The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 28

Reviewer: AmethystBelovedDate: 2009-01-19
Reviewid: 151345Chapter: 1
To be honest, I had to stop halfway and PotterWiki "hinkypunk" to refresh my memory, hehehehe. But the detour was worth it. This is the first time that I realized that Remus could have ended the curse by taking away his life, but he never did. Instead he died fighting. Another reason why he is a Gryffindor.

Reviewer: rissabbyDate: 2005-10-12
Reviewid: 134373Chapter: 1
uh, I'm surprised no one has said anything...but the date for the morning is wrong, it says August. I kept looking back at it thinking I was missing something. Is it me, or did you mean November?

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-21
Reviewid: 114547Chapter: 1
Quite nice / well done

Reviewer: mrs whoDate: 2004-11-24
Reviewid: 105851Chapter: 1
How did I miss this one before? This isn't the usual Lupin-angst fic. Fernwithy shows us Lupin's tremendous sadness - which is best expressed in the wolf - while keeping to his canon character well. I loved the fact that this whole fiction comes from Lupin's comment in Dark Arts class about meeting a Hinky Punk once! Brilliant to make it happen at THIS time period. Even to the end of the fic, Fern keeps Lupin as Lupin. In the end, he gets up and heads to the light. Super fic!

Reviewer: GinnyAuror00Date: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75486Chapter: 1
That is very sweet...and shows Lupin's outlook on life...very nice take...
-Ginny

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 74951Chapter: 1
*grin* Yes! No killing yourself, who know's what'll happen in one or two or 12 years? Even if things eventually go pear-shaped anyway...

Reviewer: StrayaDate: 2003-12-27
Reviewid: 64880Chapter: 1
I am definitely addicted to your writing, at this point. You explore characters in the most interesting ways, and I'm so glad you've chosen to explore Remus Lupin so much, in particular. Such a sad, sad story...but still so like Remus in that no matter what, he still ends up going on. And crossing over his human emotions with the wolven ones was just brilliant. That poor, poor man! :( I hope you don't quit writing HP fic anytime soon... At this rate, I want to read every HP fic you write! :)

Reviewer: StephDate: 2003-10-24
Reviewid: 57777Chapter: 1
Wonderful and expressive story. I really enjoyed reading it and it captured the essence of R. Lupin. Good job!

Reviewer: yvonneDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 52051Chapter: 1
this was a good read. I'm really a it startled at how people can capture a wolf's mind like that. Wow!

Reviewer: DurayanDate: 2003-09-09
Reviewid: 51546Chapter: 1
You have a gift for expressing the rawness and misery of loss, and you explore it so well with Remus. Delicious and thought-provoking. Very well done!

Reviewer: MarissaDate: 2003-09-06
Reviewid: 51010Chapter: 1
I loved that!!!! No wonder you recieved an OoMFC!

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50755Chapter: 1
Wow... intense...

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50646Chapter: 1
Wow! Excellent description. You use these words like they count. Not an ounce of fat in here!

Great, great work.

Catherine

Reviewer: CorgiDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50543Chapter: 1
'Most Expressive Transformation' indeed -- both the lycanthropic one, and that between a man with friends and a lonely, griefstricken creature. Makes the Hinkypunks that much more sinister, playing on his emotions. Well done.

Reviewer: MafferDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50482Chapter: 1
In my review below, I forgot to mention one small detail. The first date is in November; the second in August. That can't be right.

Still lovin' your story.

Maffer

Reviewer: MafferDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50481Chapter: 1
I loved the split voice in your story. The first part, the wolf's actions, reminded me of the soothing narration that one associates with nature shows. Well done.

The second part, Remus's actions, was equally good, although quite different in contrast. I generally don't hold for angsty stories, but the reason why yours worked extremely well was that you did a great job at scattering Remus's thoughts about. The reader knows that there are a 1000 things on the poor guy's mind, none of which he's allowed himself to think about, all of which are consuming his life, and it's easy to come to the conclusion that Remus should give up. You only let us think that "for a long moment", however, and then you pull us shakily to our feet for the conclusion of the story.

I liked it.

Reviewer: ShEwOlFDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50465Chapter: 1
Hinkypunks. LOL

Reviewer: JessanndiDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50360Chapter: 1
Remus as always greater than the wolf within.

Reviewer: Darwin's ApprenticeDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 50093Chapter: 1
Well done! After reading this, I'm sad enought o follow the hinkypunk, myself!

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49913Chapter: 1
AAAAGH!

You're right. I was writing this at the same time as "Cry With the Moon" and had half a dozen summer and fall dates scribbled down. I got Confunded! :)

Reviewer: SennaDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49910Chapter: 1
you have such a talent for capturing emotion, and you do it with such simplicity as well. congratulations on another fabulous fic! the only thing i can find wrong is that at the beginning of the story you say that the full moon takes place on november 11th, 1981, and when Remus wakes up you say that it is august 12th, 1981.

Reviewer: LeaDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49909Chapter: 1
Fernwithy, another awesome Remus fic.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49844Chapter: 1
Beautifully written and poignant. Remus was certainly one of the few who had more cause to grieve than celebrate on the night that Voldemort first vanished. I particularly like how the wolf's thought processes and emotions are shown. Well done! Enjoy your new broom. :)

Reviewer: Jack IchijoujiDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49675Chapter: 1
Saying exactly what I liked about this story would be like comparing and contrasting different bites of the same piece of pie. This was a wonderful piece. Congrats.

Reviewer: BeakerDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49632Chapter: 1
Oooohh...spooky, creepy. VERY well written. The contrast between the Wolf's thoughts of Remus, and Remus' thoughts of the Wolf, is quite effective... The historical setting is poignant--the world is ending and beginning all at once, there are celebrations and grief, but still the moon changes and Remus must change with it. He is so vulnerable to the hinkypunks right then, as he comes back to face the reality of what he couldn't quite remember as Wolf. But he is a Gryffindor--and he has courage to face the rest of his life, after all.

Reviewer: TapestryDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49618Chapter: 1
This was a really good story and I can see why it won. You have a lot of very vivid imagery. Well and everyone's favorite werewolf helps too ;) My favorite line is "Remus shut his eyes like he was slamming down windows." Great job!

Reviewer: JiminyCDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49615Chapter: 1
Great characterization here - my heart was really aching for Remus during this story!!

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49570Chapter: 1
ohh... heart-wrenching...

what a gift for words you have, m'dear.

ta,
~TPR

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --