The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Cry With The Moon
Review(s): 119

Reviewer: AmethystBelovedDate: 2009-01-19
Reviewid: 151344Chapter: 1
When you wrote, "I understand that there's a fairly good Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher at Hogwarts now.", I was thinking, "What??? How does he know about Snape???" While I wasn't crazy about Snape being the DADA teacher, it was the only way that Harry could get into Potions that year. When Harry and Remus were talking about the joys of teacher, I can see you paving the way to making him the DADA teacher. Since he turned out to be an Auror, I can understand why you gave the dream to James (2).

While Cedric's death was the first shock death wise, I believe that it was Sirius' passing that tugged on the most heartstrings. He was so close to freedom! It makes me sad that Remus has every right to be an uncle figure to Harry, but he constantly puts others before him.

When you wrote about Sirius being happy that Harry shared something with him, that reminds me of one of your favorite HP moments, when Harry shares his sweets with Ron on the train.

Reviewer: Miss SophiaDate: 2005-11-12
Reviewid: 135820Chapter: 1
I just started reading and writing fan fic, and this is one of the first ones I read that really stuck with me. I love its aching tenderness and the insights it gives us into Remus's character.

Many of the moments felt so real, so poignant to me. For example, the way Harry is just sitting there, not crying, and not even trying to hide his grief when Remus approaches him speaks volumes about the depth of his grief. And I love how Remus goes from restraining his urge to touch Harry to finally overcoming it. That he seemed to expect Harry to throw his hand off tells me that he still harbors fears of rejection; that is, he wasn't worried about making Harry uncomfortable, but about Harry rejecting this kind of closeness. Remus is such a guarded person. We see this condition even more when Remus describes how he *does* cry after all: He veils (sorry, poor word choice) his admission in a deep metaphor. Even when trying to open up, he has difficulty revealing his humanity.

My favorite lines:
"He could barely stand to cry in his *own* company"
"Bloody Saint Remus up on his high white horse"

There are so many aspects of this story that I found to be really lovely. One last thought I have is that I like the natural way that Harry and Remus ultimately reached an understanding: through the acceptance that the grief is a part of life and then through humor.

As I continue to read more fan fic, I think this bittersweet piece will remain one of my favorites.

Reviewer: rissabbyDate: 2005-10-12
Reviewid: 134372Chapter: 1
I loved the scene about 'teacher fever'. It came across perfectly what the joys of teaching are all about. It was a great bonding topic for those two.

Thanks for this piece of work. I'm reading after HBP where Sirius practically ignored. I hope something like this was a private moment for Harry and Remus, I'm sure they needed it.

Reviewer: childoftheseventhsinDate: 2005-06-24
Reviewid: 125067Chapter: 1
Oh, wow! I love this fic, it's so sweet!!i may have to read this again and again when the 6th book does come out, because I'll be sooooo disappointed that it isn't the same, and will have to remind myself how it could have been . . . *sighs* That probably didn't really make much sense, I know, but basically, you're wonderful!!

Reviewer: Just MeDate: 2005-04-28
Reviewid: 120840Chapter: 1
I like how Lupin and Harry just *talked* I hope that they chat during the sixth book as well...this story was well done! nice images

Reviewer: love/hate relationshipDate: 2005-04-05
Reviewid: 118747Chapter: 1
This is aMAzing! The things I love about your stories are the emotions and the descriptions.

Reviewer: MariposaDate: 2005-03-13
Reviewid: 116377Chapter: 1
I loved this story! Great work and really believable!

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-22
Reviewid: 114638Chapter: 1
As always, quite good.

Reviewer: SnufflesDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 114013Chapter: 1
Oh my gosh, I absolutely LOVED it. Your writing is superb. Especially the way you write Remus, it's perfect!

I loved the silver knife parts. And the end was terrific. The sun in his hand. It gave a sense of light and happiness at the end. Great job.

*Snuffles* ;)

Reviewer: Matilda BagginsDate: 2004-12-09
Reviewid: 107356Chapter: 1
Wow. Very nice. I'd completely forgotten about the Firebolt connection, which I shouldn't've. I love the way you bring out Remus's way of dealing with grief and have Harry blinking rapidly to avoid crying in front of others. I also adore Harry and Remus's shared love of teaching. I even loved Harry being jealous of Ginny and Ron. It's so human and not malicious at all. He just can't help it. Thanks so much for sharing this. It was sad but hopeful. You have great insight into the characters.

Reviewer: Lamina CourtDate: 2004-11-25
Reviewid: 105927Chapter: 1
Oh I simply adore Remus and Harry fics where they just *chat*. I hope there are some nice ones in the next couple books. They can just help each other so much, you know?
This was amazingly written. The style seemed to flow easily with the emotions, characters and with JK's writing as well. The characters were more than themselves and THANK YOU for that. Amazing.

Reviewer: NinirDate: 2004-10-08
Reviewid: 100765Chapter: 1
Wow that was beautiful! I loved the ending sentence... the whole story was bloody briliant! I like the way you portrayed the characters, they way you wrote Remus and Harry, you got them just right. Overall a very realistic, believeable, original, creative, fabulously fantastic, absolutely amazing... ummm well I'm sure you catch my meaning =D

Reviewer: PheonixDate: 2004-07-21
Reviewid: 93430Chapter: 1
aaaaawwwww, thats so sweet! i like it ALOT!
~Pheonix

Reviewer: SammyDate: 2004-07-10
Reviewid: 91617Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed it. You portrayed Lupins personality really well and it was a very good story.

Reviewer: CarissaDate: 2004-07-06
Reviewid: 90920Chapter: 1
I was just looking through your stories and came across this. Wonderfully written. I hope something like this happens in canon and Harry does really turn to Remus for comfort. But sadly, I think Harry is going to be pulling away from everyone, at least at fisrt...Ahem, that certianly doesn't reflect on the quality of this though. It really was beautiful. :)

Reviewer: sbender333Date: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89802Chapter: 1
It's nice to see Remus taking a greater role in Harry's life--an aspect which OOTP so desperately lacked. One of the few fics I found of Harry and Remus interacting after Sirius' death, and I enjoyed your take on it. It soothed some of the ache left by the canon.

Reviewer: Star Eyed UnicornDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 88015Chapter: 1
Awww....*wipes a stray tear from her eye*

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87614Chapter: 1
Really good! I love that you based it on a picture!

Reviewer: KailinDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85948Chapter: 1
Wonderful story. Gave me a lump in my throat.

Reviewer: TeriDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79503Chapter: 1
Oh, I loved this. The interaction between Remus and Harry was spot-on. Great fic.

And I do believe this is your 100th review! Woo hoo!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79379Chapter: 1
Wow, this is great. Showing very interesting possible dynamics between Harry and Remus. No proof or counter-proof in the canon so far, the situation wasn't the same. But it might very well be...

Reviewer: Mikau A. KaiouseiDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79327Chapter: 1
I wish there was some kind of award, a special medal we can give someone who writes such beautiful fanfiction. I cried in this one, too. You manage to capture grief, fear, all the difficult emotions perfectly. And even in the deepest darkness, you put in a perfectly believeable spark of light, and the whole thing becomes an experience of joy. Thank you.

Reviewer: AnonymousDate: 2004-03-24
Reviewid: 75787Chapter: 1
I like it alot! Will there be a sequel? Will Harry be the new Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher or what?

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2004-03-21
Reviewid: 75416Chapter: 1
This story is somewhat well written, but Harry doesn't call Remus "Professor." It's a little strange of you to think that Harry doesn't feel connected to Remus. But it's just one person's opinion.

Reviewer: ReaderRavenclawDate: 2004-02-25
Reviewid: 72167Chapter: 1
I've read this before, but I just came across your livejournal and a link to this fic, so I've just read it again, and this time, I felt compelled to add a review. This is one of the best one-shots I've ever read; you writing is AMAZING. This piece could easily be canon, and is just all around wonderful. Harry is perfectly in character, ditto for Remus, and the emotion is handled perfectly for an interaction between a man and a teenage boy - not overdone, but all the more powerful in its understatement. You should definitely consider doing some original work; if you could produce something that is anywhere near this quality, I am absolutely sure that you could easily get it published.

Again, well done!

Reviewer: StefanieDate: 2004-02-22
Reviewid: 71910Chapter: 1
that was very good...

Reviewer: LilsDate: 2004-02-07
Reviewid: 69858Chapter: 1
I love it. Thats all I can say.

Reviewer: SiriuslyLupinDate: 2004-01-21
Reviewid: 67856Chapter: 1
*wipes away a tear* That was brilliant! It complimented the picture perfectly. And it gave a sort of closure to Sirius's death. I enjoyed it greatly :)

Reviewer: katieDate: 2003-12-27
Reviewid: 64890Chapter: 1
You have inspired me to write a Remus and Harry bonding fic. I loved it.

Reviewer: StrayaDate: 2003-12-26
Reviewid: 64861Chapter: 1
I would LOVE to see Remus Lupin sort of fill some of the gap left behind by Sirius in the books, although I don't know if that will be part of his role in the last two books as Rowling writes them. Prisoner of Azkaban is my favorite of the five released books thus far, and not just because Lupin gets a large part in it, but because I really enjoy the interaction between him and Harry. Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU for taking the time to explore their characters together post-Order of the Phoenix. There's still so much that needs to be worked out emotionally for those poor characters, and you did a wonderful job handling it. I can also see why Durayan's artwork insprired you...it seems nothing too out of the ordinary when you first look at it. Perhaps just disappointment after a bad match. But it really can run deeper if you stop to wonder if that is the Firebolt that Harry's got with him. Kudos to both you and Durayan!

Reviewer: Leia NaberrieDate: 2003-12-13
Reviewid: 63144Chapter: 1
I just wanted to add that I think you are the only fan fiction writer that I've read that has truly captured the essence of Remus Lupin's character: both in Lines of Descent and in this story.

Reviewer: GabrielleDate: 2003-12-12
Reviewid: 63039Chapter: 1
Your story is beautiful! It was sad but at the same time it had a message of hope. I love the way you made Harry and Remus cope with Sirius' death. You have an amazing talent at describing the thougts of your characters!

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62195Chapter: 1
YAY! This was really good! It left me feeling warm and fuzzy inside. In a strange way, it made me feel better about Sirius's death. I always love stories that concern my two most favorite characters ever. *huggles Harry and Remus* Excellent fic!

Reviewer: HPNanaDate: 2003-12-05
Reviewid: 61944Chapter: 1
BEAUTIFUL! Cried like a baby!

Reviewer: StephDate: 2003-10-22
Reviewid: 57473Chapter: 1
Exceptional; I really enjoyed it! Very good fic!

Reviewer: CarpeNoctemDate: 2003-10-15
Reviewid: 56573Chapter: 1
I just had to say that your stories are amazing! This one and "The Doll Army" are as far as I've gotten, and I can't tell you how charming they are-- your character development and perfect timing are positively stunning! Your Remus is exactly as he should be-- like Rowling described, only more developed. I love the sense of drama in "Doll Army." Please continue to write, you've made me a fan!

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2003-10-15
Reviewid: 56544Chapter: 1
Fantastic, Fernwithy. Probably the best of its kind I've yet encountered. Beautiful handling of the subject. Excellent prose. Great characterizations. All in all, GOOD FIC.

Reviewer: sirius starDate: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55051Chapter: 1
That was awesome! Kind of sad but ended on a happier note. It was touching, but not so touching it makes you cry, (that's a good thing. There's so many fics that summon the tears). Keep writing!

Reviewer: CharlotteDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54876Chapter: 1
This was a very touching story. I really liked how you explored it from Remus' view. The emotions were very real and you captured Harry's personality very well. Great Job.

Reviewer: danielaDate: 2003-09-21
Reviewid: 53870Chapter: 1
oh it's simply marvelous! i love it.perfect ending. So many stories i read leave me feeling as if there wshould be more, not because they are bad, but beause they are good. But, your's was just as wonderful, but didn't make me feel sad that there wasn't more. it was just....PERFECT. i love it. keep up the good work!

Reviewer: RiddleDate: 2003-09-21
Reviewid: 53781Chapter: 1
This was so well written, such a simple concept, really, but incredibly moving. Very well done!

Reviewer: AshleyDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53465Chapter: 1
I was about to jump in the shower and decided that I was in the mood for a good fanfic first. So naturally came to the Quill and to my delight, stumbled across this story...

And, wow. I can't believe I managed to not cry during this, and I'm actually kind of glad I didn't because this fic left me feeling very satisfied and a stuffy nose woulda ruined the nice effect, I think.

Firstly, it complements the picture which inspired it wonderfully. I looked at the artwork before reading this and everything just tied in together very, very nicely. The drawing in and of itself is heartbreaking, and I love how you've built this from it.

Then of course your characterizations are brilliant...
This:
"Talk to me, Harry."
"Can't."
killed me. Just so you know. Also I found it amusing he preferred Harry to James. Anyway, won't ramble on... :) Excellent story.

Reviewer: Phoenix BlackDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53320Chapter: 1
I'm in LOVE!!! (with Remus)

Reviewer: StephanieDate: 2003-09-09
Reviewid: 51574Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed reading this. Lupin is my favourite character, and you portrayed him really good in this story. Keep writing, you have a natural talent. I'm going to go and read more of your stuff.

Reviewer: Nikki WeasleyDate: 2003-09-08
Reviewid: 51431Chapter: 1
omg! i loved it!~! it captured their sorrow and greaif perfectly and connected them!! i loved it!! :)

Reviewer: LettaDate: 2003-09-08
Reviewid: 51386Chapter: 1
Really great!

Reviewer: Loriel ErisDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50396Chapter: 1
Worderful! Simply wonderful! I loved this. :D The line

'They let Umbridge teach, and she was dangerous all the time.'

Had me laughing til I cried, perfect.

I loved seeing Remus and Harry talk. Harry has grown since what we saw in OotP but you've taken all the stuff that happened, with respect to Harry feeling angry all the time, and accounted for that in your story. I was so glad that they actually managed to *talk* to each other and that Harry felt a little better afterwards.

I feel you've managed to capture Harry and Remus perfectly in this story! Thank you.

Reviewer: RosebethDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48650Chapter: 1
This was beautiful. I had to wipe the tears away before I could write this. I thought it was great how you showed the two of them struggling with the same grief and finially finding their way to each other and common ground of something other than the grief. Well done.

Reviewer: Linnet GryffinDate: 2003-08-25
Reviewid: 48639Chapter: 1
Hey!

I've read this three times, and I have to say, I LOVE it better each time. Whenever I read it, my gut sort of twists like it always does when I'm about to cry. Your characterizations of Harry and Remus are perfect... they're so similar, and that's really neat. That's something I thought about after the fifth book-- how Harry might find Quidditch difficult because Sirius gave him the Firebolt. I could actually believe that this could happen in the sixth book... in fact, I'd be surprised if it didn't. I LOVED the part when they're talking about teacher fever... I really believed Remus enjoyed teaching Neville the boggart thing :). And I liked the reason that Harry continued to call Remus "Professor".

All in all, this is positively perfect, and I look forward to more work from you.

- Pineapple Queen

Reviewer: Waywren TruesongDate: 2003-08-25
Reviewid: 48563Chapter: 1
*tries to find words*

....


*gives up*


....thank you.

Reviewer: MarissaDate: 2003-08-24
Reviewid: 48474Chapter: 1
That was so cute! I loved it.

Reviewer: HP story surferDate: 2003-08-23
Reviewid: 48314Chapter: 1
Great Story! If you publish any more chapters to this i'll be happy to read them.

-HP story surfer

Reviewer: EmDate: 2003-08-23
Reviewid: 48308Chapter: 1
Loved this. The Firebolt totally made me tear up-- such a nice, *real* moment of grieving.

Reviewer: EmmaDate: 2003-08-22
Reviewid: 48235Chapter: 1
Loved it!

Reviewer: BeccaDate: 2003-08-22
Reviewid: 48234Chapter: 1
This was awsome! It was sooo cute! Your a really good writer!

Reviewer: solarphoenixDate: 2003-08-20
Reviewid: 48075Chapter: 1
Wow. Brilliant story. The conversation between Remus and Harry was quite nice, and I especially liked the part of Sirius' voice speaking to Remus instead of his own.

Until the next,

solarphoenix.

Reviewer: scooterDate: 2003-08-20
Reviewid: 48027Chapter: 1
this being my first story from Sugar Quill, as i just descovered it, i cant compare it to anything else on the site, but it was a marvelous piece of work all the same. i feel you really captured the true inner feelings of harry and profesor lupin. you used so many thoughts and feelings derived from the characters in the actual books that i was amazed that i was reading it on a wepage and not in the sixth book. i hope all the other stories on this site can match the passion and talent which you used to write this post-phoenix masterpiece. im looking forward to reading more of your work, because just as all the other HP books, it took my mind of my problems, and brought me into the real world of magic and wonder. --scooter

Reviewer: SinbinDate: 2003-08-20
Reviewid: 48016Chapter: 1
Oh my. I'm in the middle of work and I really feel like crying. PLEASE tell me how you write like this! It's fab, it really is. You seem to have really captured the characters. And you know, I really miss Sirius, but Remus is next best. Sinx

Reviewer: JennaDate: 2003-08-20
Reviewid: 48010Chapter: 1
*Sniff.* That was so great. It moved me as much as the picture did, and I really loved them both. It was perfect--I thought it was in character, and it was just...great. I can't even descirbe how I feel about it.

Reviewer: xDate: 2003-08-20
Reviewid: 47952Chapter: 1
Well done!! You made Harry's grief seem much more real, andd in depth, then most authors do- and made Lupin seem far more lifelike than most. I liked the whole realsing his grief/flying symbolism- and the whole crying at the moon image. You're an awesome writer!!!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47717Chapter: 1
Durayan's artwork is amazing, isn't it? And kudos to you, because this scenario could have been executed so badly, and you did it so WELL. :) The emotions are nuanced and genuine, and the flow is just about perfect. I loved seeing the joy with which Harry talked about his pupils. It's as if this is something he's given them consciously -- not like Voldemort's initial banishment, when he was an unknowing tot. The piece is a nice exploration of Remus' feelings, too, especially as he realizes that by default, he's now the Marauder to look after Harry.

Excellent!

~Katinka

Reviewer: BeatrixDate: 2003-08-16
Reviewid: 47383Chapter: 1
Whoa!! ^____^ Awesome story!! You did a fantastic job writing Lupin's character (particularly his insecurites and how he interacted with Harry).

I like how you address the issue of Harry continuing to call him 'Professor' (since he does so in the books), and Harry's reasons for doing so: since he expects Lupin to be back teaching DADA sometime. I liked that part so much, since it's my own personal wish to have Lupin be a Professor @ Hogwarts again sometime.
As well, it was great to read about Lupin and Harry connecting on the subject of teaching others and how it feels, since Harry relate after being a pseudo-DADA teacher in OotP. ^_^

Anyways, great story, keep writing! I hope you write more Lupin fics, since you've got his character down perfectly!

Reviewer: JenDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47218Chapter: 1
This is a fantastic story. I absolutly love how it evolves and how earnest the emotions in both characters are.

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2003-08-14
Reviewid: 47117Chapter: 1
I think this is the best post-OotP Harry I've read so far. I hope something like this happens in canon.

Reviewer: zsenyaDate: 2003-08-14
Reviewid: 47025Chapter: 1
Wow. Just... wow. I was in the mood to read a really good story tonight, and that was it. Your characterizations of Harry and Professor Lupin seem very true to the way they are in the books. I especially like Remus's admission that he likes Harry a little better than James. I like it for a number of reasons, but mainly because it means he is thinking of Harry as an individual and recognizing all his potential. And oh... how sad that Sirius just isn't there.

Reviewer: BecDate: 2003-08-13
Reviewid: 46918Chapter: 1
What a wonderful, cathartic story! You drew Remus and Harry's character's marvellously well, and I love that you touched on Harry's teaching skills. I really hope that he becomes the DA teacher one day. I loved the bit about Remus howling his grief at the moon, and this bit made me ache so much:

"For a long time, Harry didn't respond to his presence at all. He didn't seem to be crying--there were no hitched breaths, no shaking shoulders. He was simply still as a statue, hiding behind his hands. His glasses hung at a skewed angle from one finger.

"Harry?"

He shook his head.

"Talk to me, Harry."

"Can't."

Oh.

Thank you for such a lovely story. :)

Reviewer: Frank RawlandDate: 2003-08-13
Reviewid: 46863Chapter: 1
Well done Fern!

I have always believed that getting the emotional nuances of the characters right is indispensible if a piece of Potter fanfiction is to pass the "willing suspension of disbelief" test. CRY WITH THE MOON hits the mark so well I'm considering how I might work elements of it into a longer fic I'm grinding out (primarily, the more complex relationship Harry is likely to have with his Firebolt after losing Sirius).

With proper attribution, of course.

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46747Chapter: 1
Thank you for such a beautiful, sensitive fic. Two people who do their best never to show their inner feelings, coming to grips with their loss and finding a strange sort of comfort in each other.

"He reached out to touch Harry's shoulder, changed his mind, then changed it again and placed his hand decisively on Harry's left arm. It was not thrown off."

That is so telling: we've already seen Remus unwilling to reach out and communicate by touch, and now he is breaking down his own barriers to reach out to Harry.

You capture their shared joy in teaching quite wonderfully. And I always suspected that Remus absolutely loved teaching Neville how to deal with his Boggart!!

Reviewer: Shi-chanDate: 2003-08-11
Reviewid: 46675Chapter: 1
Waaah! That made me cry again! All these after-Sirius's-death stories make me cry. Great job. I love the way you've done the relationship between Harry and Remus. And the ending...*cries* Well done!

Reviewer: Mrs.GrobanDate: 2003-08-11
Reviewid: 46605Chapter: 1
Oh that was such a wonderful story. It was...perfect. Excellant job. I loved it.

Reviewer: Jedi SkysongDate: 2003-08-11
Reviewid: 46593Chapter: 1
Can I just say that I really, REALLY want to see in canon a certain Professor H.J. Potter teaching Defense Against the Dark Arts in the future?

Heh.

Beautiful work, Jedi Gala! And I just love Remus and Harry here - it's got a canon-like feel to it that I almost think it's a missing chapter or appendix or something from the 6th book.

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2003-08-11
Reviewid: 46574Chapter: 1
Hi FernWithy! Not much to add to the other comments, but just wanted to say, good work in keeping Harry and Remus IC (in character)! As someone who tends to suppress my emotions myself (wasn't born that way, but learned it as a defense mechanism), Remus's inner thoughts seemed quite...well, Remus. Thanks for a great story!

Reviewer: John AndersonDate: 2003-08-11
Reviewid: 46570Chapter: 1
This was the first story I have read on Sugarquill (having just learned of the sight recently) and I really enjoyed this story. I had also considered Harry as a likely candidate for the Defense against the Dark Arts position. It was a bit of a tease though, and I would like to read more of your work. Thanks for taking me back Hogwarts (for a few minutes at least).

Reviewer: JeanDate: 2003-08-11
Reviewid: 46565Chapter: 1
Hi FernWithy,
I really liked this story. I thought you did a good job keeping Harry and Remus in character. It's always difficult to get the proper amount of angst with them because they are so repressive of their strong emotions. If you put too much gushy drama into a scene it ruins it--but it's hard to convey the sort of grief they feel in a subdued, believable way.
I do have one suggestion--at the very end, describe the Snitch as a "star" instead of a "sun". You probably know that 'Sirius' is the name for one of the brightest stars in the galaxy and for those that who can connect the ideas, you'd have one more way of expressing a sort of presence Sirius has to Harry on his Firebolt.
Please keep writing! :)

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-08-11
Reviewid: 46551Chapter: 1
Wonderful story, I really enjoyed it. I thought the simularitys between Lupin and Potter, were just right.

Reviewer: Olivia PitcherDate: 2003-08-10
Reviewid: 46527Chapter: 1
So, so good. I really enjoyed this - great title as well. Its such a nice change from a dark, brooding portrayal of a grieving Harry/Remus, and its good to finally see them moving on with their lives! Huzzah!!

Reviewer: Incurable RomanticDate: 2003-08-10
Reviewid: 46513Chapter: 1
This is wonderful! Yay Lupin!

Reviewer: SilverAriesDate: 2003-08-10
Reviewid: 46512Chapter: 1
This is an absolutely beautiful piece. I see it as very realistic and in character. I love the way Harry connects the Firebolt to Sirius, as in real life, when we grieve for someone, the oddest things will always remind us of them. I also love the angst that both Harry and Remus are feeling and the fact that there is a glimmer of hope at the end.
Beautiful story,
Keep up the good work.

-SilverAries

Reviewer: Madeline ElsterDate: 2003-08-10
Reviewid: 46504Chapter: 1
Beautiful story. I anticipated most post-OotP, Sirius angst stories to be full of a pessmistic, "life sucks,nothing to do about it but angst till we die" tone; you, however, have exceeded my expectations! This story is sad, but has hope: a speck that grows into a "small sun" in progression. Your Remus is great: He's humble, reserved, and selfless, not wanting to deal with himself but knowing that he has to, and that he and Harry must deal with life in ordre to go forth in life. The bit about "teacher fever" was great. And I loved this:

"He knew the instinct, the desire to just retreat inside the private world of the mind. It was his own anesthetic of choice, but like any powerful substance, too much was harmful. Harry had nearly lost himself in his own daydreams before the Mirror of Erised, according to Dumbledore, and now he was losing himself in the dark labyrinth of his mind, where monsters stalked him in the shadows."

Great description! :)

Reviewer: Roy CDate: 2003-08-10
Reviewid: 46491Chapter: 1
I have to say that I could actually see this happening. After Sirius' death that Lupin would become a defacto godfather to Harry maybe JKR will apply something similar in the next book. As I believe the relationship between Remus and Harry could become even stronger as the two of them are so similar. Both being highly protective of their friends and secretive and not wanting their friends to become too close so as to attempt to diminish the sense of loss if/when it is their time to pass on. I look forward to futre pieces from you.

Reviewer: AlphieDate: 2003-08-10
Reviewid: 46473Chapter: 1
This was wonderful! I'm asking - BEGING! Can you submit this to The Werewolf Registry? I would love to host it over there.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-08-10
Reviewid: 46469Chapter: 1
Wow! This just cut right to the heart, like the silver knife in Remus's, but you brought it around to a hopeful ending. You've portrayed the grieving process rather well. I agree, it will probably be Remus who will help Harry deal with his loss (or both their losses, I should say). I always look for your insightful comments on the forums. Now I need to investigate more of your stories, FW!

Reviewer: IsabelA113Date: 2003-08-10
Reviewid: 46447Chapter: 1
Really lovely. You have captured both characters very faithfully. Remus's insecurities and hesitation to connect with Harry were very moving. This piece captured a delicate moment in a relationship and you rendered it beatifully.

Reviewer: AeternaDate: 2003-08-10
Reviewid: 46425Chapter: 1
Awesome! Oh, I loved it so much! I knew, right from the first time I heard you mention it at the Pensieve, that this would be great, and it is! And of course, being the rabid H/G shipper that I am, I had to let out a nice long (word that annoys Cap'n Kathy) at this:

"Great. When I get up there, just let out the Snitch. I'll see if I can beat Ginny's time in the last game." He shook his head. "Never thought I'd hear myself say that."

Wonderful, wonderful, story!

Much love,
'Terna

Reviewer: shooting starDate: 2003-08-10
Reviewid: 46413Chapter: 1
wow, your stories are always so emotional!!! You do it really well! thank you for that ^-^ x

Reviewer: SlideDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46371Chapter: 1
Alright! So I was tough! (or cold-hearted) I shed no tears for Sirius; was merely depressed! I read fanfic, I thought about it, and yet could not quite find myself that upset about Sirius' death. I think it hadn't quite sunk in that he is GONE. But this... bah, I found myself welling up. Fantastic work, really moving. I think Remus and Harry really are going to need each other in the future.

Reviewer: LauraDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46364Chapter: 1
I am a big of Durayan's artwork too, and frequently lurk here and at the Werewolf Registry.

As for your fic, fantastic job! You are really on a roll with your last two stories: insightful, in character, great choice of language...bravo! I can't wait to see more.

Reviewer: Arrows' Biggest FanDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46358Chapter: 1
I really like this!!!

Reviewer: JennyDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46355Chapter: 1
That was excellent!

Your story was very sweet. I really loved the bit when Harry was talking about teaching, I couldn't help smiling when he talked about Neville.

It was a very sweet story, I've always wanted Remus and Harry to get to know each other better.

Reviewer: MPDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46354Chapter: 1
nice job

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46346Chapter: 1
aw, that's just precious!!! Love it to death

Reviewer: MythDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46344Chapter: 1
Wonderful. Absolutley breath-takingly fabulous. You hvae caught the emotion and the awkwardness of both characters and traversed it very well. I love the fact you found common ground between Remus and Harry. Congratulations on a fantastic piece.
Much love,
Myth xxx

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46329Chapter: 1
*wipes tear from eye*

Excellent! That was the best fic about Harry over-coming his grief (well, nearly) I've read, and it stayed so true to how it could happen in canon!

I loved Remus in this, and also the humour near the end, in fact, I loved all of it :)

Hannah x

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46318Chapter: 1
Excellent story, FernWithy. I chanced upon the art last night and thought it was very good too. Can understand why it inspired you.

Reviewer: AquillaDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46305Chapter: 1
This was really really good. I am suitably impressed, and delighted. Your characterisation is superb. Thank You.

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46299Chapter: 1
This is really well-written. It fits the picture perfectly. I love how you emphasized the fact that Harry was not really crying, he was just...hiding. Harry and Remus are in character. I especially love how Remus isn't really sure how to act around Harry all the time. It really shows the difference between him and Sirius as a mentor. Not that he's worse, he's just not Sirius, and you have that down in this fic.

Reviewer: DurayanDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46282Chapter: 1
Oh, my, but this is EXCELLENT! Your characterizations of both Harry and Lupin are lovely (when Lupin starts to reach out and then just puts his hand in his pocket---wow!)

You also handle the very real issues of grief with both characters. I love that when Remus is talking to himself in his mind, he's using Sirius' voice. The inadequacy of "life goes on" and the delicate balance of living it while it goes on are handled beautifully here.

I'm honored that you credit me with inspiring such a lovely story.

Reviewer: smokeyDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46272Chapter: 1
this was a very adult story, and one of the better Harry/Remus stories. I hope we see more of Remus in the future. He's a strong character

Reviewer: R1&R2Date: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46266Chapter: 1
Marvelous story. Perfectly captured Remus Lupin. And the artwork by Durayan is excellent!

Reviewer: Muggle MollyDate: 2003-08-09
Reviewid: 46264Chapter: 1
I am so glad this had a more upbeat ending than other stories I have read on this subject. The Sirius/Firebolt connection was one I had not thought of as yet. Of course it would hit Harry hard; it plays well in you story. Very well done.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --