The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 86

Reviewer: AshendenDate: 2007-09-03
Reviewid: 149156Chapter: 1
This one had me in tears. It's so beautiful and so Neville!

Reviewer: KresselDate: 2006-02-13
Reviewid: 139805Chapter: 1
That was wonderful! I read that it won an SQ award, and it's easy to see why!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136457Chapter: 1
Quite Excellent.

Reviewer: bribitribbitDate: 2005-11-20
Reviewid: 136073Chapter: 1
*sniffle* I went looking for Neville fics after I saw GoF, because I couldn't help but falling in love with him in it. Thank you SO much to this fic. It made me so happy, and I love Penelope. It's so... ah. I love it. Thanks.

Love from,
Brittney

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2005-11-14
Reviewid: 135863Chapter: 1
This is so beautiful and deeply moving. Neville has been a complex and layered character from the very beginning, when he had the courage to stand up to his friends and do what he knew was right. This is one of the few stories I've read that really does justice to the boy behind the missing passwords. Thank you.

Reviewer: PicksleyDate: 2005-08-26
Reviewid: 130943Chapter: 1
Haven't read this in maybe a couple of years and it still makes me watery-eyed. And a nice bit of subtext to the Neville we see in OoTP as well ... Perfect.

Reviewer: Deadly_SecretsDate: 2005-08-22
Reviewid: 130574Chapter: 1
This piece is so sad and beautifully written. My eyes are all misty. Thank you for writing this, it made my day. The last line [I'm Neville Longbottom, and I'm not in Gryffindor for nothing] is so simple and so beautiful, that I'm going to feel tears reaching the surface everytime I think of it.

Beautiful work.

~ DS.

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2005-08-18
Reviewid: 130359Chapter: 1
Can I say how much I absolutely adored this? My eyes are misty just thinking about it. Very beautiful, thanks so much for writing it.

Reviewer: QemDate: 2005-05-16
Reviewid: 122162Chapter: 1
That was beautiful. And amazing. That was a really harsh and horrible year for Neville and you explained it so well.

Reviewer: RyuuriDate: 2005-03-15
Reviewid: 116654Chapter: 1
I absolutely loved this piece. I've always had a soft spot for Neville and I think you did a wonderful job "getting inside of his head."
You did a wonderful job keeping to the story, even using some of the exact quotes really added a nice effect.

Once again, I'd just like to say: Great Job! ^_^

Reviewer: RyuuriDate: 2005-03-15
Reviewid: 116653Chapter: 1
I absolutely loved this piece. I've always had a soft spot for Neville and I think you did a wonderful job "getting inside of his head."
You did a wonderful job keeping to the story, even using some of the exact quotes really added a nice effect.

Once again, I'd just like to say: Great Job! ^_^

Reviewer: Linden WinterDate: 2005-01-08
Reviewid: 110232Chapter: 1
Its so sad to read about Neville and how his mind works. How he went to his dorm so that Harry wouldn't feel bad about not coming back to do homework. Thoughts like that are so selfless and kind.

This story was very uplifting and made me think differently about Neville (thats a good thing). I always thought Harry was soooo selfish for running off to go to Hagsmeade and leave Neville waiting. It was cruel. Your fic shows what Neville really has to deal with. Its bittersweet and i loved it.

5 stars all the way.

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2004-12-12
Reviewid: 107563Chapter: 1
Nice. I liked. And since I'm writing a review, I will give a bit of constructive not-really-critisism-just-thoughts. I liked how you portrayed Neville, and most everything about this fic. :D I just think the ending was a bit uprupt... and it seems that something is missing. Hrm. I realllly liked this, though.

Reviewer: Miss TeingeDate: 2004-11-18
Reviewid: 105167Chapter: 1
Very, very nice! I don't often read well-crafted first-person stories, so I was pleasantly surprised. Excellent job, really!

Reviewer: ritaanimagusDate: 2004-10-29
Reviewid: 102849Chapter: 1
Whenever I am feeling sad or angry, I come back and reread this story. Your ability to put Neville's thoughts into words makes me see my problems in the proper perspective. This makes me cry every time. Thank you.

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2004-08-06
Reviewid: 96112Chapter: 1
This is my second time reading this and it still made me cry! It's wonderful and such an in-depth portrayal of Neville. I also like seeing how even pompous Percy can be kind and generous.

Reviewer: KatulaDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95917Chapter: 1
I've read many Harry Potter fics and I definetly have a few favorites, but this one is by far the most moving, the most real, and just... the most beautifully written. It flows so well. I'm glad you won that contest thing, this deserved it (as I'm sure you've been told a hundered times). Neville is such a sweet, kind boy, so easily overlooked by ppl writing fics - with Harry and Ron and Hermione and all those other brilliant characters' POVs to choose from - I'm glad you wrote this. It's actually the first Neville POV fic I've ever read. I'll never find a better one.

Reviewer: Kiki CabouDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95373Chapter: 1
My mouth dropped open at this story. What a brilliant interweaving of original thought and canon. Spectactular! :D

Reviewer: pirateloverDate: 2004-06-27
Reviewid: 89061Chapter: 1
Amazing story.......... Neville's always been one of my favourite characters. It's like a bittersweet story, the ending was really good.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2004-06-19
Reviewid: 87849Chapter: 1
That made me cry. Neville is such a sweetie... I loved the bit where he said "ridikulus Parvati". It shows how Lupin's kindness helped boost his confidence. And the part where he hid from Harry so that Harry wouldn't feel guilty about forgetting him. I've always worried about Neville at that point and how he would feel when Harry didn't come back. And the end, when he read thhta his parents would've been proud of him... wonderful insights keep it up!

Reviewer: AdriaDate: 2004-06-10
Reviewid: 86650Chapter: 1
I'm in tears! I love Neville. Excellent.

Reviewer: BrigantiaDate: 2004-06-05
Reviewid: 85988Chapter: 1
This is a great story. It's very touching, and the ending is just perfect. Well done.

Reviewer: JetamorsDate: 2004-05-12
Reviewid: 82331Chapter: 1
Oh, this is such a sweet story! You combine angst and fluff with such grace. Thanks for writing it; I liked it a lot.

Reviewer: seamusisevilDate: 2004-05-09
Reviewid: 81915Chapter: 1
really good story it captures neville as he really is

Reviewer: Jan_AQDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81554Chapter: 1
Awww... This was such a great story! :) I loved it.

Reviewer: Jan_AQDate: 2004-05-07
Reviewid: 81553Chapter: 1
Awww... This was such a great story! :) I loved it.

Reviewer: Blandsaft (on fanfiction.net)Date: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75461Chapter: 1
that was really good! i love neville, he's so sweet and everyone is just mean to him. poor kid. awww, he's happy in his own way in your story, makes me happy too :)

Reviewer: CalixaDate: 2004-02-24
Reviewid: 72130Chapter: 1
Beautiful, beautiful story. You leave me aching for Neville, even more than I was before. The last line is simply amazing. Thank you for writing this fic.

Reviewer: MaartjeDate: 2004-02-23
Reviewid: 72051Chapter: 1
This is such a great fic! I love it truly and it touched me deeply and there aren't enough adjectives or adverbs dor something good to describe this properly. You made me love Neville more than I already did.

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-01-14
Reviewid: 67103Chapter: 1
Beautiful. I have no words to express, and I can give no higher praise than that.

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2004-01-08
Reviewid: 66219Chapter: 1
I grow more and more amazed at your ability to bring me to tears...

I can't even bring myself to many words... just that this was so touching, and so *wonderful*! Neville's character and bravery make him one of my favorite characters, and you have captured his insecure, fumbling, yet completely endearing personality perfectly.

Absolutely wonderful!

dinka

Reviewer: Da Faerie QueeneDate: 2004-01-08
Reviewid: 66213Chapter: 1
Beautifully written,yet so simple.love your style. absolutely choked me up.

Reviewer: Katie BellDate: 2003-11-28
Reviewid: 61043Chapter: 1
Wow
That was good.
Sad but good.

Nice Job
~~Katie Bell

Reviewer: niiDate: 2003-11-23
Reviewid: 60581Chapter: 1
great

Reviewer: The Morning StarrDate: 2003-10-29
Reviewid: 58301Chapter: 1
I just got around to reading this. It's amazing that such a short story can evoke such strong emotions.

Absolutely beautiful. The last line choked me up almost comletely.

Reviewer: ChelseaDate: 2003-10-07
Reviewid: 55751Chapter: 1
This is a totally amazing story were we see the side of a character that is not mentioned most of the time. I truely hope that this author continues this story, its definatly on my favorites list.

Reviewer: KaraDate: 2003-10-01
Reviewid: 54998Chapter: 1
*sigh* I loved this story the first time I read it, I just had to read it again!

Reviewer: Nikki WeasleyDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50391Chapter: 1
oh. my. god. that was...beyond words fantastic. it was wonderfly written and it was wonderful to read, too. i absolutly loved it!! the last line,
-I'm Neville Longbottom, and I'm not in Gryffindor for nothing.
was really powerful! i loved it!! :)

pleese keep writing, your work is awesome!!! :)

Reviewer: celestina blackDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48839Chapter: 1
wow
that was really quite good!!!!!!
it fully embodies Neville, the person, not Neville, the bubling kid whos horrible at classes.
wow.

Reviewer: AikaDate: 2003-08-25
Reviewid: 48545Chapter: 1
Wai! That was so good, the note had me in tears! And i felt so proud of Neville too...you really put him in perspective for me! The middle parts (where he's wandering around lost) were a bit boring, but i can see that they needed to be there all the same. Good work on percy, that was so sweet of him and im glad to see someone treating him right in a fic for a change! (even if he is a git ^_^) Good work!

Reviewer: CourtneyDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47225Chapter: 1
That was a very good story. I loved your take on Neville, and that "fidelius" charm explanation was wonderful also. I am very pleased to read a fanfiction about someone other than the main three, because I have always loved Neville's character and wished JKR would develop it more. Now you have done that for her (and all of your delighted readers), and his life and history is as I always imagined it would be, but much more detailed thanks to you. Keep writing.

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2003-08-13
Reviewid: 46881Chapter: 1
I was in serious tears after reading this. Fantastic job. Poor Neville, I feel so sorry for him. My mom asked me why I was crying, and once she read it she was crying too. I moved over and shaired the seat with her and we cried for about 10 minutes. Did I mention both are a little sentimental? And on PMS for that matter...

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-08-01
Reviewid: 44941Chapter: 1
A wonderful story. The amazing thing about this story is tht it both matches the way I think Neville would behave and it changes my preception of him.

Thanks.

Reviewer: Michael AppleDate: 2003-07-30
Reviewid: 44674Chapter: 1
I just wanted to tell you that I read your story "With Quill in Trembling Hand" and it really touched me. Neville is a character that seems to be shunted to the side a lot in Harry Potter, but you've really captured a tender moment with a sensitive character. This story really warmed my heart and I hope I'll have the opportunity to read many more stories from you. Excellent writing. Thank you.

Reviewer: KaraDate: 2003-07-22
Reviewid: 43250Chapter: 1
*shiver* You know...I think that is the best fanfic I've ever read. I don't know what else to say except that I know I'm going to remember your story, and search for it to read again months later. Really touching. You're a truely talented person! Perhaps JKR can sell you the rights to the Harry Potter characters when the series is over, and you can continue on with the views and stories of those characters who don't get enough attention! Wonderful!

Reviewer: DanielDate: 2003-07-15
Reviewid: 42086Chapter: 1
Aww, this is a fantastic story. It really makes the reader feel sorry for Neville and root for him even more. Its no wonder you won first place in the writing competition for this wonderful glimpse into the life of Neville Longbottom. Thank you.

Reviewer: katieDate: 2003-07-04
Reviewid: 40042Chapter: 1
Awwwwwwwwww thats so sweet and sad, it brought tears to my eyes!
Keep Smiling!

Reviewer: HariDate: 2003-06-30
Reviewid: 39113Chapter: 1
absolutely brilliant! Please write more Neville fic!

Reviewer: Daniella FLemingsDate: 2003-06-19
Reviewid: 37742Chapter: 1
i really like this story and i would recommend it and read it again because i like how you didn't just talk about harry, rom, and hermione but you talked about neville and the story was all about him.

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-06-04
Reviewid: 35268Chapter: 1
Wow.I am *almost* in tears,this is so beautiful. It explains why Neville also has a short-term memory,which is interesting. I love the last sentence.

Reviewer: StaceyDate: 2003-06-03
Reviewid: 35210Chapter: 1
Awww! This story was so sweet! I enjoyed it greatly. Well done! :)

Reviewer: JoDate: 2003-05-19
Reviewid: 32728Chapter: 1
Wow... that was so amazing, the characterisation was spot on! I almost cried at the end! Fantastic stuff :)

Reviewer: GemDate: 2003-05-16
Reviewid: 32322Chapter: 1
I actually choked. That was an extremely moving story that riveted me from the first to the very last word. Good show :) [apology for the lack of constructive criticism, I was too dazzled by the sheer genius.]

Reviewer: L. MorningstarDate: 2003-05-10
Reviewid: 31446Chapter: 1
I really love this fic.

It's such a lovely story; we seldom get to see Neville given a lot of depth, and what you've given him in this story is beyond wonderful. Many parts still tug at the heartstrings (I've read this quite a few times), and some even manage to make me teary.

And the last line . . . *sighs* It just makes me want to hug Neville very hard.

(Oh, and nice job of very subtly adding some R/H here!)

Reviewer: Shoshana VH Vared (Lilly and the Rose)Date: 2003-05-09
Reviewid: 31374Chapter: 1
I love this story! (Alomost as much as I love Neville!) *_* write more please!!

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2003-04-26
Reviewid: 29658Chapter: 1
Quite profound, for a fan fiction. Congratulations! You're an awesome author.

Reviewer: HecatonchiresDate: 2003-04-13
Reviewid: 27802Chapter: 1
*Sniff* Go Nev!

Reviewer: magwanaDate: 2003-04-01
Reviewid: 25926Chapter: 1
i love this story and read it over and over again when i am sad.

Reviewer: bookwrm1989Date: 2003-03-30
Reviewid: 25721Chapter: 1
OMG!!!!!!!!! THAT WAS BRILLIANT! It tugged a sting in my heart, you're such a great writer. Neville was IC all the way through, I LOVED IT!

Reviewer: LaylaDate: 2003-03-21
Reviewid: 24829Chapter: 1
Awww! That was soo well written and so realistic and the last line made me want to cry! GOOD GOOD GOOD job!

Reviewer: SwethaDate: 2003-03-18
Reviewid: 24422Chapter: 1
Wow. Just wow. It's so awwww inducing.

Reviewer: Alicia ShankDate: 2003-02-23
Reviewid: 21525Chapter: 1
This is beautiful. Seriously--this is beautiful. It fits so well with the story, too. I don't think I'll ever read Neville quite the same way again!

Reviewer: Molly McGonagallDate: 2003-02-21
Reviewid: 21266Chapter: 1
Tears...and a big box of sugar quills to you for a lovely portrayal of Neville, who is as much an orphan as Harry.

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20880Chapter: 1
Oh my... what a wonderful, wonderful story. It really could have happend this way, and I just love the last line!

Reviewer: percivalDate: 2003-02-07
Reviewid: 19367Chapter: 1
nearly brought tears to my eyes there. shame on you!

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2003-02-02
Reviewid: 18698Chapter: 1
Not much to add, but I just wanted to say, I really loved this story, and I'm glad I found it. Your Neville is so sweet, and so brave. I thought your interpretation of Neville's parents' condition fresh and inspired...they still have some of their personalities left, not just raving maniacs. (And it's true that Dumbledore only tells Harry that they're insane and that they don't recognize Neville, not that they are raving maniacs.) And I loved the cameos by Percy and Penelope. Especially how Penelope is a R/H shipper too, with that comment about the "girl not being already taken", who I assume is a comment about Hermione. Thanks for writing this!

Reviewer: ivyDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17404Chapter: 1
how sweet! i'm glad neville has someone to champion his cause. i believe that by book 7, we will see great things from neville!

Reviewer: aDate: 2003-01-21
Reviewid: 17146Chapter: 1
Geez.....U've just givin me a whole new understanding to Neville... i mean i always liked him and all but i never saw him like that... well kinda.....now im just confusing myself....I LOVED IT....
thanx

Reviewer: jynxDate: 2003-01-03
Reviewid: 14978Chapter: 1
The ending had me in tears. Great job-your writing is clear, concise, and over-all great. Keep writing!
~jynx

Reviewer: Evelyn DreamtrotDate: 2002-12-04
Reviewid: 11110Chapter: 1
*chokes back sob*

I wish i could write something intelligent, or even coherent. I'm too flustered. That... was... amazing.

*hugs Neville*

*hugs Ciircee*

*hugs Neville again and cries into his shoulder while he pats me on the head nervously*

Reviewer: ImpDate: 2002-11-20
Reviewid: 9677Chapter: 1
That was wonderful. Very touching. I had tears in my eyes by the end. Well done.

Reviewer: ChambraigneDate: 2002-11-20
Reviewid: 9601Chapter: 1
I just re-read this after having first read it long ago, and I wanted to say how much I love it again. Neville is one of my favorite characters.

Reviewer: AllisonDate: 2002-11-04
Reviewid: 8099Chapter: 1
Oh gosh... I just started spilling over when I read the ending. This is a fabulous story. Thanks so much for sharing it :)

Reviewer: Narcissa MalfoyDate: 2002-10-31
Reviewid: 7751Chapter: 1
What a lovely story. A very interesting twist on what exactly the
Longbottoms are going through, and Percy is so sweet and pompous.

NM

Reviewer: lilahpDate: 2002-10-26
Reviewid: 7118Chapter: 1
Aaaaw. What a sweet, sweet, sweet story. I wish that he and Harry could be friends. Maybe in Book 5. You did a wonderful job with this. Thanks so much.

Reviewer: HallieDate: 2002-10-22
Reviewid: 6841Chapter: 1
Circee - this is so touching! Neville is so overlooked when it comes to fanfiction, and when people do study him, they tend to be shallow and pathetic interpretations. This was not. Neville has a certain pathos to him that would make anyone want to hug him. I also love the way you have Percy acting not like a pompous prig, but in a humane way. He can't be seen to bend the rules, but he bends them anyway.
It's a whole year since you wrote this, and I wish I'd stumbled across it sooner. Thank you for your charming style, and your ability to make your characters believable.
:o)
Hallie

Reviewer: AmberdulenDate: 2002-10-18
Reviewid: 6541Chapter: 1
*bursts into tears* Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful.

Reviewer: KimDate: 2002-10-11
Reviewid: 5972Chapter: 1
*sniffs* Oh dear... late night waterworks. This was so moving and it's the first fanfic I've read with Neville in the forefront. Beautiful.

Reviewer: LaurynDate: 2002-10-06
Reviewid: 5558Chapter: 1
oh, I just want to hug him! This is so wonderful~

Reviewer: Marie ArouetDate: 2002-10-04
Reviewid: 5318Chapter: 1
That was an adorable story. You really make Neville so lovable, and everything tied together very nicely in the end. It stays so true to canon but at the same time brings out a whole new light on Neville's character. Awesome!

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2002-08-29
Reviewid: 3455Chapter: 1
I just reread this because I wanted to take a look at the last part for events that are soon to come in Substance of Shadows.

Wow! What a wonderful portrayal of Neville. The first time you react to this story. The next times you savor it.

Thank you.

Catherine

Reviewer: Queen of the Tinfoil FishDate: 2002-08-26
Reviewid: 3192Chapter: 1
Sniff. That was so sad...poor Neville. But the nurses like him -- and there's a reason for his absent-mindendess. Bittersweet. The sugar quills being the sweet, I would expect. Yeah.

Reviewer: JMeschDate: 2002-08-25
Reviewid: 3068Chapter: 1
What a great fic!
I especially love the way Percy is portrayed. I like
that he's not just the pompous prefect, he's a kind
person. I also liked the way Neville goes from being
a nervous, sad figure to a more confident character.

Reviewer: assilem101Date: 2002-08-11
Reviewid: 1620Chapter: 1
I really loved this story. A very sweet ending (no pun intended).

Reviewer: RbDate: 2002-08-06
Reviewid: 1097Chapter: 1
Ohhh...this was really, really wonderful. I really love it, and I'm not even sure why...it all fits and works so well. ^_^

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2002-08-02
Reviewid: 698Chapter: 1
Cuteness and fluffiness. I'm on the verge of tears again. Awesome job.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --