The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 55

Reviewer: LizzardPhobiaDate: 2006-11-06
Reviewid: 146091Chapter: 1
Tarantallegra: A spell that Malfoy cursed Harry with during the Dueling Club meeting. A tarentella is a type of dance, and "allegro" is music-language for fast. It actually means "tipsy" in Italien, but music teachers don't believe you if you tell them that, trust me.

I would just like to say that the tarentella was a dance done by people bitten by tarantulas while picking olives (I'm not positive about the olives, but what does it matter?). They moved very fast, only suceeding in having the poison flow through the veins faster, as they were getting so worked up. Who taught me that? My piano teacher.

Reviewer: LizzardPhobiaDate: 2006-11-06
Reviewid: 146090Chapter: 1
Oh, this is so interesting! This list is funny and informative, thank you for posting it!

Reviewer: jeda_lawsonDate: 2005-12-06
Reviewid: 136805Chapter: 1
Sorry I forgot to say the most important thing: your story is really interesting. You most have spent hours with your dictionaries and google. I loved the French and German translations because I'm not a linguist myself.

Reviewer: jeda_lawsonDate: 2005-12-06
Reviewid: 136804Chapter: 1
Sirius is also the brightest star in the sky (magnitude -1.46). Could be a connection with the phrase, 'the star that burns the brightest, burns the shortest.' It's also a binary star.

Regulus and Bellatrix are also star names. Regulus is a much less luminous star in Leo. It forms part of an inverted question mark pattern. Very tenuous connection but could it be that Regulus is not all he's made out to be so far. Personnally I think he is the RAB who stole the real horucrux. Bellatrix is fairly bright star in Orion, but nothing spectacular so she's probably more the warrior princess.

Andromeda is large constellation in astronomy, which contains a very beautiful spiral galaxy known as M31. The popular name for Andromeda is The Princess of Ethiopia. In mythology she was the daughter of king Cepheus and Queen Cassiopeia. Cassiopeia boasted that her daughter was more beautiful than the sea nymphs, which annoyed Neptune, the sea king. To appease his anger Andromeda was chained to a rock on the seashore to be eaten by a monster but was heroically rescued by Perseus just in time. It strikes me as a bit unfair on Andromeda, after all it was her mother who made the boast not her.

And to call Snape in Suffolk a town is a bit of an exaggeration. It has a famous concert hall (Snape Maltings), a couple of pubs and some houses and that's about it. It's on the river Alde and is very nice walking country, though it's definately a village.

I think this is the longest review I've ever written, sorry I'm a bit of an astronomy (and Harry Potter) geek.

Reviewer: grim girlDate: 2005-10-19
Reviewid: 134818Chapter: 1
very sweet I found some of those reading
but you must have done alot of research
skittles for you! loved the Ron weasley one!
"running weasle" ha
Love~ The Grim

Reviewer: NymeriaDate: 2005-10-11
Reviewid: 134310Chapter: 1
Just want to say that Hagrid also was a greek titan, who tried overthrowing Zeus, together with his titan friends. But Zeus thought, ow well, let's not punish him, and made him something like a caretaker for the animals on the Olympus (gamekeeper, whatever...)

Great piece of work btw, maybe i should recommend that to my latin teacher to do (so we dont have to translate Ceasar!)

Reviewer: Sam KentDate: 2005-09-06
Reviewid: 131867Chapter: 1
Regarding "Snape, Severus"

Severus is Latin for Grumpy

Reviewer: DominusLinguaeDate: 2005-07-14
Reviewid: 127136Chapter: 1
I enjoyed reading your glossary. J. K. Rowling is a genius what with not only making T. M. Riddle into "I am Lord Voldemort" but also managing to make "Vol-(0)-de-mor-(t)" (Latin) mean something! Cool
! However you left out Bellatrix (Latin adj. for "Warrior maiden") and Isn't it "impero" not "imperio"--though Rowling had her reasons--crucio, imperio, mis-conjugated Latin is still mis-conjugated Latin. Hope you have a copp of Harrius Potter et Philosophi Lapis! It would com in handy. Very educational glossary, as you can see, there were some things I missed, perticulary in the Prench and German secter, but not in the Latin one of course!

Reviewer: KatelynDate: 2005-07-12
Reviewid: 126955Chapter: 1
I'd like to note that Nearly Headless Nick cannot be Nicholas Flamel because Flamel was still alive in The Philosopher's Stone, at the very least. Dumbledore mentions that Nicholas and Perenelle Flamel will eventually die because the Stone has been destroyed, and Harry is quite shocked by that revelation. Other than that, I love your list of associations and translations. Very enlightening! :)

Reviewer: LaleluDate: 2005-05-06
Reviewid: 121509Chapter: 1
B.ELFE.R (German for "SPEW") is a pun, a mix of Elfe (elf) and "Helfer" (someone who helps, an aide). "klatschen" as in "Klatscher" (bludger) means "clap" or "applaud", not "swat", though in some areas of Germany it can be slang for "to beat". I personaly like the translation of "Exploding Snap", which can't be translated properly word by word and becomes "Snape explodiert", which means "Snape explodes". ;-)

Reviewer: SOhp101Date: 2005-03-15
Reviewid: 116657Chapter: 1
For Weasley, Ron: That reference is found in the first
book when Harry sits next to Ron on the Hogwarts
Express and Ron attempts to turn Scabbers yellow (from
a fake spell that one of the twin brothers gave to
him; the spell is almost like a poem, the
stereotypical spell format that comes to mind when
people think of magic). Hermione is there as well (but
they are not friends yet) and comments that it must
not be a real spell.

For Tarantallegra: tarentella is a type of dance, but
more specifically it is a type of dance that was
performed when a person was bitten by a tarantulla and
it was believed that this dance could prevent the
venom from killing the person. Of course, when most
tarantellas were written by many famous composers, it
was now known to be a myth and people danced the
tarantella because of the fast steps and lively
movements.

For Wood, Oliver: Saying "Oliver Wood" sounds almost
like "I live for wood," and in the case that wood =
broomsticks and broomsticks represents flying or
Quidditch, that would mean "I live for Quidditch."
Just going out on a limb there.

As for Nicolas Flamel, I don't think he could be
Nearly Headless Nick because Dumbledore mentions after
the stone is destroyed that he has enough potion to
allow him to finish up the rest of his business and
then rest. Harry meets Nearly Headless Nick earlier
than this, so I doubt it's possible.

Reviewer: Alice ChanDate: 2005-01-29
Reviewid: 112377Chapter: 1
Angelina Johnson:Angelina mean's Angel also

Reviewer: LeoDate: 2004-11-28
Reviewid: 106240Chapter: 1
Soz, just 1 more thing... if JK was actually aware of all this stuff, I suddenly admire her alot... ALOT!

Reviewer: LeoDate: 2004-11-28
Reviewid: 106238Chapter: 1
Can i just say... i dont think anyone in the world has actually got a sugar quill forum username!!! HAHAHA!
Dont ask y i said that!

Reviewer: LeoDate: 2004-11-28
Reviewid: 106237Chapter: 1
This is really cool.... but seriously, how bored do you get over the weekend??? LOL!
Nothing personal!
x

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99883Chapter: 1
I liked the bit about Hedwig. I have something that might interest you about Lockhart, though. De Roy in French is of the king. and a hart is a stag deer normally refered to when a character goes hunting in old British literature. So Gilderoy Lockhart could mean Gold of the King that freezes in the face of danger like a Hart in the headlights. ;)

Reviewer: BookofLuneDate: 2004-07-31
Reviewid: 94981Chapter: 1
I think that Beauxbatons actually means "Beautiful Wands". Bon is "good" in French, and beau is "handsome" or "beautiful". Very interesting theory about Ron's name :)

Reviewer: CassDate: 2004-07-15
Reviewid: 92408Chapter: 1
I really loved the piece, it is the only place I found this info so readily on the web. Thanks!

Reviewer: HawkeDate: 2004-07-05
Reviewid: 90786Chapter: 1
I didn't even remember the other Hermione! The first one-- the one from greek mythology-- was the first abonnoned child, wasn't she? Daughter of Paris and Helen, Helen left her behind when they fled.

Just a thought. Since Such a Big Deal is made of Hermione being mudblood, could it turn out in the end that she was orphanned and is actually pure-blood? Doubtful, but something to think about.

And Hedwig! I don't know saints, but that's awesome.

Reviewer: kittyDate: 2004-06-18
Reviewid: 87626Chapter: 1
Hey I can't remamber but what was the name of Harry Potter's new Physics teacher???????
HELPPPPPP!!!!!

Reviewer: AlexiaDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82954Chapter: 1
Fleur Delacour inspires something noble as "de" is a noble particle (eg:maréchal de lattre de tassigny) but you can buy it (Valery Giscard d'Estaing, European and french important person, got the "de" bought by his father as he was a kid; and as for Mme Maxime, a "maxime" in french is a poetry stuff, but if i look in my encyclopedia, it's "principle, base, rule in an art, in a science, in a life's rule." (Principe, fondement, règle dans un art, dans une science, dans la conduite de la vie)

Reviewer: Ect.Date: 2004-05-03
Reviewid: 81106Chapter: 1
Bellatrix is a star in Orion, and means warrioress. Sirius is part of Canis major, one of Orion's hunting dogs. I don't know why that matters, but it's true.

Reviewer: DarogaDate: 2004-05-03
Reviewid: 81104Chapter: 1
I think there was a roman emperor named Draco, which is where we get our adjective Draconian (as in laws, which is the sort he passed). And just in case anyone missed it, Andromeda (also a constellation) was the princess rescued by Perseus as he was looking for the Medusa. Andromeda was chained to a rock, I think. My sister says Bellatrix is another star. Anybody got anything else on her? This is good fun...:)

Reviewer: ~*~Date: 2004-04-28
Reviewid: 80530Chapter: 1
And I thought I was the only one who did this! Here's some proof for any sceptics.

Fluffy: Rather reminiscent of Cerberus in Greek mythology. Cerberus was a three-headed dog who guarded the entrance into the Underworld. *Hagrid mention he got Fluffy off "some Greek chapie" and defeating Cerberus was one of Hercules' tasks.

Malfoy, Lucius: Lucius is from the Latin for light, "lucet". Suetonius, discussing the history of the Claudian household (one of the most powerful Roman households) states: "Many different forenames and surnames were used by the members of the House, but they unanimously decided to ban the forename Lucius, because one Lucius Claudius had been convicted as a highway man and another as a murderer." *And if you don't think Lucius is a good name for a villian, try to remember that according to some faiths the devil is Lucius.*

And this really really really cool. I didn't get a lot of the names. Like Ron for example. You have no idea how much better you make my day!

~*~

Reviewer: Salina SanchezDate: 2004-04-05
Reviewid: 77254Chapter: 1
Wingardium Leviosa: "Leviosa" from the Latin "levis" meaning "light" as in weight. "Levis" is also the latin root for the word levitate

Reviewer: jasperDate: 2004-03-28
Reviewid: 76058Chapter: 1
A very good guide. as for your friend, ask if they have a pet peeve.

Reviewer: kimilla beaverDate: 2004-01-25
Reviewid: 68408Chapter: 1
one time I was looking up a word in an American dictionary (I think it was a Webster's), well I looked down and I saw Hagrid. This dictionary(whichever one it was) said that hagrid means harassed by wizards and witchs. Possibly simmilar to haggard? well your list was enlightening and good luck with future translations.Also, I don't think it is weird to own books in several languages. I do not do this personally yet , but I plan to take a Latin class next year and I may begin. I am very excited to take latin because previously we were forced against our will to take spanish since 2nd grade. blah. We learn the same thing over and over again and it is pretty much a slow torture.

Reviewer: kimilla beaverDate: 2004-01-25
Reviewid: 68407Chapter: 1
one time I was looking up a word in an American dictionary (I think it was a Webster's), well I looked down and I saw Hagrid. This dictionary(whichever one it was) said that hagrid means harassed by wizards and witchs. Possibly simmilar to haggard? well your list was enlightening and good luck with future translations.

Reviewer: kimilla beaverDate: 2004-01-25
Reviewid: 68406Chapter: 1
one time I was looking up a word in an American dictionary (I think it was a Webster's), well I looked down and I saw Hagrid. This dictionary(whichever one it was) said that hagrid means harassed by wizards and witchs. Possibly simmilar to haggard?

Reviewer: SaoirseDate: 2004-01-05
Reviewid: 65953Chapter: 1
Wizangemot-- the council or whatever that Dumbledore is on-- is derived from Witangemot (also Witenagemot), a meeting of 'wise men' who advised the king during the Anglo-Saxon reign of England. 'http://en2.wikipedia.org/wiki/Witangemot' has a good description of it.

Reviewer: ruchaDate: 2003-11-04
Reviewid: 58665Chapter: 1
Patil, Parvati: Parvati was an Indian goddess. Her twin goddess (whose name was NOT Padma) was evil.

I dont quite know where you are getting your information about Indian godesses, but I thought I would point out an error. Parvati is actually most importantly known for being Lord Shiva's wife. One of her 'avatars' translated either as incarnations or forms was that of the Godess Kali. Kali was not her twin (Parvati did not, in fact, have any twin). Kali was a manifestation of righteous anger and destroyed evil-doers.
Hope this is of some help.
Cheers, and Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: Jessica HernandezDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57178Chapter: 1
Its me again this thing is cool
GOOD JOB
it would be hard 4 me 2 finish GOOD JOB
-Jessica

Reviewer: Jessica HernandezDate: 2003-10-21
Reviewid: 57175Chapter: 1
i was looking for latin words and this site was one of the choices( u know when u look 4 something lists of sites come up) just confused me when it said fluffy which i thought in latin meant Cerberus but tham i saw granger , herminone and then i was like ohhhh this is HARRY POTTER!!! OHHHHHHHHhh the meanings of the things in HARRY POTTER!!!ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh im just telling u i was confused 2 let u know well bye bye

-Jessica H.
if u know that game inklink im n=known as Jaxi_taxi so go on there and say HI =)
lol
anyways
bye bye

Reviewer: Paige Knorr (The Muggle Hermione)Date: 2003-09-09
Reviewid: 51486Chapter: 1
Dear CCGP,
YOU LIKE READING DICTIONARIES? ME TOO! YAY! Reading fun... writing fun... DICTIONARIES... *goes all drooly and hyper* I'm going to hurt myself if I don't stop soon...

Paige

Reviewer: SieaDate: 2003-09-08
Reviewid: 51311Chapter: 1
Wow! :O That's cool! ^^ I'd never think of doing that :P

Reviewer: ChrissyDate: 2003-09-07
Reviewid: 51230Chapter: 1
Um, Oliver Wood...

Well, if you have way too much time on your hands, it's very late at night, and you say it very quickly, "Oliver Wood" sounds *sort* of like "I love wood" which could refer to broomsticks, or... er, never mind. Just a thought.

Reviewer: OleanDate: 2003-08-01
Reviewid: 44893Chapter: 1
Peeve IS a real word... Like pet peeves. (things that people do that bother you really bad)

Reviewer: AnacalagonDate: 2003-07-28
Reviewid: 44282Chapter: 1
About the house names - I ws kinda bored and I started to think about it and the names kinda make sence.

Slytherin - could be seen as Sly there in - meaning those in there are sly. ;)

Gryffindor - Gryphins (sp) were suposed to be very brave, and gryff in dor - gryphins iinside the dorr of the house.

Hufflepuff - liketo huff and puff - work hard.

Ravenclaw - ravens are very smart birds. They have claws.

Just some thoughts on the matter.





=]

Reviewer: The LeprachaunDate: 2003-07-03
Reviewid: 39966Chapter: 1
I have something to add to the name "Lucius."

I think Lucius could come from "Lucifer" which is the name of the devil. Actually (and I'm far from informed on the bible) I think Lucifer was the Devil before he became Satan. I think this is reminiscent of how Lucius Malfoy, before book 5, still showed a presentable face to society, i.e. he hadn't shown his true colors yet, (like Lucifer when he was Lucifer).

Reviewer: LenaDate: 2003-06-15
Reviewid: 36908Chapter: 1
According to a couple of very useful sites on Hindu mythology that I found, Parvati is the goddess consort of the god Shiva (also called Maheshwara, among other things), and the goddess of valor. She doesn't have a twin, but one of the forms she assumes is Kali, the goddess of destruction. Padma is the goddess of the Ganges river.
Another site I found claimed that Parvati was also the name of a mountain goddess, the sister of Padma.

There was never actually a Cassandra Vablatsky. The name is a twist on Madame Blavatsky, who was a very famous medium in the late 19th century, but was later discredited.

Reviewer: ladyDate: 2003-06-04
Reviewid: 35361Chapter: 1
I was just thinking Arthur of the round table was a peasant who became king, wasnt he? Mabbie Arthur Weasley will become minister of magic?

Reviewer: ArchanaDate: 2003-05-28
Reviewid: 34132Chapter: 1
H'm...

Nagini - The Hindu snake goddess? Really? I'm a Hindu myself, I live in India and I didn't know that. But it is possible, I suppose. Although, I'd like to add, in Hindi (the language), 'Naagin' (The double 'a' is for the elongated 'ah' sound.) means a female snake.

And Nagini, I think, which I remember from somewhere now, is also spelled as 'Nagina'.

Padma Patil - The River Ganges or Ganga, when it extends from India into the neighbouring country of Bangladesh, it is called Padma in the region.

The last name Patil, is pronounces 'Putt-ay-l' and is from the Western coastal state of Maharashtra, India.

Parvati Patil - What I'm going to say here isn't useful... Parvati is the name of the lead character in a soap opera aired here. I used to really hate the name before I read the books. And this piece of fact helps in absolutely no way. Sorry!

Thank you for all the research and the wonderful list of derivatives! Hope you'll update this after OotP is released, and I also hope you'll make these additions (for my purely selfish reasons).

Thank you again!

~~Archana~~

Reviewer: *Ginny Starre*Date: 2003-04-26
Reviewid: 29693Chapter: 1
*Remembre in "The Highwayman" of something, "the moon was a ghostly GALLEON tossed..."? Like I said, I can't find my good dictionary...*

Reviewer: *Ginny Starre*Date: 2003-04-26
Reviewid: 29692Chapter: 1
*Dude! This is awesome!!!!! ( : I love the program of "Keeping Up Appearances"! If Viktor dies, I will be mad. I mean, I'm an R/H shipper, but she doesn't have 2 kill Viktor, Herms would never go 4 him. No offense. MANSFIELD PARK is so grand, I just finished reading it 2 days ago, and then I come here, and you've mentioned the connection between Aunt Norris and that scumbag of a cat! That's groovy! ( : Honestly, whoever thought up the "brilliant" idea of calling it a Sorceror's Stone, was an idiot, no offense. Honestly. What, were they thinking. Grrr...!!!!! Does the goddess Nagini have a connection 2 Nagaina? I love Ur Quidditch theory, it's gr8, LOL! ( : Can U find out what "Zambini" means, please? I seem 2 have lost my dictionary. This is a great list of definitions!*

Reviewer: lillyDate: 2003-04-08
Reviewid: 26942Chapter: 1
*~*COOL*~*

Reviewer: PhilDate: 2003-03-22
Reviewid: 24865Chapter: 1
My thoughts on 2 of the words listed here:
Bludger: I'm Australian, and whenever I see the word n the books, I think of the Australian word Bludger, someone who doesn't do much, a lazy person, etc. What it has to do with the Quidditch balls I'm not sure...
Amos (diggory): You said: "Amos" means "troubled" apparantly, but I haven't been able to find it anywhere". If you want an example, Amos was a person from Biblical times, who got his own book in the Old Testament. The introduction in my Bible to this book says "The Prophet Amos lived in Israel in a time of prosperity. Yet the rich cared more about their luxuries than about people. Amos warned that any society that isn't fair to poor people will be judged. Christians should be generous and should fight for justice for the poor to get an education and a job." Then under a list of "Fast Facts" under the introduction: "Amos means 'burden bearer.'" (From the "Teen Study Bible, New International Version" (NIV).

Reviewer: GracieDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24543Chapter: 1
This is just great!! I admire you. This makes me enjoy the books all the more - Thanks so much.

Reviewer: Cassiopiea Andromeda HeraclesDate: 2003-02-28
Reviewid: 22245Chapter: 1
Peter Pettigrew: I would like to make VERY CLEAR and Peter the Apostle did NOT betray Jesus(that was Judas). Peter DENIED that he KNEW Jesus. There is a VAST difference.

Sickle: There was a Hebrew silver coin called a shekel. Judas betrayed Jesus for thirty of them. Any bets on how many Sickles worth of silver are in Peter's new hand?

Reviewer: Leah-jeanneDate: 2003-01-27
Reviewid: 18001Chapter: 1
Hey, your email wasn't working, so I'll give you some translations here (all are Latin):
Fidelius (the charm Lily and James used so Voldemort wouldn't know where they were) means faithful, loyal, and devoted.
Severus is stern.
Amos is the love. (?)
Interestingly, Potter means "I may be drank."
Hermione = by Hermes
And that's all I can find. See ya
~Leah-jeanne

Reviewer: Christa KirschDate: 2003-01-07
Reviewid: 15501Chapter: 1
Bludger: Klatschen means clapping or applaud not swat. There is no true direct translation from swat to a german word. The best you can do for a connection between klatschen and bludger is that the sound that a bludger being struck by a beater makes is similar to the sound of clapping.

Reviewer: Byron HauckDate: 2002-11-30
Reviewid: 10685Chapter: 1
You say that the motto of Hogwarts is "...nunquam..." and is sometimes said "numquam." I'm a bit of a Latin scholar, and I'll explain this to you, assuming you don't already know. Originally, the Latin word for never was "nunquam." But as the language evolved it degenerated into "numquam" because it's easier to say. It's also seen in how they avoid having the letters "int" when they would normally appear in verb endings, except for the subjunctive in one case.

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2002-11-15
Reviewid: 9154Chapter: 1
oooh, languages. we must be kindred souls.

how cool! I must remember these

~TPR

Reviewer: usakoesmDate: 2002-11-01
Reviewid: 7810Chapter: 1
wow! the wonders of harry potter scholarship. fyi, isn't a galleon also a very old english currency? i love how you've been so thurough with all the info & different languages! you have to do a continuation when OoP comes out :)

Reviewer: Cheap-oDate: 2002-10-22
Reviewid: 6848Chapter: 1
This is really cool. You must have put some time into this. Keep up the good work and if anything else from later books comes up, please update this.

Reviewer: katDate: 2002-07-30
Reviewid: 366Chapter: 1
very intertesting. in fact, you have inspired me!
finch fletchley - finches were often considered stupid.
Kappas in mythology also had a dent in their head to carry water in, like in the books
Perseus (Percy, anyone?) was under the protection on Hermes (Percy's owl...) I'm very proud of this link! Haven't a clue what it means though.
Another deadly enemy of the Basilisk is the weasel… now that one is very interesting…
"Griffins are portrayed with a lion's body, an eagle's head, long ears, and an eagle's claws, to indicate that one must combine intelligence and strength." And griffins are the deadly enemies of snakes and basilisks.
ALASTOR - The name of one of the horses used by Pluto when he abducted Persephone. Probably not relevant to anything at all…
Lucius - like Lucifer, y’know… the devil. And also a morning star…
Rosmerta - was a very widespread Celtic Fertility Goddess, her name means "Great Provider". She was the goddess of fire, warmth, wealth and abundance. A flower queen and hater of marriage. Rosmerta was also considered the queen of death… which is quite worrying
Cliodhna - ("shapely one") was a beautiful queen of Munster of the Tuatha De Danann. Remember her from the card?
House elves - Unlike many hobgoblins, brownies are generally devoid of mischief and enjoy living in harmony with humans. If a brownie is treated well, often, they will perform many tasks and chores. These tasks and chores are accomplished in secret, with no one in the house ever seeing him perform these tasks. For these chores, a brownie is never to be repaid directly. If a brownie is given a reward, they will vanish forever. Very like house elves… in ways… if very offended, they turn into boggarts.
There! Now I'm gonna be researching all summer... dammit.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --