And my praise for Ingrid - rarely have I seen such a well-developed character, nor one with such personality. And, as a side note, I'm quite glad you took your time with the final chapter after all, as now only one word can describe it.

Perfect.

Here's hoping you keep writing. :)

Reviewer: Tamira LuneDate: 2003-09-23
Reviewid: 54049Chapter: 7
Aww that was a perfect ending....Nice work!

Reviewer: Sugar ThiefDate: 2003-09-23
Reviewid: 54044Chapter: 7
Wow, that was definitely the best chapter of the whole story. It sure was about time. Love the chapter title, too. Great story and I love your Charlie, plus Ingrid was an awesome character - I loved that touch with Bill wondering if she had met him first... My Charlie story was just accepted at the Quill, and I love seeing how other authors imagine him. Charlie ROX! Thanks for a great read - will there be more from you in the near future? *waits with bated breath*

Reviewer: reenieDate: 2003-09-22
Reviewid: 54023Chapter: 7
lets try this again **CHEERING WILDLY** thank you for such a wonderful story i'm glad to see somone besides main charichters get the girl *smile*

Reviewer: reenieDate: 2003-09-22
Reviewid: 54020Chapter: 7
**CHEERING WILDLY

Reviewer: KatDate: 2003-09-22
Reviewid: 54000Chapter: 7
Aww -- just aww. That was perfect. An excellent mix of humour and romance, and it all finally comes together. This fic was absolutely wonderful, and dare I hope for a sequel? ;)

Reviewer: Margaret B.Date: 2003-09-22
Reviewid: 53988Chapter: 7
Wow! That was really, really good! You did a great job developing Charlie as a character and the brother to brother "talk" Bill and Charlie had was excellent! You should definitely write more Charlie stories, or maybe try your hand at one about Bill!
Whatever you do, KEEP WRITING!!!!
~*MARGARET*~

Reviewer: beckDate: 2003-09-22
Reviewid: 53976Chapter: 7
Oh what a lovely story i loved and i loved the way you wrote charlie and bill =)

Reviewer: FaelaernDate: 2003-09-22
Reviewid: 53967Chapter: 7
Ahh,a warm/fuzzy ending to a wonderful story! I like it a lot. You wrote Charlie very well, I enjoyed getting to know him, your OC's are all wonderful, and your portrayels of the other canon characters dead on. An enjoyable read indeed. Oh dear I'm a poet and didn't know it...

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2003-09-22
Reviewid: 53941Chapter: 7
**ivy & Gracie clap and cheer. Gracie wolf-whistles as charlie & ingrid kiss. ivy pokes her with her umbrella**
what a great ending! and such a well-written chapter. the little, humorous touches come off so well; funny, but not overpowering, and true to character. we'll be looking for your name on the new postings again!

Reviewer: canis lupusDate: 2003-09-22
Reviewid: 53940Chapter: 7
oooooooh! nice ending! :) i've been reading this story for the longest time..nice stuff! one of my fave pairings on sugarquill..actually i think this ingrid's the only one i've liked for charlie.. :) hehe! sequel? pleease... :)

the instinct part, though, was kinda hazy...i was wondering..

but it's a great story! i enjoyed! :)

Reviewer: IxiusDate: 2003-09-21
Reviewid: 53771Chapter: 6
This story is wonderful and I hope you continue it. I read the entire thing and the hardest thing for me was having to stop without knowing whats coming next. I hope to read the next chapter soon.

Reviewer: Roy CDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49895Chapter: 6
I really hope that you are going to continue this story line it isnt often that we get to see something dealing with Charlie. I am now hopelessly wrapped up in what is going to happen next. Please update soon.

Reviewer: HeatherKDate: 2003-08-30
Reviewid: 49471Chapter: 6
Eily, um, inconpicuous is a perfect term there. It isn't a mistake. If she'd used conpicuous she'd have been blatantly stating the obvious. As it were, she used a cute little bit of not quite sarcasm, but almost, to provide an amusing description of Charlie's feelings of being out of place.

Reviewer: HeatherKDate: 2003-08-30
Reviewid: 49470Chapter: 6
Well, I'm moved. That was amazing, I can't begin to describe it. It brought tears and choked me up, I can't imagine what I'd do if my parents were like that, I would be right there with Charlie, at a total loss for words. Beautifully written, very poignant. I love it.

Reviewer: RinaDate: 2003-08-30
Reviewid: 49394Chapter: 6
im so glad that your starting to finish it faster!its a really great story.

Reviewer: mmaryDate: 2003-08-29
Reviewid: 49293Chapter: 6
oh thats cute! Come on, write fast, you're really good! You can do it! It's a great story line.

Reviewer: KateDate: 2003-08-29
Reviewid: 49212Chapter: 6
What a beautiful story. All I can say is more please.

Reviewer: megarooniDate: 2003-08-28
Reviewid: 49151Chapter: 6
i love this soooooooo excellent please keep up the quick posting:)

Reviewer: FaelaernDate: 2003-08-28
Reviewid: 49150Chapter: 6
That was *so* sad. I thought something bad might have happened to Ingrid's parents after reading the end of the last chapter, but it was only a slight suspician. I didn't expect this. You are very skilled at portraying emotion, and making readers feel for your characters. I hope to see a new chapter soon!

Reviewer: DivDate: 2003-08-28
Reviewid: 49130Chapter: 6
Hello. I really love your story. Might be because of Charlie.. aww.. but who can resist him. Wonderful story and please update soon.

Reviewer: KatDate: 2003-08-28
Reviewid: 49127Chapter: 6
Oh... poor Ingrid. But I'm glad Charlie finally found some 'instincts'. I really love the direction you're going with this.

Reviewer: EurydiceDate: 2003-08-28
Reviewid: 49107Chapter: 1
I don't usually do this, but he makes a good point: I personally think that either word works. I used "inconspicuous" for a bit of irony. Er. That is all.

Thanks, everyone, for reading!

Reviewer: Eily WarneDate: 2003-08-28
Reviewid: 49094Chapter: 6
I like this story, especially Ingrid. I read this chapter and I found the only mistake I've seen yet. You wrote:

"He suddenly felt as inconspicuous as a whale in a goldfish pond- he was the only one in the room with red hair, and almost certainly the only wizard."

I think you meant conspicuous.
Eily

Reviewer: wilaniaDate: 2003-08-28
Reviewid: 49040Chapter: 5
This is one story I'm really enjoying following! Thanks for the continued Charlie insights.
Loving it!

Reviewer: Timothy T KroggDate: 2003-08-28
Reviewid: 49020Chapter: 5
To eurydice,
From Baron Von Krogg
Please keep up the good work with the
Fan fic. We need to read the completion
of this story. So far,Very Good

Reviewer: ShlozDate: 2003-08-27
Reviewid: 48923Chapter: 5
This is sweet and snuggly. I'm a little worried about Ingrid. What could be so bad about her parents that she's scared of Charlie meeting them?

Reviewer: megarooniDate: 2003-08-27
Reviewid: 48893Chapter: 5
wonderful i love how ou build up the end

Reviewer: rinaDate: 2003-08-27
Reviewid: 48872Chapter: 5
hi ive submitted to u before, exept that i like your story so much that i had toask u 2 write faster! iwanna see what happens

Reviewer: ivy and GracieDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48805Chapter: 5
Well writ, my dear, well writ. I don't suppose there's any sense in asking you to hurry along with Chapter 6, is there? And could you include a really good kissing scene that in no way makes use of the word "snog?" **ivy pokes Gracie in the ribs with her umbrella** Oh... erm.... I mean, of course, follow your Muse. The Author knows best, after all. **Gracie fans herself and hopes**

Reviewer: KatDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48789Chapter: 5
Ooh! Her parents, hmm? Sounds intriguing!

Plus, the way you write Arthur, Molly, and Bill is just perfect!

Reviewer: Eily WarneDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48778Chapter: 5
Meet her parents? Why? I guess I'll findout soon. Keep writing. This is really good.

Reviewer: Carmen SandiegoDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48659Chapter: 5
ooh! great chapter - except for the cliffhanger :P!!!

Reviewer: KarinDate: 2003-08-25
Reviewid: 48581Chapter: 1
Great story! I hope you're planning on writing more, because I've really enjoyed reading it so far. :o)

Reviewer: JoDate: 2003-08-25
Reviewid: 48531Chapter: 4
Aww... I definately like this story a lot. Can't wait for more of it ((that's not the end, is it?!?!?))

Reviewer: Darwin's ApprenticeDate: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47873Chapter: 4
Very sweet. You do a good job of building interactions between your characters. It seems light on plot, but as I enjoy the charcters, that is easily forgotten. I look forward to more.

Reviewer: dr. zDate: 2003-08-14
Reviewid: 47076Chapter: 4
"You've got the flirting ability of a coconut." -- hehehe! good one!

i don't know if i've reviewed your story yet, but i really like your story!

update!

Reviewer: ivy and GracieDate: 2003-08-14
Reviewid: 47065Chapter: 4
"Yes, you've been telling me, but you haven't been telling me why or how you know." Charlie was on his feet again, at once wishing he could stand still and wishing that the conversation could be over. He felt foolish, and knew that he was blushing. "All I've got are your theories, your speculations, but you haven't said word one about proof. At first I might have agreed with you, maybe she had some sort of… I don't know what to call it, but maybe 'there was something there,' I think that's the old saw. But as of late, I'm her friend, her coworker, and there's no reason to believe that she thinks of me otherwise unless she out-and-out says something. You might be the all-seeing, all-knowing Modwin Banks who can see straight through poor, stumbling Charlie Weasley," and at this Charlie jabbed his finger at the door and glared at his friend, "but she's the one you've got to see through now. Not me. Her. You've known me for ten years; you've known her for less than a month. So don't go about pretending you know what she's thinking, all right?"

Oh. Umm.... We got kind of lost here....
The last we knew, in Chapter 3, Charlie and Ingrid were mooning over each other and well on their way to Romance. This paragraph just came at us out of left field, leaving us wondering, what is Charlie so angry about, and since when is Ingrid avoiding him? After this rather large bump in the road, things seem to smooth out in the story and carry on in the previous tenor and tone...

We understand you were probably trying to put some conflict in the mix, but you can do better than this. Subtlety, my dear. It's all in the "swish and flick" of the pen.

Looking forward to Chapter 5,
ivy and Gracie - Who Solomnly Pledge Never To Scream OMG!!! In A Fanfic Review.

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2003-08-14
Reviewid: 47058Chapter: 1
Wow, absolutely amazing! I love your entire series, you have an intriguing plot, vibrant characters, and awful suspense! :) Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-08-14
Reviewid: 46998Chapter: 4
Aw, lol...I like the end of this chapter. I liked all of the story so far, but the ending stuck out. I love your writing and your interpretation of Charlie. You also have very nicely developed OCs, which is always a pleasant surprise. Keep it up.
8-)

-Kate Lynn

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2003-08-10
Reviewid: 46531Chapter: 3
what? what?! where's he going to take her? who's he writing to? don't keep us in suspense!

Reviewer: rinaDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46313Chapter: 3
Urgh! I hate it when people leave me in suspence! Hurry up and finish please!!!!!

Reviewer: wilaniaDate: 2003-08-07
Reviewid: 45979Chapter: 3
Charlie's writing home, isn't he?!! Oh, I just looove visits to the Burrow! I hope that's where you're taking Charlie and Ingrid (who I adore by the way).
Can't wait for more!

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2003-08-07
Reviewid: 45961Chapter: 3
Absolutely amazing story! Ingrid is a great OC, I can't wait to read more and see where this goes. Well done!

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-08-06
Reviewid: 45843Chapter: 3
Oh, a great Charlie fic, and I like Ingrid. I can't wait to read more of your stuff.

-Kate Lynn

Reviewer: Margaret B.Date: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45472Chapter: 2
GREAT! Wow, what a great characterization of Charlie! He's one of my favorite characters (of course, I usually say that about all the WEasleys...) Keep up the great work!
I LOVE this quote: "Or else what?" asked Modwin casually. "You'll do it for her?"

Charlie reddened. "You're not funny."

Modwin smiled. "Yes, I am."

Anyway, Happy Writing!
~Margaret B.

Reviewer: jossDate: 2003-08-04
Reviewid: 45358Chapter: 2
I can't wait to know what happens next...keep up the tension, the excitment is all there.

Reviewer: LaurenDate: 2003-08-01
Reviewid: 44996Chapter: 2
I think this is really great. I Charlie is definately one of my favourite Weasleys and this is the first fic i've actually read just about him. Modwin's really cool as well.

Reviewer: Dara finVidyaDate: 2003-08-01
Reviewid: 44860Chapter: 2
More More more. It's delightful and I can't wait for the next chapter.

Reviewer: FaelaernDate: 2003-07-31
Reviewid: 44756Chapter: 2
This is one of the most believeable depictions of Charlie I've ever seen, in relation to Canon...very enjoyable. Ingrid is neat and Modwin is quite the character...write more soon, please!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2003-07-30
Reviewid: 44637Chapter: 2
oh, that girl! "What business, what right did he have to be, well...so damn cute all the time?" we love it; it's about time someone gave charlie his due. bravo on this chapter!

Reviewer: wilaniaDate: 2003-07-30
Reviewid: 44531Chapter: 2
I love it! Charlie is so cute. I love your character, Ingrid, as well. Thank you for bringing her to life.

Reviewer: HeatherKDate: 2003-07-20
Reviewid: 43088Chapter: 1
Oh how sweet! I love it!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2003-07-19
Reviewid: 42909Chapter: 1
well-written! we needed some fluff, after OotP. next chapter! next chapter!

Reviewer: KazzaDate: 2003-07-18
Reviewid: 42662Chapter: 1
So sweet.
I can't decide who is more in need of help - Norbert for his depression, or Charlie and Ingrid who need some serious romantic assistance. :)

Hmmm, how many rumours will be started by those two waking up in their nightclothes in a paddock?! ;)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --