The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 33

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-06
Reviewid: 136829Chapter: 1
Excellent - Really.

Reviewer: CharisIadDate: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125850Chapter: 1
So good. Sigh. Good enough to wish I'd dreamt it myself. I work at a bookstore . . . HBP came in last night . . . big green and white boxes with skulls on them . . . so ready for this book . . .
Thanks for helping to fill the time.

Reviewer: CitronellaDate: 2005-02-02
Reviewid: 112753Chapter: 1
Wow, this was VERY good. I loved it, I really did.

Reviewer: Random Reader MicheleDate: 2004-08-23
Reviewid: 98353Chapter: 1
Oh, wow. Just... Wow. Please forgive the lack of eloquence here, as I am positively *stunned* by this gorgeous piece. The way you've woven bits of Harry's reality into his dream of the way life could have been is outstanding. Lily and James are such a sweet couple, and all of the Marauders are a perfect picture of those rare creatures - lifelong friends. You've nearly broken my heart with this one, although Harry's heartache must be nearly unbearable once he wakes to reality.

This is such a wonderful story - you have done a masterful job in drawing your readers into a world of might-have-beens and sweeping us along with your beautiful imagery. Now it's time to find a tissue and go on reading your work.

Reviewer: CalixaDate: 2004-08-20
Reviewid: 98060Chapter: 1
Circe, you break my heart, you really do. This seriously has me in tears! Lovely work as usual :)

Reviewer: HazelleDate: 2004-08-05
Reviewid: 95906Chapter: 1
I must read this about once a week, I love it dearly! Sigh. It's so perfect and so sad. I love Harry's should-be family, and I love the way you've translated how the whole world would've been if things had turned out differently. James and Lily are excellent. Really, really great fic, I simply adore it!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-04-23
Reviewid: 79921Chapter: 1
This is so nice. Interesting that Scabbers exists, though...

Reviewer: Erin LovegoodDate: 2004-04-01
Reviewid: 76696Chapter: 1
This was very sweet. I enoyed looking at a world where The Boy Who Lived is just a boy who lived; and lived well. Lily was a terrific mother and it was nice to see the Marauders still has a whole and supporting one another. Very well written. I am look for more of your work.

Reviewer: MariaDate: 2004-02-29
Reviewid: 72604Chapter: 1
This was so good and so SAD! Oh my gosh. I loved it and it almost brought tears to my eyes. Very very good!

Reviewer: AltarielDate: 2004-02-10
Reviewid: 70034Chapter: 1
It's really sad to get a glimpse of what Harry's life COULD have been like. Beautifully written. Well done!!!

Reviewer: Laura Carlie Darla CaremsDate: 2004-01-12
Reviewid: 66750Chapter: 1
Hey!
I'm Laura Carlie Darla Carems!
Call me 'Carlie' and sometimes 'Darla'!
Good story!
He! He!

Reviewer: CourtneyDate: 2003-12-20
Reviewid: 64174Chapter: 1
That was so sweet! It had me in tears. I feel so bad for Harry not really ever having parents. It is so sad that nothing turned out like it did in the dream. Keep writing, that was very moving.

Reviewer: tonksDate: 2003-12-18
Reviewid: 63872Chapter: 1
This is GOOD! Until the moment I read the last three words, I believed it was true. The words seem real! Truly amazing writing!

Reviewer: wee meeDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62079Chapter: 1
i wish it could last just a little longer.... a few hours, maybe just a few more minutes, just a few more seconds... but probably not as much as harry.

Reviewer: TrulyDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60674Chapter: 1
i just finished reading this. it has to be the most wonderful story i've read in a long time, and considering the standard of stories here, you can take that as a HUGE compliment. bittersweet really is the only word that comes to mind. iread this in class at highschool and STARTED TO CRY IN THE MIDDLE OF THE LIBRARY!!! i cant even say everything i want to here because there isnt enough room. wondeful, wonderful, wonderful. i love the story, i love Harry's dream family, i love harry for dreaming it, and i love you circee, for writing such a wonderful story. thank you.
this is how it should have been.

Reviewer: MisaDate: 2003-10-01
Reviewid: 55019Chapter: 1
One of the most beautiful stories I've ever read. The abrupt ending is perfect, jarring.

Reviewer: Rachel GrahamDate: 2003-09-06
Reviewid: 50991Chapter: 1
Wow, so sweet and so adorable and sad *sniff* absolutely the life for Harry and family to have, so, so right. I love your fics, excellent work

Reviewer: Nikki WeasleyDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50369Chapter: 1
*sobs* that is so sweet. i wish harry could be that happy...:( what i wanna no is the question he never finishes!! o well, it was beaautifully written, and i loved it. it was so sad when you mentioned things that might of been, if his parents werent dead. keep writing!

Reviewer: CharlotteDate: 2003-08-26
Reviewid: 48762Chapter: 1
Absolutely heart-warming story! Which it could go on a little longer ;-).
Really well written!!!

Reviewer: JessicaDate: 2003-08-17
Reviewid: 47489Chapter: 1
Oh my gosh. I want to cry now. That was so beautiful. My heart throbbed with pain each time you made a reference to something that was different because his parents had managed to kill Voldemort. Cedric, Peter, Sean, Jessica, Ann, Remus, Sirius, and of course, James, Lily and Harry. *Sigh* If only if only...
You can bet that I will be reading everything you write. I love your work, so detailed, so perfect, and just so...RIGHT!

Reviewer: Lenitie CarterDate: 2003-07-24
Reviewid: 43586Chapter: 1
What was the question he didn't get to finish? Other than that I loved it. ;-)

Reviewer: lineDate: 2003-07-09
Reviewid: 41091Chapter: 1
awwww. sweet story.. but sad too...
;D

Reviewer: Oh thats so sweet th- *oh right this is the name sDate: 2003-07-03
Reviewid: 39899Chapter: 1
Oh thats so sweet thats just how i would imagion them!
their all so happy, but do you think if Harry's parents did'nt die so many of the good things about his life (his friends) would be the same?

Reviewer: Aisling and RyreDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39441Chapter: 1
oh...damn...thats so good and nice and....poor harry...

Reviewer: BellaDate: 2003-06-30
Reviewid: 39080Chapter: 1
Wow. *sigh*
I just...hmm. I'm feeling a bit inarticulate, but basically, that was wonderful.
Excuse me while I go cry.
*sob*
No, but really. Thanks for writing this, it's very realistic and just...wonderful.
Sincerely,
Bella

Reviewer: shannonDate: 2003-04-28
Reviewid: 29816Chapter: 1
this made me sad and happy...awwww im really sad now, but before i was really happy. :( great story...:( *sniff*

Reviewer: HecatonchiresDate: 2003-04-13
Reviewid: 27807Chapter: 1
Bittersweet. Reminds me of the scene at the end of Evangelion [its Anime] where Shinji pictures a normal life. Well written, but it made me slightly sad.

Reviewer: Professor TDate: 2003-01-20
Reviewid: 17072Chapter: 1
I agree with all the other reviewers. This was great! It was so sweet to imagine Harry with a nice, loving homelife, surrounded by parents and siblings and friends and able to live like a normal kid. It's as if the Mirror of Erised played movies.

My only question is the mention of Pig and Scabbers, neither of whom would be around in this alternate universe (especially not Scabbers). But of course, dreams don't often make complete sense. They're usually a jumble of what's true and what's not. Also, why couldn't some of Harry's sibs have had red hair like his mum?

Anyway, I liked it a lot.

Reviewer: Legally BrunetteDate: 2002-11-23
Reviewid: 9903Chapter: 1
Wow. That's all I can really say. I've been reading here for over a year, and I cannot believe that I just found this story.

This is now my new favorite story. It was beautiful. Everything about it was just right. Ciircee, you write amazing works, and this one has to be the best!

Reviewer: KaedDate: 2002-09-26
Reviewid: 4783Chapter: 1
You know, every time I read this story, it gets better and better. I don't know how it's possible. It's just so amazingly well-written - the dream-like quality that's sprinkled everywhere in just the right way, the subtle references to Harry's hopes and regrets.

I really like the way that you included Peter Pettigrew in the story - it shows how forgiving and kind Harry is, to include him in this perfect dream of his. Harry doesn't wish that his parents had never met Pettigrew; he wishes that Pettigrew had never betrayed them.

This line really gets me, though: "He was the only Potter at Hogwarts, but not the only Potter left in the world." Everyone knows Harry desperately wants a family, but this is the single most touching way of saying it that I've ever seen.

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2002-09-15
Reviewid: 3989Chapter: 1
That was so sweet, and yet sad at the same time, especially at the end. :( I suppose I shouldn't be too sad, because if James and Lily hadn't died, JK Rowling wouldn't have a reason to write about Harry Potter.

Reviewer: Jade BearDate: 2002-09-11
Reviewid: 3703Chapter: 1
I love this fic!!!!! I've never imagined what Harry's life might be like if voldy hadn't killed his parents. This one made me cry, it was soooooo good! :)

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2002-08-21
Reviewid: 2691Chapter: 1
Ciircee.....::cries::

This is absolutely without a doubt definitely one of my FAVOURITE fics. You're *excellent*, really bloody excellent.

I love the little touches-especially Lily asking about Ginny. :D

Keep up the excellence!

~TPR

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --