The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 11

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-10-06
Reviewid: 133831Chapter: 1
Impressive

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-07-28
Reviewid: 94350Chapter: 1
Ah! Of course! Very clever! And funny! EXCELLENT!

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2004-04-27
Reviewid: 80415Chapter: 1
Another good little story! I never thought about what unicorn blood would do for the insects. Are you going to write any other short stories?

Reviewer: ClaudiaDate: 2003-09-27
Reviewid: 54572Chapter: 1
Yet again a very canon, well-told story with a nice turning-point at the end.

Reviewer: ConnorDate: 2003-09-16
Reviewid: 53000Chapter: 1
Hi Beaker,

This was cool. This was a really creative idea and I always enjoy it when people use OC's in a story. I loved the choice of their names. I'm looking forward to reading more of your writing.

Best,

Connor

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-09-06
Reviewid: 50978Chapter: 1
You had me rather confused, up until that last sentance! :D I was thinking, "Immortal midges weren't mentioned in "Fantastic Beasts", were they? WERE THEY?" What an ingenious twist!

Excellent job with Hagrid's character. It's very much his style to let the students learn their lesson about the Forest in a "hands-on" fashion ("Let ’em get in deep enough to see summat real bad. That’ll teach ’em.") Er, okay, Hagrid. ;)

I also liked the unrushed approach to the boys' dialogue, which was quite age-appropriate! (“Not for me, but then I’m not as well-insulated as you are, HUGE-go! Get it? Hugo? Huge-go?”) *rolls eyes at silly teenage boys*

A great story with a clever ending!

~Katinka

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49958Chapter: 1
Perfect! I loved the interaction between Filch and Hagrid, and between the three Slytherin boys. And the idea of cursed midges is original and brilliant!

Reviewer: Jill W.Date: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49816Chapter: 1
Oh!My!God! Undead mosquitos, CAN there be anything scarier? I just love the whole idea that the unicorn's blood acts the same way on bugs as it does on humans.

I liked your characterization of Filch and Hagrid, too. I especially like the fact that Hagrid KNEW what the kids were going to run into. I guess it doesn't really matter who the kids are, but I'm glad it wasn't Harry and friends who encountered those thingies.

As they said during World War II -- Keep them flying!

Reviewer: X-LydiaDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49583Chapter: 1
Elegant, clever, concise, and generally well-written!

Reviewer: Persephone_KoreDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49545Chapter: 1
Ewwww. Very clever, and very icky to those of us who really don't get along with bugs, especially biting ones. And so very appropriate. Midges on unicorn blood. That'd scare me too. A good thing they *don't* leave the forest -- but poor unicorn!

Reviewer: AeternaDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49534Chapter: 1
I like this one! It's very amusing :D

Much love,
'Terna

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --