The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Curtain
Review(s): 52

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136504Chapter: 1
Good.

Reviewer: Evalanis CelebrainDate: 2005-08-28
Reviewid: 131069Chapter: 1
I know that it has probably been ages since you wrote this story, but it was absolute brilliance. It nearly made me cry and not many Sirius dying stories make me cry anymore. Thank you so much for putting this up, its magnificent and should be read by every Sirius lover.

Reviewer: katie BiliusDate: 2005-08-08
Reviewid: 129333Chapter: 1
WIKED!!!brilliant!!!!!

Reviewer: merlynDate: 2005-06-26
Reviewid: 125242Chapter: 1
I really, REALLY liked this. I especially loved that you didnt have Remus sinking into a neverending black pit of despair; his feelings on the situation are much more mature than a lot of fanfic writers give him credit for. Nice job.

Reviewer: AmandaDate: 2005-06-05
Reviewid: 123325Chapter: 1
I loved this. And it brought tears to my eyes.

Reviewer: desperate2feelDate: 2005-04-28
Reviewid: 120874Chapter: 1
Nicely said, you captured Lupin's numbness very well.
I really liked this line:

"He hardly knew what he was saying, but judging by the look on Fudge's face, it was exactly what he should be saying"
It made me smile with a grim kind of happiness as well ;-)

I'm not sure I really see Lupin ever losing his temper - after that night in the Shrieking Shack where he seemed to keep his cool so perfectly. But this was believable enough - after all, everyone has a breaking point.

Reviewer: Aurianna ParkerDate: 2004-11-08
Reviewid: 103889Chapter: 1
Absolutely stunning. It has been so wonderful to be able to read fantastic fics like yours that help us move past the end of the fifth book. Thank you, and keep up the great work.

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101427Chapter: 1
Great work. I like the way you have Remus physically distance himself as if that matches his emotional distance. Then when he re-engages emotionally, you bring him back physically closer to get in Fudge's face.

I enjoyed this. Again!

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-05-03
Reviewid: 81183Chapter: 1
Four, he was obviously nasty in a past life but is now compensating by being really nice but still has bad karma. But Moony, why'd you have to go and do that? If Sirius was still considered guilty, he'd have HAD to come back as a ghost. Just for a visit, of course.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-04-18
Reviewid: 79380Chapter: 1
Whoa, a Fudge-fic. And spot-on, dead-sharp on his character. Great work!
>Give five signs that identify the werewolf. One, he's at the Ministry of Magic. Two, he just shouted quite rudely at the Minister. Three, his name's Remus Lupin...

Hehe...

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78478Chapter: 1
This is beautiful. I especially like the last two lines, harkening back to the memories we discovered in OotP. The touch about the history books is lovely as well. That is the truest vindication that Sirius could have recieved.

Reviewer: imeldaDate: 2004-04-09
Reviewid: 77830Chapter: 1
That was wonderful. I love hearing Remus' thoughts on any given day, and it was...well...a privilege to hear them while he grieved for Sirius. I'm glad Fudge gave in.

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2004-01-12
Reviewid: 66700Chapter: 1
Aww, that was really good. Though, did the books mention anything about the DP mentioning Sirius's innocence?

Reviewer: CarpeNoctemDate: 2003-10-16
Reviewid: 56612Chapter: 1
That last line gave me chills. Excellent.

Reviewer: solarphoenixDate: 2003-09-27
Reviewid: 54521Chapter: 1
*solarphoenix slowly raises from chair and begins to clap. The clap is intensified by the severe emptiness of the room. A standing ovation* It's about time that someone captured the pure essence that is Remus. I've read many excellent Remus-centric fics surrounding the events of Beyond the Veil, but I congratulate you on writing the first fic that draws upon Remus' dry sense of humor. The end was icing on the cake.

solarphoenix.

Reviewer: EstherDate: 2003-09-20
Reviewid: 53712Chapter: 1
Oh that was quite an excellent story. You did a really good job of getting all the emotion in. Oh Remus. I think my favorite line that has been used to ever describe Sirius' death has to be:

After years spent in prison, running, and hiding, Sirius had died on a stage, in front of everyone. One moment of openness and honesty and freedom, laughing before he took his bow.

Excellent job.

Reviewer: JKEDate: 2003-08-29
Reviewid: 49269Chapter: 1
good 4 remus!
& albus!
i bet sirius wud be glad fudge knew he was innocent!
well, u'r very talented, so...............
keep up the great work!
maybe u can write another chapter on this story.
its really good!

~JKE

Reviewer: StereoMDate: 2003-08-28
Reviewid: 49133Chapter: 1
'...just shouted quite rudely at the Minister...' LOLOL. Loved this, just as I love everything you write, really.

:D

Reviewer: hiDate: 2003-08-28
Reviewid: 49125Chapter: 1
Awesome story! sweet and sad...

Reviewer: CascaDate: 2003-08-27
Reviewid: 48954Chapter: 1
That was beautifully written. Rarely do we find a fic that incorporates the tradegy Remus has had to suffer through in such an understated and effective way. Well done.

Reviewer: Muggle MollyDate: 2003-08-27
Reviewid: 48885Chapter: 1
Very good piece. Way to go Remus!!! I look forward to your next post.

Reviewer: CristinaDate: 2003-08-27
Reviewid: 48874Chapter: 1
MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMUAH!

Reviewer: TekaDate: 2003-08-27
Reviewid: 48868Chapter: 1
That is a great story! *sigh* If only that was what really happened. That, and is Sirius actually LIVED!!!!!! I might as well not start rambling about how mean JKR was to do that, so I'll leave here with a congrats to you for writing this great piece and another sigh.

Reviewer: Linnet GryffinDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48851Chapter: 1
Oh. My. God.

This just drove something through my heart. It made my GUT twist, like it always does when something's really moving. This was just... wow. WOW.

You should have seen the grin on my face when I read the line,

"Give five signs that identify the werewolf. One, he's at the Ministry of Magic. Two, he just shouted quite rudely at the Minister. Three, his name's Remus Lupin...

And the history books would have to be rewritten, because Sirius Black was innocent. "


That just... did something to me. I felt like squealing with glee when I finished. That was a remarkable, FABULOUS job, and I hope you write more things like this.

- Pineapple Queen

Reviewer: KirkisDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48826Chapter: 1
Cool! It hadn't occured to me that they'd have to change all the history books :) You really seemed to capture Lupin's grief. Good job!

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48816Chapter: 1
Good writing! I particularly enjoyed your philosophizing: "He wouldn't fall into the simple trap of self-pity and foolishness; the trap of finding pleasure in his grief, however much they blurred together. . . "

Deep, very deep!

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48810Chapter: 1
::sob::

another brilliant piece of work.

you make writing seem so effortless, you know that?

ta,
~TPR

Reviewer: MarissaDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48804Chapter: 1
That was so cute!

Reviewer: GwendolynDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48799Chapter: 1
If only, if only. My heart truly goes out to Remus. Thank you for giving him the sort of closure that he desperately needs. I can almost see this scene happening, due to your wonderful writing. Thank you for this great missing moment.

Reviewer: Darwin's ApprenticeDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48790Chapter: 1
Very nice. The characterizations are well done. It's nice to see Remus lose his temper. And I do think Fudge might react like this.
The ending has a nice symmetry to it. Well done.

Reviewer: ct_lytsDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48777Chapter: 1
incredible and inspirational. wonderful writing.

Reviewer: Hermione GirlDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48773Chapter: 1
Beautifully written. I really loved this piece. Thank you for writing it; I was just wondering about that scene last night.

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48767Chapter: 1
wow. that was EXACTLY how JK ROwling would have written it. r u here in disguise ? = u can tell me ..=)
aniwae FANtASTIc. awesome. and it totally fits in.. the whole fudge being a blustering moron thing. Phwoar.

Reviewer: ScarlettDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48761Chapter: 1
Thanks for making me cry all over again! Love all your missing moment stories.

Reviewer: Golden SnitchDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48753Chapter: 1
That was probably the best 'Missing Scene' i've ever read! I loved the ending! Keep writing!

Reviewer: Chocolate Frog CardDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48743Chapter: 1
This was a great story. It's the best Remus-After-Sirius's-Death story I've come across. I liked how Lupin shouted at Fudge. And the line at the end was great. Great job With the Remus characetrization, by the way. Awesome read!

Reviewer: RehanDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48738Chapter: 1
Oooh. I think I like Angry!Remus. I hope he makes an appearance in Book 6. I also hope that the MoM stop being gits and tell people that Sirius was innocent. I think that would go a long way towards reducing Harry's grief.

Come to think of it, I hope this scene happened in OotP exactly as you wrote it.

You're good at these "missing moment" type fics. That makes me happy, since I love reading the "missing moment" ones. The best is the one you wrote about Ron and the perfume - I think it was called "Unusual."

*Rolls over laughing at the memory of Ron's experience in that story*

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48715Chapter: 1
aw that was precious!!

Reviewer: LizDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48714Chapter: 1
Very good! I love the last few lines.

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48703Chapter: 1
This was really good. I'm not sure if Remus would crack like that, but if he did... well, I think he'd do it like that.

That was a great fic with a very strong ending. I also enjoyed Dumbledore's tacit consent of Remus' actions.

Thanks! :)

Reviewer: JestanaDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48701Chapter: 1
Bravo! This was wonderful! I especially like the last bit.

Reviewer: ChloDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48698Chapter: 1
Well...*sob* ahem...That_was_perfect .
And I don't care if you actually wrote it in a OTW fashion or not, I'd just pretend you did, to content me ;o)
Anyway, this pain is just ... unfair ! stop torturing our little moony you evil JK !! As for you DeeDee, that was a very moving and beautiful tribute, thanks! *wipe her nose in agreement*

Reviewer: JamieDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48697Chapter: 1
Brilliant

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48692Chapter: 1
This was very good! I liked how Remus stood up to Fudge. Brilliant job!

Reviewer: wslamexeDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48691Chapter: 1
nice!
i liked this very much..
and i believe that you agree with me...
JK is EVIL!
and the only way i'm forgiving her, is with a massive snogging in the sixth book. And it better be H/g and R/H.
if she gives me some D/H or some D/G S&$&it, i'll be very mad..

hehe, hope your in the boat, and please soryy..
your stroy sis great..
i loved it very much

Reviewer: LourDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48683Chapter: 1
I positively loved it! Fantastic!

Reviewer: KrystalDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48677Chapter: 1
Short, but very nicely done! One more day and Sirius would have been a free man...

Reviewer: ipoDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48676Chapter: 1
Beautiful....it really is an unseen moment, and worthy of JKR herself. Great job!

Reviewer: Evelyn DreamtrotDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48669Chapter: 1
<Give five signs that identify the werewolf. One, he's at the Ministry of Magic. Two, he just shouted quite rudely at the Minister. Three, his name's Remus Lupin...
And the history books would have to be rewritten, because Sirius Black was innocent.>

*That* is the kind of ending that gets me all choked up. And I loved the bit about Prongs and Padfoot running about Hogwarts... makes you realize that that's two Marauders down... Prongs and Padfoot... *sniffs*... Sirius is gone... don't know if it'll really come home to me until book VI, but this story really helps...
AS ALWAYS excellently written. Keep at it!
Evelyn

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48665Chapter: 1
Excellent! This is a very real reaction for Remus, and the conversation with Fudge comes across as quite authentic... and leave it to Fudge to still be convinced it was a Confundus charm!

I loved this:

<<He wouldn't fall into the simple trap of self-pity and foolishness; the trap of finding pleasure in his grief, however much they blurred together; the trap of finding comfort in his tragedy, Sirius' tragedy, their tragedy; the romance of turning away from happiness and declaring it impossible. There was pleasure and there was grief, but they were not one and the same. There was no comfort now, but there would be eventually. And happiness was not impossible. >>

And I thought this was a marvelous observation on Sirius's death scene: "One moment of openness and honesty and freedom, laughing before he took his bow." Really poetic, and insightful.

Reviewer: Andrea13Date: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48660Chapter: 1
*sniffs* The end of that gave me goosebumps. Yay for Remus! And still sniffles for Snuffles. :~(

Reviewer: shannonDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48652Chapter: 1
you go, Remus! Someone really did need to tell that git Fudge. He's so stupid.

And the will Marauders live on...
The three of them, of course

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --