The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: A Snapefic
Review(s): 28

Reviewer: Maria M.Date: 2005-07-05
Reviewid: 126068Chapter: 1
‘Now sit down and eat something, or I’ll tie you to that chair and force-feed you chocolate mousse.’ mmm... sounds like a fun thing to do...
Good story. I commend you.

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-04-08
Reviewid: 119025Chapter: 1
Better thr 2nd time.

Reviewer: BethDate: 2005-01-26
Reviewid: 112168Chapter: 1
Hehehe. Just love it. Thanks for a completely delightful distracted hour and a half.

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2004-12-30
Reviewid: 109292Chapter: 1
Great story. I'm off to read all your other stuff now :)

Reviewer: TrulyDate: 2004-11-08
Reviewid: 103903Chapter: 1
awwww. i was teary at several points in reading this. beautifully written, and i thought your charachterisation of snape was nicely done, and not inconcievable or over-the-top as (unfortunately) many otherwise good snapefics are.

the way you broke this into acts really worked well. thanks for a great read.

also - i do believe that i detect the presence of a persistent sweet-tooth in the author, yes?

Reviewer: Kate SomervilleDate: 2004-11-07
Reviewid: 103759Chapter: 1
*ooooh* Lovely! For some reason, reminds me madly of Dorothy Dunnett with some Phantom thrown in. A genre I adore (antiheros and lots of high quality angst), and wish I could write. You can, though, and this is absolutely gorgeous.

Reviewer: Rebecca JJDate: 2004-06-30
Reviewid: 89691Chapter: 1
Ooooh, this is lovely. So lovely. And I really like Margaret. The ideas here are fabulous. Beautiful fic.

I was, however, dissappointed at the ending. She needs to TELL HIM. She needs to tell him that she loves him. Kisses, those have already been done between them. The words would mean so much more. He needs to hear that from her.
Still, I love this.

Reviewer: ThetaDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84127Chapter: 1
I love this story. You are one of the best writers I have read. Snape is one of my favourite characters in the books and the way you interpret him and add to his character is brilliant. I also like the understatement of the title. There is a phrase in the Psalms, "purge me with hyssop" and this story is like that as Margaret's love was for Snape.

Reviewer: AnonymousDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77230Chapter: 1
I liked it. It was interesting and I couldn't stop reading it. :-) Good job!

Reviewer: ChristineDate: 2004-02-27
Reviewid: 72345Chapter: 1
Thank you SO much! I loved the story. I swear Margaret is a impersonation of me! Snape is so real, just like in the books. Very jealous of Margaret. Beautiful writing (if JK didn't publish HP, I would say send it to a publisher)! LOVED IT!

Reviewer: BitzDate: 2003-12-08
Reviewid: 62531Chapter: 1
SWOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOON. Snape rox. i am officialy GREEN with envy with Mragaret. grrr its so unfair! i like the way uve written it - can u rite another stry with snape in it?

Reviewer: Lauren JohnsonDate: 2003-10-29
Reviewid: 58244Chapter: 1
Damn, this story felt like it came straight from the inside of my brain, only I can't write like that. I fell in love with Snape after OoTP, clearly for exactly the same reasons that you did. I particularly liked the way that your story conveys genuine emotion without gushing all over the place. The the books themselves, the characters are notably restrained in their expression of emotion even when in severe pain, and I feel that you captured this beautifully.

Reviewer: Meg ( nutmeg)Date: 2003-10-22
Reviewid: 57481Chapter: 1
I LOVE this storry PLEASE write a sequel!!!!!!!!!!!
Oh, by the way did I mention that LOVE this storry!!

Reviewer: LucyDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56726Chapter: 1
Amy,
Thank you for this story. From the title, I was expecting something spoofy. I was pleasantly surprised to find out that it was a serious, well-written, well-thought out piece. I'm impressed with how well you captured the concept of Legilimency before JKR introduced it to us. I especially like the idea that one cannot perform the killing curse on a loved one, that the laws of nature forbid it. Your characterization is wonderful, with both the canon and non-canon characters. Your depiction of Snape humanizes him without changing what we know of him already. Margaret is an interesting and appealing original character, without straying into Mary Sue territory.
I have one small criticism, but it's minor in the scope of such a good story. I really liked the way you depicted Snape's inner self when he thought he had killed Margaret. He reacted to her image with violence, because he interpreted her presence as his own mind's punishment for what he had done. Margaret misunderstood, thinking he was rejecting her. This was all well-written and beautifully depicted. But when the moment of revelation comes in the hospital wing, the nature of the misunderstanding is never made clear, neither to Margaret nor to the reader. I think this realization is important to their reconciliation, but they reconcile without it. I was left with a feeling of incompleteness at the end of the story. I think the story would be improved if you were to have Snape explain his reaction to her, so that their reconciliation can be complete.
Again, you've written a beautiful story, and this is only a minor quibble. Thanks again for such a great story! ^_^

~Lucy

Reviewer: BrytniDate: 2003-09-09
Reviewid: 51472Chapter: 1
your story was so WONDERFUL! i cannot think of any other word to describe it. it brought me to tears! (i would love a sequel) keep writing!
brytni

Reviewer: Nikki WeasleyDate: 2003-09-09
Reviewid: 51450Chapter: 1
That was...just beautiful. Thank you for such a great fic!! I loved the tormented Snape and Margrets longing. Beautiful!! One suggestion, i think the title isnt a good reflection of the story, but thats it! The rest was spectacular!! :)

Reviewer: MyrrhaDate: 2003-09-08
Reviewid: 51359Chapter: 1
I really liked. I felt sucked into this universe, which, for me anyway, makes a good story. Your descriptions, particularly of characters' emotions, are very poignant and beautiful.
One suggestion: This story deserves to get read. Titles are everything. You've got the great material, give it a really great title and it'll tie together much better.
Great work! Can't wait to read more from you.

Reviewer: JessicaDate: 2003-09-08
Reviewid: 51346Chapter: 1
WOw, that was really beautifully written. You captured the tormented, emotional Snape perfectly. Very nicely written!

Reviewer: Kit BlackDate: 2003-09-07
Reviewid: 51255Chapter: 1
This is one of the best stories i have ever read. I thought that you portrayed Snape in a na excellnet manner. I love Snape romances. Thanks for writing them hardly anyone does write this kind of stories. Kit Black

Reviewer: AthenaDate: 2003-09-07
Reviewid: 51245Chapter: 1
I loved this story! Very well written, imaginative, and well thought out! I'm really impressed! I hope that you continue the story! Very well done! ^_^

I thought that you did an excellent job keeping Severus Snape in character and introducing your character in was seemless. *claps and throws flowers* Bravo! Brovo! ^_^V

~*ATHENA*~

Reviewer: jessiDate: 2003-09-07
Reviewid: 51238Chapter: 1
awesome! please more!

Reviewer: Amy and JackieDate: 2003-09-07
Reviewid: 51227Chapter: 1
this was a really cool story. we really liked write more stories like this.

Reviewer: JamieDate: 2003-09-07
Reviewid: 51222Chapter: 1
oh how sweet...

<&#8216;I found something to hold on to there. A light. I could take it into the darkest places, into Voldemort&#8217;s very presence and it wouldn&#8217;t go out....The light . . was you.&#8217;>

<&#8216;What was that? All the growling made it difficult to concentrate on the words,&#8217; > lol

<&#8216;Severus Snape.&#8217; My answer was a whisper against the uncaring stone.> Does Margaret ever tell Snape the unheard answer about the Veritaserum in the future?

Reviewer: AllieDate: 2003-09-07
Reviewid: 51212Chapter: 1
wow! this is such a great fic. we all never wanted to hate snape anyway, and its nice to see his loving side.

Reviewer: Heather HufflepuffDate: 2003-09-07
Reviewid: 51176Chapter: 1
I liked Mercy, and I really like Margaret! More please.

Reviewer: uremiaDate: 2003-09-07
Reviewid: 51118Chapter: 1
i didn't really notice any changes that you've made. if i remember right, you've already revised this when OotP was released and also left a similar message about using the terms from OotP.

Reviewer: OrangeDate: 2003-09-07
Reviewid: 51089Chapter: 1
Er...I went back and noticed the "(revised)" note at the end of the summary. Feeling stupid, but off to read the unrevised version (if I'm going to reread it anyhow right now...).

Reviewer: OrangeDate: 2003-09-07
Reviewid: 51087Chapter: 1
Wow! Excellent story! I loved the little "gratuitous use" disclaimers at the beginning of each section, the development of the relationship, the explanations for the magic. Sweet ending, yet in character for both. Only question is whether or not this was partly posted in some form before -- the beginning seemed familiar, esp. the chocolate mousse.

Lovely! Thank you.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --