The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Eshu's Daughter
Review(s): 107

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-09-05
Reviewid: 131735Chapter: 16
A wonderful, wonderful story. Thank You for this gift.

Reviewer: mad-for-SiriusDate: 2005-03-03
Reviewid: 115352Chapter: 14
The Snape valentine was pure genius, the Weasley twins couldn't have done better.

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2005-02-28
Reviewid: 115191Chapter: 16
Wow, what a complex and beautifully written story. You've really done your research and it shows. There are one or two little Americanisations, like Bearach using 'fall' istead of 'autumn', but they don't really distract from the story, I only notice them 'cos I'm English. I'm glad to hear your writing original fiction, you have a powerful imagination and a real sense of fun, I bet you could put them to work on some really good stories (like this one!). I look forward to having the time to read the rest of your stuff. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2004-10-14
Reviewid: 101453Chapter: 16
Excellent fic!

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94789Chapter: 16
I really enjoyed this story! You have laid some excellent groundwork for future stories here, which I will look forward to reading someday.

Kit is a great character - she's very clearly written and you've done a great job keeping her in character throughout the whole story. Her relationships with her friends and family are wonderful to read about and her relationship with all the animals is intriguing!

Excellent story - I'm so glad I've finally read it. Count me among those who will be delighted when life allows you the time to pick up Kit's story again.

Reviewer: ThorfinnaDate: 2004-07-22
Reviewid: 93602Chapter: 16
Thanks for the excellent story. I will eagerly await the sequel. Do you have a list or something I can join for notifications?

Reviewer: Getz BlackDate: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 91962Chapter: 16
I absolutely love this story! And I think if you make me wait three years I'll have to send you some nasty Bertie Beans :) I'm so curious to know what comes of Kit and if the things I think I've picked up on will actually happen... Don't make us wait to long!

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2004-06-20
Reviewid: 87902Chapter: 1
I have just found your story and am delighted with the first chapter! I enjoyed how Kit unknowingly sends "crittrs" after her tormentors. I also am looking forward to your version of a Hogwart's orientation. What would that be like? Hopefully, you'll be starting a sequel soon!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-04-28
Reviewid: 80517Chapter: 16
Fascinating. Not only the great story itself, but also the way you fit it in with the book blots almost perfectly, only Orva spoiling it (you'd think the Trio would notice someone so hostile against Muggle-borns in the year below). Oh, and of course the Valentine for Snape, that would be the school talk for weeks!

Reviewer: HPNanaDate: 2004-04-04
Reviewid: 77160Chapter: 16
Two loooooooong months and no news on an update. I do hope you're fine, so that we can continue reading your very, very usual fan fic. Great Job. Pls keep it coming.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-02-17
Reviewid: 71146Chapter: 7
[I can't wait to learn how to turn Spencer into a rat.] I love the brother/sister relationship between Spencer and Ellie. It's very realistic in their little fights and pranks but you can also see how much they care about each other.

[Of course I do, that's Harry Potter. Don't know who he's sitting with though."
"Who cares?" Annemette said,] Haha! Poor Ron! I like your interpretation of how the houses react to Harry and his life. It's soo refreshing to read about a universe where Harry isn't the center of everything.

[It was utter chaos; and in the middle of it all stood Puck looking innocent as usual] Puck is too funny! I love reading about the havoc he wreaks! And poor Jynx! She does try so hard!

I like how you capture Kit's frustration with writing with quills. You've really paid attention to all of the details that Muggle-borns would have to adjust to and it makes the story so rich and delightful to read.

[And what exactly is the point of doing that in the first place? Just buy some needles if you need them.] I love that! I can picture frustrated students everywhere wondering why they have to learn something that seems so dumb!

[The white-haired girl was tall and angular while her shorter companion gave the impression of a squat black crow hopping along at its mistress's side.] Great imagery! I like how you make your characters look like normal human beings and not like pre-teen models.

Another lovely chapter. This is such a delightful story!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-02-09
Reviewid: 70020Chapter: 6
[Kit managed to shut her jaw so she didn't resemble a broken nutcracker] Great imagery. And I give you props for writing an original Sorting Hat song. That's really hard!

[Perhaps it was because she'd grown used to her mother's cooking, which relied mainly on anything boxed, bagged, or freeze-dried] How refreshing. This adds a touch of realism to Kit's family. Not everyone can cook like Molly Weasley and I'm glad you illustrated that!

[as though the entire first year class had become infested with fleas] Great description! You have a knack for painting such vivid images with just a few words.

Lovely job breathing life into all of Kit's housemates. You give each one of them a distinct personality and you really know how to sweep the reader up into the scene. If this was a book, I'd be turning pages so rapidly, like a thirsty person gulping water. This story is so enchanting. Excellent work!

Reviewer: AnavaraAna MorgoseDate: 2004-02-09
Reviewid: 69979Chapter: 1
It has a good start. I am interested in reading more. I hope the rest of the story is as good.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-02-07
Reviewid: 69781Chapter: 7
Finishing up on Chapter 7...

>>It took a moment to explain what she wanted, and to skirt around exactly why so she didn't have to admit to bringing a rampaging knarl as a pet, but Professor Flitwick was soon showing her how to charm a door shut.<<

Sneaky, Kit! :)

>>Then her eyes fell on the cage lying in a splintered heap beside her bed. It looked as if it had been trampled by an elephant. Puck hadn't bothered with the door this time, he'd dismantled the whole cage.<<

asd;flsdjf;lsdfjaslk Oh, I'm dying with laughter!

>>Puck wiggled his nose and continued trying to snuggle against her. He pressed his little paw to her hand and made a pleading sort of chirruping noise.<<

Dude, that's what my 3 year-old does when she's been naughty!

>>"Let us hope, Ms. Weasley, that you possess a greater aptitude for potions work than your brothers. Surely one of you must have some meager intelligence. I warn you now, I will not permit any pranks in this class. Your pestilential brothers have blown up quite enough cauldrons already," Snape hissed at the girl.<<

Grrr...Snape is such a jerk! But I have to admit, the twins have probably given him ample reason to be wary.

>>"Oh I was uh taking notes," Ellie said, blushing.<<

Yeah right, you were! :P

I'm curious about Verity's reaction to the other two Slytherin girls -- I guess I'll have to read on!

~Katinka

Reviewer: AnnieDate: 2004-02-01
Reviewid: 69187Chapter: 16
I love this story! It's so neat the way Kit can talk to animals. I especially liked the way you didn't just talk about the basilisk; you included a lot of really cool subplots as well. Good luck on your fiction piece. Hurry to finish it, though, so I can find out what happens to Kit! Thanks for a wonderful story!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-01-31
Reviewid: 69043Chapter: 7
>>For one second Kit stared up in horrified disbelief before she realized these were post owls delivering letters and packages and they weren't all heading for her.<<

LOL! Yeah, I'm sure that would be a moment of dread there for a second.

>>Slipping Puck into his pouch, she scowled at him so he'd know how unhappy she was. He wiggled his little nose at her and looked unconcerned. In fact he almost looked happy and Kit had the suspicion this is what he'd been angling for in the first place. She drew the pouch closed with a huff.<<

Puck, the Havoc Monger! Are you sure he's not a Slytherin? It was nice to see all the girls (well, maybe not Annamette) pitch in to clean up the mess he created.

>>"You're pressing too hard," she said, gesturing with her black quill. "Let the tip just rest on the paper and then picture the words in your head as you write them. The quill will do most of the work for you, you just have to guide it."<<

Cool! I'm a handwriting freak, so I'm sure that I'd love writing with quills. I like that you call attention to the difficulties of this, though! You've got to wonder what the wizarding world has against modern writing utensils.

I'm going to finish this chapter up later! :)

Reviewer: DianaDate: 2004-01-27
Reviewid: 68531Chapter: 16
Finally! Another one's in. I was was about to go up the wall if one of my favourite SQ authors don't update soon (but two happened update at the same time, which makes me really happy). It was a really good ending (I LUV the part where Kit finally gets to speak to animals, though I wished I can do that too...) Speaking of clues (in Tapestry's end notes), I need to work on MY forshadowing. But for now, I'll just build up on Rowling's stories by, of course, writing through other characters in the books. With that, I HOPE to get accepted soon, once the next submission date is announced. I've been doing this twice so far...Anyways, I can't wait for Kit's second year to show up. Maybe sooner or later, she'll meet up with Ginny.

Reviewer: nindeDate: 2004-01-26
Reviewid: 68497Chapter: 15
I really think that is interesting that you took the time to research the Eshu.This is a great story!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: mommacatDate: 2004-01-26
Reviewid: 68484Chapter: 16
You have no idea how dissappointed I was when I read that this is the end! Wailing doesn't come close to describing what I wanted to do. If your original fic piece is half as good as this, I have no doubt that it will be published. Just let all of us at the Quill know by posting the 1st chapter of Kit's year 2! :0)

and to think I almost passed this by because of the whole American at Hogwarts deal...

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2004-01-24
Reviewid: 68277Chapter: 16
Strong finish!

I applaud your decision to start writing your own material, but I will miss Kit and her friends. It's been a well paced, well plotted story throughout.

Thanks for sharing yet another wonderful piece of the magical world with us.

Catherine

Reviewer: PinkyiolisDate: 2004-01-24
Reviewid: 68271Chapter: 16
Bravo! I loved what you did with this story, and wish you good luck with your other writing. I look forward to when you're able to write here again, great job!

Pinky~

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2004-01-24
Reviewid: 68225Chapter: 16
Excellent! Wonderful! As much as I am, of course, sad to see the story draw to a close, this has been a wonderful read, and I look forward to the next story. I'm particularly intrigued by these lessons from Bearach. What's yet to come from those?

Good luck with your original piece!

Reviewer: PaigeDate: 2004-01-24
Reviewid: 68206Chapter: 16
Tapestry,
Wonderful. The layered writing style of which you spoke has been portrayed nicely. Bearach is extremely intreaguing, and you've captured a centaur's vagueness perfectly. It was a superb story, and I obviously can't wait to see more of Kit and Puck.

Paige, The Muggle Hermione

Reviewer: Frank RawlandDate: 2004-01-24
Reviewid: 68196Chapter: 16
Now that you're calling it a day --or taking a hiatus at any rate-- I'd say this is a well written story, but I'd also say you've left a lot of loose ends.

Good luck with your own fiction.

Reviewer: Tamira lujenDate: 2004-01-24
Reviewid: 68190Chapter: 16
Loved it but it was waaaaaaay too short. Waaay! You need to keep going! PLEASE!

Reviewer: LauraDate: 2004-01-22
Reviewid: 67931Chapter: 15
Write more!!!!!!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-01-20
Reviewid: 67773Chapter: 6
First of all, I really have to give you props for writing such an incredible Sorting Hat Song. Never in a million years will I EVER attempt to do something like that! Well done! :D

Kit's observations on British food made me laugh. I remembered when British-style restaurant opened up near a place where I once worked. I was so excited to go there for lunch, only to face a plate of bland fish and peas. Woohoo! ;)

>>"Honestly are you three going to hang out in the doorway all night. It's just a dorm room," said the girl Kit had stepped on earlier. Kit glared, wishing she'd stepped a bit harder.<<

That's my Kit! LOL!

There's a lot of exposition in this chapter, but you handle it in such a way that things never become dull. I particularly like the way you describe the different students, giving a little phrase here and there that tells pages about their characters.

I want a Hufflepuff yellow comforter!

~Katinka

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-01-14
Reviewid: 67019Chapter: 5
Aw, Kit's reaction to Cedric was so adorable! He really is swoon-worthy, isn't he?

[perfectly content to be lugged around like a sack of flour.] Great description. I have this very clear picture in my mind of a girl holding this big, lazt fat cat.

[Hold on, you mean there are bad wizards. And they go around killing people? They never said anything about that in our orientation] Ellie cracks me up! I love hoe she's so prissy and prim and proper, but when the chips are down, you can really count on her. I think after Kit, she's my favorite character. And the cameo by Ginny and Hermione was perfect.

I love the jelly bean fight. It's so cute and spontaneous, especially Percy getting pelted with beans. It's so refreshing to see kids acting like kids and not some sort of jaded, *Cruel Intentions*-soap opera stars. Delightful chapter.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-01-14
Reviewid: 67006Chapter: 4
The image of Kit's tree, with it's hanging tinsel and sun-dappled branches, is so beautiful. It has this mark of the settings found in classic children's literature.

I love your description of Puck's rampage, from his biting of the model plane to the shoes hiding in the closet, very vivid.

Kit's mom is hysterical in her driving attempts. I love the chant of "left, left, left." It adds a really authentic touch.

Kit has such a vibrant personality. She's sarcastic and funny and yet she has her insecurities and self-doubts as well as her flashes of confidence. You really get a glimpse of the young adult she's going to become. I could read an entire series devoted to Kit and the colorful cast of supporting characters you've created.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2004-01-03
Reviewid: 65668Chapter: 5
>>A girl around Kit's age with dimples winking in her cheeks arrived first.<<

Ooh! Great description!

>>She found herself looking back at a very handsome boy; he was tall with gorgeous dark hair and a certain way of carrying himself that made you want to stare for hours.<<

Hee! Is this Cedric? :D

>>Just then there was a knock at the door, and a girl with very bushy hair peeked her head into their compartment. She looked around quickly and then ducked back out without a word. They could hear her saying to someone in the hall, "They're not in there either."

"Shouldn't we ask if they've seen them?" said another voice. A moment later a girl with flaming red hair was standing in the doorway. She looked embarrassed to be interrupting them, but said anyway, "Excuse me, have you seen two boys pass by here? One of them has hair like mine and is tall and skinny, and the other is short with dark hair, wears round glasses and has a lightning scar on his forehead."<<

I love that! It's just how Hermione and Ginny would behave.

>>"Hold on, you mean there are bad wizards. And they go around killing people? They never said anything about that in our orientation."<<

*snert*

*apologizes to Ellie for snerting*

>>It was a good thing she liked the juice because she needed it after trying her first jelly bean.<<

Oh, I agree. My first experience with Bertie Bott's was very psychologically unsettling. Jelly beans are supposed to taste, well, GOOD!!!

>>She watched in horrified fascination as a particularly nasty green-colored one connected with the boy's glasses.<<

Hee, she "beaned" Percy!

>>"I'm sorry, Kit, but you just said you'd only be wearing a t-shirt and your underwear. You might want to watch how you use the word pants. It doesn't exactly translate well," Ellie said still smiling. "We call them trousers."<<

No worries, Kit -- many a fanfic writer has made the same mistake.

Lovely chapter! Kit reminds me of a young Jodie Foster with her tomboy-ish spunk. You're doing an excellent job of balancing a growing cast of both students and pets! :)

~Katinka

Reviewer: AbbieDate: 2004-01-03
Reviewid: 65628Chapter: 15
You are quickly becoming one of my favorite author's and Bearach is starting to become one my favorite characters as well. I just love your story so much, your characters are really well thought out and expalined and even if you have no plot and are just writing as you go its still well thought out too. I cann't wait for chapter 16, hope to see it soon!

Reviewer: TapestryDate: 2004-01-03
Reviewid: 65605Chapter: 15
Hmm I normally don't reply to reviews directly on this board (even though I appreciate them greatly!), but I feel the need to do so now.

Several people have sent emails or left reviews worrying that chapter 15 is the last. Actually there's one more to go so don't fret :) I'll try to have it posted in the next few weeks so look for it soon. Thanks so much for your reviews and support, they mean the world to me!

Reviewer: Myster webDate: 2004-01-01
Reviewid: 65403Chapter: 15
This isn't the end right? Please write more! Don't leave us!

Reviewer: LilyDate: 2004-01-01
Reviewid: 65369Chapter: 15
I really really liiked this story. It was brilliant!!!! I loved it!!!
Kit was sucj a sweet girl with extraordinary talents that made her very special. I really liked this story.

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-12-31
Reviewid: 65350Chapter: 4
>>Her dad had been moved to tears by the tiny puncture marks now decorating one wing. Kit tried to point out helpfully how much the teeth marks looked like bullet holes if you squinted just right.<<

LOL! Way to accentuate the positive, Kit! ;)

>>However, the spare bedroom door was now kept locked and the shoes were huddled in the closets, terrified.<<

Okay, I'm both dying with giggles and feeling the Puck love. :)

>>He grumbled sleepily and peeked one eye open, spitting out the shoelace and trying to look angelic when he noticed Kit watching him.<<

Ahhhhhhh! I don't know that I'd want a knarl of my own, but Puck's so cute!

>>"There'd better be a letter on my doorstep every day, or I'll have your father send out the entire squadron to bring you back home."

"That'd almost be worth seeing," Kit said, "my own personal fly over."<<

As part of a USAF family myself, I found that really touching. Sniff! You've done a great job in capturing the emotions involved in letting go (for both children and their parents!). I'm curious to find out more about the animals' reactions to Kit.

~Katinka

Reviewer: tamira luneDate: 2003-12-31
Reviewid: 65328Chapter: 15
As always, I love your story, I wouldn't change anything, and update soon!

Reviewer: DianaDate: 2003-12-30
Reviewid: 65209Chapter: 15
Ooh, that's good. Kit's finally realised that Harry's not the heir of Slytherin, after someone's told her what happened. I hope that this is not the last chapter; it doesn't seems like an ending, unless if you want it to end as a cliffhanger, which I hate it most of the time.

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-12-29
Reviewid: 65101Chapter: 15
Nicely done! The emotions and thoughts are topnotch. Looking forward to seeing the next chapter.

Poor Puck! But I'm glad Bearach was able to help out.

Catherine

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-12-28
Reviewid: 64979Chapter: 3
>>Professor McGonagall sailed ahead of the families like a clipper, with witches and wizards in their funny robes falling to either side in her wake.<<

Ha! Great imagery. :) I really like how you've created this tour for Muggle-borns. It comes across as believable, making you think, "Well, of COURSE they would do something like that!"

>>Don't know why you're looking so smug, Kit thought, at least I'm not wearing my breakfast.<<

Gotta love Kit. She's so saucy.

>>By the time the group exited Flourish and Blotts Bookshop, Kit's brain had shut down. Like an overstuffed potato sack, there just wasn't room for one more bit of information.<<

So true! This first encounter with the magical world would be completely overwhelming for an 11 year-old.

Excellent job with Ollivander's character. :) Suitably mystical and yet practical.

Hee hee! Is that a Crookshanks cameo?

>>Her mom smiled saying, "Oh, look at the cute little hedgehog<<

Um, yeah, Mrs. Ellsington...we'll just let you go on thinking that. ;) It was a very sweet scene when Kit found her One True Pet.

Reviewer: tamiraDate: 2003-12-14
Reviewid: 63230Chapter: 14
cool! Why'dcha wait so long? I really like this story =)

Reviewer: DianaDate: 2003-12-14
Reviewid: 63219Chapter: 14
Yipes! I almost knew this was going to happen, except that I was think of Harry's third year of the Huff- vs. Gryff- match at the time being. McGonagall's bided her her time by telling Harry and Ron first before announcing it to the whole school at the Qudditch stadium. Poor Hermione. Wondered if Kit and her friends would hear from someone else that Harry would never attack his best friend, like Mr. MacMillian had realized (though he knew that she was muggle-born)?

It's about time that this was updated. Well done Tapestry, well done.

Reviewer: Paige, The Muggle HermioneDate: 2003-12-13
Reviewid: 63122Chapter: 14
Tapestry,
UPDATES! You have created Kit as this wonderful, thought out, compelling girl. Her feelings are really quite human, and I even find myself admiring her. It's a whole new view of Hufflepuff, and it's superb. Your devious little tricks fit in here so nicely, not to mention they make me fall over laughing. I can't wait for the next installment, and I'll cross my fingers that it comes soon. (No pressure then, eh?)

Paige, The Muggle Hermione

Reviewer: RheaDate: 2003-12-12
Reviewid: 63074Chapter: 1
Where did Serena go???

Reviewer: kitzamaeveDate: 2003-12-12
Reviewid: 63026Chapter: 13
ps I love how you've made your fic agree with cannon as well as a few of my favorite fan-fics like "Before the Beginning" hee hee. Its not often you see a Hufflepuff fic, usually everyone wants their OC's to be Gryffindors or Slytherins or at least Ravenclaws, but this fic has made me see that Hufflepuff RULES :) (though I have always hated the color yellow, disreguarding a brief period of insanity when I was about five in which everything I owned was yellow :P)

Reviewer: kitzamaeveDate: 2003-12-12
Reviewid: 63025Chapter: 13
LoL!!!


`"He ate my Potions book," Verity ground out.

Kit smiled indulgently, "He was only playing. Let's go inside, I've got snow in places I'd prefer not to think about."'


I love it. great story so far :)

Reviewer: Three Sickles ShortDate: 2003-11-14
Reviewid: 59973Chapter: 13
I am up at an absolutely unspeakable hour, and it's all your fault. You see, I started your story, and I was just going to read a chapter or two, but then I got hooked. And now it's, like, 3:45 in the morning. *All* your fault for writing interesting characters and a gripping plot. I do hope you're happy. ;-)

Just so you know, I got a *huge* laugh out of QuidditchMad!Ellie. Too cute. And I just love Jynx.

I'm curious: Was it a conscious decision to have Professor Sprout play such a minor role, or did it just turn out that way? I have this nagging feeling that, as our main character's Head of House, she ought to show up more than she does, but, since there aren't *particular* spots where it feels like she's missing, it's not as important as it might be.

At any rate, I'm really liking this story, and I'm very interested to find out more about Kit's gift with animals. (Could be handy, given that it's an animal currently terrorizing the castle....)

Reviewer: HP Story SurferDate: 2003-10-23
Reviewid: 57614Chapter: 13
Great! I hope you make a sequal. The Kit/animal relationship is very
funny. Also I really like Puck.

Reviewer: zakiyahDate: 2003-10-20
Reviewid: 57146Chapter: 13
I'm thoroughly enjoying this story, especially the way you're weaving it so skillfully with canon! Wonderful portrayals of little girls and their cliques, as well. Amusing and touching, and what a way to bring us into the secret workings of Hufflepuff house! Thanks, and I look forward to reading more.

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56788Chapter: 13
Of course, I love this chapter, and I really appreciated the snow duel.

These characters are so alive. :)

Catherine

Reviewer: AshturDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56762Chapter: 13
This is one of my favorite fics here, and this chapter brought out all the reasons. You have created a group of characters that are as wonderful and quirky as any. Bravo!

Reviewer: LourDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54771Chapter: 12
Very, very good, as usual!

Reviewer: ReneeDate: 2003-09-29
Reviewid: 54749Chapter: 1
This is great!!! Being a mother of three boys who have asked this question on several occasions, during our nightly reading of Harry Potter, this is going to be a great way to explain. Keep up the good work!!!

Reviewer: CatherineDate: 2003-09-29
Reviewid: 54747Chapter: 12
Just another review to commend the story for being so original and well done.

Catherine

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2003-09-29
Reviewid: 54707Chapter: 12
Whee! I liked this chapter. Very intruiging...wonder if the Jelly Bean Society will evolve into a big inter-house thing. ^_^ This is an extremely well told story, and I love how no one agrees on one thing. Luna! Hooray! Luna is the spiffiest person ever...I love that quote. "The hat must have been drunk." You rock, Tapestry. Keep writing and I hope you know you're very appreciated for your hard work and skill in telling this tale. I'm looking forward to when it comes.

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2003-09-29
Reviewid: 54706Chapter: 11
Hooray! Verity has reconsciled! I liked how Kit was angry at her and wouldn't take the apology at first, makes her character stand out. IT's an extremely good story, and I hope you keep it up! Is there going to be any Harry soon? Or Hermione, at least? I did enjoy the bit with Ginny and Puck, though. Puck is just one evil-sensing-knarl! Whee!

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2003-09-29
Reviewid: 54702Chapter: 8
Oh no! I love the drama with Verity. She's awesome. I sincerely hope something will work out and Verity will find where her heart is with all of this Slytherin pride etc...perhaps later when the time is right, Verity will defend Kit or Ellie...I love how the story is working out, by the way. It's awesome, and Kit is hilarious. ^_^

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2003-09-28
Reviewid: 54676Chapter: 1
Wow! I love your idea of the Muggleborns having an orientation letter, and the self-writing letter was awesome. This is amazingly done, and I do love Kit. ^_^ I've always imagined a professor visiting the family, but I do like your way as well.

Reviewer: Myster webDate: 2003-09-28
Reviewid: 54668Chapter: 1
I love this story! Please keep writing since I can't wait to read this till the end. Go the magnificent Hufflepuffs!

Reviewer: Margaret B.Date: 2003-09-27
Reviewid: 54548Chapter: 12
WOW!! This story is brilliant- I love Kit and Ellie and everyone else. It's so great to read about the "Chamber of SEcrets" from another, waaay way different point of view. Love the great insight to the Hufflepuff house, UPDATE SOON PLEASE!
~MaRgArEt

Reviewer: DianaDate: 2003-09-27
Reviewid: 54536Chapter: 12
I hope that this gang would soon realize that Harry inherted the gift from you-know-who, the day when Voldie's vanished when Harry's just an infant. They'll also probably realise that Harry would never attack his muggle-born friend Hermione.

Reviewer: LinDate: 2003-09-27
Reviewid: 54534Chapter: 12
Poor Kit :( I'd think that with her 'talent' she'd be a bit more understanding of Parselmouths. However, the fact that Justin's just been petrified won't help that.

Hmm... wonder what's up with Serena? People usually don't act like that without a reason. My guess is that she was emotionally hurt sometime in the past. Maybe Kit's unrelenting cheerfulness will get her out of her ice shell.

Jynx dueling- oy vey, that's scary. Poor Kit!

One nitpick: how come Puck didn't just rip his way out of the pouch when Kit was attacked? Has she enchanted it somehow?

Keep up the good work, Tapestry!

Reviewer: Paige Knorr (The Muggle Hermione)Date: 2003-09-27
Reviewid: 54519Chapter: 12
Tapestry,
Thank you, thank you, thank you! I LOVE UPDATES!!! This was great. Serena is a real outcast and you can write her well, distant but somehow I think she likes Kit... Amazing and I hope for more soon!

Paige, The Muggle Hermione

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-09-26
Reviewid: 54483Chapter: 3
[The row of razored teeth it bared reminded her of a shark smiling at its dinner.] Great description! Gave me the shivers!

[He sounded like a proud father listing the vital statistics of his child.] Hehe, now that you mention it, that's exactly what Ollivander does sound like when he's describing all the wands! I really liked the extended scene at the wandshop.

Great chapter, excellent job taking the readers along on the journey that Muggle-borns possibly go through. You really capture the magic and sense of wonder JKR had in PS/SS.

Reviewer: Aura Black ChanDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53207Chapter: 11
This was my favorite chapter! Keep going! Do you plan to follow Kit through the next couple of years as well? I'd LOVE to see how she (and Puck) got on wiht Lupin!

Reviewer: LourDate: 2003-09-16
Reviewid: 52867Chapter: 11
Aw, poor Verity, but I loved the chapter....

Reviewer: Paige Knorr (The Muggle Hermione)Date: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52848Chapter: 11
Dear Tapestry,
You must have a fast Beta... Good job. Stupid Slytherins... :@. I can't wait for chapter 12! I know what you mean about having a stack of written chapters... I've got a fanfic that hasn't been beta'd yet but I've got plenty of chapters sitting here... Great story! I'm going to visit your website for sure.. :) Thanks!

Paige

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52782Chapter: 2
Holy updates, Batman! JK, glad to see all the chapters up!

[Kit just laughed, happy to be wrapped in sunshine with an owl on her shoulder and a magic letter in her pocket.] Beautiful image. You really know how to capture the true, simple joys of childhood.

[Ralph Macchio should have kicked Mr. Miyagi's butt.] *snert*

I like how you show Kit's mother's character by having her go on a cleaning frenzy.It shows us the amount of tension the mother is under without saying it in so many words. [Even her shoes were lined up like recruits for an inspection, laces perfectly tied, each pair evenly spaced from the others. Had her mom used a ruler?] Hehe!

[Kit felt exhausted just watching them.] You've really captured the Creevies without making them annoying. They're so adorable and you really get across that sense of excitement that they feel, especially in the scene in the Leaky Cauldron when he's floating in mid-air.

Lovely orientation scene, you've really portrayed a realistic solution to what must be a sommon situation at Hogwarts.

Reviewer: DianaDate: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52624Chapter: 10
It's good story, even though this is one of the characters that is never mentioned or seen in the books, from another's point of view. I'm guess Kit's a US exchange student, or somewhat, since her parents are in the US military. I'd like to hear what happens next, to hear if she's heard that Harry's defeated the basilisk, though it's a long way to go. Still, I want to what're Kit's next actions in Hogwarts.

Reviewer: Paige Knorr (The Muggle Hermione)Date: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52554Chapter: 10
Dear Tapestry,
Thanks SO much for updating so soon. I love this. It's quite descriptive and this chapter especially gives a different type of take on the same events (CoS plot...) I only have one little nitpick, I thought Gryffendor had flying practice with the Slytherins.. But I understand that you had to have them with the Hufflepuffs for the purposes of this story as did the wonderful J.K.Rowling for the purposes of Canon. Well I've got to go feed carrots to a horse!

Paige

Reviewer: Paige Knorr (The Muggle Hermione)Date: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52528Chapter: 9
Dear Tapestry,
WOW! I love this story. You should draw a picture of Puck wearing his Halloween ribbon... :). I'm going to go read chapter 10!!!

Paige

Reviewer: Paige Knorr (The Muggle Hermione)Date: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52380Chapter: 6
Dear Tapestry,
Arabella had some pretty good ideas eh? The Sett is AMAZING and your idea of the entrance to their commen room is GREAT. Off to read to chapter 10!

Paige

Reviewer: Thunder DraconisDate: 2003-09-13
Reviewid: 52314Chapter: 10
Great story! I just read all the chapters again, and they were sooo cool! 9 cahpters at once... Big update.
Hope you write more!

Reviewer: LourDate: 2003-09-13
Reviewid: 52307Chapter: 10
Ooh, I just read all of the new chapters, and they rocked!

Reviewer: Paige Knorr (The Muggle Hermione)Date: 2003-09-13
Reviewid: 52268Chapter: 1
Tapestry,
YAY UPDATES! LOTS! I haven't read them yet, no time at the moment, I will soon! THANK YOU! I love this story... :)

Paige

Reviewer: reedy70002Date: 2003-09-13
Reviewid: 52208Chapter: 6
I had to stop after reading this chapter to compliment you on your hufflepuff
it is simply brillient and gives a new respect for the bunch of duffers :)

Reviewer: AshturDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 52086Chapter: 1
Ooooh, have to jump on the bandwagon with how intruiged I am with this. Kit is going to be such a fun character I can see, and it's good to see her finally able to make friends.

Now, I'm just waiting for what happens the first time she steps foot in the owlrey.

That, or introducing Puck to Draco, either would be good muhahahaha

Reviewer: Jess V.Date: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 52011Chapter: 5
This is a fantastically written story. i love the way that you're keeping the all of us in so much suspense! I'm curious about the sorting, and i hope i can read about that soon! Beautiful story, keep writing!

Reviewer: LourDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 51972Chapter: 5
Oh...how awesome! Update again soon!

Reviewer: SonicDate: 2003-09-11
Reviewid: 51920Chapter: 5
You got me interested! I want to know more about kit's powers, and how it relates to her going to Hogwarts! Am waiting.. and now, a fan...

- Sonic

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2003-09-11
Reviewid: 51909Chapter: 5
Fantastic! I can't get over how good this story is. Puck is a perfect little pet for Kit, should definitely make life interesting.

I'll be watching for the Sorting Ceremony!

Reviewer: FaelaernDate: 2003-09-11
Reviewid: 51905Chapter: 5
Ah, good stuff, good stuff. I'm definitely enjoying this a great deal. Everything's been put in the right amount...perfect.

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2003-09-11
Reviewid: 51854Chapter: 2
Again, I'm completely blown away by your writing. Very entertaining. I thought nothing could compare w/ Harry's intro to the wizarding world, but you did a great job w/ Kit's intro as well. I liked how you presented all the other Muggle-borns, especially Colin (a personal favorite of mine). I felt so bad for the student whose parent's decided to leave. How sad is that? Just think of everything he would miss out on. But I find the idea of a Muggle-born's family rejecting Hogwarts very believable. There has to be doubters, of course. I must say, I'm very, very curious about what Prof M told Kit's parents. Is it something to do w/ her unusual abilities w/ animals? Something about her weird eyes? Hurry w/ the next chapters!!!

Reviewer: JamieDate: 2003-09-11
Reviewid: 51788Chapter: 2
... your stories... great so far, i nearly died when they were about to leave... I can't wait till ch. 3 comes out... Great Job.

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2003-09-10
Reviewid: 51742Chapter: 1
This is a fantastic opening - it establishes who Kit is, personality wise. I really liked her feelings about punishment vs. disappointing her parents. Great characterization. The writing is brisk and very funny - this line made me burst out laughing:

>"So you threw a guinea pig at her."

Hee! Poor Patches!

I loved this, too:

>If Tommy had been born a century before he could have had successful career as a town crier

It's really interesting that Kit is a military brat - kind of a neat, unexpected twist. You've got the feelings of a kid who is 'different' and hates it down perfectly. The part where she gets the letter and immediately suspects it to be a nasty trick is especially insightful.

How you handled the disbelief factor in Kit and her parents regarding the letter was so clever! Excellent. Looking forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: KewiiDate: 2003-09-10
Reviewid: 51733Chapter: 1
congrats on yet another excellent chapter.
I have nothing else to say except keep it coming

Reviewer: KellieDate: 2003-09-10
Reviewid: 51690Chapter: 1
Oooooh! I'm liking this a lot. Can't leave a proper review as my own OC is tapping her foot impatiently... but I will leave one on the next chapter, hopefully by Thursday.

But I will be following this story! Kit is terribly cute.

Reviewer: LinDate: 2003-09-10
Reviewid: 51687Chapter: 2
First, I must admit to reading ahead. Folks, she's got the story posted up to Ch. 11 on Schnoogle.com! Same pen name. I read the first two chapters here on SQ, then thought "Hmm... Eshu's Daughter... where do I remember that from?"

Now, on to the review. Kit and her 'gift' remind me a great deal of Tamora Pierce's Daine Sarrasri in the Wild Magic series. Wonder if any of the Hogwarts teachers will teach Kit how to better control her talent with animals?

I particularly like the whole orientation seminar idea. It would take something like that- with a live Hogwarts professor to answer questions and demonstrate that magic DOES exist- to convince my parents that a Hogwarts letter was for real! I'm wondering what McGonagall said to the Ellsingtons, though...

I won't say anything on the other chapters here, so as not to spoil anything. You have a few teensy grammatical errors, but nothing that really disrupts the flow of the story. Kit and her parents are well done OCs, and McGonagall is quite in character. Looking forward to the rest!

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2003-09-10
Reviewid: 51660Chapter: 2
Excellent! This was really very good. I had a nice laugh at Colin's enthusiasm... levitating off his chair! Very Colin.

I do have to wonder what McGonagall said to Kit's parents, though, that would convince them to stay longer.

Will the next chapter give us more details about the trip around Diagon Alley? I hope so!

Reviewer: Paige Knorr (The Muggle Hermione)Date: 2003-09-10
Reviewid: 51656Chapter: 2
Dear Tapestry,
YAY! An update! YAY! Again, very, very, very well written. I particularely liked Kit's vole encounter! I'm presuming you like animals? I just love McGonagall don't you? Oops... I'm sorry. I LIKE strict teachers... sorry... Well great story.

Paige Knorr

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2003-09-10
Reviewid: 51634Chapter: 1
The summary for this story caught my eye because I'm also currently working on a story set during this time period (CoS). I must say, I really enjoyed this first chapter. You've asked a plausible question: How are Muggle-borns conviced to attend Hogwarts. Kit is a likeable character. I think we can all relate in some way to someone who is different from the crowd. Cool about her eyes! You're writing is very descriptive. I liked the bit about her rubbing the mashed potatoes into the green napkin. Off to the next chapter... :)

BTW, In Latin America the date is written the same way as in Europe. Maybe it's another case of us Americans trying to be different by writing the date opposite of everyone else in the world ;)

Reviewer: pogoniaDate: 2003-09-09
Reviewid: 51467Chapter: 1
Wonderful start and even better to find from other reviewers that there's more already written! Do upload more chapters soon. BTW, I stayed at RAF Alconbury in the early 1970s while visiting relatives in the US military. A post owl - or a young witch - would be just as out-of-place there as on Privet Drive.

Reviewer: MallaryDate: 2003-09-09
Reviewid: 51464Chapter: 1
Amazingly written! I really like the way you handled the Hogwarts letter for Muggle-borns. Kit is a very interesting character, and I can't wait to read more.

Reviewer: JamieDate: 2003-09-09
Reviewid: 51453Chapter: 1
The stories Great so far!!! please write more!!

Reviewer: mmaryDate: 2003-09-08
Reviewid: 51436Chapter: 1
I really really like the concept of this story...I mean, the fact that Kit's eyes change is cool, and the fact that you display her parent's emotions well. It's something I have trouble with ;)

Reviewer: Darwin's ApprenticeDate: 2003-09-08
Reviewid: 51401Chapter: 1
Great concept! I like the animals. I do think having her picked on for being odd has been done - alot. But you have a nice angle to develop. Good work.

Reviewer: KatDate: 2003-09-08
Reviewid: 51397Chapter: 1
Love the story, please say you're going to post more of this. Love the fresh angle :o)

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-09-08
Reviewid: 51391Chapter: 1
Hi Tapestry!

I'm so glad to see you here! I'm especially excited because I know this story is rather far along, so we can look forward to frquent updates! :)

[Her parents' disappointment would linger in the air for days, subtly accusing.] Ah, you really capture the subtle mental torture of parental punishment! Those guilt trips usually do last a life time!

I'm really fascinated about why her eyes change color. Is it a quirk or is it linked to her special powers? Very intriguing.

[She peered out of the window as though fearing a sudden invasion of owls.] He, that conjures up a great image. I kept picturing that scene from PS/SS.

Excellent first chapter and I really love how you've taken the time to explore a very practical issue in the wizarding world, such as how do Muggle-borns react to their Hogwarts acceptance letter.

Great first chapter! Please update frequently!!!!

Reviewer: Frantz JaegerDate: 2003-09-08
Reviewid: 51388Chapter: 1
I really like this fic. I think that you've done a great job describing Kit's personality. I also like the way you've made the Hogwarts Letter. I mean, what kind of responsible parents would send their sons and daughters to a school for witchcraft and wizardry without at least some proof that it wasn't all a joke. I know my parents wouldn't.

Please, hurry up and post the next chapter!!

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2003-09-08
Reviewid: 51383Chapter: 1
I'm so glad this story is here. The letter from Hogwarts was completely the way I would imagine it. How would you convince Muggles of the existence of magic, except by having the letter answer their questions?

You do a wonderful job of exploring Kit's emotions at being different than everyone else. Her interiors are one of my favorite parts of this story. You have lots of details that make it interesting, like the changing eye color.

I'm looking forward to re-reading more of this story as you post it here.

Reviewer: KewiiDate: 2003-09-08
Reviewid: 51380Chapter: 1
I think you have an excellent start to what could be a great story.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --