The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: A Deserving Man
Review(s): 18

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-16
Reviewid: 137237Chapter: 1
Too short. But - Good.

Reviewer: countessvorkosiganDate: 2005-07-02
Reviewid: 125894Chapter: 2
I've always thought that living in the same place where he'd been so unhappy & constantly confronting places & memories from the unsresolved past were a major part of why Snape is such a...difficult person, and a real mistake. Dumbledore doesn't seem to have done anything to defuse him or help him heal, either! Again, a man of the headmaster's influence plus a few transfiguration spells...maybe I'm paranoid, but it seems very handy that Dumbledore has his own pet spy/flunky to do his bidding. I'm keeping a beady eye on you & your plot, missy! And janitor!Filch-let's call his position what it is. Caretaker? Ha!he's a glorified janitor & can't even use magic to clean up the messes. Which makes me wonder again, why would Dumbledore employ a nasty mean man like that in a position that so obviously makes him unhappy? Does Filch have something in his past to hide? He could find employment in the Muggle world more easily. What does Dumbledore need/use *him* for? I'm suddenly...intrigued.Good work.I really felt bad for young Snape, even though he is a needy, unpleasant git.

Reviewer: countessvorkosiganDate: 2005-07-02
Reviewid: 125893Chapter: 1
I liked this. There's the beginnings of the bitter Snape we know so well, and a feeling of grudge against Harry's celebrityhood. I also got the impression of manipulative!Dumbledore, just waiting for Snape to come to him after he's exhausted his other options. (Can't tell me that Dumbledore couldn't have done more for Snape without employing him in a job he obviously hates for a decade plus, and making him risk his life spying again!And I think Dumbledore lets him pick on the kids as a way of rewarding or controlling him.) Your work is well-written, interesting, and subtly implies more than it says.

Reviewer: jaderookDate: 2004-07-02
Reviewid: 90289Chapter: 3
You captured this so well! Are you a teacher? The reason I say this is because more teachers than you could possibly ever know go through these types of feelings. Good job!

Reviewer: Olive HornbyDate: 2004-03-08
Reviewid: 73633Chapter: 3
How very Snape to work hard to keep a job not because he likes it, but out of pride and a desire to spite those who say he can't do it. His unease about teaching students who remember him from his own years at Hogwarts is very realistic, as is Filch's amusement at Snape's appointment as potions teacher. I can see Snape working extra hard to avoid more reactions like that from his pupils and even going overboard with it. Well done.

Reviewer: YvonneDate: 2004-02-17
Reviewid: 71150Chapter: 3
I loved this story. Excelent characterisation of Snape, adn great dialogue too. :)

Reviewer: BjarkeDate: 2003-09-10
Reviewid: 51756Chapter: 3
Very good story. Good picture of Snape's first time as a teacher. I'm looking foreward to the next chapter.

Reviewer: BeakerDate: 2003-09-09
Reviewid: 51544Chapter: 3
You have thought this all out already, haven't you? His motivations, how he would perceive teaching, the traces of honor and dignity he's trying to gather around himself, the reasons he will eventually, grudgingly, make this career his own in spite of himself. Really well done--please share the rest of this story!

Really good dialogue, too. The slights and barbs between these two are quite well done.

Reviewer: BeakerDate: 2003-09-07
Reviewid: 51251Chapter: 1
Another great Snape fic from Icarus! He's probably the most complex character in the series, and you really do an excellent job of capturing him--his brooding internal thoughts, his motivations, the stresses and pressures on him, his attitudes, everything! Very convincing. Write more--I promise to read it!

Reviewer: IcarusDate: 2003-09-06
Reviewid: 51030Chapter: 2
It looks like using the 'track changes' feature in Word leaves the beta comments in, even though they don't appear in the Word version I sent to the Quill. I'll reupload a new copy in a text format.

Reviewer: Jade SabreDate: 2003-09-05
Reviewid: 50831Chapter: 2
Um...did you upload this with the beta comments attached? Not that it's bad, I was just wondering...Anyway, this sounds interesting...if there's anymore. If not, this is okay.

Reviewer: bluemeaniesDate: 2003-09-05
Reviewid: 50826Chapter: 2
very good, but apparently you didn't completely get rid of beta comments, which was distracting. And who's the Slyth head now? I think he's junior in the story. Is it a doomed DADA?

Reviewer: juanaDate: 2003-09-04
Reviewid: 50786Chapter: 1
It has sarcasm dripping in every sentence... very like Snape! An excelent Snape piece! It sounds just like him!

Reviewer: MarissaDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50262Chapter: 1
Write more!

Reviewer: Phoenix BlackDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50172Chapter: 1
Hey! Keep going!

Reviewer: bluemeaniesDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 50083Chapter: 1
yeah, an era I always want more of (Snape starting as a teacher), but there never seems to be any (and even less completed). Very well done, could work well as stand alone or be the beginning of something wonderful (hint, hint)

Reviewer: LarzdinnDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 50074Chapter: 1
Your insight into Snape's perception of the events that day are fascinating. Well done :)

Reviewer: ShandetheDate: 2003-09-01
Reviewid: 50028Chapter: 1
Oooh...what can I say? I love Snape-fics. He's suitably bitter and cynical, and just plain funny...in a dark sort of way. You've done a beautiful job keeping him in character. Great stuff!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --