The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: To Be Hufflepuff
Review(s): 33

Reviewer: The Enchanted TeakettleDate: 2006-03-19
Reviewid: 141085Chapter: 1
Oh my gosh, this was a wonderful fic! I loved how touching it was; it triggers a lot of emotions all at once; I almost cried!

The building of the secret rooms and tunnels was really a creative idea! So unique, and really, really believable!

I loved this so much!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136456Chapter: 1
Fair.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2005-04-17
Reviewid: 119846Chapter: 1
Wow. You know, the thing I like about fan fiction is that it gives us new insight into whatever the original author is lacking. You know that JKR is never going to expand Hufflepuff and tell us things like this. But that's ok, because there are little stories like yours that explain things, and it doesn't matter that it's not canon, because chances are, it's never going to contradict canon. I think this is one of the best Hufflepuff stories I've ever read, even though it's so short and doesn't have a plot. It gives me warm fuzzies and makes me want to be a Hufflepuff (even though I'd make a terrible one) so it's all good.

~Me.

Reviewer: fluffycatDate: 2004-12-20
Reviewid: 108165Chapter: 1
That was certainly a wonderful story.

Reviewer: BrielleDate: 2004-07-19
Reviewid: 93192Chapter: 1
This was beautifully written, as your stories always are. Now, whenever I think of Hufflepuffs I will always imagine them digging away at the soil behind Helga the badger. It would be wonderful if you could write more like these for the other houses, What It Means To Be Ravenclaw and so on. Although it may be that they would sully the uniqueness and feeling in this one as it is.

Reviewer: ErinDate: 2004-06-19
Reviewid: 87870Chapter: 1
that was incredible!! on mugglenet interactive, i was sorted into hufflepuff. i was also originally sorted there on harrypotter.com (that one i retook the test a couple of times *slaps hand*) i didn't want to be sorted into hufflepuff either time, but i left it alone on mni...a decision that i will never regret. your story was inspiring to me. not only in the make believe of mni or hogwarts itself, but in anything that a person might feel ashamed of. it reminds us to look deeper than what other people say. thank you for writing this.

Reviewer: seamusisevilDate: 2004-05-13
Reviewid: 82452Chapter: 1
another great story keep 'em coming

Reviewer: XehraDate: 2004-04-19
Reviewid: 79488Chapter: 1
This is an amazing fic. Certainly one of the best HP ones I've had the pleasure of reading. I love how you open the door to their beloved secret world, how you give them pride in who they are and what they do. I actually cried a bit during the prefect's inspirational speech - particularly the bit where he says Hufflepuffs may not be the smartest, but they work the hardest and help each other out. 'Cos that's what their house is all about. In short, absolutely adored this fic and will be reccing it to others - thank you!

Reviewer: HDate: 2004-03-18
Reviewid: 75130Chapter: 1
*grin* This is adorable. I'm glad its out there because Hufflepuffs are people too!

But I don't understand the tunnel/rooms thing. What's the point?

Reviewer: Lil' MoonyDate: 2004-03-04
Reviewid: 73130Chapter: 1
Cool story. I like how you show everyone that Hufflepuff's not a bad house, just because no one really understands them. Also, you put in Cedric, and it's true, he is often overlooked; most of the Hufflepuffs are. I'm actually going to change on of my fics a wee bit because of this. Very cool. :)

Reviewer: CourtneyDate: 2003-12-20
Reviewid: 64167Chapter: 1
Wow! That was a great follow up to Arabella's "Before the Beginning". I really liked how you gave Hufflepuff some glory. I always have hated how in the books only Slytherin and Gryffindor get any attention. I hope you will write more about the Hufflepuffs. I loved the idea of the 61st sett to honor Cedric. I was nearly in tears. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: Celli LaneDate: 2003-11-29
Reviewid: 61163Chapter: 1
Wow, this is cool. *sniffle*

Reviewer: SteppenwolfDate: 2003-10-31
Reviewid: 58419Chapter: 1
I've been meaning to read this fic. All I can say is that I'm glad I finally did. I am proud to think of myself as a Hufflepuff.

Reviewer: CorinaDate: 2003-09-16
Reviewid: 52880Chapter: 1
I liked this a lot. I especially like the part about Cedric... Great job!

Reviewer: KristenDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49902Chapter: 1
interesting

Reviewer: inaraeDate: 2003-08-16
Reviewid: 47339Chapter: 1
I liked this a lot. You did a great job on it. Hufflepuffs are ignored too much, but they are the base everyone else depends on, it seems... Thank you.

Reviewer: Waywren TruesongDate: 2003-08-02
Reviewid: 45031Chapter: 1
...this is sad and happy and heartbreaking and lovely
all at the same time.

So that's what it means.

Reviewer: NightRainDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39405Chapter: 1
Well. That prefect is some public speaker. ; )

I like it. Vive la Hufflepuff!

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-06-04
Reviewid: 35270Chapter: 1
Beautiful,simply beautiful. I've never really given a thought to Hufflepuffs,they're nice and hardworking but nothing special besides that, exept maybe something else for Malfoy to ridicule and Harry to get mad at him for ridiculing so that we can have a fight scene where Malfoy hopefully gets very hurt.

Reviewer: TamiDate: 2003-05-14
Reviewid: 32030Chapter: 1
This is one of the best fic I have ever read. Take that as a compliment, because I'm holding you up to Jo when I say this. This has to be the closest thing to canon that I've come across. Truly reverent tribute to an overlooked house. Excellent!!

Reviewer: HecatonchiresDate: 2003-04-13
Reviewid: 27803Chapter: 1
I think Hufflepuff stands more for dedication than anything else. The sort of people who keep things running. Good on them.

Reviewer: AdelinaDate: 2003-03-21
Reviewid: 24785Chapter: 1
To find a good Hufflepuff story is very hard, and I want to congratulate you for doing such a wonderful job with this fic. It's very well-written and I reassure you that after that speech by the Hufflepuff prefect I would be proud to be a Hufflepuff.

Thanks for the info about the Fat Frier - I thought he was made up.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24540Chapter: 1
Hufflepuff ROX! As another fan of this oft-neglected House, I am greatly pleased to read a story that makes the Huffs noble and cool. I read Arabella's "Before the Beginning," too, and I'm glad that you made it so that the students themselves get to find out what their colors mean and the feelings and actions involved in being a Hufflepuff. Wonderful, wonderful work :)

Reviewer: RiddleDate: 2003-03-04
Reviewid: 22604Chapter: 1
Ciircee, I love this - I reviewed it a long time ago at ff.net but I've yet to review it here. This made me want to be in Hufflepuff, or rather, gave me a better perspective about Hufflepuff.

Hows about a story on the Hufflepuff prefect? He seems cool. Dude. I loved this. Of course.

Reviewer: OowthDate: 2003-02-15
Reviewid: 20388Chapter: 1
I read this over at FF.net too. Still think it's really good. Hope you won't mind if I link to it from my Hufflepuff Archive site. (http://thebadgersden.cjb.net). I don't host fics yet so I'm just linking. If, for some odd reaso you don't want me to link to this, email me. ^_^;

Reviewer: Ariana DeralteDate: 2003-01-30
Reviewid: 18321Chapter: 1
Wonderful way to start this story. The prefect was a great character. This made for a model of an inspirational speech. I loved the way you explained the house colours making them important instead of ugly.

It was great how you made Hufflepuff so special with the sett and the secret tunnels and rooms. The prefect's last line about how he lived was perfect.

This entire story reminded me of some of the initiations I've heard about in certain fraternities or societies.
Well done, and a tribute to all the Hufflepuffs out there.

Reviewer: SabrinaDate: 2003-01-26
Reviewid: 17910Chapter: 1
At first it surprised me that the Hufflepuffs are aware of the way they are perceived. However when I thought about it, it was really obvious. I mean Ron and Harry were talking about it before the Sorting and I suppose they have siblings or parents in different houses and would therefore know about it. So, now I asked myself where the idea that they didn't know came from and I realised that in almost every fic I've read - and I won't say every just because I can't remember them all - they are shown as somewhat stupid little sidekicks without the tiniest hint of an interesting personality. So, first of all thank you for bringing that to my attention...

"And maybe we do look like a bumblebee's bum, but we know what they mean."
To me that is so far the most striking thing about Hufflepuffs, not that they're loyal or hard-working but that they have to be very self-confident to be in Hufflepuff and not die of jealousy. From what we see in the books the Gryffindors don't have to try hard at all, because they are the good, brave guys. The Ravenclaws may be a bit studious, but at least they are clever and no matter what anybody has to say about Slytherins; they are respected and even somewhat feared. Therefore Hufflepuff looks like a pretty bad house to end up in, after all who really thinks that loyalty is really important in the normal life (by non-Harry-Potter-standards - I suppose he would value it more than others, because he has seen what disloyalty can lead to.

"Second, we're not the brightest students. If we were, we'd be in Ravenclaw and it's best we know that now."
That shows again that they have to have extra self-confidence because telling somebody you're not bright is really hard and being told you're not bright and accepting it and working for what you want is even harder.

"This is Friar Waire, for those of you who don't know. And he'll always be here to help you around the castle, with your homework, or with anything else you can think of. He's been here since the fifteen-thirties and he'll be here even in the thirty-thirties."
I like the idea of a ghost helping students and making the house not only people you live with but more like a real family.

"Hufflepuffs are true, forever. There's never been a dark witch or wizard who was Hufflepuff and there won't be. Some of us come from dark backgrounds, I think, but it doesn't matter now because now you're one of us, working towards the light with the rest of us, so leave that behind you."
Okay, I understand the light metaphor, however couldn't it also go the other way round? Like a Hufflepuff going from a good (yellow) background to a bad (black) on? After all they could also be loyal to a dark wizard, couldn't they?

One question though: I understand that the rooms and tunnels could be useful now that Voldemort is back but why building them before that? ... oh, right there were other Dark wizards, I forgot. Although that bit makes Hufflepuffs seem kinda paranoid on the one hand, but very prepared for everything and not oblivious at all ... hmmmm I definitely like the idea to give them more of a personality and after all they need something to do while the Ravenclaws study, the Gryffindors do stupid things and the Slytherins make evil plans ... ;)

"Last year we lost on of our own to You-Know-Who. Cedric Diggory,"
He's one of those people that are always overseen in fics. He was a Hufflepuff after all and he certainly wasn't a bumbling idiot. I wish more Hufflepuffs were portrayed like him, but I suppose most fiction writers just forget him now that he's dead and after all all our impressions from the book are pretty biased as they are from Harry's PoV.

Okay, anyway sorry for this long rant but the fic really inspired me to rethink my impressions of the Hufflepuffs - esp. since I haven't read the books for a while and fics tend to be too two-dimensional on them.
Good idea, to finally take up some of the prejudices against Hufflepuffs and make them look a bit more positive!

-Sabrina

Reviewer: ApocalypticDate: 2003-01-18
Reviewid: 16763Chapter: 1
I can't tell you how pleased I am to find a well-written Hufflepuff fic! I think you conveyed the essence of the House very well in just this short fic-- the bit about third-years and up pitching in to buy quills and sugar quills was a nice touch to emphasize Hufflepuff loyalty. And the prefect saying they'll look after Cho was very sweet.

Reviewer: EnniaDate: 2003-01-15
Reviewid: 16352Chapter: 1
That was one of the most uplifting Hufflepuff fics I have ever read. Well done!

I would like to use the concept of the "Hufflepuff Meeting" in my Hufflepuff centric fic at FA. I would be honored if you got back to me on it and/or gave me permission.

Peaches,
Ennia

Reviewer: EilanDate: 2003-01-13
Reviewid: 16105Chapter: 1
Hi Ciircee,

wow, that was 'bloody brilliant', to steal a phrase. I've been looking for a good Hufflepuff-story for AGES and this was really a good read. I like the house colours explanation and how the Hufflepuffs honor edric. I also liked how the Prefect first adresses the first years. I guess at first noone would be thrilled to be a Hufflepuff. My only complaint is that it is a bit short and ends rather abruptly. Other than that, great fic.

Eilan

Reviewer: SnazzykiteDate: 2002-12-13
Reviewid: 12407Chapter: 1
"As best we know it's where he died, but more importantly, most importantly, it's a place he lived."

Quite possibly one of the best fics I've read. Thank you for portraying the Hufflepuffs in such a beautiful and noble light! ^__^

Reviewer: RiddleDate: 2002-09-23
Reviewid: 4578Chapter: 1
For some reason, I find this story really touching. It's beautiful. Simply great. I think I'm in love with the Hufflepuff prefect.

Reviewer: Drezella Eleanor WinesapDate: 2002-07-31
Reviewid: 499Chapter: 1
I have always loved this story!!! It makes me proud to be a Hufflepuff!!!!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --