The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Quixotic
Review(s): 42

Reviewer: SandyDate: 2005-03-29
Reviewid: 118020Chapter: 1
this is no doubt the best luna-fic I have ever read. but I'm confused- did the trio die?
very inspiring story, loved it. This story was so good it deserves TWO flowers
@-}-- @-}--

Reviewer: AnonymousDate: 2005-03-05
Reviewid: 115617Chapter: 1
This is one of my favorite one- shots. I absolutely love it. Good job! You're truly and inspiring writer.

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-03-03
Reviewid: 115342Chapter: 1
A nice, interesting idea. Good tale.

Reviewer: Persephone LunaDate: 2004-12-05
Reviewid: 106911Chapter: 1
Because all I can show you is what I have labeled this fic in my favourites list: "Quixotic --- OMG!!!!! BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!"

Does that say enough? :D

This. Is. AMAZING.

Reviewer: OceanaDate: 2004-10-04
Reviewid: 100394Chapter: 1
Your characterization of Luna was right on. Very good fic

Reviewer: JulietDate: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 92002Chapter: 1
...::sniffles:: Oh goodness...I adore this story. It's not only well-written, but heart-wrenching as well.. I hate it when I get pictures in my head. I can see that last bit still. ::sighs:: I think I'm going to cry... But yes, wonderful story.

Reviewer: lepetitarsenicDate: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 91986Chapter: 1
This was lovely! I really adore your characterization of Luna, and I can imagine her viewing the Trio in much the same way you described. There just isn't enough good Luna fic out there... thank you for this one.

Reviewer: EsraDate: 2004-01-28
Reviewid: 68774Chapter: 1
I was reading the reviews for "Like charcoal on water" because I was searching for the word that described both these stories, but that I couldn't form in my mind, and someone said that the writing was exquisite. That's the word to describe them: exquisite exquisite exquisite. There's something somehow so lyrical about them, such beautiful ethereal, delicate prose. The style is so lucid and pure. But I'm going to stop now because Iíve become a bit carried away, they seem to have really affected me. An amazing read.

Reviewer: Mysterious MuggleDate: 2004-01-23
Reviewid: 68116Chapter: 1
Just wanted to congratulate you on a great characterisation of Luna. She's a tough character to get right, and I think a lot of people take her at surface value only, which you haven't done here. I'm writing my own Luna-fic, so I'm just browsing around to see other people's takes on her. Congratulations on being the best so far. ;)

Reviewer: AlissaDate: 2003-12-09
Reviewid: 62731Chapter: 1
ok..i absolutely love your fanfic. after reading the 5th book i was definately more convinced of H/L sparks then H/G. I love the way you worded everything. It would convince anyone of the growing tension that i think JKR is going to put between harry and luna in the upcoming books.

Reviewer: RachaelDate: 2003-12-06
Reviewid: 62166Chapter: 1
Wow. That's all I can say. Wow.

Reviewer: Nikki WeasleyDate: 2003-11-10
Reviewid: 59538Chapter: 1
Ive read this a few times before,but have never reveiwed. But everytime i read it, I get the chills, this is such a wonderful and powerful fic. Great job!

>>Because in the end, the only true magic is the one of belief.<<

Reviewer: JulieDate: 2003-11-08
Reviewid: 59288Chapter: 1
I've never seen a story from Luna's view! It is so different to hear it from her side. Very well done.

Reviewer: solarphoenixDate: 2003-11-07
Reviewid: 59141Chapter: 1
This was a very powerful piece, and I've certainly no technical faults to point out so I shall simply shower you with praises.

Probably one of the best lines in fanfiction I've seen:

' Because in the end, the only true magic is the one of belief.'

Keep up the good work!

solarphoenix.

Reviewer: FrankieDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 59035Chapter: 1
I can't believe I didn't see this before! I love the way you have constructed your stories. . . both this one and LWOC. This structure is one that many writers have found difficult, but you handle it impeccably.

"Because in the end, the only true magic is the one of belief."

Breathtaking. You are a wonderfully evocative writer and I cannot wait to read more.

Reviewer: PennyDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58976Chapter: 1
Very, very excellent. I loved the writing style as well as the words you wrote. Made me cry!

Reviewer: niceDate: 2003-11-04
Reviewid: 58728Chapter: 1
I liked it... it was good!

Reviewer: JobrillDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53272Chapter: 1
Nicely done.

I like how it deals with the feelings of Luna and Ginny both, giving both relationships good time and consideration, and letting the reader decide what the outcome might be.

The insight into Luna's character and why she believes what she does is very well thought out, I loved that.

I suppose I am a bit unsettled by the idea of the Three dying to Voldemort at the end, for some reason it shook me up, to imagine our three heroes... just lying there. For some reason, despite the fact that I tend to be a romantic who imagines Harry and Luna "riding off into the sunset" so to speak, I can't get that vision out of my head, there's something haunting there...

Reviewer: Bronwen StxDate: 2003-09-17
Reviewid: 53112Chapter: 1
This is simply beautiful. Through the eyes of Luna, there's more of than what its there and the impact of it makes this story wonderful. The simplicity of Luna's observation, no matter how much of it was simply an observation has a great effect. Emotions are there, the message is powerful...It's just wow...

Hehehe, I like it how you've given it two choices part, Luna or Ginny; and no one would realize it. It's fascinating how the newest character suddenly became a top contender as Harry's love interest. But nonetheless, I am happy I found my ship, H/L all the way. ^^

Reviewer: ReviewerDate: 2003-09-16
Reviewid: 53039Chapter: 1
This has a professional, beautiful touch I don't think I've ever seen in fanfiction. It is meaningful and simple, funny and poignant, fabulously crafted and with perhaps the best characterization of Luna or perhaps anyone I'v ever seen in the Potter fanfiction world. You set a mood as well as most published authors and Luna's ethereal, careless, never melodramatic yet always sad tone nearly made me cry. I loved how you used and extended the anchor analogy. It was truly beautifully done and just....magnificently written. The Ron section was particularly nice. A good balance between the bittersweetness of the part on Harry and the rather sorrowful tone of the Hermione part. Some comic relief with a tinge of meaning, something which is extremely rare even in published work.

Reviewer: GandalfinaDate: 2003-09-16
Reviewid: 53038Chapter: 1
I like it. I think you've captured the spirit of Luna. Luna really is all about faith and hope and quirkiness and seeing things in a different way.

I really like the part where she would be happy no matter what Harry's choice is. That's Luna.

Reviewer: MichelleDate: 2003-09-16
Reviewid: 53032Chapter: 1
All I can say is....WOW...I think you've captured the essence to Luna that a lot of us missed. It was beautifully written. If you ever think of changing it--don't. It was just...Wow. There's nothing else to say really, except WOW.

Reviewer: gryffindorianDate: 2003-09-16
Reviewid: 53003Chapter: 1
wonderfully written... its a great angle into luna whom i liked very much... i think harry will do well to pick her.

Reviewer: ChrissyDate: 2003-09-16
Reviewid: 52999Chapter: 1
Wow. This is amazingly insightful. I haven't really dared to venture into Luna's character, because we've been given so little to work with in canon... but I think you've done an excellent job.

What a story! :D

Reviewer: AnnaDate: 2003-09-16
Reviewid: 52913Chapter: 1
This HAS to be one of my favorite fanfics i've ever read
It was beautifully written, and you've captured Luna
Lovegood's personality so well (and she's my favorite character),
that I really felt like I knew what was behind this character.
Really just a gorgeous, gorgeous piece. Oh, and I actually
really like this ship... :)

~Anna
gorgeous, gorgeous peice.

Reviewer: LadyAtherDate: 2003-09-16
Reviewid: 52910Chapter: 1
Quiet, forceful, beautiful. Captured Luna's dreaminess, and gave her a gentle weight of solemnity at the same time. V. well done. Trio descriptions lovely.

Somehow reminiscent of Mary Stewart's Merlin books (the Crystal Cave, the Hollow Hills, the Last Enchantment); had the same still power.

Reviewer: LourDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52855Chapter: 1
That was really awesome, I loved it!

Reviewer: ElucrehDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52844Chapter: 1
Brava! Your metaphors are sharp and soft, sweet and ringing crystal-clear. An excellent picture of a difficult mind, and a beautiful portrayal of friendships and personalities. Well done indeed.

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52816Chapter: 1
Wow. Hold on give me a second. ...Wow. Sorry, just can't get past that. This reads a lot like Kurt Vonnegut, especially like Slaughterhouse Five. This is a big compliment from me. Those are the books I get sick on; in the sense that they affect me so badly I just a want to cry and sleep. This was a great fic. The only problem I thought of was the Harry/Luna... but even then, it wasn't that big of a deal, since it was left so open. Wow. I loved all the "black and red and brown" references, and Luna hearing Ron rant in the store. Everything...it was just amazing. I feel like I should be thanking you for making SugarQuill an even better place. This was fantastic.

Reviewer: JustAReviewerDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52765Chapter: 1
This is a one of a kind story!
Intrigued me well enough to read it from beginning to end.
Sorry if I can't say anything else since I am a Ginny/Harry fan.

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52733Chapter: 1
Fantastic. This is one of those rather rare marriages, where excellent characterisation is matched with simply beautiful writing from an obviously gifted author.

Luna was, IMO, one of the best things in OotP, and I love the insights into her character that you give us.

Really - this is one of the best fics I've read in a while. Thank you so much.

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52732Chapter: 1
I loved your story. Everything about it was so... Luna! :) As soon as Luna appeared in OotP, I fell in love with her. I have a feeling JKR has a lot planned for her in future books.
There was just one thing that I don't agree with... You said that true friendship is rare... but I disagree. True friendship is not rare at all, thank G-d. From my own experience, I learned that if you give true friendship, you will get it in return.

Reviewer: TeresaDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52724Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed that. Your Luna is as close to JKR's Luna as we mere fans could ever get... Thank you so much for posting this!
I hope we see a lot more of Miss Lovegood in the future-- in canon and in the fanfic of excellent writers like yourself.

Reviewer: RoseDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52722Chapter: 1
This was a beautifully written story, and gave me an entirely new perspective of Luna. Thank you!

Reviewer: Jill W.Date: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52715Chapter: 1
Excellent! I love how you get into Luna's head. She is such a difficult character to write because she has such an unusual world view. I like what she observes and deduces about the Dream Team. I particularly like how she decides that she will be happy no matter who Harry decides to like. She'll be happy simply because he's made a decision.

Just one minor thing that bothers me. You said: "her hair will be dirty, like it always is". Um, no. When Rowling describes Luna as having 'dirty blonde' hair, she is refering to its color, not its cleanliness. 'Dirty blonde' (aka ash blonde) is a shade that's not yellow enough to be called blonde, but not dark enough to be called brunette.

Reviewer: GiesbrechtDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52705Chapter: 1
Wow. Very poetic. Interesting insight into Luna.

Reviewer: ZanyMuggleDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52699Chapter: 1
What an insightful piece of fiction! What an extraordinary character you have created from the kernel of a character provided by JKR and a few hundred words! Her eyes see with emotions rather than dimensions, with feelings and beliefs rather than colors. Wow!

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52667Chapter: 1
Probably the best Luna fic I've ever read. Wow...

Reviewer: Incurable RomanticDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52665Chapter: 1
Well, amazing isn't it, how small the fanfic world can be? Because now I find my favorite Ranma writer on my favorite Harry Potter site. I love your story by the way, all the metaphors are fascinating.

Reviewer: Teresina DragonwagonDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52663Chapter: 1
Oooooh. This was good. Even though the font was kind of small. Very well-written, and the observations are things that you'd think would be so obvious, and yet so not, and oooooh.

Reviewer: KevinDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52655Chapter: 1
Awesome thought story from Luna's head!! Also in a way connects to us as well!!

Reviewer: Nana KessieDate: 2003-09-15
Reviewid: 52654Chapter: 1
This was a truly wonderful fic. Luna is my new favorite character, and I feel that your fic did exactly what other fics about Luna could not - capture her mentality in a way that preserves Luna as she is, as JK Rowling intended, and not as the readers believe her to be. I can think of no higher compliment than that. This piece was truly wonderful.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --