The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Of A Sort
Review(s): 392

Reviewer: AmethystBelovedDate: 2009-01-24
Reviewid: 151370Chapter: 10
Oh Neville. Talk about a character who has grown! You've done a great job capturing him as a bumbling little boy. Missing moments in the canon has always been my favorite kind of stories, and I like the way that we're seeing what's going on outside of the train compartment. I liked the way that you crafted Trevor's escape as it makes it clear why Hermione is going around from place to place trying to find him.

The ending of story reminds me of my last diary entry at the end of high school. Ever since I was thirteen I wrote religiously for four straight years. One night I was writing about prom and stopped halfway, stating that I would continue in the next entry. I never did, hahahaha.

It's too bad that Of A Sort ends here. I came across your Hermione's POV of this story in your LJ, and I was sooooo excited! It was a lot of fun to read. If you ever come back to OaS, know that there are people who are still here to support it! ^_^

Reviewer: AmethystBelovedDate: 2009-01-24
Reviewid: 151369Chapter: 9
Right before I got out of Fernfic lurkdom, I commented on some of Rotae's R&T art and wondered if I became a fan of them before or after discovering your work. Now I remember it was before because I was never quite satisfied with the characterization of the characters from fics that I sought out with R&T in mind before I found you.

The Tonks family dynamics are great. (When Andromeda scolded Dora for changing her hair, that reminded me of Chapter 1 of Forest Guard when she did the same for Teddy, but forgetting that it was the first time for him! I'll review that after I review every chapter of Shifts and Shades. Maybe the edited versions of HM and DM will be out as well?). Both of her parents want her in their house, but only Tonks knows where she wants to be. I loved the appearance of the Weasely family! The post-war atmosphere is so different with Bill having friends in (gasp!) Slytherin. And in terms of Quidditch, it looks like those Ravenclaws are doing considerably better compared to those of 1933, hahaha.

Seeing how Tonks met her friends that you made oh so popular in Shifts and Shades was a lot of fun. I enjoyed the way she introduced her Metamorpagus side to her peers.

I am happy I'm familiar with your theories about the Founders (Slytherin being Gryffindor's teacher, Ravenclaw being a nun, etc.) because it makes me appreciate your Sorting Hat songs even more.

Reviewer: AmethystBelovedDate: 2009-01-24
Reviewid: 151368Chapter: 8
Narcissa: I just loved the line, "By the time she left school, he would still be quite young enough to be unmarried, and she would be quite old enough to be available." At only eleven, talk about ambition!

Sirius: I read your drabble about what if Sirius was sorted as a Slytherin, and I'm glad that it's not the case here.

Lily: The moment she shared with Ted was so special. I'm glad that he's the kind of guy that looks out for others. The moments that she shared with James, such as the exchange of smiles before she was Sorted, was really sweet.

Peter: It's interesting to see that Remus didn't get a chance to be spotlighted in the story, but having Peter being watching him being Sorted in Gryffindor raises his desire to belong in that house. He would have been so much better off in Hufflepuff-- his housemates would have looked out for him.

James: He was the last of the Potters at the time, but I'm glad that Harry was able to continue the family name in the future. I liked the way you connected him with the portraits.

Severus: No surprise where he ends up. The extension of his back story was great. His mother never really give up Dark Arts.

Your conclusion to this era with the ghosts was great.

Reviewer: AmethystBelovedDate: 2009-01-24
Reviewid: 151367Chapter: 7
Your back story for Sanpe was very interesting. Bella's treatment of Lily was heartbreaking. The arrival of M.U.D.S. was wonderful, and Sirius' comeback to being pure (Toujours!) was fantastic. Your Sorting Hat song is very creative. We're lucky that you included it!

Reviewer: AmethystBelovedDate: 2009-01-24
Reviewid: 151366Chapter: 6
This version of how the Marauders met one another. Sirius is great, whisking Peter in his schemes. Seeing the older versions of the characters that were only introduced in the previous chapters was fun. Newer characters are interesting as well, such as Snape and Rodolphus. Going back to the boys, it's interesting to see them all work together and helping each other without thinking about it. And after getting out of that mess, a game of Exploding Snap seems like a nice way to wind down, hahaha.

Reviewer: AmethystBelovedDate: 2009-01-24
Reviewid: 151365Chapter: 5
It's pretty extraordinary how you manage to fit four Sortings in one chapter. I really enjoyed them all.

Andromeda: Who cares if Slughorn said that Sirius was the first Black Griffindor (loved his cameo, by the way!)? She's always be in that house for me! Having her sticking out her tongue at Bella was the icing on the cake!

Gilderoy: Hee hee hee, it was great seeing Molly and Arthur though his eyes! I'm glad he didn't make it in Slytherin. Putting him in Ravenclaw was a good choice. After all, he does grow up to be an author...

Lucius: Not even eleven and Mr Malfoy is already scheming to align his family with the Blacks. His opinions of the Black sisters were very entertaining. Into Slyterin he goes. That wasn't much of a debate.

Ted: I love your Ted!! It must be tough to wait for so long, hahaha. Of course Ron does have it worse, hahaha. The alphabet really works out with this chapter, though. Gilderoy's thoughts about Andromeda, Lucius' thoughts about Gilderoy, Ted hoping to be with his friends, ect. Ted's a real people person. I like him in Hufflepuff. ^_^

Reviewer: AmethystBelovedDate: 2009-01-24
Reviewid: 151364Chapter: 4
What an extraordinary cast to work with! I love, love, love, your Ted and Andromeda, and it wasn't until I read your T&A fics that I fully appreciated these characters. Ted would have been such a wonderful grandfather to Teddy. Anyway, moving along. While I skimmed through Albus, Minerva, and Tom, I'm re-reading 1965!

I've never read any Gilderoy fics, and now that I know about your characterization of him, I'm not going to go looking. He pretty much does live in his head as he means well to be courageous but in the end he always draws back until the next scheme. Back to Ted and Andromeda. Sigh. Ted was in love with her at first sight. And that was a great choice of song. Ted's always been pretty much on his own, but now he's entering a new world. On to part two!

Reviewer: AmethystBelovedDate: 2009-01-24
Reviewid: 151363Chapter: 3
Wow, FernWithy, this chapter was intense. Tom confronting his father was chilling enough, and then the snakes attacked. Throwing in Ollivander, Minerva, and Dumbledore was great. My favorite part had to be Tom's commentary of the Sorting Hat's song. So a half-blood joins the House of Slytherin. But with a personality like that, where else would he have gone?

Reviewer: AmethystBelovedDate: 2009-01-24
Reviewid: 151362Chapter: 2
Hee hee hee, I love the way that everyone, including Mirerva, pre-determined her as a Ravenclaw. Thank goodness that the Hat placed this Quidditch loving girl. It's so funny that she lives in Hogsmeade and her mother has her take the train to network. I had a lot of fun reading about 11-year-old Minerva. I'm glad you included her in the Sorting.

Reviewer: AmethystBelovedDate: 2009-01-24
Reviewid: 151361Chapter: 1
Now it's time to review Of A Sort! I think that it's so great that while there are no two characters in the magical world of Harry Potter are alike, each and every one of them undergoes this right of passage. I remember the Easter Egg that Rowling planted in her site about trying to figure out the sorting process, and I'm glad that she went with the Hat.

I was a bit hesitant to read about Albus because of the fact that because of his age we don't really get a sense of his peers. It was so clever to weave Fawkes, Flamel, and even Nigellus in the chapter. The song was well written, and the line about, "You will always belong to the whole of Hogwarts" was sheer brilliance. I heart little Dumbledore!!!

Reviewer: amber_keysDate: 2006-08-20
Reviewid: 144898Chapter: 1
I disagree with your comment at the beginning about this story not being the most original. I think it is wonderful. Your writing is awesome. It flows very well and you have built up the characters wonderfully. I love seeing some familiar names in this first chapter. Your Sorting Song was brilliantly done. I can't wait to read more!!!!

Reviewer: ceriDate: 2006-07-09
Reviewid: 144065Chapter: 1
you are an amazing writer-- please continue this one -- thanks

Reviewer: snowbear96Date: 2006-06-05
Reviewid: 143240Chapter: 10
So good! I can't wait for more.

Reviewer: springdoveDate: 2006-05-11
Reviewid: 142736Chapter: 10
I really enjoyed this story. It was neat to look at some of the older characters in their first years at Hogwarts. I especially love that you chose Neville. He is one of my favorite characters, and it's nice to see him get "screen time." ;)

I have been devouring your works and look forward to updates from you every time I go to the recently posted fics page. Thank you for sharing your talent with us!

Reviewer: ReesieDate: 2006-04-21
Reviewid: 142119Chapter: 1
I LOVED this chapter, and I know I will enjoy the others as well. A first look at Dumbledore - this was a beautifully and imaginatively written story. It brought tears to my eyes, which is not that frequent of an occurrence. These lines really moved me:

"He understood only that he'd had to fight through the scufflers in order to get to Papa, and Papa's blood was everywhere, and nothing had been left in his eyes when Albus had finally reached him."

"A great wizard, yes, of course... but the man you will be is greater than the wizard."

and the Hat's comments:

"Ah," a voice whispered. "I've been waiting for you, I think, Albus Dumbledore."

"You are the true heir. Welcome home to... GRYFFINDOR!"

Thank you so much for this beautiful chapter.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-13
Reviewid: 140871Chapter: 10
To be continued... at the Sorting. ???
I would like to be sorted, please. Please get off of the glacier.
I have read most of your other works and want more. Greedy me.

Reviewer: krumfanDate: 2006-03-12
Reviewid: 140845Chapter: 10
Hey, once again, I'm loving your fic. Your characterizations are right on, but at the same time unique. I guess, I've never thought about all these adults as 11year olds on their first day at Hogwarts....

Real amazing stuff...you totally rock!

krumfan

Reviewer: EricaVeeDate: 2006-01-02
Reviewid: 137884Chapter: 10
This is fantastic! I always look forward to updates from you, please post another chapter soon!

Reviewer: SongbirdDate: 2005-12-30
Reviewid: 137821Chapter: 10
I love all of these! The Minerva and Neville chapters were my favorite...and Andromeda's is really interesting, and I loved to see Tonks's friends from Shades&Shifts again...absolutely great! Oh, and I have a question: in the Dumbledore chapter, Professor Potter has a heart-shaped face...is this a pointer towards Tonks, who has a heart-shaped face too?? Well, maybe not...but it was just something I noticed. Anyhoo, I love all of these and you're such an awesome writer!

Reviewer: bradDate: 2005-12-24
Reviewid: 137638Chapter: 10
What a wonderful surprise!!! I came across this story ... gee, it must be close to a year ago? ... and despaired to ever see it updated. Nonetheless I had it in my bookmarks and once a week would click to check, yeah, still stuck on Tonks, darn, move on.

NEVILLE!!! Excellent. I do hope this means you're forging ahead with the contemporary crowd.

I'll have to pull out your story and re-read it from scratch - it was so good I printed it out, I think - but if I recall correctly you are an excellent author and your story was quite captivating, how you mixed in your original ideas with canon. I can't wait to see what you do with Harry's group.

Enjoyable chapter; again, the details on Neville's life and his relationship with his parents was intriguing. Little things like Alice reacting to Andromeda Tonks ... I could never mix in imaginative things like that, which is why I'm not an author. Seeing some of Neville's classmates for the first time was fun too.

Best part, for me, was seeing Hermione. She's my favourite character, and I liked how you portrayed her here. Assertive and acting like a know-it-all up front, while insecure underneath ... but she is *aware* of this insecurity??? Hmmm. I don't recall any sign of Hermione ever being unsure of anything in canon, so I'm not sure I agree with you here, where she knows she's going over the top. Maybe first-day nerves. Enjoyed the hints that she was unsettled when Susan Bones showed her that the books didn't tell all. And the "Do you think I overdid that?" was nice, too, although, again, if she was AWARE that she was coming over too strong then I reckon the Hermione of canon would have corrected her mannerisms, even to apologising. Rather than carry on oblivious until it was rammed into her face by Ron on Halloween.

I'll have to think some more about that, and your interpretation of her character here.

Merry Christmas, and thank you for continuing this story!

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2005-12-23
Reviewid: 137609Chapter: 1
This is such an original take on Albus Dumbledore, and so touchingly rendered. I'd like to read it again and again.

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2005-12-23
Reviewid: 137602Chapter: 10
I enjoy your characterizations very much -- the characters come across very believably.

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2005-12-22
Reviewid: 137579Chapter: 9
It's wonderful the way these "back stories" fit in so well with your longer works ("Shades" being the current one). Very well done!

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2005-12-22
Reviewid: 137568Chapter: 8
Heh -- M.U.D.S. is great! :-)

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2005-12-22
Reviewid: 137567Chapter: 5
These have all been very believable -- very nice!

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2005-12-22
Reviewid: 137566Chapter: 4
Excellent! :-)

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2005-12-22
Reviewid: 137564Chapter: 3
Well-written, indeed!

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2005-12-22
Reviewid: 137563Chapter: 2
Oh, well done! :-)

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2005-12-22
Reviewid: 137562Chapter: 1
Just ran across this story a couple of days ago: very well done (as expected of you!).

Reviewer: ReynaDate: 2005-12-21
Reviewid: 137477Chapter: 10
Okay, I'll actually review this time. Firstly, I love your Hermione. I like how you showed her personality in one line: "Of COURSE it worked, they said it would" and then showed her insecurities. I think it's also a good characterization of NEville that he notices the nervousness. Neville is excellantly done as well and I liked the little bit about the photo. There WOULD be pictures of the two of them together as babies...Also interesting Andromeda as a Healer. No shock there. Very, very well done and I'm looking forward to more.

Reviewer: ReynaDate: 2005-12-20
Reviewid: 137476Chapter: 10
I haven't even read it yet but I wanted to say...
I'M SO HAPPY YOU'RE CONTINUING THIS!!!!!!!!!!
I adore your characterizations and I have to say I'm really looking forward to Ginny's year.

Reviewer: ceilidhDate: 2005-12-20
Reviewid: 137454Chapter: 10
excellent! update soon.

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2005-12-20
Reviewid: 137451Chapter: 10
I'm new here, so I've only just discovered your story and read your new chapter so far but I'm really looking forward to the rest. My favourite bit in this chapter is:
"It was Harry Potter.

He'd gone through his mum's old photo albums and once found a picture of himself with another baby, both of them grinning stupidly while some adult hand waved a toy in front of them. It had been labeled "Harry and Neville, at Lily's picnic, July 1981." It had taken a bit of work, but he'd finally worked out that that baby was really the Harry Potter, and they'd known one another when they were still in nappies, and this was him... but oddly, that unremembered day didn't turn up any ideas for a conversation, and Harry looked like he was already involved in a long one with the redheaded boy. Neville backed away and said, "Yes, well, if you see him..."
You establish Neville's shyness so beautifully and capture the sadness of a missed opportunity for a friendship which could have meant so much to them both. It totally explains why Neville flies under Harry's radar most the time, without making Harry seem at all heartless or arrogant. Heartbeaking.

Reviewer: AaragogDate: 2005-12-20
Reviewid: 137436Chapter: 10
So glad to see you've picked this up again after a lengthy hiatus.

Now please, if you're going to do this don't leave it to molder for a year or more.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-30
Reviewid: 136560Chapter: 9
Ah.. um...it is now 2005, almost 2006. 1991 is in the past somewhat. Can we read about the rest of the sortings?

Reviewer: LauraDate: 2005-10-02
Reviewid: 133583Chapter: 9
I think this chapter is the best out of all of them. I love Tonks she is very cute and funny!

Reviewer: LauraDate: 2005-10-01
Reviewid: 133553Chapter: 1
I love the song i think it is absoloutly brilliant!

Reviewer: Aara JacobyDate: 2005-09-12
Reviewid: 132410Chapter: 9
Dad took the eagle and looked at it thoughtfully, then handed it back to Dora. "That's a very special thing," he said. "Take good care of it. And Dora?"

"Yes?"

"If Mr. Lupin ever has children of his own, you'll want to give that back to him."

She frowned and put the eagle in her pocket. "Yes, Dad."


Unless, of course, they're hers, too!

I love the way the peace was shown through the children here . . . especially when they linked arms to come into the Great Hall. Wonderful, simplistic, very child-like constrast to the bickering of the Maurader generation. Of course, you know that. The innocence reads incredibly well here. Love it! Love it all!

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2005-09-07
Reviewid: 131947Chapter: 9
Interesting story. I've always hated that Harry's is the only Sorting we really get to see in the canon.
What was with Pettigrew's shivering?
And how do you come up with so many Sorting songs? *boggles*

Reviewer: FreeWinkyDate: 2005-08-05
Reviewid: 128892Chapter: 9
Hi! Its been along time that you have updated this series. I don't know abt the others but I certainly am waiting for you to update it. I love the idea and I do hope you continue with it.

Reviewer: merlynDate: 2005-07-03
Reviewid: 125954Chapter: 9
This is just wonderful. I love how you've portrayed, not only the students, but the way that Hogwarts has changed through the years. I could go on and on, but it's easiest to say that this was one of the best fics I've read in a long time.

Reviewer: RinaDate: 2005-05-17
Reviewid: 122212Chapter: 1
Wow what a great story! I really liked how you got everyones characters just right! V. Nice.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-03-16
Reviewid: 116730Chapter: 9
<Dad took the eagle and looked at it thoughtfully, then handed it back to Dora. "That's a very special thing," he said. "Take good care of it. And Dora?"

"Yes?"

"If Mr. Lupin ever has children of his own, you'll want to give that back to him."

She frowned and put the eagle in her pocket. "Yes, Dad.">
That is, of course, unless Lupin's childredn are also Tonk's......
Yep. Any way, great chapter, not much else to say....

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-03-16
Reviewid: 116729Chapter: 8
Ah, if only Peter hadn't been sorted into Gryffindor. Things might have been so different...
This was wonderful, fits so welll with what we know of all of these character's psychologies.

<Remus Lupin went up to the Hat and put it on, and James Potter drifted over to Peter. James was obviously not very good at standing by himself.>

I don't know why this really made me laugh. So *James*.
The argument between Snape and James was possibly my favourite part. James being a well brought up (if rather spoilt) child and apologising, Severus unable to view this with anything other than suspicion. Ah, what might have been.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-03-16
Reviewid: 116726Chapter: 7
I liked your Severus backstory. Not at all black and white- I know quite a few mother who wouldn't mind taking out the eyes of a drunk driver if they thought it would save their son. I can see why Snape hates James so instantly, so intensely... and things are only going to get worse. The fight on the train was very well done- poor Lily, having dung smeared in her hair. At least Gilderoy's good for something, though. I can't wait to see the Sortings!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-03-16
Reviewid: 116722Chapter: 6
I loved this. What a perfect way for the Marauder's to meet- pranking Sirius' cousins. Instant bonding, eh? I liked the way Remus seemed surprised to be asked his name and the ease with which he lied through his teeth to Bella. We've seen what a god bluffer he is before, after all. And the meeting with Snape was very well done too. Snape was the first one to hex with malice, but he probably didn't realise that. Peter also was very well characterised- I liked the part about his parents not being particularly interested in him, and his being used to being a dungbomb target, not a pranker. Wonderful characterisation, purely brilliant!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-03-16
Reviewid: 116721Chapter: 5
Poor Gilderoy, not a Gryffindor after all. I liked hearing about Ted's background, it made a lot of sense, and I think he'd be at home in Hufflepuff, although I kinda hoped he'd be in the same house as Andromeda....
Lucius Malfoy really is the living definition of the word "brat". Like father like son, eh? I actually think I disliked him more than I did Tom.
And I really liked Andromeda. No sense of humour, indeed!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-03-16
Reviewid: 116718Chapter: 4
Oooh I like this. We can see were Gilderoy's- ah- delusionalness came from and Bella is a real bitch. I liked Ted, though- he has rather a resemblamce to his daughter what with his clumsiness. And Andrmeda also was very well done- her nervousness a disobeying her families rules and also her stregth at standing up to her bullying sister- mind you methinks Bella will not be pleased when Andromeda is actually sorted.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-03-15
Reviewid: 116669Chapter: 3
Ah, Tom. I thought this chapter was the best one yet. You did a good job of showing Tom's heart hardening, his hunger at hearing his father voice turning into that cold anger and the desire to take all he could from the man. The funny thing was I was kind on his side. Tom senior was one nasty piece of work.
<Being called a bastard by the man who'd made him one didn't have that much sting. >
I found that line very amusing... and chilling. He's just clsed up his heart against his father, and the muggle race. Well done for making Voldy human!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2005-03-15
Reviewid: 116662Chapter: 1
Wow. This was wonderful. I was a bit dubious about the idea of an eleven year old Dumbledore, but this was perfect, complete with a fascinating backstory, a rascally older brother and Fawkes. The sorting song was amazing too. I especially liked the part about Ravenclaw "if your heart refects your mind" and the part about Dumbledore belonging to the whole school... Just georgeous.

Reviewer: CootiePatootieDate: 2005-03-03
Reviewid: 115311Chapter: 9
ps. I forgot about your Gilderoy. I laughed right out loud. It is SO easy to see how this charming and imaginative boy could turn out to be such a charming and imaginative man. Again, all I have to say about all of them is...WOW!!!

Reviewer: CootiePatootieDate: 2005-03-03
Reviewid: 115310Chapter: 9
Wow. I just read them all at a go. You nailed em, kid. I am in awe. Each persons characterisation is spot on. You particularly did well with Albus Dumbledore, Tom Riddle (spit on his name forever!) and Remus Lupin.
I LOVE your Tonks - I read another of your stories today too - about her dolls, and then about Lupin as her tutor - and she is PERFECT.
Wow! Again, I'm just jazzed to have found this series of vignettes.
I can't wait for the next ones...

Reviewer: becDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 113964Chapter: 9
that was really good...all of them.

Reviewer: Anna_KatDate: 2005-01-30
Reviewid: 112474Chapter: 9
You are a gifted writer with uncommon insights into JKR's characters. The sortings were fantastic.

Reviewer: philomelDate: 2005-01-23
Reviewid: 111896Chapter: 8
Wow. Lupin's sorting brought me perilously close to tears. You have a deft hand with language and a true understanding of and sympathy for Rowling's characters. I love the connections you are drawing through wizarding history, the suggestions you lay before us without hammering them in prematurely.

Your Lupin <i>is</i> Lupin. Your Lockhart--I didn't think it was possible! You've written a Lockhart who is a real, believable boy, not a caricature, who can yet grow up into a cartoon of a man. Your Peter is ambivalent and amazingly plausible both as someone the boys might befriend and as someone who might vacillate between different strong leaders. The poor boy; begging his way into a house where he’ll fail to grow… Your McGonagall explains so much. Your Tom Riddle is... right, which in itself is nothing short of amazing. Your Snape/Potter dynamic is spot-on. And you’ve written the Black family into my fears and my heart.

I hope you never stop writing in the Potterverse. But if you write your own worlds too, or instead, I would love to buy your books.

Rightio, now off to finish reading this chapter.

Reviewer: NARDate: 2005-01-02
Reviewid: 109527Chapter: 9
Really wonderfull stories, I liked McGonagall especially - her compassion towards Quidditch was nicely shown.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2004-12-22
Reviewid: 108285Chapter: 9
Lovely. Completely lovely. Do you think you'll finish this? As an admiring reader, I'd love to see your version of the rest of the sortings. At any rate, happy holidays and best wishes in the new year!

Reviewer: HillaryDate: 2004-11-30
Reviewid: 106366Chapter: 9
I spent a good amount of time reading your stories tonight without reviewing once! I feel perfectly dreadful for it, because I haven't enjoyed fiction so thoroughly in AGES. You are able to convincingly capture so many different characters, so well, it's amazing. I like the fact that you're not afraid to show the worst side of people, but at the same time can really make some characters endearing I never thought could be. Gilderoy was very adorable (and I never thought I'd think that.)

Ted Tonks was a particular favourite of mine.

I like giving constructive criticism, and usually am very good at ripping a story to shreds (nicely), but I just can't recall one thing you need to fix. This really is well written, with great descriptions and is quite original. Brava! (If you be female…)

-Hillary

Reviewer: PlanksDate: 2004-11-21
Reviewid: 105458Chapter: 1
This is a really great fic. You even made a sorting hat´s song! amazing. really liked the hat´s opinion too. oh, well, every thing´s cool!

Reviewer: ArtemisaDate: 2004-11-18
Reviewid: 105200Chapter: 9
Wonderful fic.
Funniest bit: Minerva McGonagall's sorting
Most surprising: Peter Pettigrew
Most intriguing: Severus Snape
Favorite character: Ted Tonks, loved the 60's attitude
Most curious about: James Potter's background in this version of events

Reviewer: JamesDate: 2004-11-14
Reviewid: 104823Chapter: 9
This is an intresting story....

Reviewer: bradDate: 2004-10-22
Reviewid: 102119Chapter: 9
This is an excellent story; so many little bits and pieces that you've created/imagined to flesh out all those characters and their sorting. I can't wait to see what you do with Harry's and Ginny's years. Thank you!

Reviewer: Aurianna ParkerDate: 2004-10-17
Reviewid: 101654Chapter: 4
The queue of students waiting to board the train finally moved, and Gilderoy let his highly sharpened senses awaken again. He could see the headmaster with several parents as they passed the archway. Gilderoy nodded solemnly to him, having understood the man's unspoken request. He couldn't remain with the train, so it was now in Gilderoy's able hands to keep his classmates safe.

You show that Gilderoy's self-obsession is not just an act, and you even show what caused his delusions of grandure. Well done.

Reviewer: Aurianna ParkerDate: 2004-10-17
Reviewid: 101652Chapter: 3
He had a job to do here, and it wasn't to daydream about

(My son? I never knew! All of you, look! This is my son!)

anything.

This is so well done, as always. What a challenge to get inside Tom Riddle's head, but you pulled it off admirably. Such a perfect mix between soulessness and childishness. You can definitely imagine him to grow up to be Voldemort. VERY impressive!

Reviewer: Matilda BagginsDate: 2004-09-28
Reviewid: 99739Chapter: 9
Heh. How sweet. I particularly enjoyed Molly and Andromeda's reunion on the platform and Bill morphing into a broom for Ginny. The radio songs in the car ride suited Dora's family quite well. Perhaps the funniest moment, for me, was when Dora, Sanjiv, and Charlie performed an impromptu comedy for the other first years. Heh. Also, I liked the way the students seemed to be more cohesive after the war had ended --almost as if the violence had skipped a generation, if only temporarily. The Sorting Song for this batch was much more harmonious as well, which was an interesting reinforcement of the general feeling of relief and unity among the students. Snape scowling at the Sorting ceremony was amusingly appropriate. I can imagine him remembering his own rather eventful Sorting. Anyway, this was fun. I'm glad Dora ended up in Hufflepuff. As much fun as Gryffindors are, Hufflepuffs are solid and dependable. Thanks for sharing this.

Reviewer: Matilda BagginsDate: 2004-09-28
Reviewid: 99733Chapter: 8
*bowing* I'm very impressed. The voices of all the characters here ring very true --to canon and as realistic people. The scene with the ghosts at the end really summed it up perfectly --the heartbreaking nature of the division brought home to their own school. Snape's interaction with Dumbledore was impeccable. Dumbledore's reluctance to report on Snape to his father and his ambivalence about how Snape's father treated his wife are incredibly compelling. Also, Snape's early pedisposition toward bitterness and carefully-cultivated prejudice that prevent him from listening to Dumbledore are tragically believable. Also, I love how James is expected to make the peace offering. Poor James. He's spoiled and yet also more is expected from him because of his family. Your background for his family was very plausible as well. It would definitely explain what happened to the rest of Harry's family. If Grindelwald killed off most of them and Voldemort simply finished the job, that's much more likely than Voldemort polishing all of them off. Anyway, I think I'm babbling now. One last note: I loved the way Peter was determined to be in Gryffindor for his friends and the hat warned him that he'd never be happy there. That was brilliant. Thanks so much for sharing your insights with us. This was an excellent fic. Please do keep writing. I'd love to see the Weasleys get Sorted.

Reviewer: Matilda BagginsDate: 2004-09-27
Reviewid: 99590Chapter: 7
Wow. Brilliant. I loved your backstory for Severus. It was by far the most believable I've ever read, and it incorporated information from OotP seamlessly. Also, I adored Lily's spunk and her dress. *giggle* I'll never forget seeing the dress through the eyes of Lucius Malfoy and Severus Snape. Sirius, James, Peter, and Remus fit together to make the perfect set. Also, you really manage to show Peter's impulse to follow those who seem powerful from the very beginning. He's not evil by any means, but he is insecure and fairly easily led. I particularly enjoyed Andromeda and Ted's rescue party and Bella's post-confrontation Pureblood rally. All of the pieces are falling into formation, and the lines are very much drawn. Your characterizations are clear and insightful so that the motivations of all of the characters are understandable (even Bella's, which is shocking). Excellent work. Thanks so much for sharing.

Reviewer: Matilda BagginsDate: 2004-09-25
Reviewid: 99314Chapter: 3
Wow. This was really powerful. It's dark, but oh so terribly possible. I'm impressed. Normally, I have very little sympathy for Tom, but here you have managed to evoke sympathy for him while still maintaining his early inclination toward selfish viciousness. I love the way Dumbledore appears troubled from his very first meeting with Tom and Minerva is confused by Tom's insistence that he isn't a half-blood. Also, Tom's father is perfectly drawn as a callous, rich, selfish, thoughtless, and boorish man with nothing mroe than his wealth to recommend him. I'm very impressed. Thanks for sharing this.

Reviewer: SamDate: 2004-09-22
Reviewid: 99056Chapter: 9
This is a super story:-D. I am really looking forward to the next one..All I can say is HURRY, HURRY, HURRY:-P

Reviewer: CaitlDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95102Chapter: 9
I enjoyed how original your piece was. Very creative. I have always been interested in the Sorting Hat and its ideas, your story lived up to everything I hoped for and I was glued to the screen until my eyes watered. Thanks for making my day.
~Caitl

Reviewer: CaitlDate: 2004-08-01
Reviewid: 95101Chapter: 9
I enjoyed how original your piece was. Very creative. I have always been interested in the Sorting Hat and its ideas, your story lived up to everything I hoped for and I was glued to the screen until my eyes watered. Thanks for making my day.
~Caitl

Reviewer: SingeDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94031Chapter: 9
I thoroughly enjoyed the entire sorting series. Excellent writing and you get extra points for having sortings read like action movies. I loved it! Thanks.

Reviewer: LizzyDate: 2004-07-08
Reviewid: 91327Chapter: 9
kl story! brill characterisation 2!

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2004-06-26
Reviewid: 88997Chapter: 3
Fern! I just realized who you missed in your sortings! Hagrid! He comes in 2 or 3 years after Riddle, doesn't he?

Reviewer: KailaDate: 2004-06-25
Reviewid: 88914Chapter: 9
I couldn't stop reading this! It was very interesting to read about the adults as kids! Great Story!

Reviewer: AllisonDate: 2004-06-23
Reviewid: 88415Chapter: 9
Amazing! I started this series yesterday. You kept me reading til 1 am tonight! Geesh I need to get off the internet before I go blind! But this story was simply amazing! Keep it coming!

Reviewer: hfleming8Date: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88131Chapter: 9
Wow! Holy Cow!!! More, more, more. What an interesting and creative idea. I was hooked as soon as albus dumbledore walked out of the forest. More soon please!!!!

Reviewer: angelina weasleyDate: 2004-06-21
Reviewid: 88038Chapter: 9
hey! this is areally good buncha stories here. you should do the weasley twins and people in thier year, too. i like how you split up the chapters on the train, and getting sorted. it would also be good if you did some stories from ron, hermione, and the rest of the people in harry's year.
cheers,
angelina weasley.

Reviewer: MollieDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 88014Chapter: 9
This is really awesome. I hope that after you do 1991, then you'll do the Weasleys...I mean, you've got 7 of them to do, and I think it would be so interesting to see Percy almost be sorted into Slytherin because of his ambition or maybe Ron almost sorted into Hufflepuff for his loyalty. The only thing is that 1984 would be Charlie's year, and you would do Ron in the next chapter...but it would still be interesting.

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2004-06-19
Reviewid: 87858Chapter: 9
WHOO HOO! Excellent chapter! (particularly enjoyed the 80's music! LOL!) Who's up next? 1991 is Harry's year...

Reviewer: Livia LianaDate: 2004-06-08
Reviewid: 86417Chapter: 9
Just finished reading all of this, and wanted to tell you that they were just lovely. You write extremely well, and you seem to be able to imagine all of these different characters so vividly. The backstories you have invented, particularly for Snape, are very well constructed and are perfectly canon-plausible. While I may not care for a detail or two, it is nothing other than personal choice and in no way detracts from your accomplishment here. I am looking forward to the rest.

Reviewer: CanopusDate: 2004-06-07
Reviewid: 86141Chapter: 1
Oops...
<br>
Okay, yes. I'm a moron. Anyway, this is an addendum to my previous comment. In reviewing your universe (see comment on 'Shifts' in LJ), I rediscovered 'Nothing Big.' Which, of course, I *had* read but had apparently momentarily slipped through my cerebral creases. When I asked the question below I was thinking of 'A Trick of the Firelight' as the most "recent" story. *smacks head*

Reviewer: belitaDate: 2004-06-07
Reviewid: 86139Chapter: 9
>>"...and if it's Quidditch you like, you'll want Ravenclaw," Moira Troy was saying to one of the other first-years, a freckled girl with a thick Irish accent, whose name was Cathleen Mullet. "I made Chaser last spring when one of the fifth years had to leave the team to study for O.W.L.s, and the captain, Anna Moran, is the best in the school."<<
I just started re-reading Goblet of Fire, and was so excited when I saw this part! It's such a wonderful detail to put in.

Another great sorting! I always enjoy your sorting songs - you come up with new and interesting ones for each sorting!

Reviewer: MariagonerDate: 2004-06-07
Reviewid: 86136Chapter: 9
Awesome story-- I love watching your Tonks in action as well, so this latest segment just delighted me. Please keep writing! I'd love to see various Weasleys through the ages being sorted. :D

Also, do you keep a livejournal? Would you mind me friending you if you do?

Reviewer: SonicDate: 2004-06-06
Reviewid: 86130Chapter: 9
dora is in hufflepuff?! I always thought her as a gryffindor...

damn. Your universe is amazing... you've got to write more after all the sortings!

Reviewer: CanopusDate: 2004-06-06
Reviewid: 86126Chapter: 9
Fern,
I do love your Tonks. This was a fun look at how she went from the Dora you show us as a child and the Tonks that we know as an adult. I enjoy her child's take on the cataclysm of '81, so to speak, and how it influences her thinking. Other hilights were intro to Sanjiv (I laughed at your description), the origin of 'Tonks' and, of course, Mr. Lupin's gift of the eagle. (Incidentally, will he ever have children of his own? Between this and your LJ you've built us a very interesting Remus. I'm quite curious.)
On that note, I'm off to your LJ to see what's been up lately...
~Canopus

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2004-06-05
Reviewid: 86017Chapter: 9
for clarification:

>>Unlike most wizards and witches Dora had met, Mum, Dad, and Mr. Lupin did not enjoy talking about the Boy Who Lived, as they had known his parents, who hadn't.<<
I can make neither head nor tail of the "who hadn't" at the end.

The boy who lived had lived...his parents didn't live. so, "the boy who lived"...as they had known his parents, who hadn't (lived)".

Reviewer: The Eighth WeasleyDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85940Chapter: 9
I'm so glad you put Tonks in Hufflepuff. I'm particularly fond of that house, but also it's nice to see someone putting an admirable character in a House other than Gryffindor.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85937Chapter: 9
Somewhere between your previous update and this one, I wrote a Sorting Hat Song myself, and I found it a horrible thing to do. It's *so* difficult! You must be mad to do it so many times. Really mad. But you pull if off brilliantly, so I think you're brilliant as well as mad. :) In any case you won't have to make another Song for the next chapter.

Anyway, great story. I love it that Tonks went from Dora to Tonks because there was another Dora. I also liked the cat called Granny, and that you made Charlie and Tonks start in the same year.

There is one sentence in this that I didn't understand. I'm not sure if it's wrong, or if it's just me reading it wrong. Anyway, this is the one:
>>Unlike most wizards and witches Dora had met, Mum, Dad, and Mr. Lupin did not enjoy talking about the Boy Who Lived, as they had known his parents, who hadn't.<<
I can make neither head nor tail of the "who hadn't" at the end.

Anyway, I really liked this chapter. The way you wrote Tonks made her really alive. I feel like she's still bouncing around in my head, changing the colour of her hair with every bounce. :)

My favourite line:
>>"In general," the Hat said, "I do the Sorting."<<

Reviewer: The Ravenpuff in HuffleclawDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85929Chapter: 5
Um... love the fic, but Andromeda was supposed to be a Ravenclaw. It's stated somewhere in the books- I'm sure- or JKR confirmed it. Oh well.

Reviewer: MikaukDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85915Chapter: 1
Oops, you did write The Doll Army. Sorry.

And I remembered the other one: Maddie! The...er...headwoman of the "bar" in the...er...I'm so terrible at remembering stories. The ones about Rosmerta, when she falls in love with Max whats-his-face?

...

Just ignore me...*whistles*

Reviewer: MikaukDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85914Chapter: 9
I liked the way you've combined several fanons here without it being too noticeable, like Ted's singing and Remus's acquaintance with Dora...unless, of course, you wrote The Doll Army and it's following stories, and the one where Lockhart, Ted, Sirius, and everyone else meet up...can't remember the name...well, I don't think you did, regardless. And it was well done.

Reviewer: meDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85910Chapter: 9
cool

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85892Chapter: 9
Yay! I think this was my favorite yet. Your sorting hat song was the best I've ever seen, and that's including JK's!

-Linnet

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85870Chapter: 9
[Dora bit her lip. Mum wanted her in Gryffindor, but she didn't want to be there. She couldn't quite say that, as it would break Mum's heart, but all the people she knew who'd been Gryffindors were dead, in prison, or very sad.]

Great insight as to how children think. And it's a good point, considering all the Gryffindors we've known up to this point.

Like the Cyndi Lauper reference and the "Karma Chameleon" song as being Dora's song! The opening was great, Granny sounds like a character.

Great chapter! I loved the appearance by the Weasleys and Dora's little show before the sorting. McG was great. Nice references of Troy and Mullet (what a bad last name though...I keep thinking of really bad hair every time I see this name!). Dora's interaction with the hat was terrific, I liked how the hat told her, "Generally, *I* do the sorting". Hehehe! Lovely chapter, looking forward to seeing Harry & Co. get sorted.

Reviewer: JetamorsDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85847Chapter: 9
Aww, they're all so cute!

I like the changes that you made. Dora's bits of concern about her Sorting are slight, but they give the story its arc. And you still keep all the charm of the first draft.

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85833Chapter: 9
I liked this particular Sorting Hat Song a lot. Also liked the explanation of how Dora became Tonks, and her reaction to the Hat calling her a Black.

>"...and if it's Quidditch you like, you'll want Ravenclaw," Moira Troy was saying to one of the other first-years, a freckled girl with a thick Irish accent, whose name was Cathleen Mullet. "I made Chaser last spring when one of the fifth years had to leave the team to study for O.W.L.s, and the captain, Anna Moran, is the best in the school."

Troy, Mullet and Moran! I love little details like this that really ground the story in canon, and it makes sense that these three would be around Tonks's age.

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85829Chapter: 9
I am so happy to see you updating again! I was hoping you would continue with this. Love the song, and the way you interspersed the Irish national team in there was fantastic. Great job!

Reviewer: MariannDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85796Chapter: 9
I think, you should go back and redo this... can't have been 1984, it must be earlier. Bill started school when the Marauders started fifth year, Charlie started when the Marauders were seventh year - making it 1975, resp. 1977.

If Charlie would have started 1984 he would have still been at Hogwarts 1991 when Harry started - but he was already away studying dragons in PS. Same goes for Tonks... Harry would have known Tonks at Hogwarts already, because a Metamorphmagus certainly didn't go unnoticed...

I also think that Bellatrix is the same age as Sirius. Remember the scene in GoF where Sirius tells the Trio about Severus' classmates? He mentions the Lestranges - a married couple. Since we now know that Bellatrix is part of that married couple and that her husband's name is Rodolphus we also know she's the youngest of the three Black sister. I think, it's been a mistake by JKR when she placed the burnt out name of Andromeda in the middle between the other two girls.

Apart from the wrong time line I love your story! It's very well written and there's many thoughts I agree with.

Reviewer: JenadamsonDate: 2004-06-03
Reviewid: 85795Chapter: 9
It was such a joy to see this updated. I love all of the details you put in: the Weasley's at the train station, Molly's maiden name, the fact that Remus still interacts with the Tonks, how casually people talk about 'the boy who lived'. The unity between the houses was lovely. I especially liked Tonks's interaction with the Sorting Hat...very, very funny. I'm excited for the next one. (That'd be Harry's year, yes...so Draco, Hermione, Ron...maybe Dean?)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --