The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 25

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2006-06-05
Reviewid: 143238Chapter: 1
This was totally awesome!!!! I was literally laughing out loud many, many times during this story. Of course I didn't realize right away what was wrong with him. This story is awesome, I'm going to recommend a couple of my friends read it!

~GW

Reviewer: katie BiliusDate: 2005-08-09
Reviewid: 129445Chapter: 1
WIKED!!!!!!BRILLIANT!!!!!!

Reviewer: reader2Date: 2005-02-05
Reviewid: 113024Chapter: 1
I have read some Moody/butt stories - So far, this is the best

Reviewer: BlankDate: 2004-11-06
Reviewid: 103601Chapter: 1
LoL, I love this story. It's so funny and believable. Good work!

Reviewer: YlimeDate: 2004-10-10
Reviewid: 100962Chapter: 1
Oh.....my.....word. WAY TO GO! That was hysterical. I swear, I won't be able to stop laughing for the rest of the day. I'm just sitting here giggling. I loved it! It fits so perfectly. Oh, *dear*, just imagine poor Moody as that teenager, his wand in his back pocket, tripping, and then..... *laughs and laughs and laughs and laughs* I'll never be able to read Moody's scenes in canon again without exploding into sniggers.

Reviewer: MoonrunnerDate: 2004-10-06
Reviewid: 100629Chapter: 1
This is AWESOME. I'm laughing hysterically right now (Note: do not laugh while eating crackers. That hurt.) I love the ending line, and the references to Moody's DADA prof.
I say again. This is awesome.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-06-28
Reviewid: 89265Chapter: 1
Aw, poor Al! *stifling laughter* And THAT'S why he always wears a huge, billowy cloak!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2003-09-21
Reviewid: 53810Chapter: 1
[“If you’re that good an Auror, you should be able to avoid hexes,” said Poppy acerbically.] Spoken like the true, no nonsence woman Poppy is.

Terriffic missing moment! Very funny and it's the little touches that make this believable, like Moody grumbling about getting advice from a man with a flowerpot attached to his head. A wonderfully fun read.

Reviewer: JamieDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53261Chapter: 1
... that was great lol who would have thought!

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-09-16
Reviewid: 52905Chapter: 1
::is too busy cracking up to write a review::

hahaha...




hahaha....






hahaha...



::wheeze:: whew. OK, brilliantly funny. ::giggles:: oh, here I go again...

::laughs::

hahahahaha

ta,
~TPR


P.S. (hahahaha....)

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52721Chapter: 1
What a fun piece to read. You made me smile. I can just picture the cantankerous Alastor Moody as a rebellious teen pulling a stupid stunt like putting his wand where it shouldn’t be and growing up to rue the day he stuck it there.

I like how you portrayed Poppy. She’s very believable and has the gift of good rapport with young people.

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52716Chapter: 1
Hilarious. Although in my mind I see Moody as being much older than Madam Pomfrey, b/c he was recalled from retirement, and that to me means he's at least 70 or more. Whereas Poppy, I see her as 40-ish or so. But no matter, I did think Moody must have lost a buttock doing smthg stupid, and your take on a teenage Alastor is really quite funny.

Reviewer: Eir de ScaniaDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52712Chapter: 1
Great idea - but did flared jeans exist in the early sixties?

Reviewer: YolandaDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52666Chapter: 1
This was so clever and funny. I can just hear mothers all over wizardom telling their children not to stick their wands in their pockets!! I like the idea of Moody being surly and tough-acting as a boy, and that his mother is just as tough as he is. As the mother of a boy, I can tell you from experience that you have to be as tough as they are. I'm still laughing. Thanks!

Reviewer: PaulineDate: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52628Chapter: 1
I can't decide what made me laugh the most. It's a toss up between "Not everybody wants to be an Auror!" or young Al complaining about his paranoid DADA teacher "ranting about being vigilant." Very, very funny stuff!

Just a minor quibble from somebody who's nearly old enough to remember. I think the early 60's were a bit too soon for flared jeans - that was more a stovepipe pants type of era. Flares made their ghastly appearance around 1966ish. But, maybe young Al's so cool, that he's ahead of the fashion. :)

Reviewer: SpartinaDate: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52603Chapter: 1
I've been trying to figure out what makes this story so snort-your-tea-all-over-your-keyboard funny, since we've got an injured child, an anxious mum, and a baffled doctor here. Maybe it's that the title harks back to one of the funniest lines in OotP. Maybe it's the deftness with which you've drawn the characters--the young nurse and the embarrassed boy whose future careers we know...Mrs. Moody's spot-on mix of worry and fury...and the impossibility of holding on to your dignity when you are a teenage boy with a hovering mother and half a behind. Or maybe it was young Alastor's discovery that there was something cool about a missing buttock after all. Whatever it is, "Better Wizards than You" is a treat I'm glad to see at the Quill.

Reviewer: LourDate: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52591Chapter: 1
Oh, awesome, I loved it!

Reviewer: AerinDate: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52590Chapter: 1
Merlin, that was amazing. I loved the humor- missing buttock, haha!!! Great use of the quote from OotP, this is hilarious! I love how you placed Poppy in the story as well, and I do love your characteristics of Al and Poppy when they were teens. Write more, and congrats on being accepted at the Sugar Quill! ^_^

Reviewer: Suzanne FosterDate: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52541Chapter: 1
Great story! I really enjoyed the characters. I also liked how you had him learning his "Constant Vigilance" stuff from his DADA teacher.

Very enjoyable.

Reviewer: girlyqDate: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52519Chapter: 1
thats the funniest thing! i love this!!!! i always really liked that part in the book, i thought it was funny and the "never you mind.." hahahahaha!!!! this is hilarious its so funny i love it. i think im just repeating myself but(t) thats okay.
he tripped on his flaressssss!!!!
"cool!" i love that!!
your funny, keep writing

Reviewer: Paige Knorr (The Muggle Hermione)Date: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52517Chapter: 1
Dear WiccaRowan,
Great first story... my beta hasn't gotten back to me yet. Very ingenious. I love it. Poppy's cool.

Poppy’s gaze travelled down the young man’s back, following the line of the sheets to the point where there was a shocking, unexpected dip.

OH MY GOSH SO FUNNY! Shocking dip eh? One little thing... I don't really think boys would be wearing jeans with flares, however if it's the 60's you never know... Have fun at the Quill!!!

Paige

Reviewer: MerilinDate: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52501Chapter: 1
*hysterical giggles* oh that's just precious...

Reviewer: katieDate: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52485Chapter: 1
*LOL*!!!!* Mad Eye lost his buttocks kool story write more!

Reviewer: KatrinaDate: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52460Chapter: 1
*wipes tears from eyes* First of all, I must say that you wrote that story very well, and you are a great author. Second, I must say that that was a very creative story! I loved it! And third, I must say that I was laughing so hard at the end, then I have ever laughed!

Great Great story! You should do more like it! I liked the kind of surprise at the end lol!

Reviewer: mmaryDate: 2003-09-14
Reviewid: 52431Chapter: 1
LOL I love that part too....Your story was really good, I liked it loads.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --