The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: First Meeting
Review(s): 29

Reviewer: TheDeathChamberDate: 2005-07-14
Reviewid: 127169Chapter: 5
Very original and interesting. I quite liked it.

Reviewer: AnnaKDate: 2005-02-12
Reviewid: 113716Chapter: 5
This was everything that a Snape story should be--simple, elegant, and effective, emotional without the usual coating of overwrought melodrama. You also have a great Dumbledore, which is a very rare treat indeed. Well done!

Reviewer: Brian TurkDate: 2004-12-27
Reviewid: 108847Chapter: 5
Utterly plausible, and I do not doubt that JKR's own background info for Snape falls pretty close to that as written here. Everything fits, and fits well. What's almost creepy is finding that I could relate a little to young Severus. Extremely well written, but also well thought out as well. An excellent effort in every regard!

Reviewer: Ditsy BlondeDate: 2004-11-13
Reviewid: 104747Chapter: 2
Just read chapter 2, and again, poor Snape. I feel really sorry for him.
~Ditsy Blonde

Reviewer: Ditsy BlondeDate: 2004-11-13
Reviewid: 104745Chapter: 1
Wow, this is great, but oh, poor Snape (Now that sounds weird). I feel really sorry for him, you are a great writer.
~Ditsy Blonde

Reviewer: !Date: 2004-07-21
Reviewid: 93412Chapter: 1
.

Reviewer: Hunter VioletDate: 2004-07-11
Reviewid: 91819Chapter: 5
An exceptionally well written, well thought out story. Severus Snape remains one of my favorite HP characters, although his written character is easier to appreciate than the filmed character.
I look forward to more of your tales about the young Severus.

Reviewer: PatriciaDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81548Chapter: 5
This is very well written and indeed made me cry a bit.

Reviewer: Knight SamarDate: 2003-07-10
Reviewid: 41324Chapter: 5
Good Work! This seems to be the reason behind Snape's ..er.. strange but surprisingly good nature..
Please write more SnapeFics or POVs by Snape.

Reviewer: JKLBDate: 2003-04-06
Reviewid: 26629Chapter: 5
I read your comments re: Sirius/Severus just after I read this story, I think you've done a marvelous job on these two. As you say, we don't know much about Sirius, just a few tantalizing glimpses. One thing we do know however, is that he takes things to extremes. So I find it entirely plausible that after making an attempt to be friendly (O.K., it was NOT skillful, but he's an 11 year old boy) and being rebuffed, I can see him overreacting and becoming insulting. And after being threatened, I can see him trying to get Severus in trouble. We also know from canon that Sirius doesn't always foresee the consequences of his actions, so I don't imagine that Sirius expected Severus to be in as much trouble as he was. He probably assumed that Severus would merely suffer a brief moment of embarassment at the door.
Dumbledore was perfectly in character. I think you not only captured how he would act and react in these situations, but you've done a great job in laying the foundation for the relationship Dumbledore and Snape will have as adults.
And last but certainly not least, Severus was amazing. The responsiblity of caring for his mother denying him a childhood, his pride in his pureblood heritage (since it's the ONLY thing he has to feel pride in), sneers of contempt making his insecurities, etc. Yes, this is young Severus Snape.

Reviewer: ChambraigneDate: 2003-02-20
Reviewid: 21242Chapter: 1
Juliane--Thanks for the feedback on my characterization of Sirius. I admit I find him one of the most difficult to understand of the HP characters. We've seen some pretty extreme behavior from him without knowing much about him, other than that he was best friends with James Potter, is extremely talented magically, likes mischief, and is apparently quite wealthy (given that he still had enough money, after being in prison for twelve years, to buy an exorbitantly expensive present for Harry). Snape's past is, so far, mysterious as well, but we've seen enough of him in canon to get a handle on his personality at least. It makes sense to me that, on the one hand, we have Severus who's insecure because of a lack of money and close-knit family, and on the other we have Sirius who (unlike Draco) doesn't *want* to rely on his family ties and money to get by. When they meet, they key into each other's insecurities and fears and the result isn't pretty.

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20869Chapter: 3
Oh, the contretemps between Sirius and Severus was interesting - it was obvious Sirius was truly curious and wanting to start up a real conversation with Severus, and overreacted badly after being snubbed. And his parents....Sirius' reaction to Sev was way over the top, but perhaps he's been far too sheltered by his parents, and is actually terribly frightened at the thought of leaving home, and maybe has some big insecurities about what he doesn't know? I never really thought of Sirius this way, and your portrait of him does make me think.

It was a sad comment on the difference in the lives of Sirius and Sev that Sirius' parents immediately believed their son, while Severus has nobody to defend him, or even listen, until Dumbledore shows up.

>Severus sincerely hoped Sirius would be a Gryffindor and promptly get himself killed showing off his valiant courage.

Hee! Be careful what you ask for....

This was a wonderful scene - a lot going on, and while you offer a more hard-edged interpretation of Sirius' character, I definitely buy into it.

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20866Chapter: 2
>Not very many people appreciate the craftsmanship of a good wand--the balance, the line, the texture of the wood. They’re only concerned with its power.

Love this sentence!

>She was no longer the proud, exquisitely beautiful young woman—already a Dark witch--he saw in the later pictures either, the impish grin replaced by a mysterious and dangerous smile. He had not known either of those people. He knew a lonely, tired, bitter woman who had been abandoned by those who were supposed to help her; her power broken, her looks destroyed by hard living and a long illness, forced to live hand-to-mouth, dependent on her son--a child--to provide for them both.

what a great portrait of a character, in a few sentences!

A phoenix feather for Snape? Interesting choice.

You did a great job with Ollivander. He's one of my favorite HP characters.

I like how you're building up Snape's personality through these encounters with people 'outside' his world. It is subtle, but telling.

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20865Chapter: 1
>many of its regulars only came out at night, like proper freaks

Ha! Very Snape-ish humor, there.

>His bloodline gave him the right to walk in their world, but that didn’t mean that he should.

Wow! This says a lot, right here.

Excellent, excellent, foray into Snape's psyche, with lots of 'showing, not telling.' I like the way he's on the line between two worlds, not quite belonging in either. It is what gives his character so much intrinsic tension, and makes him so interesting.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-01-15
Reviewid: 16333Chapter: 5
Foolish me. I see you have two more stories.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIDate: 2003-01-15
Reviewid: 16332Chapter: 5
THE END?

How about a bit more?

This was an excellent fic and until JKR says otherwise, I'm taking it as cannon.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-01-15
Reviewid: 16330Chapter: 4
he can wear a crown of live fairies and ostrich feathers if he wants, and no one will say a word.
-Now that would make a great picture.

Excellent, excellent job with Dumbledore.

I am looking forward to the story behind the scars.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-01-15
Reviewid: 16328Chapter: 3
Great book titles!

he supposed there was a magical object involved--there usually was when wizards needed to decide anything important
-Hah!

Excellent job with the Headmaster - very in character.

Very good chapter. I like the contrast between Snape's poverty and Black's wealth.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-01-14
Reviewid: 16183Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this story. Severus is portrayed very well; a young boy who never had a chance to be young. Someone who always feels like he's on the outside looking in. The adult Severus is still like that.

The background that you've written for Severus is very plausible.

His meetings with Mr. Ollivander and with Dumbledore were both marvelous. Both of them see talent and potential where most others see only a scruffy street urchin.

Both Severus and Sirius behaved badly during their first encounter, which fits what we know about them later in life.

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-11-23
Reviewid: 9869Chapter: 5
What I really liked about this story was that Severus seemed so old for his age. That's the true mark of a child who has had to take care of an adult rather than the other way around. You did a great job with his characterization and I like the way Dumbledore persisted in helping him. It's a plausible explanation for why Severus comes back to him later in life.

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-11-23
Reviewid: 9863Chapter: 2
The essence of Severus is that he is not what he seems to be on the outside. So, I guess Ollivander is trying to tell him that there is more to him than even he sees at this point in his life.

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2002-11-23
Reviewid: 9861Chapter: 1
What a sad and painful thing to be alone and believe that everyone is looking at you. Poor Severus. I'm anxious to see how all of his insecurities play out when he begins to interact with people at school.

Reviewer: Joe CDate: 2002-11-22
Reviewid: 9800Chapter: 5
Well Done, good effort, I liked it.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2002-11-06
Reviewid: 8313Chapter: 1
I like how your having Snape as poor explains his looks and potion aptitude.

Reviewer: pubDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3081Chapter: 5
It's great to hear a story from Snape's point of view!

Reviewer: Carlotta CooperDate: 2002-08-24
Reviewid: 2915Chapter: 1
I think this is a very well-written and considered story. One of the reasons I l read fan fiction is to get a better sense of what may have happened in a character's life to make them what they are in the story. I doubt if any character needs more background information to be understood than JKR's Severus Snape. <g> I have no trouble believing that Snape's boyhood was as you have described it in this story; and I think that your characterizations and dialogue are absolutely in character, including Sirius Black. I doubt if the prank in the Shrieking Shack with Lupin was the first time that one of Black's jokes got out of hand. I sincerely hope that you will tell us more about Snape as he grows up. Well done.

Reviewer: Alia MerasDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2432Chapter: 5
I absolutely loved your story. There are so few stories that deal with Severus Snape's childhood and what made him the man he was. Reading your story really makes one think about who is the man behind the greasy hair. Thank you for writing this.

Reviewer: erinn greenmanDate: 2002-08-04
Reviewid: 805Chapter: 3
UHH...RIGHT! Sirius wouldn't call him a freak... I mean he just met him. Besides the Sirius I 'know' wouldn't just act like that... *waves and leaves*

Reviewer: Philippa SommervilleDate: 2002-08-02
Reviewid: 665Chapter: 1
I read and commented on this story on the old board, but it bears repeating: I love it. Even though *my* Sirius would never act like that *grin*

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --