The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: An Augurey's Cry
Review(s): 44

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-06-06
Reviewid: 143262Chapter: 1
that was heartbreaking. i saw the title 'even badgers cry' and knew i had to see the rest of your work befor i read it. and am i glad i did. this is beutiful. and her wearing the scarf had me choking. man i hope her gets that letter!
-Genne

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125755Chapter: 1
This story made me cry- so beautiful and touching. Well done.

Reviewer: JacyntheDate: 2005-03-15
Reviewid: 116634Chapter: 1
"I kiss Harry, and I miss you."

Pretty much says it all, doesn't it? Emotions are never simple. Very nicely done.

Reviewer: LibbyDate: 2005-02-28
Reviewid: 115174Chapter: 1
Very well written.. Very sweet too. :) Cheers!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-02-02
Reviewid: 112738Chapter: 1
I really really liked this- especially the part about the Ravenclaw scarf- poor poor Cho. I've never really thought about how terrible it must have been for her- that part where you said about her deciding she wanted to be with Cedric forever only for him to die like that... it makes me feel quite annoyed with Harry for not being more sensitive to her. Still I guess those two were never meant to be.A really beautiful story- just wondering though, is an augery a "real" bird, or did you make it up. It sounds intriguing.

Reviewer: seluneDate: 2005-01-31
Reviewid: 112575Chapter: 1
this fits perfectly to a rainy day. I'm rather touched. You hae capturred cho without too much sentimentality .She's very down to earthadn I cirnged atthat bitter comment about being a curse.
I liekd the detils yo uput in with the augurey and the letter she sent with the wind.
Thank you.

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-01-10
Reviewid: 110439Chapter: 1
very nice

Reviewer: Midge WoodDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91456Chapter: 1
First a comment on grammar: I think you use far too many commas. It makes the prose halt more than it does help it flow.

Despite that, I liked that this fic didn't wallow in angst. Cho is obviously upset/confused/whatever, but she's not suicidal, she's reasonably upset. Her letter to Cedric was perfect.

God Bless,
Midge

Reviewer: AleciaDate: 2004-05-06
Reviewid: 81384Chapter: 1
I like this story, please write more as I really want to know if Cedric writes back and what he said!! And if Harry gets okay, as I literally don't remeber it in the book. but I'm rerading it as I am supposed to be trying out 4 Luna Lovegood in the OOTP movie, who knows maybe I will stumble upon it!!

-Alecia Fowl Criminal Mastermind ;-9

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-03-29
Reviewid: 76236Chapter: 1
Short but strong. Augurey quill indeed. A very nice idea, to use them to write messages to the dead.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-03-28
Reviewid: 76084Chapter: 1
*grin* And d'you mind if I come up with an epilogue?
In London, a large black dog is busily sniffing about as though nothing could be better fun. A piece of blank parchment blowing in the wind flops against him and he picks it up in his mouth (gently, trying not to get it slobbery). He rushes to a sinister-looking sort of house and scratches the door, which is opened by a mild-looking man wearing scruffy, ratty clothes. The dog, once inside the house, turns back into a tall, gaunt man with long, dark hair. He looks at the parchment curiously, then slips it in his pocket. Suddenly, he hears a noise from a room on one of the upper floors of the house. Like an enormous bird in rather a lot of pain. He rushes up the stairs, forgetting all about the parchment. Five hours later, he'll discover that writing has appeared on it. He won't read the letter, because he'll know it's none of his business. But he'll find the person it's addressed to, because they'll both be on the wrong side of the veil.

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2003-11-30
Reviewid: 61214Chapter: 1
*sniffle* This was beautiful and sad. I especially like this line: "Your good little Ravenpuff." That really got me.

Reviewer: JellyDingyStarDate: 2003-11-03
Reviewid: 58642Chapter: 1
Cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I love the Ravenpuff that's cute!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: *Classified*Date: 2003-11-03
Reviewid: 58630Chapter: 1
SOOOOO sweet! I want Cedric back in the story and esspecially sirius!! cool story I loved it!

Reviewer: BrittanyDate: 2003-11-03
Reviewid: 58577Chapter: 1
oh wow, that was so sweet...I'm all teary-eyed now. :P I'm usually NOT a fan of Cho's at all, but I luv reading a fic that really makes you see a character that you're not fond of in a different light. This is one of those fics. Keep up the good work.

Brittany :)

Reviewer: A. nonymousDate: 2003-10-29
Reviewid: 58309Chapter: 1
Holy Cow, hahaha, that was totally NOT nice. I don't think YOU could ever write like that, hahaha!!!! Neither could I. That kind of story could make anyone depressed, and I'm saying that in a good way.

Reviewer: MargoDate: 2003-10-11
Reviewid: 56266Chapter: 1
Wow, that was...really good!
I don't know what els to say.

Reviewer: HP story surferDate: 2003-10-07
Reviewid: 55759Chapter: 1
great! add another chapter.

Reviewer: AmandaKedavraDate: 2003-10-05
Reviewid: 55587Chapter: 1
Aaaa...So beautiful and sad and all...

Reviewer: AnastasiaDate: 2003-10-05
Reviewid: 55543Chapter: 1
Really great story. I like how we see it from Cho's point of view!

Reviewer: picklesDate: 2003-09-20
Reviewid: 53631Chapter: 1
that was wonderful

Reviewer: IxiusDate: 2003-09-20
Reviewid: 53613Chapter: 1
Wow. For once I am .. well all I can say is wow. Amazing story.

Reviewer: Luminous MarbleDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53298Chapter: 1
I've never particularly liked Cho, but if she ever has a moment in canon like the one you just wrote, I promise to reverse my opinion. Your care in researching your magical creature shone through here, and you set the scene very well for the reader--I could almost feel the chilly, damp day. Thanks for writing.

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2003-09-17
Reviewid: 53187Chapter: 1
A great look at what Cho must have been feeling that day--I hadn't thought about it, but she must have been confused and sad that Harry disappeared after what should have been a fairly important moment for the two of them as a pair (and she couldn't have known that something happened that dwarfed it into insignficance... there's so little that would!)

Reviewer: TapestryDate: 2003-09-17
Reviewid: 53116Chapter: 1
That was so horribly sad! I like you're interpretation of how Cho might have been feeling. The descriptions are lovely and I like the extra detail you've given to the augury quill and having the letter float away. Very good job and thanks for sharing this!

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2003-09-16
Reviewid: 52984Chapter: 1
lovely! "...your little ravenpuff;" isn't that just the kind of private joke people share when they're in love? the letter portrays cho's confusion so beautifully. feelings are never as black and white as we want to write them. you show that she likes harry, but wants cedric back ("i kiss harry and i miss you.") we've never liked cho, but you've helped us forgive her, a little.

Reviewer: chloeDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52706Chapter: 1
hey! :P great work. I'm glad to see another story thats not so anti-Cho!

:D

chloe

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 52008Chapter: 1
Oooh, that was really good! So much depth into such a short space. Excellent.

Reviewer: AristyarDate: 2003-09-11
Reviewid: 51834Chapter: 1
Oh, this is such a lovely story. You got Cho's confusion perfectly, and handled it without ridiculously long, drawn-out passages. You also captured the mood of the story beautifully. Sniff. Great job!

Aristyar

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2003-09-10
Reviewid: 51725Chapter: 1
You've caught Cho's confusion very well. I like the idea of her wearing Cedric's scarf.

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2003-09-10
Reviewid: 51696Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this view of Cho, and you did a great job of setting the scene and mood, too. I really felt for Cho and her conflicted feelings, her guilt about starting to move on, her dread of being a "curse", even though it's somewhat self-centered in that teenage way (to take an idea from Phineas Nigellus). It's also interesting to see how Harry and his friends might be viewed by people outside his immediate circle...I'm sure that Harry and the Weasleys were so worried about Mr. Weasley and other matters that they didn't stop to think that others might be worried about them. Thanks!

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-09-10
Reviewid: 51628Chapter: 1
What a lovely, moving story! Poor Cho, it's really upsetting to see how often she's been condemned by fans for her tears in OoP. It's a joy to see her handled with dignity and compassion. Her letter to Cedric was perfect. I also enjoyed seeing Harry and his close friends through her eyes. Her description of the Gryffindor table without "any red hair" was especially striking.

Reviewer: AshturDate: 2003-09-06
Reviewid: 50987Chapter: 1
Just wanted to thank everyone for all the kind comments, they really mean alot to me. This was a very hard story for me to write, it was just like pulling teeth.

I've always felt that people were treating Cho unfairly, and just thought that I'd write this to put in my 2 knuts worth.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-09-06
Reviewid: 50979Chapter: 1
A sweet and beautiful story -- thank you for treating Cho with dignity. The poor girl is awfully confused in OotP, but considering what she's been (and is still going) through, I don't think any of us can fault her. You capture her conflicting emotions well in the letter.

And a nice observation here:

<<It was kind of odd to see the Gryffindor table without red hair, but that was the case.>> LOL!

Well done!

~Katinka

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50737Chapter: 1
that was really touching - and I thought that was an intersting touch to have Cho mention in her letter that she thought she was a curse (she's thinking like Harry does!).
Nice job!

Reviewer: Max ZookDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50734Chapter: 1
Good character piece, the best depiction of Cho I've seen outside of canon. FWIW, I certainly would've placed you above "the rest of the forest"!

Reviewer: KellieDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50508Chapter: 1
I liked the use of the Augurey's wail and the rain to set the mood. It's like your award said, it's okay for Cho to cry this time.

Almost makes me feel like I was too hard on her in Book 5.

Good story.

Reviewer: Lupins LairDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50293Chapter: 1
That was so touching. I was choking up reading the letter she sent, and her asking it to be sent to where Cedric was now. Very moving, and such a wonderful portrayal of Cho. Everyone who has been complaining about her behaviour in OotP should read this and see how things are from her POV. Well done.

Reviewer: MullvaneyDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50151Chapter: 1
This is lovely! You have really captured Cho's helplessness and confusion. Your writing is very good, too. This story flows without being verbose. Excellent use of language!

Reviewer: shannonDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 50064Chapter: 1
Cho was really in-character in this fic, very moving and believable. I felt bad for her in OotP and this story displays her grief beautifully.

Reviewer: JiminyCDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49969Chapter: 1
Such a good portrayal of a moment that could have come directly from canon! Everyone seems to be really condemning of Cho after the 5th book, but it's nice to see her written here as what she was - a young girl struggling with a lot of confusing emotions and a heavy heart. A very touching story!

Reviewer: Furry JackalDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49927Chapter: 1
This story still brings tears to my eyes and I am NOT a Cho Chang fan. But it's nice to walk a mile in her shoes though and feel what she must be going through.
I never felt she was a cry-baby for mourning Cedric, it always felt very understandable. Beautiful story.

Reviewer: SamiDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49601Chapter: 1
wow, now that was a great Cho piece!! ^.^

Reviewer: AeternaDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49548Chapter: 1
::sniff:: ::sob:: That was beautiful. I think a lot of people need to read this to see Cho's POV. I hate to think of her as just a sappy hosepipe, and you characterize her beautifully here. Poor Cho!

Much love,
'Terna

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --