The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 10

Reviewer: MadisonDate: 2005-08-29
Reviewid: 131234Chapter: 1
wow, that's really good but isn't a Shakespearean sonnet supposed to ryhme A, B, A, B. Rather than A, A, B, B like this one? And the last two lines being the only to the rhyme A, A! It creates a great image though, makes evil seem peaceful somehow, bloody brillient acheivement!

Reviewer: LiaDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95439Chapter: 1
Hello!

I liked the poem, but it can't truly be called a Shakespearian, which I spelled horribly wrong, sonnet. You see, a sonnet of that kind is composed abab cdcd efef gg you know? Every other line rhymes, and then a couplet at the bottom. Three quatrains and a couplet. It was still a very nice poem, but a Shakesp. Sonnet.

Reviewer: guyDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84857Chapter: 1
what? is that ?

Reviewer: ValDate: 2004-05-19
Reviewid: 83373Chapter: 1
I really like this poem, but I believe the rhyme scheme in a shakesperean poem is slightly different. I think it is ABAB CDCD EFEF GG. Just a bit of constructive criticism.

Reviewer: July 31Date: 2004-04-27
Reviewid: 80435Chapter: 1
Very very good, i like the impersonation of shakespeare.

Blank verse....*shudder*

But good job!

Reviewer: JeremyDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79227Chapter: 1
Maybe this is nitpicking, but I thought a Shakespearean sonnet has a different rhyme scheme, as ABABCDCD EFEFGG??

Reviewer: pirateloverDate: 2004-02-19
Reviewid: 71463Chapter: 1
I like the part:
"For them the heavens are an open book,
To anyone with sight enough to look,"

Reviewer: Kaikura TenshiDate: 2003-11-25
Reviewid: 60669Chapter: 1
This was a great poem, but not in the proper format for a sonnet, or a shakespearian sonnet. They're generally divided eight lines on the top asking a question, or proposing something, or setting up a situation, and the bottom six lines answering the question, resolving the situation, or giving an unexpected ending. Thay also generally have a different rhyme scheme.

I do like the poem--you managed to keep the rhyme scheme you did use without it getting tacky like some people can, including myself. I'm quite impressed with that. I think some of your images are amazing, too. It was a really good poem, but I'm specializing in Shakepearian era literature and I have a thing for sonnets, and it's just a thing that really catches at my nerves...it's really not a bad poem, it's just not a sonnet in the current form, and I thought I'd let you know.

Good job!

~Kai =^_^=

Reviewer: Marie ArouetDate: 2002-11-24
Reviewid: 9976Chapter: 1
Very well written indeed :) I especially like your incorporations of Shakespeare's style of writing.

Reviewer: YvonneDate: 2002-10-15
Reviewid: 6381Chapter: 1
This is cool, to see my favourite magical creatures described liek that.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --