The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Doll Army
Review(s): 163

Reviewer: AmethystBelovedDate: 2009-01-20
Reviewid: 151346Chapter: 1
I've read this before, and I had to skim through it again to leave a worthy review. I can tell that this is really special to you with the way that you've had your Dora think back about this moment in your fics, especially when Mr. Pettigrew was involved. As he is close to Sirius, she cares for him too, and will always think about the butterflies. I love the way you had the protection system going among the Death Eaters. It looks like Peter cared for Dora as well.

The Remus and Dora scenes were divine, and I just keep reading her sitting on his lap over and over again. The kiss was great too.

Reviewer: Severely LupineDate: 2008-01-15
Reviewid: 150405Chapter: 1
Oh, what a nice little story. And the end was kind of touching in a way, showing a not-all-bad side of Peter, which is so easy to miss.

Reviewer: NymphatrixDate: 2007-10-05
Reviewid: 149509Chapter: 1
I love this story and the relationships that are explained through it e.g Dromeda & Sirius ect.

Reviewer: marilynDate: 2007-10-04
Reviewid: 149502Chapter: 1
Really beautiful. Makes me hurt now to love Remus and Tonks!

Reviewer: XalerDate: 2007-07-08
Reviewid: 148468Chapter: 1
This was great. I especially liked Remus' reaction to Tonks sitting in is lap and kissing his cheek. Tonks, bless her, was such a cute little girl. Sirius was very in-character, Peter was too. The part at the end, when Peter did the spell, was that so Bellatrix wouldn't interfere or go in? Was that a implication that he was somewhat good? Or did it mean that he would, "take care" of them? Hmm...I rather liked Bellatrix as being the one hwo called her a "half blood freak" I liked her, she stayed nice and evil, but not completly blood thirsty, just as in the books. Thank you for a great read.

Reviewer: bennedettoDate: 2006-08-02
Reviewid: 144606Chapter: 1
Wow.

Wow, oh, wow.

I loved this story SO MUCH and I know I say that about a lot of stories but I think this one just might be my favorite.

Great writing, fantastic emotion, I love the portrayal of the characters...

And that bit with Peter was so sweet that if I hadn't turned off the sad-but-sweet song I was listening to I would've started crying, I swear.

I love this so much I'm gonna bookmark it and read it a million more times. :D

Reviewer: krumfanDate: 2006-03-12
Reviewid: 140830Chapter: 1
Holy snuff!! This lil' story here was scary as hell! I just read Shifts and Shade tonight, so imagine my delight when I found the back-story for Dora's dolls here!

And to know Bella was gonna attack her and her family...and Peter protected them? Weird, creepy, and sweet in a weird creepy way. Oh, how I HATE that rat! But I think the character I hate the most from all your stories is Bella.....she is just pure evil...

Anywho, once again, a great fic, and I enjoyed it immensely, as per usual!

are you JKRowling in disguise?

krumfan

Reviewer: Pennifold Z. LumosnoxDate: 2005-12-27
Reviewid: 137698Chapter: 1
Fern, you made me laugh and then you made me cry. Simply amazing.

I have no idea if this can be canon, but I know that it is <i>true<i>. So incredibly true. Thanks.

I've never understood how Peter did what he did, and this doesn't answer my question. Which is good. It isn't answerable. He did have the capacity to love.

This, Of a Sort, and Shifts are my favorties of yours. I love the way you write Ted Tonks, and also the Maurader relationships. Please keep writing for ever and ever. And ever.

I mean, wow. How they all protect in their own way, as much as they can. Powerful stuff. I think I am going to go cry about the fates of the mauraders and then go to bed. Ah, catharsis.

Thanks.

<3,
Pennilux

Reviewer: ClaireDate: 2005-10-10
Reviewid: 134174Chapter: 1
This is really great. It gives Peter a good side, you know? and of course Dora is really sweet. the ending is genious.

Reviewer: ttaDate: 2005-09-14
Reviewid: 132530Chapter: 1
Wow. This fic is absolutely wonderful! Dora is so adorable and I liked the realistic way you described the fear from the war and Andromeada trying to protect her child. Remus, Sirius and Peter were all spot on. The ending was particularly. brilliant. I do think, however, that even though Sirius is quite a brilliant wizard, that's quite a complex charm he cast on the dolls, epsecially in such a short time.
But that's my only nitpick, other than that, spectacular fic!

Reviewer: RikiDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131316Chapter: 1
WOW! Amazaing. One of the bests!

Reviewer: rosiewDate: 2005-08-05
Reviewid: 128901Chapter: 1
This was so beautifully written, loved the interaction between the characters and especially between Andromeda and Sirius. Little Tonks was very cute too. Great work.

Reviewer: CynthiaDate: 2005-07-19
Reviewid: 127430Chapter: 1
I absolutely adored this fic. It is beautifully written. I loved the how Mr. Lupin charmed the Steffi doll and that Peter protected Dora. Fantastic!

Reviewer: merlynDate: 2005-07-03
Reviewid: 125943Chapter: 1
This actually made me cry. I honestly think this is the first story in which I have actually liked Peter. I love the way you've written him; without being apologetic or out of character, you have given him such depth. A beautiful fic.

Reviewer: CotumeDate: 2005-05-05
Reviewid: 121468Chapter: 1
Wow. This is really amazing. I just had this story recommended to me, so I haven't had a chance to read any of your other work. I'll have to be sure to do that now!

I love the way you wrote Sirius and Lupin especially. Very much the way I've always imagined them. ^__^ I can't wait to read more of your stories!

Reviewer: AmbereenDate: 2005-04-08
Reviewid: 119026Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this! Although it made me feel a bit icky about my fantasies of Lupin and Tonks getting together!

"Mr. Pettigrew's a bit insecure about his little sword," Sirius whispered loudly.

Heh heh heh......

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2005-03-31
Reviewid: 118267Chapter: 1
The sorting stories showed how Pettigrew got to be in Gryfindor, this shows that he did have a little courage left near the end too. Your imperious Sirius is completely true to form as usual. And Dora is adorable. Excellent projection of innocence in evil times.

Reviewer: LyaDate: 2005-03-18
Reviewid: 116884Chapter: 1
Firstly, I'm a lurker; I never post replies. There is your first compliment. ;)
So original and well written; it tore at my heart and made me laugh out loud. Thank you for your Peter characterization.
With Shoebox not being updated lately, I've been stuck with no MWPP goodness but this more than did the job and was the first marauder centric fic I've read past the first few paragraphs and to the end since first reading SBP. And I'm glad I did because I loved your Peter more than theirs!
I almost forgot to add that the Dora/Lupin moments were lovely.
I'm definitely saving this link.

Reviewer: Lady NaginiDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115637Chapter: 1
I absolutely love this piece. It's almost difficult to reconcile this sympathetic Peter with that of PoA, in which he's a snivelling rat and devoted servant, but I suppose that 13 or 14 years living in hiding as a rat can take its toll. This is so powerful...the hope, love, and devotion are almost palpable, but it's hard to see Remus and Sirius and even Peter happy (or at least content), knowing that their lives will be shattered in so short a time.

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-23
Reviewid: 114746Chapter: 1
I love your work. This is the best piece I've read in the last three months. When you go pro - send me an e-mail and I will buy the books.

Reviewer: CrystalDate: 2005-01-22
Reviewid: 111804Chapter: 1
Wow, what an imaginative story! I love it. Iteresting bit with Peter and the Mark. Could it be there's some good left in him? At least then, I suppose. It was a very touching point though.

Reviewer: DenaliDate: 2005-01-11
Reviewid: 110505Chapter: 1
OH! FANTASTIC! GREAT! I can't say enough good things! The Remus-Tonks stuff was great, Bella was EVIL and psychopathic! Sirius was the perfect blend of serious (*giggle*) and fun - and Dora observations of Peter were spot on and very 6 years old (In my opinion, people don't give kids enough credit for being observent)

LOVED IT!

Reviewer: VickiDate: 2005-01-04
Reviewid: 109661Chapter: 1
I'm here from http://www.livejournal.com/community/idol_reflection/19887.html and enjoyed the story a lot. Recently I haven't thought as much about HP as I normally would, so I had hardly considered Tonks and her childhood. She was very cute in your story. ^^ I loved all the story, really, but especially Remus and Peter. *Especially* Peter because he was a real character and not all bad.

Reviewer: skyemarieDate: 2004-12-07
Reviewid: 107094Chapter: 1
absolutely wonderful! i've always wanted to read a child!tonks story. i love the interaction of each character with little dora...it was exactly as i have imagined.

Reviewer: maryDate: 2004-11-27
Reviewid: 106138Chapter: 1
Love this story, so many nice details that add up to a wonderful whole--Lupin's charming Steffi, the doll army protecting Dora, Sirius' concern for his relatives, and Peter's protection of the family from the DEs. Well done!

Reviewer: EkaterinDate: 2004-11-16
Reviewid: 105053Chapter: 1
Wow. Great story, and a very sudden twist right at the end. Very nicely done. Thank you.

Reviewer: BeckyDate: 2004-10-16
Reviewid: 101597Chapter: 1
Now that was one ending I did not expect. It was neat to see Peter in such a prominent role to begin with: it's nice to find that you made him a complex psychological character as well. Yay for defying fanon!

Reviewer: Aurianna ParkerDate: 2004-10-16
Reviewid: 101573Chapter: 1
Wow! That is an amzing story! You have all the characters down so well, and you really capture the tense mood of the War without being overt - very much from a child's perspective. Peter's protection is an especially nice touch. Well done! I can't wait to read your other stuff!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2004-10-02
Reviewid: 100097Chapter: 1
Just--Wow. This is an incredible story, from beginning to end. It should be required reading. The plot, the characterization, the pacing, the twist at the end,We'd like to say more good things, but there's just too much. It's one of our all-time fanfic favorites.

Reviewer: bando2Date: 2004-09-22
Reviewid: 98980Chapter: 1
I lovr the fact that peter was human in this story. It is very rare.

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2004-08-24
Reviewid: 98405Chapter: 1
I really thought this was a great fan fic, and it really caught the attitudes of all the characters. I enjoyed seeing someone elses idea of the young versions of the characters.

Reviewer: JustLookingDate: 2004-08-11
Reviewid: 96688Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed reading this. Are you a Remus/Tonks shipper by any chance (I am, which is probably another reasin I liked it so much.)
This line was really sad i thought
Sirius leaned to Dora and whispered, loudly enough for everyone to hear, "He's been a grown-up since he was eleven."

"Six," Mr. Lupin said. He was still smiling, but Dora thought his voice sounded sad.

Aww. Everyone's characters were spot on.

Reviewer: Matilda BagginsDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93677Chapter: 1
Wow. This was really incredibly moving. I loved the way Pettigrew protected Dora. He couldn't really be entirely a monster. I just wish he could have protected James and Lily too, but I guess he didn't because Voldemort was so determined to get Harry and Voldemort didn't really care about Andromeda's family nearly as much. *sigh* Poor Dora. This is just so breathtaking and insightful. Your portrayal of Dora as a child during the first war was utterly convincing. The war through the eyes of a child. It's brilliant because it allows for flashes of humor and lightness because a child can't really understand the full weight of what's happening. Bellatrix is perfect in her maliciousness and single-minded devotion to 'the cause'. I could also vividly imagine the doll wars that would have taken place between the three sisters and how Andromeda would dread her own daughter being involved in them in any way. Your characterizations were lovely. I wanted to cry when Sirius' doll went up against the Bellatrix doll and I was forced to reread Sirius' final scene in 'Order of the Phoenix'... He went after Bella to protect Dora. *waaahhh* Sirius had his faults but unswerving loyalty was not one of them. Excellent story. Please do keep writing.

Reviewer: FunktiousDate: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 91926Chapter: 1
One of the best and most original fics Ive read. Well done!

Reviewer: heartseaDate: 2004-07-03
Reviewid: 90433Chapter: 1
This broke my heart in so many places. A wonderful story.

Reviewer: NaomiDate: 2004-06-27
Reviewid: 89102Chapter: 1
I really liked it. One of the best I've ever read.

Reviewer: AllisonDate: 2004-06-24
Reviewid: 88526Chapter: 1
WOW! Amazing story! I could feel the love in the room! lol and the fact that Wormtail kept Dora safe from his own kind was REALLY sweet! I love your stories! You rock, keep them all coming!

Reviewer: claireDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88127Chapter: 1
wow. that made me cry at the end. i like to believe that peter had a little good in him. the rest of the story was lovely as well. there was so much that could be read between the lines. i really loved it.

Reviewer: EmmaDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88103Chapter: 1
Oh my god I loved that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I loved everything about that story. Please please please write a sequel or a continuation of a couple years later or something cause I would love to read it. Suberb job!-

Reviewer: Chelsea_EvansDate: 2004-06-16
Reviewid: 87333Chapter: 1
Found this under recomendation from FictionAlley, and I must say I absolutely loved it! TOnks is so well portrayed. WOnderful. Being a Wotcher Wolvie shipper I loved the little Remus and Tonks moments, though I'm not sure if you meant to put them in.

Reviewer: KikiDate: 2004-06-06
Reviewid: 86043Chapter: 1
OMG!!!!111!!! I am love this story. I am going to add it to my site. http://www.potterholicA.blogspot.com

Hope you don't mind!

Reviewer: Miracles HappenDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83010Chapter: 1
Thiw was a wonderful story. Little Tonks is so adorable! And the Marauders (3/4 at least) playing with dolls is just so funny. I love how you portrayed Sirius being very good with kids and you made it very believable. And Remus was great with Steffi. I love how you wrote Peter. He's always shown as the quiet one that no one quite likes. You portrayed him as a good friend, not to mention the protection sign that he put the house under. It really makes him come out as the good guy in the end. Almost makes him likable. This was a great fic with great dialogue and some funny lines. Interesting twist at the end, too.

Reviewer: JetamorsDate: 2004-05-12
Reviewid: 82313Chapter: 1
So cute! And you manage to balance the fluff and the angst out perfectly.

Reviewer: mariagonerDate: 2004-05-02
Reviewid: 81077Chapter: 1
Amazing story. Just conveyed so much about a relatively minor character, her childhood and the people who traveled in and out of it. And Peter... damn. That part was good.

Reviewer: azaleaDate: 2004-04-22
Reviewid: 79732Chapter: 1
i loved this story!! I really liked the way it was told from the perspective of a young child.

Reviewer: Mikau A. KaiouseiDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79324Chapter: 1
That. Was. Brilliant. I nearly cried several times. It was sweet, and emotional, and totally, totally believeable. This is an amazing fic, and I'm running to read all your other ones. Keep writing.
~Mikauk

Reviewer: After the RainDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78914Chapter: 1
Oh wow, that was excellent -- cute, funny, thought-provoking and chilling at the same time. Love the interaction between Dora and Remus (awww!) and the ending (go Peter! I'm glad he gets to have a decent streak).

Reviewer: RunespoorDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78896Chapter: 1
At first, its starts like a nice enough fluffy fic. And so it continues, even if the reader feels sometimes a bit uneasy about some things Dora doesn't understand. And the reader wonders about Bellatrix and Mrs Black, and doesn't suspect anything about Peter's foolish wand-waving. And suddenly it makes sense and you find like Peter Pettigrew isn't wholly hateable, after all.

Thank you very much for sharing your gift of writing with us.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-03-24
Reviewid: 75764Chapter: 1
I... I... WAAAAAAAAAAH! "The world isn't divided into good people and Death Eaters." And it isn't even divided into good people and bad people. Peter's not so terrible... maybe when he's captured, they should just take his wand and make him wash out bedpans in St. Mungo's! Or something like that. Not go in Azkaban, he'd lose his marbles in 24 hours. At the beginning, with Sirius and Remus and Peter fooling about with the dolls and Dora/Tonks being so adorable, I was giggling nonstop (Sirius! Don't banter like that in front of a little girl!), and then there was that Bellatrix doll and Alice, who was so cheerful all the time, but now she's a zombie... Very, very lovely, especially Peter's little protection-thing. *huggles him* I still hope you'll have to do thousands of hours of community service or something, Rat-boy. Or go in a normal jail. Just not with Dementors.

Reviewer: implosionDate: 2004-03-21
Reviewid: 75396Chapter: 1
Wow! That's incredible! I've always loved Tonks, and you've shown a side of Peter that few do...impressive! Keep writing!

Reviewer: ~LunardDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 74999Chapter: 1
Nice! It's fun to see fics where Peter isn't just a stupid-stand-by-with-no-ounce-of-good-in-him for a change. First time I'm readding a story about 'lil Tonks ^-^ Very nice! Love the idea! And your story is so well written that I could fit it with other AU I came to think as Cannon without clashing with my beliefs. Very Great!

Reviewer: wendelinDate: 2004-03-15
Reviewid: 74762Chapter: 1
WOW. This is definitely one of the *best* short fics I've read. Classy writing, awesome imagination and fabulous characterisation at its best. You're my favourite fanon author, Fernie! How *do* you do it?

Reviewer: GinaDate: 2004-03-13
Reviewid: 74358Chapter: 1
This is lovely. Simply lovely. The Marauders were so wonderfully characterized, and little Dora was so cute I wanted to pinch her cheek. And the ending... wow. I got goosebumps. A great, great fic. :-)

Reviewer: alphabetDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73296Chapter: 1
What a wonderful story! Your Peter is just heartbreaking. I really enjoyed MWP's interaction with Dora--very much like teenage boys and very much in-character.

Favorite line (though there were many to enjoy): "I only see three," he said. "I thought the four of you were like a car... couldn't move without all four wheels." LOL!

Reviewer: RapunzelDate: 2004-02-25
Reviewid: 72168Chapter: 1
I love this story. It is so fantastic and holds true to the writings of J.K. Rowling.

Reviewer: MissMaladyDate: 2004-02-17
Reviewid: 71133Chapter: 1
Oh wow! What a great premise for a story. Brilliant.

Reviewer: DebDate: 2004-02-05
Reviewid: 69556Chapter: 1
That was adorable! Little Tonks sounds so very cute, and so very much like any other 5 year old.

Reviewer: mosyluDate: 2004-02-01
Reviewid: 69141Chapter: 1
OH. WOW. Oh gosh. This was such an intriguing mix of childhood sweetness and tangled darkness that it blew me away. Especially the end bit, with Peter putting Dora and the Tonkses under Death Eater protection. Wowowowowowowowow. I am not worthy.

And I love you dropping in the seeds for Tonks' future career of protecting people. Plus Tonks and Remus are one of my favorite ships, and while I understand that you didn't really have any of that in here, I loved their interaction anyway. So like Sirius to make a mindless doll army, but Remus to understand that lil' Dora needed some measure of control in a world where she can't control anything and to make her a general doll who is a little version of herself.

Wow.

Thanks for this, Fern.

Reviewer: maidenjediDate: 2004-01-25
Reviewid: 68344Chapter: 1
Fernwithy, this is spectacular. Your stories never fail to entertain and your characters are always pitch-perfect. I *love* what Pettigrew did, and I love little Dora - she's so very much what she would be as a little girl.

Reviewer: CalicoDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68093Chapter: 1
This story was amazing on so many levels. The ending was a real shocker. I loved how little Dora morphing powers were shown to be not entirely controllable, like anything else at that age. You've got such a firm grasp on this world, it's uncanny.

Reviewer: CassieDate: 2004-01-19
Reviewid: 67749Chapter: 1
Oh. My. Gosh. That was . . Wow. Wow. I don't know what to say. That was so amazingly powerful, it just . . I've got goosebumps. If everything you write is like this . . . whoo. I am impressed.

Reviewer: MadhuriDate: 2004-01-17
Reviewid: 67500Chapter: 1
What an absolute masterpiece of a fic. Touching, poignant, sensitive, funny, haunting... you've described the world through Dora's eyes so perfectly, and the ending is just... brilliant. Thank you for this fic. I loved, loved reading it. :)

Reviewer: Emma GraceDate: 2004-01-16
Reviewid: 67245Chapter: 1
Oooh, a Tonks story! And Wormtail, sitting on the fence. Sirius! Oh I love him! Little 'Dora is so cute, she is fantabulous. And...oh, Remus! Oh, I love Lupin! You are wonderful. I love you.

Reviewer: LillianDate: 2004-01-11
Reviewid: 66686Chapter: 1
Great fic! Found it on the Wolf and Lady LJ group. It would be interesting to read about Remus and Tonks's first meeting when they're both in the Order ;)

Reviewer: StephanieDate: 2003-12-31
Reviewid: 65289Chapter: 1
That ending gave me chills. Marvelous story.

Reviewer: BecehDate: 2003-12-29
Reviewid: 65016Chapter: 1
Woah, this was really really good!!!!!!
I realy liked all of your characterizations, they seemed very accurate.
I like what Peter did..and the dolls were just cool. Nice writing style.

Reviewer: Knives and Forks the PhoenixDate: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63607Chapter: 1
You almost make me like Peter!

Reviewer: AlannaDate: 2003-12-11
Reviewid: 62886Chapter: 1
That story was so cute. I loved it. Thank you. You made my day.

Reviewer: ReaderRavenclawDate: 2003-12-07
Reviewid: 62365Chapter: 1
Wonderful writing, and your characterization of "Dora" and her parents are wonderful as well. Your ending was especially powerful - when I read it, I actually shivered a bit!

Reviewer: miss_lily_lupinDate: 2003-12-07
Reviewid: 62319Chapter: 1
Awwww... that was so great! And the ending... Well, at least we know that Wormtail does have some heart! This was really good and I loved the ending! Very original!

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2003-12-05
Reviewid: 61934Chapter: 1
Lovely. Really fun to read and with strong characterisation. Little Tonks is a brilliant idea. And the ending was interesting too.

Reviewer: TomDate: 2003-12-05
Reviewid: 61880Chapter: 1
You make Peter kinder than most stories do. I'm not sure what I think about that, but the story is great, and the end does you credit for creativity. Keep it up!

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2003-11-30
Reviewid: 61207Chapter: 1
*shiver* This was really excellent. I am beyond impressed. Pettigrew gets a (slightly) redeeming moment! Dora is just adorable, and Sirius and Lupin are perfectly in character. All told, a beautifully crafted story.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-11-29
Reviewid: 61144Chapter: 1
I know I've reviewed this, but I was just surfing through and read it again. Such a wonderful job of writing different ages. The teenagers make appropriately off color remarks and the child is appropriately puzzled. The grown-ups are appropriately grown up. I've already said I like the emotions, but letme say again how much I like Peter here. Not necessarily evil. Just weak. Great work!

Reviewer: K.C.Date: 2003-11-28
Reviewid: 61084Chapter: 1
Wow, i really liked this story. i wish my dolls marched around my at night. very creative and i congradulate you on this great story! never loose your imagination and always write from your heart.

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-11-16
Reviewid: 60234Chapter: 1
Oh, wow. That was really, really, really really, really good. You know that?

Little Dora was WONDERFUL. Everything fit in so well, from the little comments about her face changing, to Andromeda being a Healer....I don't know, it was all so perfect.

Poor Mr. Lupin, he has such troubles. I am glad, though, that Mr. Pettigrew thought to add that sign. There was some good in him left. Some good.

Amazing. Tonx is one of the coolest people in OotP, and you've made her childself just as awesome.

I don't suppose you have any hope of continuing this piece? Well, anyway, if you don't, just keep writing. Because you are wonderful.

I have too many favourite lines to count, but this one was particularly moving:
"Dora reached up and touched her face. It had moved again while she was packing, and she hadn't noticed. The nose was longer and her eyebrows had arched up, and her lips were big and soft. She'd put on Mummy's face, and it was crying."

Sitting on Mr. Lupin's lap was adorable....as was the fact that Mummy Charmed Barbie's feet to be "like a real girl." :D

ta,
~TPR

Reviewer: DarcelDate: 2003-11-12
Reviewid: 59859Chapter: 1
I like this ^_^ Its sweet, and I can really see this happening in canon!

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59710Chapter: 1
Whoa, that was good. I thought that the Death Eater protection thing was very, very creative. I can't tell if Peter was noble for doing that or not. It was good of him to protect the Tonks', but to know that he was already a Death Eater, well, that just makes me mad. Not at you, of course ;P. I also appreciated how Tonks thought that Remus had a very nice face. I wonder if she still thinks so...hehe. You should write some more Tonks fics!

Reviewer: zakDate: 2003-10-27
Reviewid: 58028Chapter: 1
What Thren said. Just because Wormtail committed one despicable act, it doesn't mean he didn't still have some human feeling left. I liked seeing him as a fallible human being instead of a one-dimensional villain- and having Sirius constantly picking on him just a little....a nice touch! And I'm not usually charmed by girls and their dollies, but everyone else was so in character that I really enjoyed it. Very well done!

Reviewer: OrangebananaDate: 2003-10-25
Reviewid: 57834Chapter: 1
This is one of my favourite stories. I love the idea of it all! It's just too great for words! I love Dora in this and Sirius. And I am happy that Wormtail did at least one good thing! This is A nice happy story that gives me a nice mushy feeling inside! This is an excelant story. You should write a sequal of some kind as your style just grabs my attention. This is a perfect story! from Orangebanana

Reviewer: wm_lawDate: 2003-10-13
Reviewid: 56464Chapter: 1
That was so lovely.

Reviewer: LettaDate: 2003-10-04
Reviewid: 55372Chapter: 1
Great, great, great story!! I want another chapter! lol!!

Reviewer: ThrenDate: 2003-09-26
Reviewid: 54430Chapter: 1
Wow.

The basic plot doesn't interest me that much (even if Baby!Tonks is kind of cute), but the character interaction is amazing. I think you've especially got Sirius down pat (he's so cute in this- and I really don't like him at all, normally), and there's an element of sadness reading about Remus, Sirius, and Peter, knowing what we know about the latter. "Wormtail said no." Enough to give me shivers.

I liked how you portrayed Remus- very much how I'd imagine him to be in such a situation. It's so him to do something like that for a little person who's different from everyone else (something he knows too well, eh?).

Something else I liked was the little bit about the funeral way at the beginning, and how it affected Lily. It was just a little thing, and yet it made me wonder how many funerals they had to go to during their years in the Order, and them only a year or two out of school. How sad. :(

And finally, the end. I can very much see something like that happening- Bella wanting to go after her sister's family. She's mean enough and insane enough to do it. I really do wonder at Peter, though, if he could save a little girl he didn't know, but betray his own best friends and sell *their* li'l bit to Lord Thingy. But then, he had nothing to lose (really, since he was Thingy's favourite in the canon of your story) by protecting her and everything to gain by selling out the Potters- and that's really in keeping with his character. Chum up with the side that can get you the most. I found the ending very... chillingly realistic.

The quality of writing was a bit spotty, but I think that's really the awkwardness of the situations, as well as the fact that you're trying to write a child (and from a child's point of view), and that's just never easy to do.

Overall, you really conveyed the tension and anxiety about their world at that time incredibly well. I'd love to see more of this sort of thing from you.

Reviewer: Sirius StarDate: 2003-09-23
Reviewid: 54033Chapter: 1
OMG!!!!! This is one of the best fics I've ever read! You got all the characters just right! You made Bellatrix so evil and scary. I loved how you made Tonks. I bet she really was like that as a child! You gave Ted and Andromeda charcters when they had only been mentioned briefly in the books. I like how you made Sirius and Lupin too. You can really tell that Tonks looks up to Lupin. The whole thing with Wormtail; really good. I always knew he was too weak to really be that bad. I bet JK would be proud.

Reviewer: Eir de ScaniaDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53223Chapter: 1
I saw in the "All Things British" thread you are planning to write more about the Tonks family. I`m looking forward to that fic!

Reviewer: Eir de ScaniaDate: 2003-09-09
Reviewid: 51495Chapter: 1
This story is SO good and,I feel, in character! I love it!

Reviewer: Margaret B.Date: 2003-09-08
Reviewid: 51280Chapter: 1
oooooh- wow! That was sooo good! I love your characterization of Dora. The part with Peter protecting Dora and her family. The doll army was a really great symbol- you did a great job or portraying a five/six year old, how they are so innocent yet more aware than anyone suspects. That was excellent, you should definitely keep writing more tonks stories!

Reviewer: lise carewDate: 2003-09-07
Reviewid: 51082Chapter: 1
oh wow, this is awesome! especially for making peter a good person, and also remus's charm on the steffie-doll - that was too cute for words!

Reviewer: JamieDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50773Chapter: 1
...great story =)

Reviewer: Nikki WeasleyDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50612Chapter: 1
OH.MY.GOD. that was SpEcTaCuLaR!!! it was bloody brilliant!!! i loved lil dora, she was so cute! this was wonderfuly written, and i do hope you keep writing!!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50486Chapter: 1
An excellent short fic. I loved the whole doll army concept and how Remus changed one to match Dora's ability. Sirius, Peter, and Lupin were wonderfully in character. Though with the shortest part, Bellatrix was very, very scary.

"It's her Daddy's favorite holiday. Half-birthdays. Half a cake, half candles, and presents cut in half." Mummy smiled.
-Neat idea!

Reviewer: BarrieDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50333Chapter: 1
Wow. That was a great story. Thank you.

Reviewer: Aura Black ChanDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50327Chapter: 1
That was BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVED how Sirius, Peter and Remus went out of their way to help Dora with her nightmares. I also liked that Remus charmed Steffi into a custom-doll for her. Absolute, pure, joy!!!!!

Reviewer: JoanneDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50158Chapter: 1
Great story! How ironic that despite the best efforts of the good wizards, only the one who has allied himself with the evil side can offer Tonks any real protection from that evil. Too often true in real life!

Do I detect a hint of Star Wars crossover? Since the year is 1978, I'm thinking that the 'boy doll with a little sword, from a Muggle movie' is a Luke Skywalker action figure.

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49971Chapter: 1
Ha! I love the idea of Andromeda as a hippie type, transfiguring the Barbie dolls and raising people's sensitivity about war. And I especially like the way you wrote about Bellatrix threatening Tonks, having Tonks tell the story and change her face into Bellatrix's--it was chilling.

Reviewer: Jessica V.Date: 2003-08-28
Reviewid: 49085Chapter: 1
The ending gave me shivers..."There was a certain sign, a shimmering of greenish red darting across the same window in a zigzagging pattern that could be seen only by those who bore the Dark Lord's mark. The sign was a solemn thing, a sacred thing--it marked the house as forbidden, under protection from another Death Eater. It was a privilege they extended to one another, at least within reason."
That scared me! Fantastically written story, and the characters are written beautifully...they're so in character it sounds like Rowling herself. You're a great author! Nice work.

Reviewer: VigieDate: 2003-08-25
Reviewid: 48624Chapter: 1
Wow! Love reading about a young Tonks along with the Mauraders. Fabulous. Love the imagery, the imagination and the wonderfully written story.

Would love to read how Tonks thinks back on this as an adult and if it colors how she sees some of her fellow order members.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-08-25
Reviewid: 48615Chapter: 1
This was the sweetest and most original story I've read in a long, long time. I really loved the way you characterized everyone, from Tonks herself to her wonderful parents, to best-cousin-ever Sirius and Father-Christmas-voiced Remus. And the ending with Peter was more than I ever expected. Thanks so much!

Reviewer: Jedi SkysongDate: 2003-08-25
Reviewid: 48583Chapter: 1
*thwaps self*

Silly me. Forgot to leave the link. You've been recced at: http://www.livejournal.com/~darth_stitch

Reviewer: Audra LachesisDate: 2003-08-24
Reviewid: 48461Chapter: 1
Lovely little fic -- you've manage to write from a child's perspective without trivializing the horrors of war. Tonks is one of my new favorite characters, and your version of her as a six-year-old is very believable; I can just imagine her watching her doll army as she makes up her mind to become an Auror when she grows up, ^_^

~Audra
You've been blogged: http://audralachesis.blogspot.com/

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --