The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Unhappy Truth
Review(s): 47

Reviewer: Tasharoo27Date: 2006-01-02
Reviewid: 137898Chapter: 1
Aaaah so sweet!!!!! Ron really is my perfect guy. Even if he's a bit clueless sometimes, he always does the right thing & sacrificing the possibility of his own dreamless sleep for Hermione's sake is just so adorable. You wrote their characters perfectly. I love your stuff you know - you sure you're not JKRowling in disguise or something? lol! NEways, keep writing lots more stories cause I love 'em :oD

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136503Chapter: 1
Quite good

Reviewer: lisaDate: 2005-10-28
Reviewid: 135273Chapter: 1
Lordy, this made me cry... I haven't even read book 5 in ages... I love Ron, though... you captured him really well here, even in such a short little story...

Reviewer: desperate2feelDate: 2005-04-28
Reviewid: 120872Chapter: 1
I really liked this - everyone was perfectly in character and I do constantly wonder what happened once Harry left Dumbledore's office. I mean JKR really didn't show us enough! Thanks, for taking it up instead of her (and doing so well!)

Reviewer: satineDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106799Chapter: 1
Very well done. I liked how you handled Ron's reaction and how he cared for Hermione. Hermione's reaction was dead on, too. I would expect her to respond like that, a spell, look in a book, go abck in time. Of course, she was being unreasonable, btut hat is what one does when devestated and shocked, right? Anyway, I really enjoyed this and I hope you keep writing.

Reviewer: raiiningDate: 2004-09-26
Reviewid: 99422Chapter: 1
very good. this could certainly have slipped into OotP. Bang on characters, as usual!

Reviewer: fionaDate: 2004-09-20
Reviewid: 98798Chapter: 1
brilliant very moving and sooooooooooo sad i almost shed a tear
thank you

Reviewer: AndiDate: 2004-08-21
Reviewid: 98125Chapter: 1
Is that it? Or r u going to write more? I liked it alot

Reviewer: JessicaDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95898Chapter: 1
This was really good. Made me sad and happy(R/Hr) at the same time. :)

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-01-18
Reviewid: 67616Chapter: 1
Great story, Superbly written. I just read an evil Ron story before this one, so thank you, I needed this story. You do an excellent job of keeping everyone in character.

Reviewer: CourtneyDate: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63631Chapter: 1
Very good story! I liked the little scene between Ron and Hermione. I like reading canon through other people's point of view (other than Harry.) That was very well written.

Reviewer: SehilaDate: 2003-12-14
Reviewid: 63215Chapter: 1
this is pretty good.

Reviewer: Hermione G. WeasleyDate: 2003-08-29
Reviewid: 49327Chapter: 1
Too cute ^-^ really, too cute

Reviewer: Elanor GamgeeDate: 2003-08-28
Reviewid: 49070Chapter: 1
Oh, that was lovely, lovely, lovely. A very authentic feeling moment. The touch of him giving her the sleeping draught is a perfect ending. Beautiful.

Reviewer: powerpetalDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48847Chapter: 1
Brillient! Absolutly brilliant! Perfect characterisation, Hermione thinking about books, lol. Sometimes I wished we could see the story from Ron and Hermione's point of view in the books, their characters are really interesting and this is proven here! Please write more!
XXXpowerpetalXXX

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2003-08-11
Reviewid: 46607Chapter: 1
I really loved this story...there was so much in it that felt very comforting as I read it. Didn't we all want Dumbledore sitting beside us when we 'woke up' from reading OotP? Gosh, I know I did. My favorite line was "And there is no way in which you could have been a better friend to Harry... Not just last night, but all year." That's something that I hope Ron knows...his & Hermione's friendship with Harry is so important now.

Wonderful story - thanks for sharing it!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46408Chapter: 1
What a wonderfully realized "missing moment". Thank you for articulating exactly was in my head (and the heads of many others, I'm sure!):

<<No. No, that couldn't be right. Dumbledore had to be mistaken because they had gone to save Sirius, and Sirius wasn't there. It had to be a mistake because Sirius was locked up in Azkaban for twelve years, and now he was free. He had to be proven innocent, and then he could be happy. It had to be a mistake because Sirius wouldn't have left Harry. Harry had no parents. He couldn't have lost Sirius because things didn't happen that way. They weren't supposed to, and they didn't.>>

Great characterizations and canonical touches, such as Ron turning to Molly's modes of comfort when faced with an upset person, and Hermione searching for solutions in the books she's read.

A sad reminder that not just Harry is going to mourn Sirius. :( Very well done!

~Katinka

Reviewer: ChloéDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46292Chapter: 1
Perfect *sigh*

Reviewer: celestina blackDate: 2003-08-07
Reviewid: 46066Chapter: 1
short and to the point.
very real and true tho.
more people will die, and they will be those familiar to us. sirius was just the first who was that close, closer even than cedric. hes really, fully back now, all the death eaters have returned to him, and the war has truly started. many more lives will be lost before its over.
but i swear to go, if jk kills ron or hermione, im gonna throw her off a cliff.

Reviewer: Shi-chanDate: 2003-08-06
Reviewid: 45795Chapter: 1
Waah, this story made me tear up again! Very well-written, good job. You did a very good job at putting so much emotion into a small space. And of course, I'm still mourning Sirius. :-(

Reviewer: AthenaDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45723Chapter: 1
I think this merits a big group "awwwwwwww!"

So subtly R/Hr, so bitter sweet...

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45700Chapter: 1
This is terrific. You've captured the mood and the characters spot on. I really enjoyed reading your story.

Reviewer: Ford PrefectDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45655Chapter: 1
Wonderful story. It was so subdued and quiet, and managed to break my heart as I read it. You instilled it with so much angst, but still a lot of caring and a lot of hope which balanced out the story and made it a pleasure to read. I love your Ron here, tough, angry, sad, and so Ron.

Reviewer: Madame LupinDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45641Chapter: 1
You did an excellent job in writing this story. It is both very sad and very touching. It makes Sirius's death seem even that much more worse. Thank you for making me cry :)

Reviewer: Andrea13Date: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45640Chapter: 1
I'm finding myself enjoying all of your stories, so I was glad to see another one! You write Ron so well. His confusion and concern for Harry above all were very touching, and his conversation with Hermione was sniffly. They have SO much to face still. Poor kids. :( And how like Ron to give Hermione the sleeping draught so he lies awake and worries!

Reviewer: RiddleDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45629Chapter: 1
So cute, so sad! And could easily be true.

Reviewer: MaryDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45624Chapter: 1
In all of your stories you do a great job of characterizing Ron. He is just as generous and sensitive as all of my romantic imaginings.
I'm glad it was Dumbledore who broke the news. I think he has a lot more contact with the various students of Hogwarts than Harry lets on.

You captured the tone of regret and of resolve that ended the novel.
A fine job.

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45608Chapter: 1
Excellent.

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45606Chapter: 1
aw, Ron!! Great little interlude here...can't wait for more of your stuff!!

Reviewer: Hermione GirlDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45597Chapter: 1
Wow. I really liked this. I managed to read OotP on the fourth time through without bursting into tears every time Sirius was mentioned. Very nice.

Reviewer: RonaldroseDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45594Chapter: 1
My favourite line: "The truth isn't always what we want to hear," said Dumbledore quietly. "Nor is it always right, or fair.
how true and depressingly sad that is. u captured the moment perfectly. A conversation like this between r/h is very natural and him giving her his potion :( just like something he would do. And even his stubborn will to not belive sirius is dead and hermione considering potions and time-tuners is very in character...more people will die :( ...lets hope voldie is one of them (mwa ha ha)

Reviewer: Sarah IzhilzhaDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45573Chapter: 1
Oh.

This is perfect. I've read several fics that try to deal with Sirius' death, and this one is seems the most real to me. Choosing Ron's pov, both as Harry's best friend and as someone who was out of the action when Sirius died--it's subtle and accurate and heart-wrenching.

And Ron giving Hermione his sleeping potion: aw, Ron, you are so sweet! Though there's the flip side too; in this situation I would not want to sleep, I'd want to try to come to terms with the news. As uncomfortable as that might be.

Thank you for writing this.

I think I can now start mourning Sirius....

Reviewer: TeresaDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45561Chapter: 1
*wipes eyes* Beautiful. Thanks for being the light of post 5th book fanfiction. This really *wipes eyes again* made my day!
You neeeeed to write more "between the scenes" fic-age like this. I demand it.

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45559Chapter: 1
Pro:Oh dear,this broke my heart. My glasses are starting to mist up,please excuse me.
Con:Too short
Pro/Con:Can you spell sexual tension?

Reviewer: CatrionaDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45547Chapter: 1
Aww, that's so sweet! Ron and Hermione, I mean. How he gives her his sleeping draught, and how he tries to comfort her. Also, his reaction to finding out what happened was totally believable. He seems to do a lot of maturing here; finding out things don't always turn out happy. (I agree with him, things should come out right.) Anyway, I really liked this. I would have liked to see more of Ron and Hermione in the book, but since that wasn't to be, I'll settle for good fanfic. You did a nice job of filling in that scene.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45541Chapter: 1
Well done! I like the imagery (?) you use to get pain and befuddlement. The characterizations seem true to canon. Ron's taking her hand and slipping her the sleeping draught were very good. I might have liked to have heard the two (R and H) talk more. Or maybe have Ron reflect more at the end. I just wasn't ready for it to be over at that point.
As usual, a nice piece of work.

Reviewer: ottercatDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45533Chapter: 1
Very sweet and emotional. Hermione is right that it isn't over. It is sadly probably just the beginning of losing people they love and care about.

I love that Ron let her have his sleeping draught at the end.

Reviewer: AzyneDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45527Chapter: 1
"Honestly, Ron, sometimes you..."

"...are just the most adorable guy in the world, and I love you to death."

Haha! That was just me. Great fic, extra cute.

Reviewer: MaryDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45505Chapter: 1
Great Fic... really sad... But i loved it...

Reviewer: Evelyn DreamtrotDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45504Chapter: 1
Very touching.
Excellently written and very in-character. This is one of those moments I wished had been included in the book. I'm going to pretend this happened, okay?

Reviewer: Cyke's GirlDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45499Chapter: 1
Good god I'm crying...that was a very sad story and it did fill in the missing gap in the story, good job.

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45490Chapter: 1
Excellent take on the scene. I love the image of Ron reaching out, his arm just long enough for his fingertips to brush against Hermione's back. The instinct to give comfort is really prominent here.

Reviewer: wilaniaDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45486Chapter: 1
ouch. tear-jerker! thanks for a very poignant story. ron is really a very sweet person, and feels things more deeply than harry or hermione imagine.
-sniff- it's just so sad!
i agree with ron: it's not fair.

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45469Chapter: 1
It was Ron giving his sleeping draught to Hermione that got to me. Somehow made the whole piece hit home.

Reviewer: Muggle MollyDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45468Chapter: 1
Short, but very good. So touching and sweet.

Reviewer: DorothyDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45453Chapter: 1
Wow. That was really good, but incredibly sad. I think it captured what many people felt when they read Order of the Pheonix.

Reviewer: Other GirlDate: 2003-08-05
Reviewid: 45446Chapter: 1
Wow, this is good. I hadn't even thought about how the others would find out about Sirius...I liked how much Ron and Hermione wanted to be there for Harry, even though they couldn't. I also found Ron's view of right and wrong very touching.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --