The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Archeology
Review(s): 24

Reviewer: LesleyDate: 2006-03-30
Reviewid: 141470Chapter: 1
wow. Hope this is a foundation for more. Very good job.

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-02-26
Reviewid: 114966Chapter: 1
Interesting piece. Won't progress kill us all.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-03-31
Reviewid: 76633Chapter: 1
perhaps, from the age of garbage
-should it be Age of Garbage. It definitely need caps and a footnote with exact dates (1950- ?)

Goyle a poet? Good one.

A very sad but well done fic.

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2004-03-31
Reviewid: 76600Chapter: 1
Great story, and idea!

I love the way the details have been lost with time, and even though I love Ron, it seems realistic for him not to be remembered (sniff...)

Also, I love your character, Greninger. He's so realistic. His line about the Red Caps was very chilling... especially as the narrator didn't even realize what it meant for Red Caps to collect around a place. I wonder what happened in the upper Northeast side all those years ago...

I really liked your story. It would be great if you'd write something else with Greninger, I really like him. :)

Take care.

Dinka

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-03-31
Reviewid: 76555Chapter: 1
Poor ghosts... I hope that the narrator bloke manages to save the forset. Else the ghosts will be really sad.

Reviewer: BeakerDate: 2003-09-10
Reviewid: 51746Chapter: 1
Very cool! Love the irony of Gregory Goyle becoming a poet, recording all of this for posterity's sake.

Reviewer: SaramagaDate: 2003-09-09
Reviewid: 51566Chapter: 1
I thought this was fantastic. Really atmospheric and chilling. Have you read any Connie Willis, by any chance? You remind me a little of her - not that I'm suggesting you've copied her style or idea, because your story has a refreshingly original feel.

One very tiny criticism "Wouldn’t recommend getting to far into the heart of it." - that "to" should be a "too".

Oh - nice nod to the Literary!Goyle tradition :).

A deserved Forbidden Forest winner - I hope you write more soon!

Reviewer: AndreaDate: 2003-09-09
Reviewid: 51463Chapter: 1
Wow that was AMAZING! I really really need to know more! Well that's all just wanted to tell you that that blew me away!
-Echo

Reviewer: MarissaDate: 2003-09-06
Reviewid: 51037Chapter: 1
oooooooooooooo, creepy

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50650Chapter: 1
I found this moving. I thought that it was bittersweet.

Catherine

Reviewer: CorgiDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50548Chapter: 1
One of the best SF-type takes on the Potterverse I've seen; the other was a crossover. Bleak without being hopeless.

Of course, the Goyle bit was the stipulated implausible item. *grin*

Reviewer: FalkesbaneDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50280Chapter: 1
Ooh, marvellous and chilling. The writing is absolutely lovely, and I love the idea of Goyle as a poet. I always hoped there was more in that thick skull. Congrats on winning!

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 50053Chapter: 1
haha, I liked it..especially the part about Goyle!!

But you left out Ron Weasley!

Reviewer: GengiDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49940Chapter: 1
That was very different, but I like it a lot! :^)

Great job!!!!

Reviewer: CymbelineDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 49935Chapter: 1
Wow. I loved the originality of this story. I've read through all the stories A through your name so far, and I can truly say that this will stick. I mean, who'd have thunk? Goyle a Poet? I hope to see more writing from you.

-Cymbeline

Reviewer: JennyDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49776Chapter: 1
Goyle A poet?

Really nice idea for a story. Very well done.

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49772Chapter: 1
Wonderful story! I hate to think that this might someday happen to Hogwarts, but the image of the ghosts haunting the forest and of everything being lost is simply chilling. I also love the notion of Goyle as a poet; somehow it seems very real and wonderful. I also love the partial poem--have you, by chance, written the entire thing out? I'd love to read it if you did. Anyway, great job, and I hope to read more from you in the future.

Reviewer: RonkaperplexousDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49770Chapter: 1
What a wonderfully haunting, creepy story. It makes you realise that in time, everything is forgotten. I wish there were more to it, but I understand the contest's 1000 or so word limit. Oh, and by the way, Gregory Goyle as a great poet... fantastic. Congrats of your Order of Merlin, you deserve it!

Reviewer: JuliabwayDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49731Chapter: 1
Wow--wonderful job, Maffer! The story has a real sense of loss, a wonderful humorous element, and of course, your specialty: an unbelievable imagination put to good use. Congratulations on your win!

Reviewer: smfuryDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49718Chapter: 1
Great story! I wish there was more!

Reviewer: Hermione GirlDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49706Chapter: 1
Now, this one I REALLY liked! (I'm really interested in archaeology myself.) There was a lot of sadness there. The ghosts, trying to return to the school that wasn't there anymore. Best one of these I've read.

Reviewer: HeatherKDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49705Chapter: 1
Ooohh that gave me chills, I like that! Totally freaky, the way it's written reminds me of CJ Cherryh. (sp?) great story.

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49585Chapter: 1
Most Excellent! I love this story, and I don't usually care for Fanfics about the future, but this is so far into the future that it is just amazing. It's much better than my entry, that's for sure! Anyway, I LOVED the way you emphasized that "the greats" are forgotten with time. It is so true. After everything Harry and Albus went through, after all the fame they endured, 100 years later its little more than a myth. AMAZING!

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49576Chapter: 1
oooh, you've intrigued me!

::laughs:: Gregory Goyle! I want to read his work! Bit of inspiration, that, making him a poet.

I like this, I really do. Somehow I sense that you won't write more about this (though if you do I won't hesitate to start reading it), but perhaps you could write about the battle that Harry fought in. Or anything, really. It's not hard to sense your talent.

You named the boy Tom! Oooh, dear. How ominous-sounding that now is.

ta,
~TPR

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --