The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Dinner Companion
Review(s): 18

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-07
Reviewid: 136845Chapter: 1
Sick – old meaning.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-03-28
Reviewid: 76093Chapter: 1
Yeeeaah, he would have an odd sense of humor. And know Latin. And Roman legends, too. He seems a bit unhinged... bit more than Sirius is.

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2004-02-20
Reviewid: 71591Chapter: 1
Very well done! He definitely sounds like someone who hasn't had much contact with the outside world. Ever been to an asylum? I picture this man trussed up in a straight jacket, but speaking as if he was having afternoon tea. Amazing.

Reviewer: MiriamDate: 2004-02-01
Reviewid: 69148Chapter: 1
One of the things I love about Sugarquill is the fact that so many authors find new and interesting ways to view the Potter-verse. It would never have occured to me that giving someone lycanthropy would be something anyone was proud of. It also would never have occured to me that "the bite" would be able to be planned during a non-feral moment.

Doran Cheshire is indeed a cynic with a sick sense of humor.

This is a weird but inventive little piece. I like it.

-----Miriam

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62614Chapter: 1
Woah. This is an extremely chilling and well-written vignette. As everyone else has said, you have chosen a very unique and dark perspective and voiced it wonderfully. I like the almost Oscar Wilde-like language, reminiscent of 'The Picture of Dorian Gray' - the elegant fop who is truly depraved once you get to know him, and repellent in part because of his own shameless self-awareness. Maybe it's just a coincidence that your character is named Doran - but if you were consciously trying to capture that 'Dorian' tone, I think you succeeded beautifully. Thanks!

Reviewer: ChiDate: 2003-12-02
Reviewid: 61564Chapter: 1
wow....that was AWESOME!!!!! I totally loved it. I nevr thought about how the person/wolf who had bit Remus had been. I always just figured he was and thats it. Well, I think you wrote it excellently. Congrats doing this so well written.
*Chi*

Reviewer: AliceDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 56906Chapter: 1
Woah. This is freaky. Obviously this werewolf dude is sadistic, cynical, and all-around mad.

I like it!

Reviewing for ur other fics too: they're great fics! The alarm clock thing is funny... and it could also have a sequel... *hinthint*

Reviewer: jklbDate: 2003-10-15
Reviewid: 56566Chapter: 1
My favorite line: "Try the wine; it is a beautiful color, almost the color of Remus, spilled on the carpet…" Somehow, leaving the word "blood" out of the sentence makes it all the more poignant. It wasn't just Remus's blood spilled on the carpet. It was his innocence, his childhood, his humanity, his happiness. It was indeed "Remus" spilled on the carpet.

Wonderful little peek into a twisted mind. Meeting Doran makes me understand how people might fear werewolves while they are human--but of course, would he be like this if people didn't treat him the way they do?
"…when my own sister had her wedding August the ninth, while I was a frothing beast in a cage…Oh, I assure you, August the tenth was a day she remembered the rest of her life…short as it was…" sums up the "chicken or the egg" quality quite nicely.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-09-13
Reviewid: 52232Chapter: 1
He's rather cruel isn't he? Does that mean I can't find in interesting? An interesting vinette, and I agree, Remus Lupin is far to perfect of a name to be random.

Reviewer: JamieDate: 2003-09-13
Reviewid: 52222Chapter: 1
Very good, I almost choked to death trying to stop myself from laughing at the vampire part.

Reviewer: SanctionDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 52006Chapter: 1
I've always wanted to write a story about the werewolf the bit Remus, and what would happen if they suddenly met again. While this isn't quite that story, or even a full story, I enjoyed it very much. Your aptly named Doran Cheshire is interesting not because he's evil but because he's amoral. He treats Remus's tragedy as a cosmic practical joke with him as God. Cheshire's accepted himself for what he is and hints that he even enjoys it--quite the contrast to Remus. Excellent. I don't suppose you've got a follow-up story in mind to suit this character?

Reviewer: AmeliaDate: 2003-09-11
Reviewid: 51948Chapter: 1
Loverly honey. Rather disturbing, though. :) Once again, congrats. Keep it up!

Reviewer: Darwin's ApprenticeDate: 2003-09-11
Reviewid: 51903Chapter: 1
Nice premise. At first, the werewolf came across as a victim trying to make the best of a bad situation. But by the end, he seemed to be a bit off. I don't know if that was what you were after or not. But he is right on the edge. Interesting. I'd like to see more of him.
Don

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2003-09-11
Reviewid: 51896Chapter: 1
How did you do? Hm, let's see, the first half made me smile, the second one gave me the chills. I'd say your Doran Cheshire was called Hannibal Lecter in a different literary life. I liked your other story, too, but I find this one more impressive. It's short yet so poignant. Keep writing.

Reviewer: CrookshanksDate: 2003-09-11
Reviewid: 51886Chapter: 1
Wow. That IS very dark humor. This was really well written and interesting.

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-09-11
Reviewid: 51876Chapter: 1
Wow.

I'm quite nearly speechless, which rarely happens to me when I read. But this is an angle I've never seen done before, and you've managed it exceptionally well--you've made the werewolf a creature not to be pitied, which is a much greater accomplishment than causing us, the readers, to feel sorry for your character. After all, those of us who like Remus are predisposed to feel sorry for his 'kin.'

I love the fact that you never gave us a name, never anything more than conversation until that very last line. The werewolf's lonely and slightly sick mentality really show through because you let him speak in his own words. He's rambling, really, which is so effective...mostly because he's misunderstood and shut out, and he's responded by laughing at that which shouldn't be laughed at. I certainly find his "sense of humor" sickening, but it's in a very powerful way.

Great job on the story. Reading this makes me eager to read more from you, because your style and ideas are both unique. Kudos.

Reviewer: PaulineDate: 2003-09-11
Reviewid: 51848Chapter: 1
The thin line you walk here, between eerie horror and mannered wit, reminds me strongly of Oscar Wilde's "The Picture of Dorian Gray." Was naming your werewolf Doran an allusion? The little quip about the sister's wedding was chilling, cruel and quite funny. Another great effort.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-09-11
Reviewid: 51812Chapter: 1
This is a really great story! Was extremely creative and I enjoyed it!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --