The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: With a Broken Door
Review(s): 68

Reviewer: Hpgirl42095Date: 2006-08-21
Reviewid: 144930Chapter: 1
Awww...that's so sweeet...

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-24
Reviewid: 140225Chapter: 1
Cute – Different.

Reviewer: 1SadFoolDate: 2006-01-13
Reviewid: 138451Chapter: 1
*sigh* Brilliance. Your style and cheek remind me of an old friend. And believe me, that's a wonderful compliment. You do his memory well. Not to mention that JKR herself would be proud of you.

Reviewer: GinnyDate: 2005-10-27
Reviewid: 135173Chapter: 1
Oh my gosh...

SO...FREAKING...FUNNY...!

Broken door...*snort*

I also loved your Author's Note at the end. I presume it wouldn't be easy to write a story of that subject matter.

But you did a damn good job of it.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131764Chapter: 1
I must say, one of the most original fics I've ever read... cute too. never lose your touch.

Reviewer: AnaxandraDate: 2005-06-26
Reviewid: 125302Chapter: 1
I'm typing with my left door because my right door is hurting me. hahahahahahahahahaha. ha. okay... loved the story, loved the comments at the end, mussing the disclaimer, those are always fun. hand is cramping, backspace key looking entirely too familiar... bye.

Reviewer: DogEarsDate: 2004-12-23
Reviewid: 108379Chapter: 1
I can't help but feel like I'm reading a story writen by Jack London (You know, the guy who wrote the book White Fang and Call of the Wild.) with the way you said that the car couldn't exactly think since it didn't have a brain. I like! Jack-love!

Reviewer: LossenrhosDate: 2004-12-01
Reviewid: 106550Chapter: 1
You deserve to be proud, Jack. This was very... cute in a bizarre way. Very original.

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2004-10-27
Reviewid: 102704Chapter: 1
It may not be easy writing a fic about a car and an owl, but you should be proud, because it came out very well. Sort of a cross between Douglas Adams and JKR. I should really get rid of this Douglas Adams obsession.

Reviewer: BrytningDate: 2004-10-26
Reviewid: 102438Chapter: 1
Hah. I never thought I'd say this, but you have a talent for writing inanimate objects. Good job with this, I love it. :D

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2004-06-12
Reviewid: 86856Chapter: 1
aaawww! so cute, and a perfect length, too.

Reviewer: EstieDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86495Chapter: 1
Brilliant as usual, Jack. You should really publish a few thousand novels. I'd buy every one.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 84069Chapter: 1
I forgive you. Feel as proud as you want, you deserve it.

Reviewer: TinkbeleDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83040Chapter: 1
Simply fantastic and very unique. I thoroughly enjoyed it. :)

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-03-27
Reviewid: 75957Chapter: 1
Poor Hedwig and her broken "door"! Didja know she's named after a saint who's said to protect orphans? I wonder what the car would think of a large furry-feathery creature with scary "headlights" and two "doors" as well as four "wheels" and a runty two-wheeled black car thingy which could be the Anglia's own baby brother, the way it flies, coming to the Forest 'cos they're lonely and orphaned(in their Hippogriffy and motorcycle-y way)?

Reviewer: Link55Date: 2004-03-08
Reviewid: 73683Chapter: 1
I really like your story. Unusual story. If you do get weird (wonderful) idea like this one which prompted you to write, just write the story. I like more!

Reviewer: GDDate: 2004-02-26
Reviewid: 72254Chapter: 1
Such a sweet and wonderfully written story.

Reviewer: MiriamDate: 2004-01-26
Reviewid: 68498Chapter: 1
You have a knack for the short story. I think you did a fine job, creating a friendship between the car and the owl.
This was a very sweet work. Cheers!

-----Miriam

Reviewer: kayjalDate: 2003-12-25
Reviewid: 64808Chapter: 1
like ive said before...i dont know i reveiw and feed an already enormous ego...i do feel it eclipsing the sun. :)

Reviewer: Luminous MarbleDate: 2003-12-07
Reviewid: 62253Chapter: 1
This is great. I wish I'd gotten around to reading it sooner. You've taken an interesting lens to this story and the result is exciting because it is different and unexpected. Everyone (thing?) has a story to tell. Congratulations. :)

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2003-10-30
Reviewid: 58322Chapter: 1
<It did not think, in the strictest sense of the word. It didn't have a brain to do it with. But in the same way that snakes don't have ears but still manage to hear, it made do well enough.
The current thought, for want of a better word, that rested under the hood of the Ford Anglia was, “What is that thing?”>
How could one not read a fic that began with such a quate? Indeed, how could one not love it?
You are entitled to all the pride you feel like feeling. In this case, forests full!

Reviewer: theleprachaun8mysoxDate: 2003-10-20
Reviewid: 57098Chapter: 1
You are truly the next Lemony Snicket. And I totally mean that as a compliment. This fic is pure genious.

I also loved the one called Laughter. You have a wonderful style and a real talent for mixing humour and drama. Keep writing.

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-10-01
Reviewid: 55003Chapter: 1
Not particularily funny, but quite creative. I like the car thinking (despite the fact it had no brain) that Hedwig's wings were a "door".

Reviewer: ellenmuggleDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54864Chapter: 1
Another great story. Now I want to know more about the inner workings of the minds of a Ford Anglia and an owl. And it's not every writer than could make me do that :)

'The snowy owl was aware of the car that was following it. It is hardly easy to be subtle when one is a ton of flying steel. It ignored the Anglia though, and persisted in its quest..'

Reviewer: ElucrehDate: 2003-09-25
Reviewid: 54262Chapter: 1
Very clever...you stink at writing summaries, you really, really do. But once I'm in...I become practically a worshipper. You have a very unusual and amusing turn of phrase. Very good!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-09-22
Reviewid: 54021Chapter: 1
[Flapping their... doors. This one seemed to have one door off its hinge.] Excellent way of really puttingus in the mindset of a car. Very clever and I love your description of a broken wing.

Very inventive premise for a story! Love the whimsical touches and you are certainly forgiven for being unusually proud, this story deserves it!

Reviewer: greyDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 52071Chapter: 1
this is such a sweet story! you should be proud. I love it!

Reviewer: YvonneDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 52053Chapter: 1
this was fun! DOn't fret, it was very muc hin-"character". I love the way you captured the "mind" of the car. It jsut makes the thign cuter for me. :)

Reviewer: Child of the DawnDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 51987Chapter: 1
Aw. That was very funny. And u have the right to be proud. I'd NEVER had thought of that. ^_^

Reviewer: DurayanDate: 2003-09-09
Reviewid: 51547Chapter: 1
Proud you should be! This is a delighfully engaging little tale! Wonderfully imaginative!! Excellent!

Reviewer: MarissaDate: 2003-09-06
Reviewid: 51033Chapter: 1
That was an excellant view point! I really enjoyed how the car percepted Hedwig's wing as a door. Very creative.

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50761Chapter: 1
Hm- I was wondering how she got up there. Very good fic :)

Reviewer: Waywren TruesongDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50750Chapter: 1
You have every reason to be proud. I'm impressed.
It's also cute as the dickens, if a trifle worrying -
what on earth hurt Hedwig so?

Reviewer: MafferDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50701Chapter: 1
The quirkiness of this piece is what makes it strong. The one-liners like 'it's hardly easy to be subtle when one is a ton of flying steel' are as funny as Rowling's writing, although clearly your own voice.

I also thought you started with a story with a difficulty level of 10.0. (You know, as in Gymnastics or Iceskating?) How many writers could write a story where the two main characters are a car and a bird? For most people, it would be laugh-worthy for its atrocity. For you, it's laugh-worthy because of its effective humor.

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50648Chapter: 1
this was fun, and unexpected. Nice writing.

Reviewer: CorgiDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50544Chapter: 1
:applause: Clever! You are justifiably proud.

Reviewer: juanaDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50256Chapter: 1
Hahahaha! You should be proud! It kinda reminds me of the Mighty... big, stupid, but nice & generous car teamed up with small, smart, but physically disabled owl... mmmm! I loved the "broken door" parts... really clever! :D

Reviewer: AquillaDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50239Chapter: 1
*sigh*
That was so perfect.

Reviewer: ConnorDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 50020Chapter: 1
This was so much fun! I loved the 'broken doors.'

Reviewer: IceDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49948Chapter: 1
haha definitely forgiven. this was an AWESOMe fic. kudos.

Reviewer: Snuffles the nifflerDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49943Chapter: 1
"Flapping their... doors."
LOL I love this fic. It's simply fantastic, and so cute. LOVE it.

Reviewer: GengiDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49939Chapter: 1
Ha ha! That was so cute!! ^_^

Congrads, mon!!!!

Reviewer: Brie Cheese EaterDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49930Chapter: 1
Definitely original. :) Very cute.

Reviewer: R1&R2Date: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49907Chapter: 1
Very clever! I enjoy all your stories and this one's right up there. Keep 'em coming!

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49891Chapter: 1
Creative and really fun. I can see why you won a prize. Thanks for a very enjoyable story, and you should be proud!

Reviewer: Insanity70Date: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49872Chapter: 1
Wonderfully creative!

Reviewer: ElveDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49813Chapter: 1
Aww, how precious. :D So creative and original... a car and a snowy owl... who'd've thought it? Excellent job!

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49794Chapter: 1
Excellent! Very, very creative! Be proud, because I'm sure I'm not the only one who's deeply impressed: well, of course not, considering you got first place. I loved it.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49761Chapter: 1
awww...we have tears in our headlamps.

Reviewer: JennyDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49697Chapter: 1
This is a very cute story.

You did a lovely job showing it from the Ford Anglia's POV.

I like the "Broken Door".

Reviewer: KazzaDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49686Chapter: 1
What a fun story. I think that's the first Ford Anglia fic I've found.
Hmmm, I wonder if the Anglia made a habit of picking up broken-door owls?

Cute fic.

Reviewer: KuuDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49671Chapter: 1
...this is a weird reaction, but this fic made me feel like hugging the Ford Anglia. It's so cute, and I regret that the Ford wasn't mentioned in OotP, but this kinda makes up for it.

Reviewer: ReeDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49654Chapter: 1
That was incredible. Absolutely incredible. I must admit to never thinking about how Hedwig managed to deliver the letter, but I really like this. You made it totally believable. I felt bad for poor Hedwig, trudging along, and I was so happy when the car (eventually) helped out. Congratulations on your award--you deserve it!

Reviewer: RAWR~Date: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49645Chapter: 1
Only you could form a friendship between an automobile and a bird. You know that, right? And I bet you're preening right now. :-D

I love it, if I haven't told you yet.

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49643Chapter: 1
"It's not easy writing a friendship fic between an automobile and a snowy owl. Forgive me for being unusually proud."

Totally forgiven for the sake of a really excellent story! I loved the Anglia's thought process, and the way it thinks of Hedwig's wings as "doors"--makes absolutely perfect sense in context, and if a car could think, that's how it would do so! If you ever feel an urge to expand on this beyond the challenge parameters, I'd be really happy to read it.

Reviewer: TapestryDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49621Chapter: 1
This was certainly original :D I think my favorite part was the opening, it engages the reader right off and sets up the rest of the fic well. Wonderful job and congrats on winning!

Reviewer: JiminyCDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49620Chapter: 1
Excellent. You have every right to be proud of that! I love the last sentence particularly. It's a very human trait to give to a car. Well done!

Reviewer: BeakerDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49619Chapter: 1
You should be proud! You have a gift for making an unlikely perspective make perfect sense--and without anthropomorphizing beyond the bounds of the basic premise. You ought to write science fiction too (if you haven't yet).

Reviewer: DwindleDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49600Chapter: 1
Awwww! That was so cute. Great job once again. How do you do it? You are by far my favorite author as I have loved every fic you wrote.

Reviewer: X-LydiaDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49597Chapter: 1
You should be proud!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49591Chapter: 1
Hee! How wonderfully clever. I loved this. I've never seen anyone try to capture the thought processes of an automobile before, but you did it, and did it well:

<<This one seemed to have one door off its hinge.>>

Congratulations!

~Katinka

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49577Chapter: 1
That was terrific - very original and very well done!

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49566Chapter: 1
hey Jack, it's me again. one last comment:

>The car'd once saved the owner's children from the forest

I love the idea that Harry is Arthur's child as much as Ron is. I don't know if that was intentional on your part, but I love you for writing it that way.

ta,
~TPR

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49562Chapter: 1
Dang it, Jack, you have every right to be proud. That was incredible.

My favourite line?
>It is hardly easy to be subtle when one is a ton of
>flying steel.

But I loved the wing-door connection, and the idea that an owl wouldn't need its doors to fly.

Excuse me, I have to end this review. I have to go back and read your brilliant story again. :)

ta,
~TPR

Reviewer: Susan BDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49555Chapter: 1
And you should be proud! LOL! What a great idea! I hope the car shows up again.

Reviewer: AeternaDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49554Chapter: 1
This is really cute. I love the Anglia's "thinking" process, especially when it compares wings to doors. Brilliant!

Much love,
'Terna

Reviewer: MPDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49553Chapter: 1
The Owl's doors! Wow. I'd like to see a followup in which hedwig offers the Ford Anglia some owl treats.

Reviewer: EireneDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49550Chapter: 1
And you should be proud =D Very proud. Great idea for a story ^^

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --