The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Flying a Kite
Review(s): 11

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-06-01
Reviewid: 123143Chapter: 1
Nice

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2003-10-19
Reviewid: 57031Chapter: 1
This was a very interesting idea, and I think you have Lucius Malfoy's inner voice done very well--I found myself sad for him... well, almost. He *is* doing this number on himself.

I especially liked the scene between Neville, Draco, and Neville's Gran--I hadn't thought of it, but of course it's likely that they would have met at some point. The pureblood community is relatively small. But the best part of that scene was the little mention of Neville's magic, freeing himself of the string, which goes totally unnoticed by Gran. She was defending him and it's obvious that she's devoted to him, but that one moment of blindness really stands for all the others.

In all, just a lovely handling of your theme on a lot of levels.

Reviewer: Hannah LeeDate: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52384Chapter: 1
Aww. Sad. But good.

Hannah

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 52078Chapter: 1
Vicious...that't the only word to describe Lucius. There are few times when I feel slightly sorry for arrogant Draco and this is one of them. I can see where the boy got it from, though. You can't treat a child like Lucius does without some of it rubbing off. Well written...I still have chills running down my spine.

Reviewer: HalcyonDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 52075Chapter: 1
Very good job! I like the changes you've made to it. It's turned into a really interesting view of Draco and Lucius's relationship. Well done!

Would have reviewed sooner, except for that stupid thermo homework and a math test! :P

Reviewer: QueenieDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 51990Chapter: 1
Ohh... Lucius, Lucius, Lucius, you should've made your own kite...
Touching. In a weird sort of way. I liked reading this. ~Q

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 51975Chapter: 1
I got such a kick out of little!Draco yelling "Vroom!" Hehe. So cute...and the rest of it was very well-written, too, as I see many of your reviewers have said. Very in-character, and I love the bit with poor Neville and his Gran not noticing his magical abilities. Poor kid.

And great story!

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-09-11
Reviewid: 51951Chapter: 1
Bittersweet. For a long moment, I thought they might actually come to understand one another, then you went and ruined that....but nicely so, despite the dissapointment. You handled the scene with the Weasleys extremely well, too; I really like the long term hatred between the two families. And the encounter with Neville and his Gran was priceless, too. Great job.

Reviewer: TurtleDate: 2003-09-11
Reviewid: 51891Chapter: 1
*sigh* Looks like things will
never change between Draco and
his father.But it's nice to read
about Draco and Lucius playing a
...what do you call it? A ... a kite?
Yeah,thats's it!

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-09-11
Reviewid: 51887Chapter: 1
aw...poor Malfoy....sob

Reviewer: DanniiDate: 2003-09-11
Reviewid: 51878Chapter: 1
aww... poor wittle Draco gettin' all bullied by Lucius.... :'(...

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --