The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Tastes Like Chicken
Review(s): 19

Reviewer: KelleypenDate: 2005-05-18
Reviewid: 122367Chapter: 1
nice. Charlie. sigh. *grin*
I have to tell you a story. I bought my kids rubber snakes. My son chewed his up and wanted his sister's. She refused. He asked again, saying she didn't want it anyway. She said it didn't matter, he would just chew it up. He replied, " I like chewing rubber snakes; they taste just like rubber chicken!"

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-04-25
Reviewid: 120621Chapter: 1
Too short, but nice start.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-02-02
Reviewid: 69221Chapter: 1
Sorry about the extremely late review -- the massive influx of Forbidden Forest fics kind of overwhelmed me and I wasn't really sure where to begin :)

Anyhoo, this was great -- big surprise! I really enjoyed getting to know Charlie better, even if it meant being exposed to the less genial (but just as believable) side of his personality. Percy deserved what he got.

My favorite detail has to be the inside of Charlie's tent. It gives us some very nice hints about his life outside the Burrow. Great job!

Reviewer: Laura Carlie Darla CaremsDate: 2003-12-23
Reviewid: 64550Chapter: 1
Hey!
I'm Laura Carlie Darla Carems!
Call me 'Carlie' and sometimes 'Darla'!
What should I say?

Reviewer: Luminous MarbleDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53439Chapter: 1
I'm still trying to puzzle out the end of the story--I can't figure out of Charlie just bounces back really quickly, or if he's trying to avoid the situation with Percy so hard that his brain fills in the chicken part. Or maybe it's connected to Charlie feeling that Percy was acting like a chicken--rather stupid.

I really liked the inside of Charlie's tent. It seems like just the thing for him and it was a nice touch. I also felt that he was a Weasley, yet he had a personality all his own. Thanks for writing.

Reviewer: Embyr BlackDate: 2003-09-17
Reviewid: 53138Chapter: 1
That was cute. i started readin it completely forgetting the title was It tasted like chicken until i read the last line. u hit percy right on the nail. that does sound like percy. jk should have killed him instead. yup definently Percy. ne wayz great job maybe u could write a bit on his going america like dumbledore asked him to.

Reviewer: katieDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50539Chapter: 1
interesting.. i have to say your the first story that ever caught my interest it's a really cool story the only thing is that the letter said there's friend's fom the U.S and i want to read more like are they going to go and get them or summit i mean write more PLEASE!

Reviewer: Darwin's ApprenticeDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50417Chapter: 1
Cute! I thought you might say he was hungry again in an hour. Sort of a Moo shoo gai moke. Nice job with Charlie's characterization.

Reviewer: *Ginny Starre*Date: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50339Chapter: 1
*It's very random. I like it though, it's very cool of U 2 keep Percy so Percyish. What a cheesecake!*

Reviewer: Lupins LairDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50331Chapter: 1
Wow, some cooking training he had in Romania. Eating a squirrel and a moke? I'd be eating grass instead!

I laughed out loud when I read the line where you said he punched Pecy *before* dinner. Minor detail, but very funny.

Of course, three (plus many more) cheers to him for giving Pecy what he deserves!

Reviewer: Margaret B.Date: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50273Chapter: 1
Cool idea! Finally, SOMEONE gave Percy exactly what he deserves!!!!! Kudos to you! You should definitely continue this, it would make a great chapter story, since now I want to know what happens when he goes to the Us and stuff too! Keep up the great work!
~MARGARET

Reviewer: Phoenix BlackDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50169Chapter: 1
Great! How 'bout some more?

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 50091Chapter: 1
Hey, you two! I thought this was great! (Of course, I may be privy to a bit of prior knowledge that just gets me all excited that this is really starting! :))

I thought the flashback scene in the Burrow was really powerful--and I was yelling, "Go Charlie! Go Charlie!" (I'm guessing several other Weasleys were thinking the same...) Your 'Wizard Space' tent was *great* and I'd like to place an order for mine now. But even if Charlie was as much engrossed in the fact that his food 'tasted like chicken' as he was the letter, it's the *letter* I want him to focus on now.

Bon voyage, Charlie! You can be assured you are in the *best* of hands.

~NZ~

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49973Chapter: 1
Go Charlie! Percy deserves that and more! :~)

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49843Chapter: 1
Ah-ha, you hinted about this in your most recent story, right?

Charlie seems to have become a little feral out there in the wilds of Romania. ;) I got a good laugh out of his miscalculation in having punched Percy BEFORE dinner.

Reviewer: R1 & R2Date: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49743Chapter: 1
This feels like a piece of a larger puzzle. Going to write what happened after Charlie left? What he'll be doing in the US? "100 Ways to Cook a Moke?"

Reviewer: dragontacDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49652Chapter: 1
wooo!! go charlie!! punched him in the face!!hahahahaha

Reviewer: CalimoraDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49595Chapter: 1
"Well, of course, now that the Ministry has confirmation of You-Know-Who's return, steps can be taken to protect those who are in danger."

That's a perfect Pecry line.

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49551Chapter: 1
haha...that was a funny ending. And good view on how Percy might react...great job!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --