The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 22

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-20
Reviewid: 140088Chapter: 1
Simple Excellence.

Reviewer: Cat FeralDate: 2005-10-23
Reviewid: 135025Chapter: 1
Sometimes I come accross a story that just makes me say "Awww!" and this is one of them. I can't help wondering, if Severus met Paul Granger would he find he liked him or take an automatic loathing to him out of jeallousy? Somehow, knowing Snape, I suspect the latter.

There is a little, childish part of me that wants to say, "Hermioneeee! Sevvy likes your Mama!" just to see her reaction. Makes for a nice change from the Sev-Loved-Lily thing, anyway.

Reviewer: GrymDate: 2004-07-13
Reviewid: 92238Chapter: 1
Interesting vignette, offering a little extra background into both Snape and Hermione's family. While Severus is certainly male, I'm not quite sure I accept his more sensual fixation on Hermionie's mother, kindly and lovely woman that she may be. The motivation seems a little obscure -- at least in my own mind. (Of course, fanfiction allows writers to explore outside of even canonical barriers, so the creative license is certainly appropriate, nevertheless.) I do, however, highly approve the subtle humor of her joking inviation, "Really, if you ever need dental work done . . .” Very funny and undoubtedly discomfiting for the usually in-control Potions Master. A nice touch!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-08-29
Reviewid: 49338Chapter: 1
[it was like Miss Granger herself. Mostly in the manner of its vegetation which was both abundant and bushy.] Hehe! A perfectly snarky, Snape remark.

I like how you keep Snape in character, with his annoyance of Hermione and her know-it-all-ness, yet he manages to be professional and very, very human (i.e.-when he checks out Mrs. Granger. Too funny!) Teacher-parent interactions seem to be rare in the Potterverse and I like how you brought the two worlds together in a very realistic manner.

[If Severus hadn’t been so exhausted the sweet, hominess of it all would have enraged him.] *snert* That's such a Severus remark!

Excellent ficlet. You really capture the parent-teacher interaction--especially when discussing an over-achiever--very well. This is nice, tight writing. The descriptions were cleverly worded and I really liked the last line. Great job!

Reviewer: solarphoenixDate: 2003-08-25
Reviewid: 48534Chapter: 1
Cute little ficlet. Brilliant job at making Snape seem humane, and yet continuing to keep him in character.

Keep up the good work!

solarphoenix.

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-08-22
Reviewid: 48278Chapter: 1
oooooh....

::giggles::

I liked this very much. A darling peek into the life of Drs. Granger. Poor Snape; he's going to have the image of Olivia's hips imprinted in his brain for quite a while...

ta,
~TPR

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47808Chapter: 1
Wow, lazaraspaste! You have Snape's characterization down pat. That is the first time I have read Hermione's mother as something totally different than Hermione. I must pick your brain into how you came up with her characterization. Is Hermione rebelling against her affluent, smooth-haired, sway-hipped background?

Reviewer: HeatherKDate: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47719Chapter: 1
*giggling uncontrollably* OH dear...*gasps for breath* that's great!!! It sounds like some Muggle fantasy romance story... lol it's great! And I love that Snape gets some insight into Hermy's home life, it's good for him. I think. anyway cute story, i do hope there'll be more......

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47666Chapter: 1
Interesting idea and a great story!

Reviewer: wslamexeDate: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47581Chapter: 1
AHhhhhhhhh....
very nice, severus is human after all...

nice

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2003-08-17
Reviewid: 47506Chapter: 1
hmm romaticisng snape are we ? .. hahaha
but it was quite good i must say. really did hit the spot on a hot summer day.. bwahaha .

Reviewer: AquillaDate: 2003-08-17
Reviewid: 47498Chapter: 1
For some strange reason I was almost expecting Olivia to be Hermione in polyuice disguise... some sort of sadistic revenge for being so mean to her all the time... *insert evil cackle* I like your garden though, quite Hermione in its own way.

Reviewer: Delirious?Date: 2003-08-17
Reviewid: 47476Chapter: 1
I like seeing the softer side of snape....

Reviewer: JennDate: 2003-08-16
Reviewid: 47402Chapter: 1
For some reason this story sent me off in a fit of giggles! "Good, he thought. At least, she has enough sense to be wary of men with sticks." That just set me going. Then Snape checking out Hermione's mum's butt! Oh dear! I think Hermione'd have some issues with that! LOL
Very nice little story. Fun to see the "softer side of Snape".

Reviewer: dragontacDate: 2003-08-16
Reviewid: 47385Chapter: 1
that was... interesting... i don't even like severus and yet in this i found him quite understandable and reasonable

Reviewer: JessicaDate: 2003-08-16
Reviewid: 47373Chapter: 1
Ahh, very clever! Nicely written, detailed but concise! Hmm, it never occurred to me to wonder about Hermione's safety in her Muggle home, it's very smart of you to realize that she would have needed SOME protection! Haha, and a very funny twist, to have Professor Snape being the one to cast the spells (hehehe!). All in all, great story! haha quite entertaining (although I was mortified at Snape checking out Hermione's mum...you think his eyes will wander to the miniature version??? eek!!!) haha!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-08-16
Reviewid: 47335Chapter: 1
"In some ways, it was like Miss Granger herself. Mostly in the manner of its vegetation which was both abundant and bushy." -- heh, heh, heh

"And much to his own deep shame his eyes fell on her backside as she turned away from him, noticing the way her hips swayed as she walked across the yard..." -- Severus is checking out Hermione's mum, albeit involuntarily? Now that's a wicked little twist on the Snape/Hermione ship (which scares me, for the record).

"We’re very concerned about this Valdermont person..." -- Snert!

"She should be home soon, if you’d like to stay and see her." -- I can just see the panic on Snape's face as she says this!

A very fun little vignette -- great job!

~Katinka

Reviewer: InsanityDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47319Chapter: 1
Cute! This is nice how you started with Snape - thinking nasty things to Snape to normal human non-rude Snape. And the "ever dental work thing" - what an idea!

Reviewer: GwendolynDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47310Chapter: 1
Sweet! I love it! It was a neat idea to hear at SQUIRT, but to read it makes it even better. I love how you Snape trying to remember that he should be sarcastic and rude--but he just can't seem to do it. Good job!

Reviewer: IceDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47308Chapter: 1
absolutely loved it.

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47294Chapter: 1
Excellent! I really liked your relevation that Hermione might be a tad bit insecure. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: MyselfDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47287Chapter: 1
Ahhhhhhh... wonderfully written fic. I have to say that the books really keep me curious about Hermione's family and I think you placed her house and her style of living just perfect. I hoping to hear more about muggle-living! Hermione soon. I had a wonderful time reading this,
Thank for the pleasant view,
Myself

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --