The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 80

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-08-29
Reviewid: 131154Chapter: 7
Excellent. I quite enjoyed.

Reviewer: MariagonerDate: 2004-12-03
Reviewid: 106755Chapter: 7
I'm glad you finished this fic! Bravo!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-12-02
Reviewid: 106682Chapter: 7
Onward!

>>“Wot are yeh waitin’ fer, yeh great lump? Go on an’ help the lady.” <<

I know it's just a few fleeting lines, but that's a great look at Og's character. Seems like he and Hagrid were cut from the same cloth.

>>They were like survivors of a shipwreck, marooned in the area and adopted by the natives. Hagrid had suffered the humiliation of being tossed out of Hogwarts, she the humiliation of being shunned by polite society. No family to really speak of and overly dependent on pets for companionship.<<

Wonderful phrasing! Despite their dissimilarities, you make the *similarities* between Rosmerta and Hagrid work so well.

>>“Does she have any Locator Charms on her?”<<

(offside remark) Man, how handy would those be? I could use a Locator Charm on my two wild things.

>>“I’m not like you!” Ruby exploded, the spell having worn off. “I’m normal!” She looked horrified. “I’m sorry, I didn’t mean that.”<<

I'd forgotten that Ruby was a Muggle (I think you mentioned this in High Spirits, didn't you?). I can actually relate to her predicament a bit. I reminds me of when my husband was in the military, which really is like a whole different world. I had a grasp of the some of the basics, but a lot of the procedure, structure, and the 400,000 acronyms went right over my head.

>>“Miranda! Where is she?” Ruby said, the desperation in her voice too painful.<<

As a parent, it's even painful for me to read this!

>>“I’m sorry, Mummy, I’m sorry,” Miranda babbled and cried. “I wanted to go see the unicorns but you said no and I’ll never do it again. I’m s-s-sorry.”<<

That's a really accurate take on kid-logic...I can see my daughter saying much the same thing. She actually has, as a matter of fact -- "I know you told me not to dump all the soap in the bathtub, but I really wanted to..."

>> “A wolf,” Rosmerta said grimly. “A werewolf. At least that’s what I think it is. It’s a full moon tonight.”<<

You integrate this canon happening quite skillfully. It's a good reminder that the wild and crazy events that surround Harry DON'T affect just him and his friends.

>>“Mummy, there are shadows moving! They’re going to get us!” <<

Oh, so Miranda must be magic!

>>The Dementors bore down, circling around them. The stench of rotting flesh was so strong Rosmerta could feel it coating her throat. The dizzying swirl of ragged black cloaks disoriented Rosmerta so that she no longer knew what direction she was going. Voices began echoing in her head and the world started to spin. <<

*shivers*

>>Rosmerta took off her shoe and threw it at the Dementor, followed by the other one. One of her sparkly pink heels hit it squarely between the eyes before bouncing off. <<

*cheers* You go, Rosmerta!

>>The broomstick returned to its upright position and then moved to sweep the Dementors away as if they were nothing more significant than large specks of black dust. <<

Yayyyyy!!!!!

>>Lorelei can sense werewolves. Serena mentioned it to me after that Patronus lesson at the tavern.” <<

Ahhh, I remember that incident.

>>And who knows? Rosmerta thought. Maybe things will be better this year. You never know what the future is going to bring. <<

Maybe a nice fellow named Max? :D

What a lovely end to your story. Although it's technically a "prequel", it stands on it's own as an excellent tale. The Hogsmeade world that you've created is fabulous. Kudos!

~Katinka

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-11-24
Reviewid: 105835Chapter: 7
One peril of moving is that you miss so much new fic!!! I'm sorry for coming so late to this chapter -- it was a treat to read, and a fabulous, emotionally moving conclusion to the story.

>>Ginger sat in the middle of the living room like a queen bee watching her drones making honey for her, hands resting on her bulging belly, looking equal parts joyful and smug.<<

LOL! I just went to a baby shower this last weekend, so this part is very amusing to me. :)

>>“No, come join me,” Abby gestured toward the empty seat with her plate, sending a biscuit, a mini quiche, a couple of crisps, and a few grapes sliding onto the floor. <<

;asdjf;alksdfj;alskdjf;alsdkjf;alskd As I am Abby Loomis' RL reference for lack of physical coordination, I can't tell you how funny that is. I've done the same thing on more occasions than I'd care to admit.

>>A pained expression crossed Abby’s face, although she looked like she was trying to be a good sport. “I suppose it’s my fault for making all those sugarquills so readily available in the store. Normally they keep children quiet, but I guess too much sugar gets some of them overly excited …”<<

Er, yeah. I think my own children are finally coming off of the Halloween sugar rush.

>>Rosmerta wondered if they were supposed to carve the baby up and eat it. <<

LOL! I've seen some equally frightening baby shower accompaniments.

>>As the talk centered on teething and nursing, first words, first steps and first days of school, Rosmerta realized just how few single women there were in the village. <<

Nice touch of realism there, subtly handled.

>>"If I have to listen to one more person talk about nappies or swelling ankles or mashed carrots being spit up, I’ll Avada Kedavra myself,” Pepper drawled as if she had never worn a nappy or eaten a mashed vegetable in her life.<<

dldjfa;ldjfa;ldkjfakdf;a I have a similar reaction to people who complain about kids -- "And you never did any of those things YOURSELF?" Pepper is a wonderfully drawn character -- she comes across very vividly. I recently heard a bit of writing advice that I think you much have taken to heart: Minor characters don't know that they're minor. The fact that you treat the characterization of each of the supporting cast with equal thoroughness makes your world that much more "alive". :)

>>Rosmerta knew what Pepper was dying to ask her, but she gave nothing away. <<

LOL, has Pepper been reading the HP fansites?

>>She was sure that the combination of a room full of women, pastel decorations, and thick, sugary frosting was filling her with the desire to seek out any member of the male persuasion and have a go at this baby thing herself. <<

hee hee hee I confess, the sight of baby clothes has a similar effect on me.

>>“Maddie’s terribly sorry that she wasn’t able to make it this afternoon, but she sends her best wishes.” Rosmerta made sure her voice was loud enough for everyone in the room to hear. She gave Rosemary a blithe smile; a small, petty part of her enjoyed watching Rosemary squirm with embarrassment. <<

I love to see Rosmerta in honeyed viper mode!

Drat, I need to run, but I'll be back later to finish this up. :)

~Katinka

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2004-10-20
Reviewid: 101996Chapter: 1
I'm so impressed with just about everything here, especially your characterizations, both original and canon. You build tension so well in your dialogue.

Nice work, and worth the wait.

Catherine

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-10-18
Reviewid: 101729Chapter: 7
What a roller-coaster ride of a chapter! I enjoyed reading about Rosmerta experiencing a sugar high and cheered for her when Maddie's beautiful present was opened at the party. You tell 'em, honey! :D

My favorite part, though, had to be the confrontation with the Dementors. It was so suspenseful, and Rosmerta's casting of the Patronus Charm made me cry. I love her and Maddie both so much :) (Maddie's Patronus was funny and fitting, too.)

Great job!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-10-18
Reviewid: 101723Chapter: 6
Aaaargh! I missed two updates! Well, I reckon I'd better remedy that right quick and in a hurry! :-p

Lovely chapter as usual. I think you described Rosmerta's interrogation experience very well. I felt just as panicked and indignant and scared as she was! And the idea of Sirius using a Three Broomsticks knife was a clever way to weave Rosmerta's little world into canon.

I also felt bad for Maddie when she heard about the baby shower :( Poor dear. I like to think that she's happy most of the time, though; at least she has a comfortable life and she has friends in Rosmerta and her girls.

Hagrid and Beaky in the pub were great, too. I loved their interaction with the little girl. And I loved the arrival of Hester! :) I'm glad I already know what happens to her job search, but am still curious as to how it will unfold. On to the next chapter!

Reviewer: LoriDate: 2004-10-16
Reviewid: 101618Chapter: 7
Wonderful end to this story. The scene with Rosmerta, Ruby and the dementors was chilling, and I laughed out loud at the form of Rosmerta's long-awaited patronus.
I hope to see more of your work soon.

Reviewer: EchoDate: 2004-10-16
Reviewid: 101600Chapter: 7
Ah, the long awaited chapter at last!

I especailly "“Ruby,” she said, backing away from the gate, her eyes still fixed on the full moon. “Run.” She continued backing away from the gate, gaining speed." I don't know why exactly, but it made me shiver. And Rosmerta's Patronus is absolutely perfect!

-Echo

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2004-10-16
Reviewid: 101582Chapter: 7
Rosmerta's sucessful Patronus, and the happy memories behind it moved me to tears. My eyes are still teary. Bravo! What a powerful scene! First Rosmerta's clever detective work to find little Miranda, followed by her discovery of Ruby's secret, and then her brilliant stand against the dementors! Wow! The broomstick Patronus is just perfect. (As is Maddie's Roach, and the inspiration behind him.) I love Maddie.

These chapter was jam-packed full of goodies! Ginger's baby-shower sounded so much like every baby-shower I've ever been to, minus the magical elements.

"As each new item was held up, Rosmerta became giddier and giddier until she found herself practically delirious with joy when Ginger unwrapped a package of nappies charmed with an odor blocking spell. She was sure that the combination of a room full of women, pastel decorations, and thick, sugary frosting was filling her with the desire to seek out any member of the male persuasion and have a go at this baby thing herself. She set down her fork and her half-eaten cake and went to get a cup of strong tea."

Yup. That's a baby-shower all right.

Another highlight of this chapter was your description of the early friendship between Hagrid and Rosmerta. I loved the scene-snippet with Og Rosmerta and young Hagrid!

(If you ever wanted to write a flashback story about Rosmerta's first years in Hogsmeade that would be so cool!)

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-10-16
Reviewid: 101580Chapter: 7
Great to see an update! Rosemerta's patronus was okay, the name on the handle was a nice touch, but I really liked Madie's. The fight scene with the dementors excellent. Perhaps Fudge wasn't talking about Harry when he said how horrible it was that the dementors tried to Kiss a child.

The baby shower was cute. The highlight of course was Rosemerta's gift of the rattle.

Although the overall effect was sweet, the dragons did appear to be sizing up the unicorns as potential snacks.
-Made me laugh

I thought you handled Ruby very well. Poor woman, how horrible to feel so helpless. Pepper made me smile though. Hope you can fit her in a bit more.

Book 5?

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2004-10-15
Reviewid: 101507Chapter: 7
Wow! Rosmerta showed all of her deepest strengths as a character and you showed all your wonderful strengths as a writer. The women at the shower scene were as authentically catty and girlie as the dementors were scary in the later scene. As always, I enjoy Rosmerta's inner thoughts and I also enjoy seeing how much a part of Hogsmeade she is. She cares about people, from Hagrid to Pepper. I especially liked herinner monologue about Hagrid. (My fave line: "They were like survivors of a shipwreck, marooned in the area and adopted by the natives.")

This was a great ending to your story. I hope you start Order of the Phoenix soon!

Reviewer: MariagonerDate: 2004-06-18
Reviewid: 87795Chapter: 6
Excellent start to a great story! I love the characters, the pacing, the way you depict life in the village-- slow, but never boring. Please continue!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-06-18
Reviewid: 87648Chapter: 6
On to Chapter 6!

>>Oh lovely, Rosmerta thought. Even a thirteen year-old can do that charm. I must be a blooming idiot.<<

LOL, I love her wry humour! :D

>>Robert continued to stare at her. “The question is, how did Sirius Black get it?”<<

Ah, I love it when fanfic gives explanation to canon events. Sirius would have had to obtain that knife somewhere, wouldn't he? It's a nice touch.

>>This was low, even if it was nothing more than a tactic to get her to talk. Sure she endured a lot of good-natured teasing about her effect on the schoolboys of Hogwarts, but that’s all it was, teasing—wasn’t it? But Robert’s comments made her wonder if she had been deaf to what was really being said about her around town.<<

*sputters indignantly on Rosmerta's behalf*

>>Last Hogsmeade weekend, they had done something to the toilets so that they made rude comments to the people using them. Even the lids flapped when they spoke, like lips.<<

a;sldkfjd;lfjsa That would have been a sight!

>>As soon as his lips returned to normal, the boy swore at Sirius and aimed his wand. Sirius and James turned their wands at him, but before any of them could utter another word Rosmerta disarmed all three of them in a flash of red. Sirius and James looked deeply impressed, but the other boy looked ready to kill. Rosmerta shivered; she hadn’t seen that look on a man’s face in nearly twenty years, not since she told Ares she was leaving him.<<

For all her femininity, Rosmerta's not one to be trifled with! Gah, this hurts me to read, though, only because I'm still having trouble processing the "Snape's Worst Memory" incident. :(

>> bell was around his neck and his hands had morphed into hooves. She caught a tail swishing about his backside. The boy’s large nose had transformed into an equally large snout. Worst of all was his stomach where a set of udders had appeared, the six teats looking like six members of the male anatomy.<<

Oh dear, now that would be...odd. o_O

>>Everyone in the tavern burst out laughing; Sirius was the loudest of them all.

He laughed. That’s what all the papers said. When the M.L.E.s surrounded him, he stood there with Peter Pettigrew’s bloodstained robes and roared like someone had told him the funniest joke in the world.<<

*shivers* Now that was a brilliant, BRILLIANT transition.

>>A treacherous thought entered her mind— if she hadn’t been Maddie’s friend, would Robert have dared suggest that she had seduced Sirius Black when he was a schoolboy?<<

Sadly, I've seen the notion circulating in the fandom that Rosmerta invariably slept with all or part of MWPP. Blargh.

>>“It’s not your fault so many narrow-minded people live here. Everyone has a ghoul in their attic, some are just louder than others."<<

You come up with absolutely the *best* wizardisms. :)

>>“Hrmph. Some folks seem to think I’ve been letting Sirius Black in through my back door for some time now.”<<

*places hand on mouth to stifle innappropriate laughter* ;)

>>“They jus’ don’ get how serious this is. Think it’s all fun an’ games. They were just babes durin’ the Dark Days, they don’ remember…”<<

You know, that's a very good point. They DON'T remember, which justifies Hagrid's occasional anger at them for sneaking out.

>>Like a spring, Miranda swung the top half of her body down to the ground, her forehead nearly smacking against her knees, before bouncing back up, a grin on her face. <<

Ahhh, that's sweet. :)

>>“But he said we could see them,” Miranda pleaded, just a note away from whining.<<

I have to laugh at this, because toddler whinging is the Story of My Life these days!

>>The girl took a deep breath as if drawing courage and stuck out her hand. “Hello. My name is Hester Moon. I’m a seventh year at Hogwarts and I’d like to apply for a waitress position.”<<

Whee! Hester! It's good to see her again!

Ahhh, another satisfying chapter. :) As always, I look forward to more.

~Katinka

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87596Chapter: 6
OOps, I found a mistake. You wrote George dumped the money out in the very beginning of the chapter but then a few sentences later Fred says that George went to Huneydukes. That's alright, though.

Loved this part:

...Everyone has a ghoul in their attic, some are just louder than others....

And how could people think such horrible things about Rosmerta and school children? Sure she flirts, but she doesn't mean any harm! And the interaction between Hagrid, Beaky, and Miranda was so sweet! (**I almost typed Becky!**)

And I'm glad you introduced Hester in this story. I like her! Great work! Thanks for contacting me and letting me know about the update! It was my pleasure reading it.

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87592Chapter: 5
Well, i had a real long (truly greatm, in my opinion) review for this chapter. Too bad I forgot to write in my name so it didn't send. In short:

Loved the engagement, poor Russell, loved the quote about petting the snake, ummm.... (trying to remember)- oh, loved the interaction between Megan and Patrick, Rosmerta is a great character, so compassionate, has so many great qualities but her quirks keep her away from Mary-Suedom.... ummm... I feel bad for poor Remus.... anything else?

Well, I loved the characterization of the animals, and I loved the saying by Maddie about love and dresses. Oh and I liked the part about Rosmerta thinking about hexing the girls if the cut up Hagrid's meat. Loved the chapter, I know this review was kind of vague and hurried, and I apologise. It would have been much better, too. Sigh.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87586Chapter: 5
How did I miss this chapter??? I'd best get to this one first, so that I can read the latest...

BTW, it just struck me how similar Alfonso Cuaron's vision of the wizarding world is to yours, much more than the first two films. You both have that edge of earthiness and realism. I just wish he would have made Rosmerta more va-va-voomy. ;)

Well, it didn't take too long to get swept up in your world again. Rosmerta's interactions with Russell brought me to tears more than once -- you make their aching loneliness almost tangible. But even though she cares for Russell, Rosmerta knows that they come from different worlds. In fact, some of my favorite parts are when Rosmerta's snobbery peaks out. ("Watch and learn, she thought.") ;) It just makes her seem human.

Sirius in drag? a;sdljfa;dlkfjd;alk fja; Now that I would LOVE to see.

>>Rosmerta peeked to see what he was buying. The basket contained a stack of Demeter’s Garden instant dinners, a six-pack of pumpkin fizz, three cans of soup, a fruitcake, a tin of sausages, two bags of crisps, and a box of frosted cauldron cakes.<<

You always come up with the BEST wizarding details! I can picture his shopping basket perfectly -- he's the quintessential bachelor.

>>“Love isn’t a dress,” Maddie said after a bit. “You can’t tug at it and yank at the zipper until you make it fit.:<<

Maddie has some really great lines in this chapter, this being one of them. :) She's a great steading presence in Rosmerta's life.

>>...a beautiful blue shawl Abby had made<<

Yay!!! Abby!!! :D

I LOVE the image of the girls draped all over Hagrid -- LOL!

>>Remus drew his breath in sharply, his hand strangling the neck of one of the Butterbeer bottle. His expression didn’t change much, save for a spark of anger in his eyes that flared briefly and then was replaced by raw grief. It was as if a knife had retraced the route of a long-healed scar, drawing fresh blood.<<

Wow, that's a beautifully written paragraph. As always, I remain terribly envious of your skill. :)

~Katinka

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87574Chapter: 4
Oh, Rosmerta! The feelings Rosmerta has after fainting are so reallistic. And Thomas was really very kind to her, I like that.

Great comparison, although I wish the Cannons would win just to see a big smile from Ron:

It sounded like the Dementors weren’t going anywhere until they found Black, and from the way Harold was talking, catching Black seemed about as likely as the Chudley Cannons winning the League Championship

The reference to Maddie and Rosmerta being classics, vintage, and collectors items was priceless! And the scene on the Quidditch pitch was cute.

I wonder what Rosmerta's patronus will be. A bird maybe? Like an owl! But I like your idea better:

I bet that’s what my Patronus is, she thought as she put away her purchases and got ready to meet Maddie, a giant Gladrags shopping bag that I can use to pummel the Dementors with.

I loved the interaction between Rosmerta and Sirius, as well. He seemed so- sweet and lonely.

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87559Chapter: 3
I love how Maddie is so ruling over the women. It sounds exactly right. In character too, but of course that wouldn't be hard for you to achieve, seeing that you made her. Nice job, nevertheless. And Rosmerta's reaction to the notice of the dementors patrolling the street was perfect. The situations in your story seem so lifelike, I'm almost convinced they are! Oh, how fun it would be to visit...

Ha! Great:

Of all the things to turn a man on, Rosmerta never would have thought bad words would be it.

And I really enjoyed the scene when Rosmerta went to get Floo Powder. For some reason that I don't know why, the part about glittery powder just made the whole entrance part more enjoyable. This part, I mean: "generous scoop of the glittery powder". I don't know why I like it so much!

And her thoughts about the regulars being her brothers, was so touching. I feel like a regular myself by now. Feel like writing me in? (kidding)

I really like the idea of there being a library in Hogsmeade. I've never thought of that before.

How sweet:

Nothing in the world approximated the smell of love quite like roses and like all young girls intoxicated by love, she wanted the entire world to feel what she was feeling.

It's too bad that her husband was a loser, cheater, and a dud.

Oh, how horrible! I feel terrible. I wish I knew a ton of curses to kill Ares but I don't and I won't waste the review space with a bunch of swears. All I can do is offer Rosmerta a big Hershey's bar and a pat on the head, the poor dear.

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87548Chapter: 2
Okay, so I really should be either cleaning or working on my own story, but reading this is way too much fun. It should be banned, or something, otherwise I'll never stop. Good thing not too many chapters are up, otherwise I'll still be here, twelve hours later! I like how you incorporate the real events of the books into your own story. They don't dominate the storyline but fit in nicely, as it would have happened in real life. It is not as if the life of Rosmerta revolved around Hogwarts. I like that. I absolutely loved the interaction between Rosmerta and Ron! It was great! And the rat going down her dress... shocking!

I loved this bit:

So I’m irresistible to both man and beast, she thought as she sashayed back to the bar. And after all these years, I guess I’m still only attracting rats and toads.

I'm trying to come up with a witty saying about another man down her dress but I can't think of any.

And this line was a good touch. Really nicely done:

Rosmerta wanted to touch those robes to see if they were real. Pick them and press them between the pages of a book, preserve them and save them from fading and wilting away in dark closets.

The dementor visit was terrible! Very well done, however. I liked Rosmerta's reactions and Russell's actions towards her. And I love the fact that the Marauders made firebeer.

Oh! and I like all the chapter names. They really fit in with the story name and the occurences in each chapter. Good work!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87541Chapter: 6
Wonderful new chapter :)

Reviewer: mdelaurDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87538Chapter: 1
Hah! I loved this part:

“Merlin knows the only cheerful thought I could muster was the idea of me returning to my bed. I’m surprised I didn’t produce a pillow for my Patronus, although that wouldn’t have been a bad thing necessarily. It could have smothered Iris for me...."

Great line, really sets the tone:

“And so then the goblin says, ‘I told you bag of gold not shag a troll!’” There was a roar of laughter from the men at the bar.

And I liked the reference of "bridle your kelpies". Too funny. And Rosmerta was so sweet to Hagrid. I simply love her!

I liked this part too, except that it is so sad....:

From seedling to blossom. Her old house motto. All her former classmates had taken those words to heart. They were the ones flourishing out there in the world whereas she had applied those words to her garden, her tavern, her house—everything except herself.

Overall, great chapter! Your writing really flows, almost as if both of us are there, you commenting on the actions of the characters. Good work.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87526Chapter: 6
Yeah! Another chapter is one of my most favorite fics!

Excellent job with her being questioned over the knife. Never thought of that possiblity at all and it was just perfect. I liked the part of her wondering what name to give.

He laughed
-The best part of the fic. A great transition and I found it very creepy.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87473Chapter: 6
Poor Rosmerta. Her arrest was harrowingly described, first her fear, confusion and anger, and then her horror when she knew that her knife had been used in the attack on Ron. I felt so sorry for her.

I couldn't help feeling sorry for young Severus in the flashback scene too. Poor charmless young git. If he'd been even the slightest bit polite to Rosmerta she probably would have warmed up to him. But it doesn't seem as if poor Severus could find his softer side with both hands and a road map.

It's a pleasure to see Hester! And Maddie too! And the scene where little Miranda befriended Beaky was very bittersweet. Beaky handled himself fine around the little girl... if only the committee had been there to see.

Poor Rosmerta again. I loved her thought when she heard that Harry had been able to work the Patronus. "Even a thirteen year old can do it." It's easy to understand her frustration.

Reviewer: Lorelei LynnDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87454Chapter: 6
I'm enjoying your stories vey much. The flashbacks to the young marauders are both well-imagined and in character. (The settling of the bet at the Lair in the previous chapter was great!)

Also, I hadn't noticed until I fast-forwarded to the latest installment that all the chapter titles are weather-related. Very nice touch.

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2004-06-17
Reviewid: 87451Chapter: 1
Your words always sparkle so much, especially your dialogue. I am particularly fond of the first scene where Rosmerta chats with Ron and company, and the scene where she remembers the Marauders and Snape.

Perhaps the best written scene in terms of tension is the scene where Rosmerta is taken in for questioning about the knife. That one had me on the edge of my seat. You write masterfully there, and you surprise your readers. Rosmerta's guilt is a good touch.

And I have to say again how fantastic your Hagrid is.

Thanks for a real treat, Lee!

Catherine

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78684Chapter: 5
Ok, never mind that last comment. I see year 4 and 5 are already in the works. But mind continuing this one? It doesn't have a proper end yet.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-04-14
Reviewid: 78682Chapter: 5
Wow, that's an incredibly well done insight on Rosmerta. One can feel how the character evolved from a few glances in canon to a real person in your story. Great job, go on with it! And maybe do year 4 too after you're finished.

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2004-04-06
Reviewid: 77445Chapter: 4
>her skull was trying to eject her eyeballs from their sockets.

Ew! Now there's some imagery!

I'm liking Thomas - he's sweet to Rosmerta without mentally pawing at her, like so many of the guys do. Poor girl. With her history, the Dementors sure do a job on her.

>From what I gather, the Dementors met their match in Mr. and Mrs. Malfoy. ”

LOLOL! That's great - and I love his mother's name. Hellaine. Perfect.

I love Maddie and Ros' relationship. They are great friends, and the quiet conversation about the Lair is wonderful. That poor vampire!

The scene of Ros' 'happy memory' was gorgeously written - it shows how impossibly intertwined her happy and sad memories really are, and how much sadness from her past she's carrying around with her under the surface.

>“A small gillywater, please,” she replied, eyeing the warlocks.

This made me laugh out loud. I can just *imagine* Minerva giving the warlocks the hairy eyeball.

The school vs. townies vibe you have running through your Hogsmeade fics is such a fantastic detail, and makes the story so rich in sense of place.

>Yeah, ah…I borrowed this from my darling younger brother.”

Heh. That is *so* Sirius. I like the depth you give him here, and Rosmerta's recognition of someone with a similar background to herself.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-03-26
Reviewid: 75901Chapter: 5
Catching up on my reading here...

Lovely chapter as usual :) I really appreciated the backstory between Russell and Ros, though I kind of cringed during the drunken scene. I'm so glad that Russell gentlemanly enough to stop at the crucial point, and that they managed to get over the awkwardness and stay friends. I'd say their relationship would be more relaxed now, actually, now that they both know what it would be like to "be with" the other.

Maddie's wisdom was wonderful, too. I liked her "love isn't like a dress" analogy...oh, and the story of Sirius and Remus' surprise number at the Lair! LOL! I'd love to see an outtake of that one!

And I really enjoyed the Christmas party scenes. I'm sure Hagrid had a fine time hanging out with Maddie's girls, and it was nice of Megan and Patrick to show up and have a happy Christmas. I especially loved how the girls spoiled the little boy so ^_^

I'm so glad I finally read this chapter :) Off to read "Fumbling Toward Ecstasy" while I wait for you to update again!

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2004-03-25
Reviewid: 75849Chapter: 3
>had even employed a female werewolf years ago, although that hadn’t lasted long.

Hee! I love how you illustrate the weird and mundane problems of wizarding businesspeople!

>her favorite pair of brown leather boots—tough but supple, broken-in from years of use but radiating comfort and durability.

That's our Remus! I have a distinct yen for boots.

>“Oh, I’m sorry,” Jasmine whispered. “We didn’t talk about you.”

Heh - no kidding! But I loved Jasmine's nonstop chatter - very strong characterization in a small space of time.

What is so great about this chapter is just how awful dealing with the Dementors close up and constantly is for the Hogsmeade citizens - the kids at Hogwarts are shielded from them, so it is really the grownups trying to live with them day to day that are the worst off.

Poor Russell! I love the way you depict grown-up conflicts and emotions.


> I just hope there’s no…struggle when they catch Black like there was with the Muggles.”

Oooh, that is an awful thought!

>Robert Scorpios.

LOLOL!!! Another 1980s/1990s General Hospital fan, I see!

Lovely descriptions in this chapter, and lots of wonderful interactions between characters. I'm really enjoying this.

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2004-03-24
Reviewid: 75820Chapter: 2
Love the change in Sirius' expression from Rosmerta's memory of his teasing lip-curl to his poster sneer.

I love the way you subtly expand the wizard world and its ramifications through Rosmerta's character. You don't need a whole lot of exposition to get across what you're telling us - we see it through Ros' reactions and thoughts about events.

>The sparks formed an arrow, which pointed in the direction of the warlocks

Hee! Magical rudeness!

Poor Ron. Well, he'll get better, the young lad.

>“Ron! I’d get in trouble. And besides,” she added, looking slightly disappointed, “we don’t start human Transfiguration until sixth year.”

LOLOLOL!!! So very Hermione. And am snorting over Pettigrew's exploration of poor Rosmerta's cleavage. Clever Peter!

>From the cluster of people around the kitchen door came the chorus of “Expecto Patronum,” followed by a silver shield of animal guardians

Very cool image!

Love the flashback that ends the chapter. I like the way this fic is bringing together past and present so powerfully - unlike the kids' generation, Ros and her people remember how it was back before Voldy's rise to power.

Reviewer: mommacatDate: 2004-03-24
Reviewid: 75818Chapter: 5
Poor Remus .... perfect characterization (at least how I imagine him reacting).

Remus isn't the only one you've written perfectly! Your Rosmerta is so perfect, there is no way I can imagine her as just the owner of The Three Broomsticks after reading your stories (of course I have to finish High Spirits <mommacat ducks head in shame> ). She is now a real live person.

Your characterization of Maddie & her girls is terrific as well. As stereotypical the girls actions may be, they do all have distinct personality traits that many authors (and I'm not just talking about fanfic authors here) wouldn't bother including.

There are too many good bits to even try to mention them all. I can just see Hagrid bringing Beaky along for Christmas dinner!

And poor Russell. Is he ever going to find that special someone? Maybe in your OoTP time frame fic?

Love Your Work! Keep up the great writing!

Reviewer: DanielleDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75503Chapter: 5
Thank you for this wonderful story! It's so refreshing to get a well written, insightful alternate point of view. Using Madam Rosmerta was perfect - I always thought she was wonderful, and we didn't see enough of her in the books - and the story is a great reminder that everyone has a past, when it's so easy to just see Madam Rosmerta as an "always was, always will be" of The Three Broomsticks. I can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75453Chapter: 1
Hi Deva,

Thanks for reading and reviewing. I would have sent you a PM or email regarding your post, but I didn't have the contact information.

I do realize that producing a corporal Patronus is difficult. I suppose I didn't make it clear enough that Flitwick had been giving lessons all summer. Also, remember that the villagers are all full-grown witches and wizards and their lessons are taking place in a comfortable tavern with no pressure. Unlike Harry, they're not learning to produce a Patronus in a fearful situation. The villagers are also having varying degrees of successfulness with their ability to produce a Patronus. Maddie, Rosmerta, and Miss Wicks aren't able to produce a full one and Cleo Bellmar's snake disappears after a few seconds. Prof. Flitwick even says:

“Those of you who haven’t produced a full Patronus yet, don’t worry. You’re all making splendid progress. All you need is a little more practice.”

So, even though many of the villagers are able to produce corporal Patronuses, I did not mean to give the impression that this was an easy task. Also, in reading OotP, you'll notice that many of the member of the DA club, including Cho, who couldn't even remember the Disarming spell at the first meeting, are able to produce a Patronus after one lesson.

Anyway, thank you for reading! Hope you enjoy the rest of the story.

Violet Azure

Reviewer: DevaDate: 2004-03-22
Reviewid: 75426Chapter: 1
Sorry for the critism, I relaize that writing a fic is not easy but producing a Patronus (corpeal) is supposed to be really hard t do- something that even grown widzards struggle with. It always annoys me when people make it into a common thing that lots of people can do having only attempted the spell several times- it took Harry weeks taking lessons from Lupin. When the villagers of Hogsmeade are producing them like crazy it kind of takes away from the novelty of Harry's stag. I know that nothing can be done now about the first chapter but just something to think about in the future. Otherwise Awesome fic.

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 75004Chapter: 4
This chapter is really incredible. There are a lot of great images and we get some very interesting insights into Rosmerta.

I'll start with all the little things I enjoyed. Her examination by Thomas was kind of fun--orient her to person, place, and time--good touch. The fact that Sirius's relatives were questioned. That really makes sense. I'm sure they Aurors had someone watching their homes all the time. I also liked seeing Rosmerta's memory of her mother taking care of her. Once again, I liked the fact that Maddie takes care of people who are marginalized in society. Lots of men are willing to use them, but wouldn't support them in any other way.

The flying scene is really interesting. I'm trying to communicate how I intepret Ros's thoughts. As she re-lived being with Darren, I could almost feel this sort of reckless denial. I could also feel how she surrendered control because she knew that this was inevitable. On the one hand, she probably used sex to her advantage, but when it came down to brass tacks, she had to let go of her control because that's just the way it was. It's a really intersting look at the way she was dealing with her husband's infidelity. You really showcase your writing as you give us her interiors while she's re-living this memory.

Rosmerta's exchange with Rom is really cute, but the highlight of that part of the chapter is seeing her thoughts and responses to the material from Prisoner of Azkaban. You did such a great job of giving us the story from her pov--down to the Christmas tree being moved!

Her memories of Sirius were also interesting and very touching. I'm sure he liked having someone who could relate to the divisions between family members. I'm sure many people find themselves contemplating where their loyalties would lie when they are basically estranged from their families. IT's really sad, isn't it?

Another great chapter.

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 74998Chapter: 3
Again, this chapter is just wonderful. First, I like having missing moments filled in. We know that Hagrid tells Ros what happened at the school on Halloween, but it feels complete seeing the whole story. I think you really handled the fallout from Sirius&#8217;s break-in very well. After all, where else would the Dementors look but in the town? And I think Rosmerta&#8217;s reservations about Professor Dumbledore not telling the people of Hogsmeade about the break-in are well-taken. After all, they suffered from the aftermath.

I really like Maddie&#8217;s social worker streak. She really is the safety net for some of the people she has working for her. The scene with Professor Flitwick and Remus is full of humor and fun. Flitwick is a great teacher, with a good sense of humor and I like the way he and Remus aren&#8217;t scandalized by their students. It was really touching to see Rosmerta&#8217;s reaction to Remus. Great touch. This scene is one of my faves of the whole story!

The final scene is really amazing and gut-wrenching. No wonder poor Rosmerta can&#8217;t conjure a Patronus. She had such a terrible memory of her husband to endure. You really conveyed his anger, her fear, and the enormity of his actions in her memory. I wish he&#8217;d been arrested for it!

Great chapter again.

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 74996Chapter: 2
I&#8217;m playing catch up today and I wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed this chapter again. This is a great chapter for a mom with a teenaged boy to read! I enjoyed seeing the boys&#8217; reactions to Rosmerta. Scabbers&#8217; little adventure was pretty funny. (and creepy!)

Your stories have such wonderful interiors. Rosmerta scolds herself for joking in her own mind about &#8220;going out with a bang&#8221;, but don&#8217;t we all think things we would never say out loud? I like the idea that she does exactly what I do&#8212;think the outrageous, but keep it to herself! (at least most of the time!)

You have lots of fun images and memories in this chapter, like the excited students, for example. I think you manage to capture the thrill of the field trip or outing. It made me think back to high school. We were allowed to have lunch out once a month as seniors (we didn&#8217;t even have to wear our uniforms). You would think they were letting us go to Paris or something. Those were fun days all right!

The other very touching memory I enjoyed was Rosmerta&#8217;s memory of her mother getting ready for parties. I can&#8217;t speak for other little girls, but beauty rituals were very interesting when I was a child. The memory highlights the sadness at not having contact with her mother, but you can also feel a little resentment on Ros&#8217;s part. Her mom had an agenda and that had to get old fast for an independent spirit like Rosmerta. (Elizabeth)

I enjoy Rosmerta as a character. She's really become a friend now.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2004-03-15
Reviewid: 74804Chapter: 5
I'm glad you mentioned that this chapter was up in your forum posts! I didn't know you'd posted a new chapter and was delighted to learn about Chapter Five!

I admire Rosmerta's deft way of handling Russel. She manages not to encourage his attentions while keeping his friendship.

Poor Hagrid. "His whole body sagged as if his muscles were undergoing rapid atrophy. “Dumbledore never should’ve hired me.”

Hagrid's warm friendship with Rosmerta is plainly a source of strength and comfort.

The bit where Rosmerta listens to the Professors' conversations was perfectly handled. You captured that 'not an insider' feeling really well. "The secret language of Academia." The descriptions of the slightly tipsy professors reminiscing about how quickly the youngsters grow up was poignant and amusing. And Maddie's account of Showgirl!Sirius made me laugh out loud.

Rosmerta's abbreviated encounter with Russel was handled with sensitivity. His lonely home, as seen through her eyes, touched me too. And Russel got my respect when he behaved like a gentleman towards Rosmerta and saw her home safely after all.

The party was a pure delight! I was a bit nervous when Hagrid said he was bringing Beaky, but Beaky behaved well. (Loved the interaction between Beaky and Queenie.) Maddie's girls were certainly very high spirited... their flirting with both Russel and Hagrid were fun to read about, though I could sympathize with Rosmerta's irritation.

“Oooh—the Dark Lord’s here!” she imagined them squealing. “Aren’t you just the wickedest, scariest, most evil wizard ever! Can I pet your snake?”

I LOVED this line when I saw it in your forum posts, and it's even better in the story!

Poor Lupin. His reaction to the "dementors' kiss" argument was poignant.

Looking forward to your next chapter!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-03-13
Reviewid: 74412Chapter: 5
The next day Rosmerta woke with a pounding headache, a burning thirst, and an intense need to use the loo...Her stomach turned at the idea of food and her head pounded in agreement
-that sums it up nicely. Poor Russell. I liked him more and more throughout the story at the same time I felt more and more sorry for him.

You have a great character in Maddie.

Queenie trilled
-thought she had to be charmed into silence...Ahh, thats why. Nice touch.

“Oooh—the Dark Lord’s here!” she imagined them squealing. “Aren’t you just the wickedest, scariest, most evil wizard ever! Can I pet your snake?”
-Too funny. But a client is a client after all. (Why, what a beautiful silver hand! However did you get it?)

A KISS FOR BLACK!
-nice job with the article. Maybe change it to "Save Our Souls" SOS.

Another wonderful chapter. Looking forward to the next.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-03-13
Reviewid: 74381Chapter: 4
Rosmerta grimaced; she was all too familiar with how to do that.
-Uuugh. No wonder she has trouble with Dementors.

“You’d be surprised how far some men will go for a little entertainment. Soul sucking demons are no obstacle if there’s a pretty girl to be had.”
-Hah!

a giant Gladrags shopping bag that I can use to pummel the Dementors with
-Double Hah!

“Here.” She slid the bottle of firewhiskey down to them. “Pour your own drinks and stop bothering me! What can I get for you, Professor?” she asked in a much pleasanter tone to a rather startled Minerva McGonagall.
-I just love the job you have done with Rosemerta

Even Arthur Weasley was a little mad,
-Hmmph. (funny though)

This was a great alternate view. Thanks for writing it.

Reviewer: Ara Kane, part 2Date: 2004-02-09
Reviewid: 69984Chapter: 4
Rosmerta's flashbacks of Darren were interesting, but I would have been surprised if she managed to produce a Patronus from that. I'm very curious about the memory that will eventually trigger her Patronus, and what her Patronus will be! (I wouldn't mind if it turned out to be a Gladrags shopping bag...or how about a stiletto heel?)

The pub scene from Ros's POV was nice, too. I liked the little details of Fudge peeking down her neckline and McGonagall being disapproving :) Ros's thoughts about Hogwarts' being off-limits to the Dementors were nice and realistic, too -- she's human and she can't help but be annoyed about something like that! (She also treated Ron so nicely...what a gal!)

And finally, her memories of Sirius Black were great. I love how you portrayed him -- fun-loving, loyal to his friends...and also concerned about his brother. Although canon says that Regulus was the favored son, it didn't necessarily mean that their parents truly loved him. As you said, all that inbreeding must have touched those people in the head! (Fortunately Arthur's madness is a *nice* one!)

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2004-02-09
Reviewid: 69983Chapter: 4
Hurray, you've updated; and hurray, I'm reading it!

> "Rosmerta let out a snort of laughter. Her temples throbbed to let her know that laughing was A Very Bad Idea." -- *snert* Sorry. The phrasing was cute. But I can empathize with poor Ros!

> If the headache persist -- erm, beta-reader moment: should be "persists" :)

The Dementors met their match in the Malfoys? LOL! Wonder what kind of feelings those two stirred up in the Dementors! They were probably so snobby the Dementors couldn't feed off their fear -- or despaired of ever reaching the Malfoys' exalted social standing!

I enjoyed the mention of Sirius' family. It was nice seeing PoA and OotP collide! :) I also enjoyed Maddie bursting in Ros's house -- what a sweetheart. She makes me think of a dark-haired, British Mae West! (Those chocolates sound good, too :9 )

I liked Maddie's reminiscences, too, even if they were sad. It added a touch of realism and put across some very strong social messages as well.

I'm afraid I have to cut this review off at this point -- have work to do! Be back soon!

Reviewer: lbdawgerDate: 2004-02-04
Reviewid: 69497Chapter: 4
I just love reading your stories about Rosmerta!

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2004-02-04
Reviewid: 69426Chapter: 4
Thanks, Lee, for a good read. I like Rosmerta's flashback, and the solid dialogue and interiors. You really are a very skilled writer.

Catherine

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2004-02-04
Reviewid: 69417Chapter: 4
Brilliant, as always! You blend canon and original characters so seamlessly. I especially loved the description of Rosmerta' particular individual reaction to the Dementor: "Next to a Dementor, she was keenly aware of how insignificant she was, how powerless and stupid and untalented."

So simple, yet powerful, it's impossible for anyone NOT to be able to identify with her.

Maddie continues to shine. Her warmth, the way she cares for everyone around her, particularly Rosmerta and her girls.

This exchange between Maddie and Rosmerta delighted me:


“Merlin forbid! We’re…experienced. Vintage, some might say.”



“Classics.”



“Collector’s items.”

:-D

Another brilliant bit:

"Miss Fletcher was a Squib and Rosmerta learned at a young age the difference between those who could do magic and those who couldn’t. Dealings with her parents had taught her that she was more likely to get her way when she acted nicely, so she was usually well behaved. Still, she knew that Miss Fletcher couldn’t really do anything to her without magic, so she had managed to get away with all sorts of ghastly behavior when she was a girl."

Poor Miss Fletcher. I've always wondered what sort of positions most Squibs hold in the wizarding world, and nanny makes so much sense.

LOVED seeing Rosmerta's POV on the scene from PoA!!! Her reactions to Fudge and McGonagall were perfectly handled. Wonderful contrast between her behavior and what was going on in her mind. And she had a point about the professors in their ivory tower. She was magnificent, expertly getting information out of Fudge. And when she learns what she wanted to know about why Black is presumed to be so dangerous, her reactions (inward and outward) are real, warm and very human.

Her memories of a younger Sirius were poignant, showing how much the two of them have in common. You portrayed Sirius beautifully. (I especially liked the fact that he was jealous of James' growing closeness with Lily.)

But this bit, with Ron, was my favorite:

“Whadda yeh say to gettin’ with a real man?” He leered at her while the rest of them pounded their glasses on the bar top and howled with laughter. Ron turned bright red and became very interested in examining his trainers.

“Well I would, but like you said, he’s a bit young for me,” Rosmerta shot back. “Guess I’ll have to wait a few years. Here you are, dear,” she said in a kinder tone, turning back to Ron and passing him three full tankards. “Fifteen Sickles, please.”

Rosmerta's an excellent judge when it comes to men, and she knows a fine one when she sees him!

Reviewer: Three Sickles ShortDate: 2004-02-04
Reviewid: 69401Chapter: 4
*LOVE* the ending. Beautiful use of canon. You do such a great job of having Rosmerta know enough to be sharp but not so much that she becomes implausibly omniscient.

I also really like the flashback to Sirius. His last few years of school must have been pretty rough, and I'm glad that, in your corner of the Potterverse, there was at least one adult around who understood.

I hadn't really thought about it, but it isn't really fair that the Dementors were given pretty much free run of Hogsmeade. Rosmerta's fully justified in being a little resentful of the double standard that keeps them out of Hogwarts but in any place else that they want.

Oh, and it's Calvino, right?

TSS

Reviewer: kirixchiDate: 2003-12-22
Reviewid: 64321Chapter: 1
This was extremely well written so far. I'm intrigued. I love the glimpse into Rosmerta's personality. I can't wait to read the other chapters.

Reviewer: TonyDate: 2003-12-02
Reviewid: 61578Chapter: 3
The whole lesson with Flitwick, Lupin, Maddie and all those girls, was great. Definitely interesting to hear more about 'Maddie's girls" So when will Rosmerta be able to do a proper patronus?
The Gilderoy Lokhart line was priceless!

And yet again, poor Russell.

Loved your version of the Hogsmeade Library, if only the library around here was like that.

Damn Ares Hardgrove.

Some things if rogot to mention about chapter two:

One more of Dumbledore's mistakes.

I don't think I could bring myself to ariting something so nasty. (in refrence to bast**d wormtail.

Reviewer: TonyDate: 2003-12-02
Reviewid: 61575Chapter: 2
Just a few things, I decided to do my reviews by chapter, just to make it a little easier.

Nice going on making the Dementors smell. I never thought about that.
In the books, the dementors always made the lights go out whenever they entered a room, just a note. But that does not mean that the lights might stay on sometimes.

When I read Rosmerts thinking that Sirius Black might be innocent, I thought that there are to many stories that have this happen, didn't anyone believe a thing that the Ministry did?
It didn't detract my enjoyment of your story, it was only a thought that popped into my head.

Rosmerta meeting Ron was well done. Though I got a little confused when she said "that's five for five with those weasley boys". I thought shouldn't it be 'six for six', but eventually
I realized that Percy would never not pay for his drinks, especially with Penelope around.

That little bast**d! Is all I can say about wormtail.

I second what most other people have said about Russell.

Reviewer: TonyDate: 2003-12-02
Reviewid: 61572Chapter: 1
I'm acually getting around to review one of your stories!

Flitwick was wonderfully cheerful.

While you do write a very good Hagrid, especially in "High Spirits". When
Hagrid was tlaking aboout the dementors and his time in azkaban, I could
see Hagrid talking that way. But in the books he doesn't say "Twas", I
think it should probably be: " 'was". It just sounds a little bit more
like Hagrid. Another thing about this conversation, it seemed like Hagrid
just powered through talking about these things, he might do that, but I
don't think I would have written it that way. I would have slowed it down
a just a little bit.

Aside from these mionr details, your story was a perfect match to your
earlier story "High Spirits". I should review that story as well . . .
Maybe when I check to see what you said at the end, about Rosmerta and Max.

Reviewer: marie78956Date: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60662Chapter: 3
I was so happy when you started this story! You really manage to catch the mood of Hogsmeade. I loved Maddie the School Teacher, trying to drum manners into her charges heads. The Lair was great. Now I’m curious about the pale girl with the dark hair.

My favorite lines
“Well, look on the bright side; it’s not as if we have to eat carrot sticks and Brussels sprouts to feel better. Then I’d really hate those Dementors.”

Of all the things to turn a man on, Rosmerta never would have thought bad words would be it.

Death sounded an awful lot like Robert Scorpios. And if Death were coming for her, then it probably wouldn’t care one way or the other if it had startled her first.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-11-18
Reviewid: 60500Chapter: 3
Finally, a chance to sit down and write a proper review of this!

With her insecurities and self-deprecating humour, Rosmerta is very easy to identify with:

>>It was rather humiliating to realize that the only other people in town who couldn’t produce a Patronus besides her were a bunch of showgirls.

And as for child-bearing hips -- I hear ya, sister! ;)

The scene at the Lair was a lot of fun, and easy to visualize:

>>Rosmerta wondered what had happened to the rest of the girl’s robes; they only came to her knee. Several other girls had apparently forgotten the bottom of their robes as well. Rosmerta felt down right matronly in her robes, even though they were slit almost up to her knee.

Ha! That how I feel when I see teenagers at the mall nowadays. ;) You've left us with a few mysteries surrounding the girls, and I'm interested to see what you do with those.

This has to be one of the nicest descriptions of Remus I've ever read. It makes me purr happily:

>>He must be another member of the staff, most likely the new Defense professor, but Rosmerta couldn’t believe how young he looked, despite the gray in his hair and the lines around his eyes. He was just on the other side of scrawny, slender but strong like a willow branch. He reminded Rosmerta of her favorite pair of brown leather boots—tough but supple, broken-in from years of use but radiating comfort and durability.

I get a kick out of how indefatigably cheerful Flitwick is, even while teaching lessons in a brothel. ;) How unfailinging helpful and polite! It was also fun to see the girls vying for the attentions of his hunky assistant.

Okay, this is absolutely priceless:

>>“Gilderoy Lockhart?” one of the girls muttered amid much snickering. “Wasn’t he the one who thought we should be paying him—”

*snert!*

Oh, I feel so badly for Russell, even though I know it's not meant to be. ::coughMaxHoppercough:: Maybe you'll find a nice lass gor him at some point in the future?

I had to sniffle at this:

>>And there had been an episode when Black was older, sixteen or so, when he had snuck out of school and come by the tavern alone. They had talked, and Rosmerta had been struck by the profound melancholia that clung to the boy like a second skin. Even twenty years later she still remembered it. But then again, what teenage boy didn’t wallow in self-indulgent moodiness at some point?

The final flashback seen is absolutely chilling. My pulse was pounding as if I was actually there. Well done!

~Katinka

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-11-13
Reviewid: 59892Chapter: 3
Ooh... the suspense...

And to think. I was going to leave a happy little review "I laughed so hard at the Gilderoy-'we ought to be paying him!' bit" "and I loved the butterbeer juggleing". But I don't think that's possible now- it's just so good- poor Rosmearta. :-(

By the way... I'm very interested in finding out what the story is behind the Remus/Serena mutual aversion.

Can't wait to see the next chapter!

Reviewer: belitaDate: 2003-11-12
Reviewid: 59854Chapter: 3
>>You've got a good soul, love, and I won't see it sucked out by demons<<

Yet another brilliant chapter! You have a great talent for mixing funny and charming pieces in with the chilling and scary parts of the story. The scenes blend together so well because of this.

Smile inducing moments:
>Professor Flitwick toddled into the club, waving. Rosmerta wondered if someone had cast a permanent cheering charm on him
>Gilderoy Lockhart? Wasn't he the one who thought we should be paying him-
>Remus juggling butterbeer bottles : D

And my favorite passage, just for the sheer beauty of it:
>>A sudden flurry of snowflakes brought Rosmerta out of her ruminations. The sky had turned a dull silver and a flurry of white fell from above. An uncanny quiet settled over the village, as if the snow was muffling all sound. She pulled her broom to a stop, letting it hover in the air, wondering if time had stopped and she was the only person in the world<<
And this, just before we get a hard core Ares abuse scene. Grrrr. He makes me so angry.

Thank you for another wonderful chapter.
: D

Reviewer: Delleve MiststoneDate: 2003-11-12
Reviewid: 59785Chapter: 1
That was great. Lot's of wonderful details and dialouge. I don't know if you're intending it, but it seems as if you're hinting something with Hagrid and Rosmerta.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59765Chapter: 1
Poor Rosmerta! The pain in her past makes her especially vulnerable to the dementors. You show their effect on her in a shudderingly vivid way.

As always, you've done a lovely job with the denizens of Hogsmeade. And this is one of the very best descriptions of both Lupin and Flitwick that I've ever read:

Rosmerta wondered if someone had cast a permanent Cheering Charm on him. Behind him was a tall, handsome man who looked a bit tired, but just as sharp and alert as Flitwick. Rosmerta couldn’t remember seeing him before, even though he, like Isis, seemed vaguely familiar. He must be another member of the staff, most likely the new Defense professor, but Rosmerta couldn’t believe how young he looked, despite the gray in his hair and the lines around his eyes. He was just on the other side of scrawny, slender but strong like a willow branch. He reminded Rosmerta of her favorite pair of brown leather boots—tough but supple, broken-in from years of use but radiating comfort and durability."

This bit made me LOL:

“Gilderoy Lockhart?” one of the girls muttered amid much snickering. “Wasn’t he the one who thought we should be paying him—”

I also enjoyed meeting Maddie's girls. Jasmine was characterized especially well with her "you knows." ("Rosmerta knew and she wished this girl wouldn’t ask her every other sentence if she did." LOL!)She's an appealing blend of brash + vulnerable.

Selena's reaction to Lupin (and vice-versa) was interesting... is there a such thing as a were-cat?

Kettle-bubblers is a marvelous phrase.

Thanks for another wonderful chapter!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59705Chapter: 3
Professor Dumbledore didn’t even tell Robert, at least not the details.
-True. I always thought Dumbledore passed on at least something of what went on, but Book 5 showed how little he does.

I nearly ate an entire carton of ice cream this weekend.
-Hah! Maybe that is why Peter is so fat.

Maddie
-You created a greate character there.

..they only came to her knee.
Hah! How scandalous!

like naughty schoolgirls
a curvy brunette
-Hmm. Has Maddie heard of the internet? Does she have a site?

Lillith and Delia
-Good names.

Rosmerta wondered if someone had cast a permanent Cheering Charm on him
-Made me laugh.

“Wasn’t he the one who thought we should be paying him—”
-Good one.

Flitwick made the task a bit more difficult by first casting a Chilling Charm and then a Melancholy Curse
-Nicely done. No boggart required.

The trees clawed at the sky with their bony fingers and the entire world looked washed out, leeched of color.
-Very descriptive.

What (thump) do I have to do (thump) to you (thump) to make you un(thump)der(thump)stand(thump)?”
-Wow. Very nasty and well done flashback.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59673Chapter: 3
Another great chapter! I'm so glad to see this was updated.

I enjoyed the funny bits -- particularly Ros's thoughts on "childbearing hips", Remus juggling Butterbeers, and magical body enhancements -- and the more serious ones, too, like Jasmine's story about how Maddie found her, ad the fascinating tidbit about Elizabeth I being a witch. (So she was a Muggle-born, then? Hee!) Ros's Dementor-induced memory was chilling, too *shivers*

I didn't like the scene between Ros and Russell, tho. I wanted to scream "Get your paws off her! She belongs to Max!" :-p

Reviewer: Three Sickles ShortDate: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59640Chapter: 3
LOVED this description of Remus: "He reminded Rosmerta of her favorite pair of brown leather boots—tough but supple, broken-in from years of use but radiating comfort and durability." Mmmm, Remus.... Aw, and he used to juggle butterbeer bottles. Multi-talented, he is.

I was giggling out loud at the wizarding song titles, especially "You're the One That I Haunt." Too funny.

Selena's a vampire, isn't she?

A dragon patronus for Flitwick, eh? I hope we find out why; there must be quite a story to go along with that one.

"Kettle-bubblers" on the WWN; giggle. I really love your little verbal touches that connect the wizarding world and the Muggle one.

Interesting to have Madam Pince and Filch have similar ideas about discipline. The dark side of Irma Pince....

I had missed that Ares was physically abusive on occasion; either my memory of your previous stories has gotten patchy, or you're amazing at holding information back until precisely the right moment. In any case, the flashback scene is really powerful.

I'm still hooked!

TSS

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2003-10-20
Reviewid: 57132Chapter: 2
This is a great story. I didn't like the start much, but somewhere in chapter 1 I became fascinated, and chapter 2 is even better. It is an interesting point of view, and I came to like Madam Rosmerta more while reading this story.

You use excellent descriptions. Madam Rosmerta's thoughts are all very believable. The mysteries you're hinting at, keep the story even more interesting. I'm certainly going to read the next chapters!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-10-11
Reviewid: 56259Chapter: 2
I love, love, love the depth and richness you give to Rosmerta and her world! It always feels like I'm eating a piece of thick chocolate cake. :)

>>Rosmerta was surprised the woman had even done something so human as to give birth; she would have thought Vega’s offspring would have to hatch from eggs.<<

Heh, heh -- take that, Mrs. Black!

>>Something whizzed past her ear and exploded in a shower of red sparks. The sparks formed an arrow, which pointed in the direction of the warlocks.<<

What a great visual touch! Those pesky warlocks. As always, the friendship between Hagrid and Rosmerta is a treat to read. I still want to kick Fudge for sending Hagrid to Azkaban.

>>“Well, hello there. You must be the youngest Weasley boy, yes? You look just like your brother, Bill.” Rosmerta leaned over the bar to make herself heard, unaware that the modest amount of cleavage she flashed was enough to send a thirteen-year old boy into a state of shock.<<

This scene is HILARIOUS! Poor Ron, a slave to a thirteen year-old boy's hormones.

>>She let out a gay little laugh and straightened up, depriving him of a direct view of heaven.<<

At least Rosmerta takes it easy on him. ;) Ron's easy to forgive, but not PETER:

>>Rosmerta yelped and clutched her chest. Revulsion swept over her skin as she felt tiny claws scratching her breasts. She bent over the table and managed to shake out the rat, striking all four boys speechless in the process. The rat plopped onto the table with a thud. It scuttled back to Ron, looking not the least bit traumatized.<<

Yeah, "gratified" is probably more like it! Ewww, ewww, ewww!!! He deserves to be hexed to smithereens for that one.

Rosmerta's memories of childhood parties and seeing her mother dress are beautiful. I was touched most by how she wanted to make Marie genuinely happy. We get the sense that it rarely happened in other facets of their lives:

>>Her mother looked so young, like an older sister, and Rosmerta would tell her so. This always earned her one of her mother’s rare, sincere smiles, so Rosmerta would say it every week. Her mother never seemed to tire of those words.<<

The Dementor scene was chilling. What a damper on the entire town, to have to live with the creatures that entire school year.

Russell is so sweet, even though we know from "High Spirits" that he's not "The One".

I'm really enjoying this prequel, and I look forward to more!

~Katinka

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2003-10-08
Reviewid: 55791Chapter: 1
I'm enjoying this story a lot. I find that I'm noticing a lot of things that I didn't see the first time I read this chapter. For example: Achilles&#8217; Heels. Now there's a place I would love to visit!

I also noticed that you captured the cheery teaching style of Flitwick very well in this first part. I can see the movie Flitwick immediately.

The real highlight, though, is Hagrid. You know him so well and do such a good job of presenting him to us. Their friendship is well-established and comfortable. I feel like Rosmerta can be herself with Hagrid (Maddie too).

Last but not least, I have to say that Rosmerta's interiors make both of your stories. You've really brought her into her own.

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-10-06
Reviewid: 55679Chapter: 2
I adore Rosmerta's interiors here. They just sing.

The characterizations are also spot on.

Catherine

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-10-06
Reviewid: 55643Chapter: 1
I'm so glad I finally got to start reading this! It's shaping up to be another great fic :) Your Rosmerta is, as usual, a dear, and I enjoyed reading about how she relates to people. The talk with Maddie was nice (how funny to hear Maddie rant about Muggle clothing!) and I'm glad Hagrid has a very good friend in her.

Can't wait to find out what Rosmerta's Patronus is!

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-10-04
Reviewid: 55466Chapter: 2
This was great, as always. I thought Russell was very sweet- it's too bad it'll never happen. Max shoulda come a year earlier. :) Can't wait to see the next chapter...

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-10-04
Reviewid: 55454Chapter: 2
"That was the toll Azkaban took on a person. Even Hagrid, who had only been in there about three months, came out nearly three stone lighter, pale and ragged. Hagrid was finally smiling again, but the light still hadn’t come back to his eyes."

Wonderful description! It made me feel for both Rosmerta and Hagrid. As always you do an exquisite job of writing about their friendship. Rosmerta was supportive and comforting when he told her about the situation with Beaky, and I enjoyed the touches about her dealing with the impatient customers while trying to listen to Hagrid at the same time.

This was another wonderful bit:


"Rosmerta was surprised the woman had even done something so human as to give birth; she would have thought Vega’s offspring would have to hatch from eggs."

:-)I loved that line. And Rosmerta's impression of Mrs. Black, too.

Another highlight was the meeting between Rosmerta and a certain group of young Gryffindors. Ron's reactions to her were endearing and at first Rosmerta's reaction to 'Scabbers' made me smile:

"Scabbers poked his cold, wet, tiny nose into her ear and Rosmerta tried to pretend it was a very, very small dog."

But then... (shudder!)

"Scabbers shifted so that his nose was pointing downward. He took a tentative step or two on her chest and, before Rosmerta could grab him, he lost his balance and tumbled into the bodice of her robes.


Rosmerta yelped and clutched her chest. Revulsion swept over her skin as she felt tiny claws scratching her breasts. She bent over the table and managed to shake out the rat, striking all four boys speechless in the process. The rat plopped onto the table with a thud. It scuttled back to Ron, looking not the least bit traumatized."

Yeah, of course he's not traumatized. UGH! Poor Rosmerta! Somebody slap that rat!

More stuff I loved: The scene where Rosmerta remembers being allowed to put in an appearance at her parents' parties. "...she felt like she had been dropped into the middle of a garden. Heavy velvets trimmed with creamy lace, silks as fine as demiguise hair, and thick satins that seemed to subtly glow instead of shining brassily. Expert embroidery and detailed beadwork that made robes look more like artwork than clothing; there was so much beauty it seemed almost unbearable. Rosmerta wanted to touch those robes to see if they were real. Pick them and press them between the pages of a book, preserve them and save them from fading and wilting away in dark closets."

Beautiful description!

I also enjoyed her memory of her mother getting ready for parties. It was a bittersweet moment, I thought.

Rosmerta's reaction to the Dementors was powerfully written. Strong enough to make me shudder with sympathy. The description of their smell was especially evocative.

Her more light-hearted Marauders-memory was an excellent contrast.

I hope she'll be able to work a Patronus soon, now that she's determined to succeed. I wonder what it'll look like?

Reviewer: Three Sickles ShortDate: 2003-10-04
Reviewid: 55451Chapter: 2
It seems I'm woefully behind on my reviewing, so I'm letting you know that your fans haven't forgotten you. ;-) This is another lovely chapter in a really great series. I love Rosmerta's determination, her absolute insistence on doing things herself and her way. Her takes on the students are wonderful, and it's easy to see why the kids bring out her protective streak. I really like her thoughts on Sirius--they aren't so perceptive as to make her seem too omniscient, but there's just the right amount of little niggling feeling that something isn't quite right.

And I have to confess that I feel a bit sorry for poor Russell. Since "High Spirits" is already out there, we know that Russell isn't The One, and we know that he shouldn't be, but I still feel for the poor guy. He's one of those characters whose wants we can't totally agree with, but we still can't blame him for wanting them.

As always, I'm looking forward to the next installment.

TSS

Reviewer: BelitaDate: 2003-10-04
Reviewid: 55430Chapter: 2
Another brilliant chapter!

You paint such a vivid picture of Hogsmeade, and the townsfolk. Yet again, the dementors gave me chills-I think I should go eat some chocolate.

You have a knack for interspersing humor with the darker and more serious events of your story. The events of the chaper flow together quite nicely.

Favorite line:
<<And after all these years, I guess I'm still only attracting rats and toads>>

Just you wait, Rosie...just you wait!

Exellent job!

~Belita

Reviewer: KunzizzleDate: 2003-10-04
Reviewid: 55412Chapter: 2
I really like it so far! Write more!!! :)

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52456Chapter: 1
Yay! I'm so glad you decided to revisit Rosmerta's world. Reading your vivid characterizations, sly humour ("Rosmerta watched his retreating back, wondering how Russell, the man who thought jokes about wand length were funny, could produce a Patronus and she couldn’t."), and clever details (Achilles' Heels! Hee!) is like visiting old friends again.

I got a laugh out of this -- so very Flitwick!:

<<“Don’t worry, Madam Rosmerta. I’m sure there’s a Patronus just waiting to burst out of you!”>>

A lesser woman might have thought, "Yeah, can it, shorty!" ;)

My heart hurt when Hagrid relived his Azkaban experiences:

<<“No disrespec’ ter yeh, Rosie, but yeh don’ know how’s I feel. No one does.” Hagrid stared at her, his black eyes looking like the sea on a moonless night.

“Only bin out a month an’ now they’re comin’ back. Twas like I was dyin’ in there, ev’ry bad thing in me life playin’ over and over in me head. Didn’ wan’ ter eat, couldn’ sleep. Twas like bein’ in a nightmare, ‘cept yeh knew yeh couldn’ wake up ter get away from it. Jus’ wan’ed ter die.">>

It makes me SO ANGRY that Fudge would put a man through that, just for some pretended show of Ministry "efficiency". Grr... The friendship between Rosmerta and Hagrid truly is the greatest treat in this -- it's gentle and genuine, and refreshingly free of UST:

<<Rosmerta looked down on him, a sad sort of tenderness welling up in her heart. She stroked his wild tangle of black hair, kissed him on the forehead and went to bed.>>

I always love Rosmerta's moments of introspection. You do a wonderful job of showing how someone can be so happy and UNhappy, content and DIScontent, all in the same place:

<<Her garden was ever growing, ever changing, unlike her. Was that why she spent so much time in it? To be around something, anything, that wasn’t always the same. Hogsmeade was just supposed to be a place for her to recover, to lick her wounds before gathering herself together and moving on.>>

Look forward to more!

~Katinka :)

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2003-09-10
Reviewid: 51739Chapter: 1
Rosmerta and Hagrid's friendship is so very wonderful! His attempts at matchmaking were, um, interesting!

>Rosmerta was dimly aware that Queenie would be expressing her displeasure at being displaced later that day.

I'm glad to see Queenie is back and as obnoxious as ever!

Wonderful - can't wait for more.

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2003-09-09
Reviewid: 51451Chapter: 1
>Professor Flitwick’s relentless enthusiasm was only making it worse

Hee! Poor Rosmerta. I love the way you bring back her unhappy past in her attempt at a Patronus. At least Harry had Quidditch, but even that doesn't have cheerful memories for Ros.

Yay, Maddie's back! She's one of my favorite OCs.

>they had all ceased being funny thirty-five years ago.

I love the dry wit of your writing style.

Oops, must go! Will continue this review...

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2003-09-08
Reviewid: 51385Chapter: 1
Great to see that have started the new fic!

Cheap son-of-a-banshee but at least he’s usually in a good temper and he makes the girls laugh.”
-Nice to see hime mentioned

And so then the goblin says, ‘I told you bag of gold not shag a troll!’”
-I like your touches of wizarding drinking humor.

Your dialog flow so smoothly you should give lessons. Everyone wonderfully in character as usual.

Only one thing - Lair? Did you change this from the Head? I know I could check this myself, but am far too lazy.

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2003-09-07
Reviewid: 51187Chapter: 1
Aww. Just aww. I love the Rosmerta/Hagrid friendship--and this was an interesting insight into her ambivalence about her life.

Reviewer: pogoniaDate: 2003-09-07
Reviewid: 51181Chapter: 1
Ah! a treat to rival brunch at the Three Broomsticks - another story featuring your lively Rosmerta! And as usual you've worked in delightful puns (the name of that witches' shoe store, really!) and intriguing teasers (is the shifty bloke using Natasha's hair in Polyjuice?) I can't think of anyone who writes Hagrid better - both the character and the dialect are spot on. Finally, three cheers for your Dumbledore, even though he never appears in this chapter. It is just like him to think beyond the walls of Hogwarts and send Flitwick to teach the Patronus charm at Hogsmeade. Rowling never made this point in PoA, but the Hogsmeade folk really do need some protection against the dementors who are about to overrun their village.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-09-07
Reviewid: 51093Chapter: 1
What a joy to see Rosmerta, Maddie and the denizens of Hogsmeade again! (Well, technically, it's not 'again' since this story happens first, but you know what I mean. )And your title is wonderful, was it taken from a line "Bad Moon Rising?" How appropriate! I love that song... it was fun to read this chapter with the lyrics echoing in my brain.

It's a treat to see Professor Flitwick you've written him perfectly. He's cheerful and encouraging to all his students whether they're grown ups or children.

I loved the fact that neither Rosmerta nor Maddie were able to produce the Patronus... this fits in quite beautifully with how impressive Harry's fully formed Stag is.

The conversation between Hagrid and Rosmerta about the Dementors was extremely evocative. You've described their effects on Hagrid in truly chilling terms:

“Only bin out a month an’ now they’re comin’ back. Twas like I was dyin’ in there, ev’ry bad thing in me life playin’ over and over in me head. Didn’ wan’ ter eat, couldn’ sleep. Twas like bein’ in a nightmare, ‘cept yeh knew yeh couldn’ wake up ter get away from it. Jus’ wan’ed ter die. When’s they let me out, twas like I was a new man. Everythin’ was brighter and better ‘an before. This pas’ month’s bin th’ bes’ one o’ me life and then Dumbledore tells us them Dementors are comin’,” Hagrid shuddered. “Fel’ like a black cloud settled over me ‘eart.” Hagrid rubbed his chest and then slumped on the bar top.

-Shudder- Poor Hagrid. I've always enjoyed the way that you portray the friendship between Hagrid and Rosmerta, even when he's angering her with unwanted advice on her love-life, she's protective and caring towards him.

Her friendship comes out so beautifully here:

"Rosmerta used an Engorgement Charm on her couch so that it expanded to fit Hagrid’s bulk. Grunting with effort, Rosmerta managed to get him to lie down and she took off his huge boots. She got him another glass of pumpkin juice and stood over him until he drank it. Enlarging a blanket, she covered Hagrid up, transfigured one of the cushions into a pillow, and washed up.

By the time she came out of the bathroom, Hagird was snoring away. Rosmerta looked down on him, a sad sort of tenderness welling up in her heart. She stroked his wild tangle of black hair, kissed him on the forehead and went to bed."

The word-picture of Rosmerta in her garden, with fairies and insects flying around her, is lovely. Her thoughts on how she's likely going to spend the rest of her days alone in her garden made me smile and think of Max.

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-09-07
Reviewid: 51086Chapter: 1
It's great to see these characters, including your lovely Rosmerta again. This looks like a good start!

Catherine

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-09-07
Reviewid: 51070Chapter: 1
Great job so far... I gather from the fact that there is a 'chapter one' that this isn't a one-shot, and I can't wait to read more. I like your Rosie a great deal; she's much more developed and less perfect than nearly every other one I've ever read. Great job with Hagrid, too--so many people have problems with him, but you've got him down perfectly. Kudos.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --