The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Fear No More
Review(s): 29

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-12
Reviewid: 137036Chapter: 1
Very Nicely Done

Reviewer: Philippa SommervilleDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86585Chapter: 1
You've made me cry. At work. I am sitting at my computer and weeping.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-04-29
Reviewid: 80663Chapter: 1
Some very interesting thoughts. And Cymbeline is beautiful, do you know the musical rendition by Loreena McKennit?

Reviewer: JennDate: 2003-12-28
Reviewid: 64972Chapter: 1
*sniffle* that's so sad... *crying*

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2003-10-27
Reviewid: 58011Chapter: 1
I have only just caught up with this, following a recommendation on The Review Challenge thread.

Thank you for such loving, sad and beautiful tribute to Sirius. You have captured both Remus' grief, and Sirius' indomitable spirit, in a way that is eloquent and deeply moving.

Reviewer: AristyarDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57263Chapter: 1
You really have a good grasp on words in this short piece. It's like a simple melody that passes through and by before your memory. (Talking of melodies, have you heard Loreena McKennitt's version of "Cymbeline"? I was listening to it while reading this... made everything far more poignant...)

I especially liked the way you made the mood very, well, moody. It's highly atmosphereic. It's far more emotional than simple images: the ideas of shadows and anguish are terrible and conjures more than pictures, but the effect is not to force the reader into a big turmoil of angst, but it has everything muted, what I imagine one would feel in such a circumstance that poor Remus is in. Excellent.

I want to comment on your ending, too. It can be interpreted so many ways. It can either symbolize another journey through despair, or it can be the beginning of the path to recovery from intense mourning. I'm glad you kept it ambiguous: the juxtaposition of darkness over light is sublime. Great job!

Aristyar

Reviewer: blahDate: 2003-09-06
Reviewid: 51021Chapter: 1
Nice! Youve really made a wonderful story out of something that would normally seem so, well, dismal and sad! Keep up the fantastic work!

Reviewer: MarissaDate: 2003-09-06
Reviewid: 50992Chapter: 1
I think that I have read this before, and I loved it! I read it this time and I loved it even more. I really like this line :
The shadows had never left Sirius in peace, but they had never conquered him, either.
Thank you for this fic, and keep writing!

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2003-09-06
Reviewid: 50945Chapter: 1
It is so powerful. I almost cried.

Reviewer: InsanityDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48695Chapter: 1
"A gust of wind, trapped within a tiny bottle and roaring impotently."
Oh my goodness...this perfect - Sirius, especially Sirius in OOtP.

"Love. A hard feeling for Remus to think about, let alone express or act upon.
Sirius had never had this difficulty, for all of the crippling demons that chased him all his life and tried to make him forget that such a thing existed. Sirius had resisted, and remembered."

This is absolutetly incredible and so true.

And the last line is priceless. Free at last.

Reviewer: HeatherKDate: 2003-08-23
Reviewid: 48369Chapter: 1
Oh that is powerful. Beautiful, a touching and heartwrenching tribute. I love it, I teared up while reading it. Sad, but definitely a stunning piece of literature. Well done.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2003-08-22
Reviewid: 48252Chapter: 1
What a mournful, yet hopeful, piece. The tone really brings out the melancholy Remus is feeling. I'm glad that by the end he has found some comfort that Sirius cannot be touched by fear and darkness. Well written.

Reviewer: MarissaDate: 2003-08-22
Reviewid: 48186Chapter: 1
That was so beautiful!

Reviewer: LizDate: 2003-08-20
Reviewid: 47959Chapter: 1
Beautiful insight at Remus thoughts. It gives us glimpes of the pain he must be feeling, and at the same time, a rather unusual view of Remus's relief, and hapiness, if we can call him that. Because, if nothing else, his friend found peace. Anyone who has a friend like that knows to be thankful for that.

Very nice. I enjoyed it, a lot. ::hugs Remus::

Reviewer: ChloéDate: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47827Chapter: 1
*Awful hysterical sobs*
You ARE killing me !!!
it strikes me now how much of a horrible life Padfoot had have, happily he had some happy time eventually ... as for Moony *sobs coming full force* ok have to go now...*loud nose blown* that ...was...briliant ...

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47775Chapter: 1
Brilliantly written. I think you've really captured the feeling of grief that so close a friend would feel over the tragic death of a loved one. It's clouded with darkness, but also the tiniest measure of relief, being thankful that Sirius was free at last. It doesn't really lesson any pain, it's cold comfort at best, but I feel Remus would grasp onto the thought that at last his friend wasn't in torment any more.

I love how you've characterized Remus, showing so much through his grief and memory of his friend. I felt that Sirius was also shown to me, in light of what Remus thought of him, as well as the relationship between the two. Through the simple but incredibly crafted ways that Remus reacts, you show rather than just tell the incredible characters and dynamics that existed.

Wonderfully written, very tight and kept me in the mood and piece throughout it all. Very moving.

-Kate Lynn

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47770Chapter: 1
Wow - very effective. It is a strange mixture of hope and dispair, especially the line about Sirius being in darkness so complete there are no shadows, and there being a kind of peace in that. I like to think of him in the light, but to Remus, of course, grief may not allow him the more comforting images of heaven. Thanks so much for this well-written and melancholy tribute :)

Reviewer: TashebaDate: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47721Chapter: 1
OOPS! Peace. May he rest in PEACE!!!

Reviewer: shannonDate: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47720Chapter: 1
awwwwwww Remus...i feel for him...I believe Sirius is free at last, too, though the means to it are devastating...nice story, lots of emotion!

Reviewer: TashebaDate: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47715Chapter: 1
This is one of the saddest tributes to Sirius I've seen. Excellent writing, too. I guess I should, and will take Remus's advice and be thankful for Sirius's death. He's finally free of all the dementors and troubles of 12 Grimmauld place. May he rest in piece :(

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47712Chapter: 1
Thanks for the reviews! The poem is actually a verse from Shakespeare's Cymbeline--I thought I'd included an A/N saying that, but I guess not ::blushes:.

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47700Chapter: 1
Very poetic. Gorgeous. Where is the poem from?

Reviewer: BeckDate: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47690Chapter: 1
Very nicely written but very sad.

Reviewer: NikkiDate: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47679Chapter: 1
so sad!!! :( but a great story anyway

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47669Chapter: 1
Brilliant, sad but brilliant!

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47655Chapter: 1
A beautiful tribute to Sirius, and to that incredible inner strength and determination that led him to overcome his family and upbringing. His refusal to be beaten by what life threw at him must surely be an inspiration to Harry, and you have expressed this superbly.

"He retained his soul, in all senses of the word."

Excellent writing.

Reviewer: LilacDate: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47640Chapter: 1
Though the subject matter is depressing, your story actually has a sense of hope and absolution to it. Yes, Sirius died. Yes, he had a hard, unfair life. But he went down fighting, and never gave into the demons of his past and present *almost says "and future", but then stops herself...*. Great grief fic, Portia! I hope you had a safe trip!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47630Chapter: 1
You've made me cry, Portia. This is beautiful and touching. It just now occurred to me that not only was Sirius reliving the Potters' deaths in Azkaban, he was hearing his mother's poisonous shrieks all those years, too. It makes this all the more poignant:

<<The shadows had never left Sirius in peace, but they had never conquered him, either. They had nibbled away at his joy in existence, his capacity to feel, but it had always replenished itself.>>

Thank you for reminding us how resilient dear Sirius was. Oh, I miss him. Very well done.

~Katinka

Reviewer: RugiDate: 2003-08-18
Reviewid: 47624Chapter: 1
This line:

"After coming to live at Grimmauld Place, he wondered no longer. Dementors, after all, were merely the old shadows made manifest."

And this line:

"Remus buried his tearstained face into his pillow and tried to be thankful that Sirius was free at last."

Brought tears to my eyes. The one because it was so tragic - Sirius was constantly tormented by the same type of pain from childhood on. And the other because it is so true about grief. Even the things that you can firmly believe are good about the situation are completely darkened by the simple fact that person is lost to you. Remus's thoughts on his friend are perfectly correct. I love that you show that even the comfort he gets doesn't really help his pain.

I also have to say that this really made me understand again how strong a person Sirius was. I think Rowling is the master of hiding the incredible bravery of her characters. This really showed how difficult if must have been for Sirius to go from Grimmauld Place to Azkaban to Grimmauld Place again. It must have been torture. It was interesting that for all you showed us Remus's pain, it was almost as if you also made him step aside so we could see Sirius's as well.

Brilliant.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --