The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Visiting Arthur
Review(s): 22

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-04-24
Reviewid: 120461Chapter: 1
:-)

Reviewer: shaolaDate: 2004-05-26
Reviewid: 84640Chapter: 1
Wow! You managed to make Percy human and understandable without writing him out of character! Loving his parents and acting like a complete git istn't a contradiction.
BTW,I so enjoyed that it was from Percy's point of view, by the way, I couldn't quite imagine how he would feel before reading the story- the tone of the narration was very percy-ish :)

Reviewer: Sunny DayleeDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74857Chapter: 1
Very nicely done! The whole feel of the fic was very Percy; the "authoritative" aire, the ceaseless concern of duty to the Ministry, his utilization of the power his Ministry employment possition allows him. And although it seemed more in character for him to refer to his mum as "mother", his reaction to and reflection on all the characters was pretty cannon.

Reviewer: MissMaladyDate: 2004-02-17
Reviewid: 71138Chapter: 1
How sweet and heartbreaking. Percy, just go to him!

Reviewer: AUNT!Date: 2003-10-25
Reviewid: 57858Chapter: 1
Having not been fond of Percy at ALL in this last book, I was very happy to see a chance for Percy to reach back to his family and if not make amends --- at least keep hope alive --- or begin to see the light. Well done.

Reviewer: FarieDate: 2003-10-13
Reviewid: 56415Chapter: 1
I like this a lot. it was really in tune with percys character, in that he came to check on his dad, but that he was too proud to actually talk to him. very good character and plot wise...great job!!!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-10-13
Reviewid: 56413Chapter: 1
Great story. I really enjoyed seeing things from Percy's side. I'm glad he cared enough to try and find out whether his father was OK, but at the same time he was prideful enough to try and do so without coming into contact with Arthur -- very in-character. I must also say I'm glad he lives in a lousy place -- it serves him right! :-p

I look forward to reading the rest of your work.

Reviewer: EvilgrinLordDate: 2003-09-29
Reviewid: 54697Chapter: 1
Excellent. That was kind of chilling. Some great insight into Percy's side of the story, and his psyche. Very good writing by the way. Neat and to the point. It didn't waste time being all melodramatic and emotional. It drives me crazy when authors do that. You nailed it.

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2003-09-24
Reviewid: 54222Chapter: 1
Oh, wow. So in character--Percy cares about Arthur, but he just can't face his family and curb his pride. Very well done.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-09-24
Reviewid: 54214Chapter: 1
This was really good! I always wondered if Percy went to visit Arthur... :)

Reviewer: Dragongirl2130Date: 2003-09-24
Reviewid: 54169Chapter: 1
Excellent story- right in cannon. I wonder if there are medical privacy laws in the wizarding world? Even if you are a top ranking ministry official, can you just pop by a hospital and look at someone's chart without clearance? Well, regardless of that, I hope you write some more-perhaps another chapter about when Percy and Arthur finally get to talking?

Reviewer: Susan LynnDate: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52365Chapter: 1
This is an excellent piece. I especially like how you show that Percy does indeed have a heart. Yet, he struggles so hard to deny his feelings of love in the name of reason. Some of the lines that struck me were:

"Now Percy wanted details, facts; something concrete which would put everything into perspective, instead of just having to blindly rely on raw emotion and conjecture."

"He shook his head, trying to push the pain back into its compartment inside his mind."

I really felt for him at the end of your story when he returns wearily and alone to his self-imposed exile.

I look forward to reading your future stories. Welcome to the Quill!

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2003-09-13
Reviewid: 52223Chapter: 1
I think this is very plausible, I really hope JKR didn't intend for Percy to suddenly turn into the two-dimensional character he seemed to be in OotP. I also see a glimpse of the sneaky Percy in CoS who bent the rules to meet his girlfriend Penelope. He's not as totally tied to the "letter of the law" as he appears. Yet his using his Ministry credentials to gather information about his father also suggests a slightly darker side of a Percy who might be tempted to abuse his power the way Crouch Sr. did. You present a very well-rounded Percy, neither totally innocent or a total prat. Nice one-shot!

Reviewer: ChloéDate: 2003-09-13
Reviewid: 52182Chapter: 1
WELL DONE !!
very canon in-character...
Keep the good work with Percy or others ...

Reviewer: charlie'sgirlDate: 2003-09-13
Reviewid: 52152Chapter: 1
welle written, well ploted. a lovely charicterazation

Reviewer: CristinaDate: 2003-09-13
Reviewid: 52150Chapter: 1
I reeaaaaaaaallllly hope Percy comes to his senses! Great characterization!

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 52084Chapter: 1
Excellent story, though it is sad to see the gulf between father and son. You've handled it extremely well, especially by not allowing them to talk, and thus disturbing canon. You also got Percy right-on; I can believe every little bit of this story. Great job.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 52069Chapter: 1
I hope Percy does see the light and comes back to his family in book 6.

Reviewer: DanielleDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 52065Chapter: 1
I have to say that I think you portrayed Percy's feelings very well. This story made me have more sympathy for him.

Reviewer: Lex The LovelyDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 52029Chapter: 1
Cute...and sad at the same time. that was also very very well writen!

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 52023Chapter: 1
Nice look into Percy's thought processes. Well written. Particularly liked the bit where he realises he can't stop loving his father even if he disagrees with him.

Reviewer: chloeDate: 2003-09-12
Reviewid: 52015Chapter: 1
a promising start :P i look foreward to reading future chapters!!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --