The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 35

Reviewer: imeldaDate: 2006-10-12
Reviewid: 145681Chapter: 1
Ha! It never even occurred to me that Grawp might THINK. How very clever of you.

I like how cultured he is, lol, combined with his love of destruction. This actually makes me think about Grawp as a character, instead of just an annoyance, which ought to be the purpose of fanfic, after all.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-07
Reviewid: 136877Chapter: 1
Amusing

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-03-02
Reviewid: 115293Chapter: 1
Funny! Thanks for the fic.

Reviewer: PavonisDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87497Chapter: 1
Very nice! I love Grawp as a sophisticated man of the world, who just happens not to be fluent in English - the operas and art galleries I thought were particularly fine touches - and that he's fluent in Czech and Polish... and dear Hagrid's cluelessness about all the finer points of... well, everything really, while still being sympathetic.
Good to see giants being written as having their own culture, as something more than the Crabbe and Goyle of the magical beings...

Reviewer: Audra LachesisDate: 2004-03-09
Reviewid: 73808Chapter: 1
It took me a second to orient myself and realize it was from Grawp's PoV, but I started laughing immediately. Love his take on opera, jazz, and fine art -- very cultured, and VERY giantish. Great fic!

~Audra (You've been blogged: http://audralachesis.blogspot.com/ )

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2004-03-03
Reviewid: 73005Chapter: 1
LOL! This is too cute and HILARIOUS!! I officially love Grawp fics!

:)
Senna

Reviewer: A.L. de SauveterreDate: 2003-12-13
Reviewid: 63103Chapter: 1
Ciircee, this was fabulous! I haven't laughed so hard in a long long time!

>>“Museums, galleries, you name it and we’ll do it. Think of how much fun breaking the glass would be, and the way the wood of the doors would splinter…all of that and that’s before we get to the art, Hagrid.”>>

LOL!!

Every line was perfect. Superb!

Thank you for this.

Axelle

Reviewer: Sherry/SherylynDate: 2003-10-04
Reviewid: 55421Chapter: 1
Hi there! I don't know how I "missed" this story when it was first added, but it's delightful!! I LOVE it!

I've enjoyed your work for quite some time now... your "Quill in Trembling Hand" is one of my *favorite* stories - you convey sooo much in just a short story!

I don't know if you've "heard" yet, but a new HP fanfiction site has just "opened for business" in the past few days. We asked Arabella if it would all right to contact some of our favorite authors here at the Quill, and she said we had her blessing! :-)

So... I'd like to invite you to come look us over if you can. We're at http://www.phoenixsong.net. Our archive is just really getting started, but we're growing fairly quickly. I've enjoyed soooo much of your work, and I was just wondering if you might possibly consider letting us archive your story(s) as well?

If you'd like more information or anything, please feel free to email me at SiriusSeeker@PhoenixSong.net.

Thanks bunches!

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50766Chapter: 1
Hilarious!

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50652Chapter: 1
Funny, humorous, and off beat.

I liked it.

Catherine

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50493Chapter: 1
Hahaha, I just looked at it again...he called the Skrewt a BUG! hahaha....I love the title, btw....

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50492Chapter: 1
Ahaha! What a cute and very amusing story. Heh, I like Grawp's "artistic" side :P. “I think I might even love the water-logged old coot.” lol, I loved this line. And the fact that he could understand Czech, Polish, and French...too funny. Hahaha, he recognized "Hermy"!

Reviewer: Darwin's ApprenticeDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50429Chapter: 1
Very cute! I like the idea of an urbane giant. Nice juxtapositioning. It's funny at several levels!

Reviewer: ManzabarDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50404Chapter: 1
Ciircee that one just takes the cake. A more truly original interpretation of Hagrid's conversations with his brother Grawp; I could not imagine. :)

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50354Chapter: 1
Oh this was delightful and most unexpected! I really liked your take on the real reasons between Grawp and Hagrid's misunderstandings and I love the idea of Grawp as a blood thirsty theater buff! Very imaginative and creative and a an enjoyable read! I also like how you tied everything in at the end.

Reviewer: SpartinaDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50323Chapter: 1
Oh, this was snort-your-tea-all-over-the-keyboard funny. And here we were, thinking that next to Grawp, Hagrid was positively polished--little did we know! Loved your picture of poor exiled Grawp in the Forest, pining for a little good music AND something to smash properly. Also the glimpses into Giant psychology you've given us (a good fistfight shows you care), and the signs that while Hagrid hopes to civilize (or domesticate) Grawp, Grawp is struggling to understand Hagrid, a being so alienated from what it means to be a Giant. Hmm, which of them is REALLY incoherent!? "I might even love the water-logged old coot"--wonderful insight!

Reviewer: projectionistaDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50173Chapter: 1
This was a really amusing and original take on Grawp! Great story!

Reviewer: SasamiDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50146Chapter: 1
Great story, with such a nice, whimsical insight into Grawp! I love it!

Reviewer: BeakerDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 50080Chapter: 1
LOL! This is fun. Imagine Grawp as a fine arts lover--in a giantish way, of course. Thanks for a truly smile-inducing fic.

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 50069Chapter: 1
Pro:Oh! I loved that if they could only understand eachother, Grawp is sophisicated, and can speak French,LOL!
Con:Too short,methinks.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49919Chapter: 1
ROTFLOL...this was wonderful! You did a great job mixing savagery and sensibility in Grawp. His love for the arts was funny, and it was made even sweeter by the face that he STILL enjoyed chasing people and smashing things. Very nice!

Reviewer: KellieDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49871Chapter: 1
Wow.

Would've never thought about Grawp that way. Different, amusing, but sad as well.

Great story!

Kellie

Reviewer: C-MageDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49868Chapter: 1
Heehee. Cute! I never thought of Grawp as intelligent in a human sense, you know? Oh, that's just too adorable. I do love Grawp now, even moreso than I did when reading it. You always give such interesting insights on characters! ~ C-Mage

Reviewer: JennyDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49834Chapter: 1
Wow! This story rocks! I love Grawp. He's much more cultured then I thought. *Giggles* I'm going to think about this everytime I read the book.

Reviewer: JiminyCDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49831Chapter: 1
Great idea!! This really proves you need to look at every situation from both sides! Poor Grawp!

Reviewer: LourDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49766Chapter: 1
Ahhhh, I loved it! Brilliant!

Reviewer: R1&R2Date: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49749Chapter: 1
LOL! What a great twist! Can't you just see him at a theatre in London? ROFLOL!

Reviewer: HildigunnurDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49725Chapter: 1
This was so funny. Never knew that Grawp was very continental :D

Reviewer: TapestryDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49642Chapter: 1
Wow, I love the way this turned out! Grawp is such a wonderful character, you've given him so much more depth and humor than we find in canon even if this piece is tongue in cheek. I loved it even more on the second read through. Congrats on the honorable mention, though personally I think your fic should have placed much, much higher :) As always this was a joy to read!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49588Chapter: 1
Circee, I worship you. :D What an innovative and hilarious look at familial relationships. I'll now have this running through my head every time I read about Grawp:

<<Grawp had decided ages ago that he wasn’t going to try to return home just yet. There was a theatre troupe in London that he wanted to see, doing lovely work if the tittle-tattle was worth the breath put into it.>>

And the title is just PERFECT. Wonderful!

~Katinka

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49581Chapter: 1
oh,oH, OH!! ::cracks up::

that was BRILLIANT! The title was a work of art...

gawd, Ciircee, how ever do you come up with these ideas?

I loved it! Loved it loved it loved it!

LOL Thirsty Monk? What a name.

If only Dumbledore would come to the forest. I feel sure that Dumbly-dorr can speak Polish, Czech, and quiet possibly a bit of Giant. And if he can't, Mr. Crouch can! haha... oh wait, Mr. Crouch is dead. never mind.

(giggle)

sorry for my zaniness. I loved your story.

ta,
~TPR

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49579Chapter: 1
Ciircee, I haven't laughed this hard in days! What a great and original concept. Of course Grawp is just as frustrated as Hagrid is at their inability to communicate. Thanks for a great story!

Reviewer: MPDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49549Chapter: 1
Hilarious!

Reviewer: AeternaDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49544Chapter: 1
LOL!! Wow, that was great! I love the way you mix Grawp's violent tendencies with a very large vocabulary (even if it is in Czech, Polish, and Giant) and a love of the arts. Very intriguing.

Much love,
'Terna

Reviewer: Persephone_KoreDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49543Chapter: 1
*is still laughing* Oh, this was clever. I love the title, and the idea that Grawp is as exasperated with Hagrid's inability to speak his language(s) as the other way around... and the fondness for the Skrewt.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --