The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 36

Reviewer: reader 2Date: 2005-10-30
Reviewid: 135511Chapter: 1
Very good snippet.

Reviewer: AprilDate: 2005-05-27
Reviewid: 122846Chapter: 1
Cute! You capture Snape's voice quite well -- exasperated and disgusted with the Boy Wonder.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-02-26
Reviewid: 114999Chapter: 1
I really like this. Ernie Macmillan was perfect- I especially liked his cconversation with the centaur at the beginning- very calm and polite and reasonable- I love Hufflepuffs. I felt Snape could've been a little nastier at times, perhaps with refernce to Harry breaking into his memories... but I did very much enjoy the ending
<he couldn’t help but think that, as the boy knew how to get rid of three-headed dogs, even Harry Potter was starting to become useful.>
You think? Very imaginatie story. Keep writing!

Reviewer: CybčleDate: 2004-12-07
Reviewid: 107111Chapter: 1
Dag !
As promised, I started reading your other stories. And I still like the way you write, of course !

Reviewer: HPNanaDate: 2004-11-01
Reviewid: 103129Chapter: 1
Outstanding. I would have never, ever thought that Snape may secretly, deep down, very deep down inside, may have to admire, not even admire, acknowledge Potter's resourcefulness and determination, (other than to "cross lines" ). This possibility is scary but hilarious. OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Aaran St VinesDate: 2004-10-07
Reviewid: 100686Chapter: 1
I have always felt that the Hufflepuffs are a most misunderstood house. Cedric Diggory did a little to dispell this, but I think Ernie Macmillan, Susna Bones, and Justin Finch-Fletchley can go a long way in future books to show us more than a surface view of "loyal and hard-working." This story is a clever start!

Terrific idea of having Snape grudgingly admire Harry because of the DA.

This story shows wonderful understanding of how to flesh out a story line.

Reviewer: WhimsyDate: 2004-08-13
Reviewid: 96982Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this, Birgit. There's something serenely surreal about it. You've taken an eclectic group of elements and somehow weaved them together into a brilliant short story. If someone had told me they were writing about Snape, Fluffy, Ernie Macmillan, a centaur, and a guitar, I wouldn't have believed it possible, but now I've seen it I love it!

I thought the way Snape always found himself grudgingly admiring Harry at the same time as being annoyed by him was very funny. It was also nice to see Snape at a loss for words when Ernie transfigures the guitar (I was too, to be fair, then I started laughing). His best line, though, was when he said:
“I suggest you leave us alone, Mister Centaur,” Severus said, stepping forward. “This is an emergency."
The 'Mister Centaur' is perfect. Ernie was good too; clearly, the DA lessons have been useful, and his calmness compared to Snape's confusion was a nice contrast. As for the star of the story (Fluffy, of course!), I thought he was the best; particularly when he tried to bite off Snape's head and leg at the same time.

However, the best bit was at the end, where we get to see Ernie's staunch loyalty and what Snape thinks of the DA. The last line particularly is excellent: a guitar-playing Macmillan and a triple-headed-dog disposing Harry Potter in the same sentence. :D

Thank you for writing such a charming little story!

Reviewer: onlylonelyDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94676Chapter: 1
Huh. That was surprising. I didn't expect Ernie to be there, or to have known how to transfigure wood into a guitar. Kind of cool actually.

I liked it but I'm confused as to why Ernie's there. Did he somehow find a way to follow the others? Or something?

Otherwise it's a good ficlet.

Reviewer: Midge WoodDate: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 91869Chapter: 1
Good, although you should have expanded more on how Fluffy got into the Forbidden Forest. Also, Macmillan's being there convinently enough for Snape to find him was rather confusing. However this was written well, and you should definately keep writing. :)

God Bless,
Midge

Reviewer: SeleneDate: 2004-07-10
Reviewid: 91684Chapter: 1
That was pretty good! E-mail me sometime, 'kay?

Reviewer: Frankie BeeblebroxDate: 2004-06-15
Reviewid: 87264Chapter: 1
Interesting little bit of missing action! I like how you have Ernie save the day at the end. . . I can just imagine the look on Snape's face now. Wonderful job!

Reviewer: IcybeachDate: 2004-06-01
Reviewid: 85555Chapter: 1
I started with this one because the "Snape got worried and went looking for you in the forest" sentence is one of my favourite sentences in OotP and always makes me sigh... I’m definitely checking out our other stories as well – they sound VERY interesting.

I have no idea of what your ideas of how Snape REALLY thinks of Harry, but my ideas are that he’s annoyed by the boy, but does what he does out of duty. So, I felt that the story needed a bit more annoyance in Snape’s thoughts about Harry. Like "How characteristic of Potter to have people search for him." or “he still hadn’t found any sign of that wretched Harry Potter” or "Severus Snape was walking...cursing Potter for making him search the forest for him"
There was a little resentment in the end though (Harry showing off).

The story made me think about a few things I hadn't thought about before:
"You don’t need to help; just leave us" LOL, a great way to shut a Centaur up! I doubt it had been done that way before (emphasising that humans don't need, or aren’t looking for their help). It would have been interesting to hear what the Centaur had to say after that - although, he'd probably say something like "Wizards can't tell Centaurs what to do!" (because of the “just leave us”).
It certainly raises this question in my mind: Whatever happened to Fluffy after PS? I don’t remember if there was any canon to answer that…
Hehe, after Snape’s experience with dogs and wolves, you'd wonder if he has developed a fear for canines?

The story was a very nice missing moment – I really enjoyed reading it. It was very well written (I probably don’t have to tell YOU that!) and flowing. It was very easy to picture.

Icy :)

Reviewer: KagomeDate: 2004-03-29
Reviewid: 76337Chapter: 1
"And while he lifted a guitar-playing Macmillan on the stretcher and started to walk back to the castle, he couldn’t help but think that, as the boy knew how to get rid of three-headed dogs, even Harry Potter was starting to become useful."

WOW! Now THIS is something from Severus Snape!

I loved this fic. the characters were all well in character, Severus Snape was excellent, and the Centaur was perfect too. Ernie was priceless when he transfigured the wood and started to play the music :) Nice to see that somehow even Snape can be surprised!

I liked how this story fits the OotP canon so nicely! Loved it, really!

Reviewer: wee meeDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74218Chapter: 1
you are just a good writer. i don't know what your level of education is, but you write as though you took creative writing classes in college or you have a talent. and your stories are sooooothing.

Reviewer: PaigeDate: 2004-03-06
Reviewid: 73299Chapter: 1
Birgit,
How cute!
<<And as Potter always found a way to get what he wanted>>
incredibly Snape-ish. Good job.

Paige

Reviewer: JuliaDate: 2004-02-16
Reviewid: 71032Chapter: 1
LOL! guitars///

Reviewer: AlexDate: 2004-02-05
Reviewid: 69614Chapter: 1
This was a very enjoyable story! I liked how Snape seemed atleast a little more...well...human! He seemed to realize that Harry isn't the stuck up idiot he makes out to be. Please include more stories from his point of view!!

Reviewer: AsevDate: 2004-01-21
Reviewid: 67826Chapter: 1
*grin* I like this story. I don't quite know why, but well done!

Reviewer: SNUFFLESDate: 2004-01-20
Reviewid: 67797Chapter: 1
i love storys like this when other characters from the books think about harry. i sopose i'm very biased about everyone liking harry. anyway exellent story

Reviewer: Unus Salus SalazarDate: 2004-01-17
Reviewid: 67429Chapter: 1
What? Potter, useful? Inconceivable!

Don't come to me with that rubbish again! Of all the..

*stalks away*

Oh and by the way. I liked it.

Reviewer: Lady GDate: 2004-01-05
Reviewid: 65963Chapter: 1
wow! i really enjoyed reading this story. this background scene from snape's point of view was really written well. fluffy, ernie and the da were all nice touches. great job!

Reviewer: ThatDamnedBastardDate: 2004-01-05
Reviewid: 65899Chapter: 1
One thing to say first about a line from this rather swift but entertaining tale:

"he couldn’t help but think that, as the boy knew how to get rid of three-headed dogs, even Harry Potter was starting to become useful"

HEE!

Okay, aside from that, this was a nice little story about what COULD have been happening behind and away from the scenes in Book V. Not to say that it does not follow the general theme of the story, but having Severus being assailed by the same ceberus that ravaged his leg in Book I was an interesting touch. My one question is this: how does Fluffy interact with Hagrid?

Reviewer: Laura Carlie Darla CaremsDate: 2003-12-23
Reviewid: 64556Chapter: 1
Hey!
My name is Laura Carlie Darla Carems!
Call me 'Carlie' and sometimes 'Darla'!
WHAT SHOULD I SAY?

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2003-12-20
Reviewid: 64105Chapter: 1
I don't like the review I left you, so I'm going to leave another one.

Everyone was perfectly in character. The story was very well written, and I liked the centaur.
I especially liked Snape calling the centaur "Mister Centaur". hahaha, that was a very funny picture.

I also liked very much the way Snape seems to blame everything on Harry in the back of his mind, yet finds admiration for him at the same time.

This was a great story, now I'm going to go read your other one.

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2003-12-20
Reviewid: 64103Chapter: 1
I liked this story very much.
I like your Snape. Even though we all know he doesn't like Harry, in your story he's not cursing him through his teeth every second. ...I really like that.

As for constructive criticism...
I think your first sentence should have been a little different--the first sentence is what sets the tone for the whole story, and your didn't really grab me.

Although, this story is *very* good for someone whose first language isn't English.

:)

dinka

Reviewer: GryffinMiraurDate: 2003-12-02
Reviewid: 61548Chapter: 1
Very clever. I especially enjoyed Ernie being a resourceful Hufflepuff. It was also interesting to see how Snape might act with students of other houses. He didn't seem quite as severe. And naturally, the appearance of Fluffy was quite welcome. Just shows that you don't need many words to write a good story.

Reviewer: CendrillonDate: 2003-10-14
Reviewid: 56486Chapter: 1
It was nice to see Snape having a grudging appreciation for Harry. And I liked the idea of using the Forbidden Forest challenge as an opportunity to write a story about what took place in OotP when Snape went to look for Harry and Hermione, a nice missing moment piece.

Reviewer: atroposDate: 2003-10-06
Reviewid: 55666Chapter: 1
I enjoyed this. Your Snape is very in character, and its good to see a bit of grudging admiration for Harry under all that sourness. But the best bit was getting Ernie to be the hero and demonstrate the value of Harry's DADA lessons. But still so Hufflepuff when he refuses to tell Snape about the DA at the end. Good stuff.

Atropos

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-09-26
Reviewid: 54452Chapter: 1
Everyone's greatly in character and this feels like it could have come from the books. I particularly like your Snape.

Nice work!

Catherine

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2003-09-21
Reviewid: 53739Chapter: 1
teehee, this is cute. I liked this in Snape's point of view with Ernie in it. Very nice job. ^_^

Reviewer: MullvaneyDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53398Chapter: 1
This is really good. I had alwas wondered what had become of Fluffy. Your English is excellent!

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52717Chapter: 1
This was a hilarious story, but I also found your Snape to be quite in character, especially when he thinks Harry told "the whole school" about getting past Fluffy just to show off. And Ernie's remark about not wanting "SNEAK" written on his face made me laugh, too. And the centaur screaming about "no more humans" reminded me of Uncle Vernon screaming (and cursing) about all the owls at the beginning of OotP. Thanks!

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2003-09-10
Reviewid: 51723Chapter: 1
Wow, this is an interesting and fun story. I think you've kept Snape in-character quite well. Good job!

Reviewer: SpartinaDate: 2003-09-06
Reviewid: 50930Chapter: 1
Loved the Return of Fluffy--but even better was the capable Mr. Macmillan taking care of Fluffy with a well-placed Impediment Curse and a nice bit of Transfiguration. Not to mention Snape's hint of a grudging respect for Harry. This was a treat.

Reviewer: JessanndiDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49687Chapter: 1
Lovely Story,

It's a nice change to see things from Snape's POV. I recommend you read Ozma's Filch and the Potion Master for some other Fluffy moments.

You've made good use of canon in this by exploring the "What happened when......" and showing us some behind the scenes moments.

Jessanndi

Reviewer: CarlottaDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49684Chapter: 1
Hey Birgit!! I must say that this very well written!! Your English is very good!!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --