The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Independence
Review(s): 35

Reviewer: Wyrdnightsister, Jenny S.Date: 2005-10-07
Reviewid: 133934Chapter: 1
I really liked this story, everyone was so in charcter (I know the spelling is incorrect sry 4 that).

Reviewer: JessieDate: 2005-03-14
Reviewid: 116541Chapter: 1
A very nice way of incorporating the Black's hate for Sirius with good humour!

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2005-02-11
Reviewid: 113472Chapter: 1
I must have read this story a dozen times since you first posted it, yet somehow I have managed not to write a review. Silly me...

I LOVE THIS STORY! Heh, it's definately on my "Top 5 HP Fan Fics List." It's just so witty and believable and wonderful in every way. (well, not for the people IN the story neccesarily, but for the reader ^^). In fact, I don't think anyone else I have read quite captures the attitudes of the young marauders as you do (except for JK of course, since she is always right in characterization). You do equally well with the other 3, but I just LOVE this story.

Ok, I'll shut up.

Cheers!

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-01-07
Reviewid: 110095Chapter: 1
nice

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2004-07-06
Reviewid: 90866Chapter: 1
Wow, this was really interesting and enjoyable. I felt bad for Sirius, though.

Oh, and I think you got to know the 16 year old Sirius very well. :)

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83099Chapter: 1
Delicious :)

Reviewer: JolieDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74264Chapter: 1
Wonderful story idea! It’s great to see that one throwaway line in OOTP about Uncle Alphard be filled with life like this. It drew me right in, and I practically whooped along with young Sirius at the reading of the will. Good work! The way you write the legal stuff and your portrayal of the Black family is particularly good – that whole stiff, what-will-the-neighbours-think façade, and behind it only cold-hearted greed. Yes, it’s kind of puzzling to think that Sirius should have escaped everything Grimmauld Place stood for all on his own without any “outside help”. The way you pictured it is very plausible and makes for a very enjoyable read.

I hope Sirius *did* paint his living room purple.

Thanks for a great story! :-)

Jolie

Reviewer: stefDate: 2004-03-11
Reviewid: 74108Chapter: 1
all i have to say is beautiful *WOW* and amazing portrayal of characters... keep it up

Reviewer: Olive HornbyDate: 2004-03-11
Reviewid: 74036Chapter: 1
I like how you fleshed out the relationship between Sirius and his uncle. Great characterizations; the Blacks were appropriately stiff and stuffy, not to mention selfish. Sirius's glee over his family's anger was perfect.

>>Should the said Sirius Black not attain the age of seventeen years, the remainder and residue of my estate is to be divided in equal shares between the British Society for the Study of Magical Languages, the Muggle Relations Institute, and the Werewolf Welfare Foundation.<<

I LOVE that... I can just see the extended Black clan taking that as 'insult to injury'. The Werewolf Welfare Foundation... did Uncle Alphard guess that Sirius had a werewolf friend from their conversations? I really enjoyed this story.

Reviewer: big daveDate: 2004-03-11
Reviewid: 73987Chapter: 1
i really enjoyed this fic and to answer your question at the begining

"I have been wondering what – or who – turned Sirius away from his parents and the darker side of life. After all, raised in that sort of household he ‘should’ have ended up something like Draco, spoilt and very prejudiced. Yet he seems to have rejected his family’s way of life and beliefs at an early age, certainly before coming to Hogwarts. After all, a ‘true’ Black would have turned Remus in, once he discovered the werewolf secret."

i think alot of it would have to do with the fundimental diferances between the Black and Malfoy familys Lucius Malfoy is a very swreud and smart man and he pobably indoctrinated draco from and early age to hate Mudblood were as the blacks probly just asumed he'd turn out like them plus it dos'nt help that draco has the emotional maturaty of a five year old

Reviewer: RebeccaDate: 2003-12-17
Reviewid: 63777Chapter: 1
oh, very good! more please!

Reviewer: Sergeant MajoretteDate: 2003-10-24
Reviewid: 57732Chapter: 1
I was wondering what had happened to drive Sirius away from his family; I don't see a sixteen-year old running away because of ideology. This makes sense. Now I'm going to go back and read all your other stuff. You give great backstory...

Reviewer: Eir de ScaniaDate: 2003-09-28
Reviewid: 54631Chapter: 1
I´ve just reread this fic, and it´s really good. As close to canon as possible! Just one thing - would Sirius call his parents "mum & dad"? I think "mother" and "father" more like it.
Agreed, he must have grown up a lot fairly quickly. You see that sometimes, teenagers going from thoughtless children to sensitive young women/men in a few months.
But I´m so thankful you just have to go through adolescence once...

Reviewer: beatleDate: 2003-09-27
Reviewid: 54546Chapter: 1
That is a really cool scene. Please write more

Reviewer: PennyDate: 2003-09-27
Reviewid: 54504Chapter: 1
You just keep writing better and better! Made me laugh, cry, everything!

Reviewer: Thing1Date: 2003-09-08
Reviewid: 51294Chapter: 1
You delicious evil legal genius you. I love this story - terrific pacing. The lawyers being *happy* with thwarting the Blacks, that makes it great. And of course the *hint* that Sirius fears for his life, given that he is not of age...strengthens the vile character of his family we now know. Fab as always.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-08-29
Reviewid: 49159Chapter: 1
[and yes, they would be more than happy to let him rent the old shed and paved area at the end of the run-down back garden.] For when a certain werewolf comes to visit? ;) Nice reference to Remus there.

[the other barely more than a giant kennel.] He, nice imagery for our dear Padfoot! Too bad the owners didn't say anything about "no pets."

[But the other Sirius had wickedly enjoyed playing the part of dutiful elder son, thinking how much his uncle would have appreciated the humour in the situation. He’d done it to perfection too, knowing he looked handsome in his dark blue formal robes, greeting and introducing people, smug in the knowledge that his parents would receive only compliments for his impeccable behaviour and consideration for all the guests.] Wow! You've really tapped into some honest human emotions. Not to many of us admit to ourselves when we're "playing" dutiful and you really nailed it on the head, the feelings of smugness for putting on an act for a family you're less than fond of.

Wow! I really liked the running commentary in Sirius's head during the will, especially in regards to his cousins! Even though we've been given plenty of evidence that Sirius is a bit of a devil, I still have this angelic, gentle image of him and his thoughts on Narcissa and Bellatrix were hysterical, but cutting and honest. This doesn't feel like fanfiction anymore, more like an original work.

Oooh, that was chilling, Sirius worrying about "accidents". At first I thought you meant Voldemort, but then I realized you were talking about the family. Very wicked!

Excellent missing moment, really captures the Blacks and greedy relatives after a funeral (which my family has had plenty of experience with. I have a great aunt who I swear is the template for Mrs. Black!)

Reviewer: KrystalDate: 2003-08-13
Reviewid: 46990Chapter: 1
I see where Sirius gets it from. Bravo, Uncle Alphard! He just had to get the last word in, didn't he? You write as someone very knowledgeable in the legal works of writing wills (or at least very good at pretending, as I know nothing about what makes it legal). Very believable story and great characterization! I never would have given Alphard a second thought.

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2003-08-13
Reviewid: 46870Chapter: 1
I really admire the way you've captured the formal and cold presence of Sirius's family at the funeral and the reading of the will. They have absolutely no heart at all, and it's wonderful that at least a few people in the family gave Sirius a little encouragement and some money.

What I really love, though, and I think you showcased very well, is the actual will itself. I could almost see their faces. You did a great job of blending in Sirius's thoughts, portions of the text of the will, and dialogue. It was great fun and I felt as if I were a fly on the wall.

As always, you do a wonderful job with Sirius, and I felt like he had some measure of happiness for a short time.

Reviewer: la petite sireneDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46801Chapter: 1
"The piano! And the dragons! Sirius felt a wave of happiness. He&#8217;d practised for hours on that piano, and his uncle had always encouraged him to learn the works of Muggle composers like Bach. "
Clever how you include aspects of Sirius' life developed in 'A most unusual student' all without ever going against cannon. I like your rebel Sirius, his foul mother is very much like her portrait we come accross in OoTP and even little Tonks is already a handful at 10 months !
This was a pleasure to read, as all your fics. Are we going to find out what happened when he got back home ?

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46792Chapter: 1
Awesome! This is a very interesting take on Sirius's family. :)

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46772Chapter: 1
Well done! Interesting reading with lots of good introspection.

Catherine

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46765Chapter: 1
Again, a great job. I always love your stories, and I agree that Sirius had to have grown up very quickly after that OotP scene--and that there was probably more there than met the eye, too. I love the way you've portrayed him: intelligent, mischevious, and suspicious of his family. Kudos.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46755Chapter: 1
Oops! I meant Augusta. I just read Clarimonde's story too, and I mixed up the names of your Black mums. Sorry!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46752Chapter: 1
I'm so glad that you've had such wonderful OotP inspiration lately, and that Sirius has you as his champion. I officially adore Uncle Alphard for being someone Sirius could confide in over the years, and I love the way he thumbs his nose at that rotten family. I don't think he could have chosen more fitting charities than "British Society for the Study of Magical Languages, the Muggle Relations Institute, and the Werewolf Welfare Foundation". Heh heh!

Good thing Uncle Alphard made provisions for what might happen in the case of Sirius' "accidental" death, because I was starting to have visions of Alcyone waiting outside the solicitor's office, ready to push her son into oncoming traffic. It's very sad that similar thoughts occurred to him, too. :(

Keep these great stories coming!

~Katinka

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46745Chapter: 1
I'm glad I'm the only one in the office so far. "British Society for the Study of Magical Languages, the Muggle Relations Institute, and the Werewolf Welfare Foundation." Too funny!

later listened while a young Sirius had assured him that one day, he too was going to find a dragon or a hippogriff
-nice touch

And at least you’ve got your tits covered today, though your robes couldn’t be much tighter.
-The top reason on why young men join the Dark side.

I think you did an excellent job in describing the very stiff, proper, and nasty members of the old Dark families.

Sorry to cut this review short but the boss just showed up.

Excellent fic!

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46743Chapter: 1
?Muggles - Mermish and Gobbledegook and all that stuff - and werewolves? thought Sirius, and he found himself grinning again. That would be even worse than him inheriting.?

I like your Uncel Alphard he is such a clever old chap. I can imagine him having much fun inditing a waterproof will so that the ?dark? part of the family won?t get anything.

Thanks for sharing your creativity - it is such a good entertainment.

Reviewer: IceDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46730Chapter: 1
this is an AWESOME piece! loved it...are you going to continue this? it'd be cool if you added some more chapters. can't wait for more of "a most unusual student"!

Reviewer: InsanityDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46710Chapter: 1
"'Muggles - Mermish and Gobbledegook and all that stuff - and werewolves? thought Sirius, and he found himself grinning again. That would be even worse than him inheriting. “"

Smart old uncle Alphard - you really made a fleshed out character out of the name!

And of course Sirius - wondeful, thinking, feeling, different Sirius. Abuse almost washing over his head after years of it (importantly, almost). Feeling as two different people at the funeral - wow, you really know it can be. And all the humorous ideas running through his head amidst everything - just amazing.

"So he HAS left his money to St Mungo's! thought Sirius gleefully, picking up the nuance in language. Or to a dragon reservation, or a home for elderly homeless Muggles! ...

What HAS the old boy done? Sirius felt a sudden twinge of apprehension intrude on the glee. The family won’t be pleased if the dragons get it."

Werewolf Welfare Foundation!!!??? Well, that's even better! I wish there was one!

Oh, and that Narcissa and a broomstick thing - that's a 16 y.o. boy, all right!

"Narcissa’s looking a prim and proper little bitch – wonder what sort of charm she’s plastered on that silver hair today? What the hell does Malfoy see in her? My broomstick has a better figure – it’s probably more intelligent - and I bet it’s a better ride … "

This was a great getting to know 16 y.o. Sirius. The one who considered the possiblity that his parents may want to murder him, and yet he is still able to enjoy the wonderful world.

Amazing.

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46706Chapter: 1
Excellent story! I loved the reactions of the family members as the will was read, and the clever old duck making sure that the family would gain nothing if Sirius or the Tonks kids met with mysterious accidents! Go Uncle Aphard.

Reviewer: ChloéDate: 2003-08-12
Reviewid: 46696Chapter: 1
Yeah Alphard, go for it !!!!
From beyond the grave ...!!!

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2003-08-11
Reviewid: 46665Chapter: 1
Alkari: Great one-shot! And Sirius's naughty thoughts about his Darker relatives were hilarious! Good job working in Ted and Andromeda, even though they had minor roles. And the little things like Sirius wanting to go find a dragon or hippogriff also brought a smile to my face. Thanks for brightening my day!

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-08-11
Reviewid: 46660Chapter: 1
Oh,this is sooo funny. How he "thumbed his nose at the Blacks" and left it all to Sirius and the Tonks. It's just what they deserve.

Reviewer: GewndolynDate: 2003-08-11
Reviewid: 46655Chapter: 1
Alphard Black must be laughing in his grave right now. What sweet revenge on such dispicable relatives! And although I knew what was going to happen, I stilled laughed outloud when the fifth clause of the will was read. Take that, you nasty Blacks!

Amazing story! I always enjoy reading your stories about Sirius, James, and Remus...okay, and Peter, too. Good luck with "A Most Unusual Student!"

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-08-11
Reviewid: 46652Chapter: 1
aw, I loved it!! Good job, and an excellent missing moment!!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --