The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Choices
Review(s): 32

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-21
Reviewid: 117332Chapter: 1
Neat - and plausable. thanks.

Reviewer: BeeDate: 2004-08-09
Reviewid: 96472Chapter: 1
:D

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-07-28
Reviewid: 94421Chapter: 1
I love your characterization of Narcissa, how she cares for her family. Great take on the dynamics of the Black family, especially the three sisters. The fairy ring was really cute, and lended a nice touch to an otherwise really somber fic. Narcissa's desire to hex Ted seemed both humorous and sad.

Reviewer: MinkyDate: 2004-01-01
Reviewid: 65386Chapter: 1
Poor Narcissa ;-;

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2003-10-14
Reviewid: 56512Chapter: 1
Very touching! I almost started to cry too. Just like you did in Le Mouton Blanc, you're describing the relations in the Black family very well. That's why I like both of the stories so much.
Thank you for writing this!

Reviewer: AttyDate: 2003-10-05
Reviewid: 55607Chapter: 1
Oh, Kellie! You've gone and made me cry!

That story was perfect. We know so little about Narcissa...it's nice to think that there is an in-between between the "good" Andromeda and the "evil" Belatrix.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2003-09-16
Reviewid: 53001Chapter: 1
oh that was such a good story you should write more about there wedding or something what a good back round on those 3 sisters i would love to hear more

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52596Chapter: 1
Whoa! I love how you addressed the Slytherin point of view here and questioned family loyalties. I think it's possible that Andromeda and Narcissa loved each other but were torn apart because of the family and their beliefs. Narcissa doesn't have much of a character in the books as she's just married to Lucius, but you can see it here. I love this story; it was bittersweet.

Aerin ^_^

Reviewer: CymbelineDate: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52413Chapter: 1
Excellent! A fic that finally depicts Narcissa like i imagined her. She's human, and not completely evil, and you've captured her character brilliantly.
*have a cookie*
-cymbeline

Reviewer: Margaret B.Date: 2003-09-13
Reviewid: 52304Chapter: 1
Very interseting characterization of Narcissa. I love how you didn't make her all bad and mean like Bellatrix becuase I don't think always was like that. Great Andromeda/ Tonks!!!!!
YAY
~Meggie

Reviewer: Silver PatronusDate: 2003-09-13
Reviewid: 52294Chapter: 1
KELLSTARR. :O

Brilliant! I'm sorry I forgot to leave a review earlier! I love the strange relationship you created between the sisters. And I like how you didn't make Narcissa evil. I'm sure she must have been a good person at some point in her life to be able to love Draco so much. And Ted Tonks is such a sweetie. :)

"When Narcissa laid her eyes on Ted Tonks, she had to force herself not to hex the boy who was tearing apart her family."

*tear*

Well done! Now off to read La Mouton Blanc. :)

Reviewer: KristenDate: 2003-09-13
Reviewid: 52275Chapter: 1
Kellie! That was great. This is the first fic I've read about the Black Sisters and it's really good. I like how you potrayed Narcissa.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2003-09-13
Reviewid: 52250Chapter: 1
this little vignette is heartrending, and wondrous well-writ. we love to see our villains before they were really evil. here, narcissa is teetering on the cusp; she could go either way. by the end, though, she's made her choice, and you show, so beautifully, that the choices we make aren't always what we want the most, and that every choice is tinged with regret. just like in real life, eh?

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2003-09-13
Reviewid: 52224Chapter: 1
Thanks for a great look into Narcissa's mind and heart. It seems that your Narcissa puts a big emphasis on family loyalty...not loyalty to the "House of Black" out of pureblood principle, but a simpler, unconditional love she has for everyone in her family, no matter what their beliefs. (Backed up by the canon about her not letting Lucius send Draco to Durmstrang.) Yet in her urge to hex Ted Tonks you give a glimpse of what might have made her into the snooty "dung under her nose" wife of Lucius Malfoy. I'd be interested in your take of why Narcissa apparently collaborates with Kreacher in undermining Sirius in OotP. Has she just been completely corrupted by then? Or is there something else?

Reviewer: Kellie reply to CatherineDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 52124Chapter: 1
Catherine... part of the back story should be uploaded soon. ;)

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 52100Chapter: 1
Fairly intense! I'd love to know the back writing on this.

Nice, solid writing, TMS!

Catherine

Reviewer: TabithaDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 52001Chapter: 1
Kellie, that story is beautiful. Sad, but beautiful. You really are a wonderful writer. You have a knack for words and flow. Can't wait til your next story gets on here.

Reviewer: MelissaDate: 2003-09-08
Reviewid: 51333Chapter: 1
Oh, TMS, I like this a lot! I really like your characterization of 15 year old Narcissa. It blends really nicely with canon!Narcissa. Very well done! I look forward to your SQ submission!

~Mel

Reviewer: aishaDate: 2003-09-06
Reviewid: 50981Chapter: 1
short,wonderful and amazing story.good job!

Reviewer: MullvaneyDate: 2003-09-06
Reviewid: 50927Chapter: 1
Nice! Especially telling- "...she had to force herself not to hex the boy who was tearing apart her family." They brought it on tehmselves with their rigidity and bigotry! Wasn't Sirius the last male Black? What a sad glimpse of what the future holds for them...

Reviewer: JayneDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50541Chapter: 1
Kellie:
This is awesome. I love your last line! Wonderful. I also like the tiny detail of the ring to show how well Ted and Andromeda match. Wow. And, like others, the fact that you made Narcissa human ROX.

Of course, I thought your opening very talented as everyone must have thought she was meeting a man, say Lucius, and got a jolt when they realized it was Andromeda. And, of course, your title is cool.

Great job; you have a future my dear!

Reviewer: Darwin's ApprenticeDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50435Chapter: 1
Great job! I think you have done a great job of giving depth to a character who is usually one dimensional. Evil characters are worse when they are more like us. Then they aren't evil through and through, just weak. Narcissa could have been different. She ends up where she is because she chose to be there. And you've given her a motivation to dislike Ted Tonks. To her, he is breaking up her family. Great!

Reviewer: Nae (deidrie)Date: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50267Chapter: 1
“She is twelve, Andromeda.”, I loved it.
She really must have been like that as a child, even though that character wasn't in the fic you still managed to make me see her.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49999Chapter: 1
Well, I'm all teary-eyed. I think you captured their sisterly dynamics perfectly, especially the position of the Narcissa, the middle sister. My own sisters and I have commented ourselves about how the elder two might gang up on the youngest one, and the younger two on the eldest one (me!), but for some reason, we never combine against the middle sister, who has always been sort of a "mediator" between us all.

I thought this was a beautiful line:

<<Narcissa concentrated on the fairy lights assembled like stars against the steadily darkening forest floor. She blinked a few times in an attempt to convince her eyes that there was no need for tears.>>

It had never really occurred to me that Andromeda might have had to go to such lengths to marry Ted -- not only doing it with her family's disproval, but without their knowledge. How sad... Interesting commentary on Bellatrix, too:

<<“Have you ever looked into her eyes, Narcissa? Really looked? I can’t find her in them. She’s filled with only hate.”>>

She shows every sign of being a sociopath now, so I can believe that she was seriously disturbed, even at a young age. Her family's belief only worsened her psychological state.

Flowing and moving -- well done! :)

~Katinka

Reviewer: shellebelleDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49893Chapter: 1
This fic has got me so choked up, and I'd read it before. It was great before and you made it stunning. Congratulations, TMS!

Reviewer: TapestryDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49866Chapter: 1
You've done a very good job of making Narcissa more than the two-dimensional character that she is so far in Cannon. I like how you don't have her as automatically evil, but the reader can see that the seeds have been planted for her to choose power over her heart. And I really loved Andromedia too. You're description of young Bella was so chilling, I especially loved the line "Have you ever looked into her eyes, Narcissa? Really looked? I can’t find her in them." Makes the blood run cold! Wonderful job with this and thanks for sharing it with the rest of us! This fic definitely deserved the title of best Black sisters.

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49861Chapter: 1
Really good!

Reviewer: JiminyCDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49825Chapter: 1
Oh, so sad! It makes you wonder what Narcissa's path in life might have been if she hadn't become a Malfoy. You did a wonderful job of showing the relationship between these sisters and Bellatrix, too. Great job!

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49789Chapter: 1
So sad...I like the fact here that Narcissa loves both her sisters, and cannot bear to chose. In less than one thousand words, you've given the Black sisters more personality than many writers have in uber-fics or much longer works. Great job!

Reviewer: CorgiDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49732Chapter: 1
This is lovely -- and maybe if Draco isn't redeemable, his mother still is.

Reviewer: JessanndiDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49680Chapter: 1
Well done Morning Starr,

I especially like your use of imagery regarding the Stars. Taking Andromeda's name and first using it with the fairies, a simple but purely magical way for her to pass her time and then again with the ring. This shows a lot about how you persieve Andromeda and how well Ted knows and understands her. It makes us believe that she could one day have a daughter, who is as ditsy and as good as Tonks is portrayed by JKR.

Reviewer: ReeDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49659Chapter: 1
This is an amazing snippet. Well done.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --