The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Choose
Review(s): 27

Reviewer: TaniaDate: 2004-12-19
Reviewid: 108113Chapter: 1
That is sooo good. Wow, well done! You show such a sympathetic, understandable and strong side of Marietta, you can really empathise with her.

Reviewer: TamiDate: 2004-08-08
Reviewid: 96299Chapter: 1
This fic, however, is quite good. And believable. Although I rather imagine Marietta to be influenced by her parents, not having a horrible mother. But that's just my view on things, and to get the real version, we'd have to ask JK Rowling, wouldn't we? M'afraid that's not an option :P
I'm looking forward to some other Missed Moments fics of yours. This one was interesting to read.

Reviewer: hydraspitDate: 2004-04-08
Reviewid: 77793Chapter: 1
wow! A wonderfully written fic, and not one that many people would've thought to write. It actually made me feel sorry for Marietta. Great Job!

Reviewer: CaliDate: 2004-04-07
Reviewid: 77569Chapter: 1
A good piece. I've never read anything directly about Marietta so far, and this was really quite good. You get the shame and confusion on her part across very well. Looking forward to more from you!

Reviewer: big daveDate: 2004-03-14
Reviewid: 74591Chapter: 1
i enjoyed that for thne first time i actully felt sypathy for the girl

Reviewer: Delleve MiststoneDate: 2003-11-04
Reviewid: 58762Chapter: 1
Interesting idea for a fic. Makes you feel sorry for the sneak . . . well, almost.

Reviewer: DarcelDate: 2003-09-26
Reviewid: 54394Chapter: 1
Ooh. ^^ I kinda expected him to take it off for her, or to take off the memory charm. But this works :)

Reviewer: RonniekinsDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48844Chapter: 1
This is exactly what I imagined Marietta to be like! Amazing fic! write more please

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-08-25
Reviewid: 48565Chapter: 1
Sorry about the very brief review, I was testing to see if our server was down and it wasn't *blush* Anyhoo, as I said this was a nice story. Dumbledore was his usual serene self with Marietta and I like how you've shed a bit more light on her relationship with her mother.

I'm afraid I didn't really like the following lines, tho:

>She tried her hardest not to burst into tears again, and succeeded.

and

>This time, Marietta, no-one you...betrayed...died.

I think they could have been written differently to be less awkward. But those were the only nitpicks I had. The rest was great! Thank you for sharing.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-08-25
Reviewid: 48564Chapter: 1
This was nice.

Reviewer: HeatherKDate: 2003-08-23
Reviewid: 48370Chapter: 1
Hhmmm, I like that. Marietta wasn't really that important after DD left so I didn't really think about her. Well done, I like hearing what other characters have to say.

Reviewer: wee_lassDate: 2003-08-23
Reviewid: 48367Chapter: 1
That was very neat!

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-08-23
Reviewid: 48311Chapter: 1
Thank you for writing this story, and for fleshing Marietta out and giving her a soul. Every detail that you've included makes so much sense. Of course she'd hide out in the hospital wing for as long as she could. Of course Cho would try to comfort her, without really knowing what to say.

This bit was so perfect:
"They fell into silence, and then Marietta said, quietly and suddenly, "Does everyone hate me?"
"What? Oh...um...no," Cho said quickly. "They're...a bit angry, obviously, but I don't think they..."
The conversation was interrupted as Madam Pomfrey walked in. She cast a disdainful eye over the girl in the bed. "Miss Edgecombe. I think you've definitely been in the hospital wing long enough."

I really felt for Marietta; her only friend not knowing what to say to her, and Madam Pomfrey making her opinion perfectly plain.

The earlier bit, showing Marietta's thoughts about Harry, Ron and Hermione followed by her bitter "Well, I've missed any chance of being anything really, I think..." Wow.

The scene with Dumbledore was brilliant. He wasn't harsh, but he said what needed to be said. Especially "This time, Marietta, no-one you...betrayed...died. But the consequences could have been worse than they were. A war is starting, Marietta. You will have to choose a side."

And then, "Perhaps not all of us do trust, but I, Marietta, will trust that you will make the right choice."

I was moved to tears. That Dumbledore of all people would say that to her, and it was exactly the right thing to say! "You've made a mistake, but I have faith in you."

And Marietta wanted him to yell, scold her, expel her. Poor kid. He's given her his trust which is far more complicated to deal with. And he tries to show her that she can be strong. Her determination proves his success. A very moving story.

Reviewer: shannonDate: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47930Chapter: 1
Marietta isn't so bad...well, she is, but this displays another side of her that i sort of like..or respect, i suppose...well anyway, just judgement of her character, i hope she isn't going to be SNEAK anymore :) nice story

Reviewer: Nights MistressDate: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47924Chapter: 1
This story highlighted precisely what I thought was wrong with that passage in the book. Marietta would have 'Sneak' on her face, without knowing why, with a huge gap in her memory and all thanks to the intervention of Dumbledore. You wrote exactly how I viewed Dumbledore; a desperate man who will do almost anything in order to win the war and I applaud you for it.

Reviewer: Delirious?Date: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47922Chapter: 1
I like... really good

Reviewer: ronaldorseDate: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47891Chapter: 1
This is really nice. an original point of view that lets us consider mariettas story as well. I agree, she is just a kid after all and teh best of us can wilt under pressure.My fav line: He lowered his glasses. "This time, Marietta, no-one you...betrayed...died. But the consequences could have been worse than they were. A war is starting, Marietta. You will have to choose a side." Very well written!

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47834Chapter: 1
aw, that was cute although it took me a while to understand the time frame.

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47826Chapter: 1
Great job, very sad though. I hope the word does come off of her face eventually.

Reviewer: Margaret B.Date: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47824Chapter: 1
Sarah-
Wow, that was really good. Marietta's POV was really interesting to read, and I love the conversation between her and Dumbledore. But would it really take that long to find the counter curse, or did Dumbledore just tell her that because he wants her to be reminded of what she did, so she wouldn't do it again? Just a thought...
I think you do a REALLY good job of developing minor character's into very real people, and you should definitely keep writing. Great job!
~Margaret

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47823Chapter: 1
Extremely interesting! I never thought about Marietta, with an exception of her being a sneak. It was nice to read about her feeling guilty for a change. Awesome job!

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47821Chapter: 1
Nicely written and very original. I especially like your Dumbledore and how you portray Marietta's inner thoughts. Good job!

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47790Chapter: 1
That was very good. You gave a lot of humanity to the poor girl.

Reviewer: julieDate: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47787Chapter: 1
interesting story.
Marietta is only a kid after all.

Reviewer: KrystalDate: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47786Chapter: 1
Very insightful! I've wondered what Marietta thinks (as well as what she remembers -- she'd have to figure out eventually that there were several months of meetings) about what she did as well, and I like your interpretation.

Reviewer: FaelaernDate: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47784Chapter: 1
Very well done. I'd never thought of a story from Marietta's point of view before. Quite an interesting concept, and I like the message the story sends the reader.

Reviewer: KirkisDate: 2003-08-19
Reviewid: 47783Chapter: 1
Cool! I hadn't given much thought to Marietta's point of view before. Good show. I only just noticed the other day that She was wearing a Balaclava on the train ride home.

-Kirkis

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --