The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Ad astra per aspera
Review(s): 19

Reviewer: JennDate: 2004-01-01
Reviewid: 65438Chapter: 1
*sob*

Reviewer: MarkayDate: 2003-12-13
Reviewid: 63107Chapter: 1
Wonderful, beautiful, touching.

Reviewer: nutmegDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53523Chapter: 1
It made me cry.

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53504Chapter: 1
Beautiful story! Very poignant and well done.

"So tonight, he cried, for Sirius, for James, for Lily, and even for little Peter, who had betrayed them. For all he had lost. For all he was, and could have never been without his friends." Fabulous.

And despite previous conflicts, your translation of the title is correct. "Ad Astra per Aspera" translates into "to the stars through difficulties". Kansas state motto, ya know.

Reviewer: Other GirlDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46738Chapter: 1
Great story, I just have one suggestion for future stories: werewolves are supposed to be allergic to silver and can't touch it. Maybe the chandelier could have been made of something else?

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-08-08
Reviewid: 46159Chapter: 1
Sob. this made me cry. i have always been transfixed by how Remus must have felt when he thought Sirius betrayed James and Lily, and how alone he was and is after Sirius died, and you caught the feeling pretty well.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45592Chapter: 1
The title means 'Reach for the stars'...

Reviewer: KristinaDate: 2003-08-01
Reviewid: 44936Chapter: 1
That was so sad and touching. I truly cried. It was awesome.

Reviewer: emilyDate: 2003-07-30
Reviewid: 44589Chapter: 1
i was crying when i started reading this, and started crying even harder after, because its so sweet..

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-07-26
Reviewid: 44008Chapter: 1
Well done. It is, as you say, an odd piece. But it feels true to Remus. I enjoyed it

Reviewer: ChloéDate: 2003-07-24
Reviewid: 43605Chapter: 1
WOW !!! Finally ...
I've been dying to see that (Lupin's dealing with pain) since OotP and you have managed it so well ...
Well done and ...damn you !i'm crying again ! I thought it was finally OVER(grr)...anyway *sob*
Still ...thanks

Reviewer: xonyDate: 2003-07-24
Reviewid: 43568Chapter: 1
Wow! I love lupin...
“Maybe one day, not so far from now, we’ll all be together again, the Marauders. We’ll wreak havoc again, in death. Too bad it can’t be today.”
That's the way he must be feeling...great job! It seems hard to put that feeling in words, but you did it!!!

Reviewer: Loriel ErisDate: 2003-07-22
Reviewid: 43378Chapter: 1
This was lovely! Really sad, but in a good way! You seem to have captured Remus just perfectly.

Reviewer: Elizabeth the Avid PadfooterDate: 2003-07-22
Reviewid: 43343Chapter: 1
Beautiful. Absolutely heartwarming. I've been searching for a story/fanfic just like this one ever since OotP came out. I felt that your piece delivered what the book was lacking: Remus's reaction to Sirius's death. Excellent work!

P.S. It might be a coincidence, but your story matches so well with a saying I once read somewhere:

"To the well organized mind, death is but the next great adventure." - Unknown.

Reviewer: AmiDate: 2003-07-22
Reviewid: 43330Chapter: 1
Lizzie, as always your writing is truly beautiful. I'm not sure if I should thank you more for writing it, or for dedicating it to me. :p Love you dearie, and wonderful job.

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-07-22
Reviewid: 43318Chapter: 1
Amen. Indeed, I still cannot believe it and I have known about this since 21st June.

Reviewer: LizDate: 2003-07-22
Reviewid: 43289Chapter: 1
*glares at the author notes* Yes, to the STARS indeed. I hate typos. Especially in the Author Notes where Z can't catch them. :)

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-07-22
Reviewid: 43286Chapter: 1
Brilliant! I feel so bad for Remus, as all his friends are gone. He was very In Character! Magnificent fic!

Reviewer: The Eighth WeasleyDate: 2003-07-22
Reviewid: 43273Chapter: 1
what a lovely piece!

but isn't it "to the STARS through difficult places"? and that Sirius is a bright star? not start? just checking...

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --