The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 64

Reviewer: chelleDate: 2007-08-29
Reviewid: 149073Chapter: 1
I just wanted to say that I really like this fic, and that I got an account on this forum specifically to let you know I gave it an award on my HP fic recs site, because I couldn't figure out an alternate way of letting you know.

Great job!

Reviewer: The Enchanted TeakettleDate: 2006-03-18
Reviewid: 141058Chapter: 1
This was so sad! I really, really felt sorry for Hagrid!

Hagrid's character was really well written, though! I loved it! And the ongoing theme of Gryffindor bravery throughout the fic was really well done!

Dumbledore was really in-character too! His patience and understanding, his unbiased and unassuming demeanor, were all really well written too!

Great fic!

Reviewer: purebristlesDate: 2006-01-06
Reviewid: 138084Chapter: 1
This was a very bittersweet, touching story about Hagrid. Great job.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-06
Reviewid: 136826Chapter: 1
Touching.

Reviewer: JohannahDate: 2005-07-21
Reviewid: 127538Chapter: 1
That. Was. Wonderful. I really liked this piece very much. The last line, especially, was marvelous. This really was the only piece I've seen on Hagrid. And it was simply excellent. Your writing style is unbelievably good and comfortable. I loved it. Simply loved it.

Reviewer: saraDate: 2005-06-30
Reviewid: 125707Chapter: 1
Ciircee, that's a great missing moment, you just got Hagrid and Dumbledore right - go on with more like that!

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-02-26
Reviewid: 115016Chapter: 1
Sorry for carrying on so much (see my prior Review) but the night after I read and reviewed your story, I went to see "Phantom of the Opera" (the film). But throughout the entire thing I was thinking about Hagrid's Dad's 'secret': If you love something enough, then it's not a monster. I was also thinking, 'Wow! If that's not a coincidence, then I don't know what is.'
Anyway, THANX again. You ROX.
Angie

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2005-02-15
Reviewid: 113981Chapter: 1
Wow, excellent story. You've captured the personalities of Dumbledore and Hagrid as well as anyone (except perhaps JK herself) could. You are also one of the few people to manage to get Hagrid's dialect spot on.

Not to mention that the way you handled the whole "because he has giant blood" bit was awesome. The last name explanation was great too, overall, GOOD work!

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2005-01-22
Reviewid: 111798Chapter: 1
Beautiful. Absolutly wonderful. I always thought that if I could go to Hogwarts, I'd like to be sorted into Gryffindor and go down to visit Hagrid. He has to be one of the most lovable characters in the books. you've got younger Hagrid down pat. Especially the dialect.
In Arabella's 'The Other Prisoner of Azkaban', she has Sirius contemplating why Hagrid, of all people, would be in Azkaban. He realises early on in the story that Hagrid must be innocent.
'Why?' he asks himself. 'Because it's Hagrid.' A voice in his mind enters and says, 'Just like it was Peter?' Then we hear Hagrid crying himself to sleep. Sirius says again, 'That's why. Because it's Hagrid.'
Both stories are poignant and touching. We finally see that if you love something, then it's not a monster. And for the people who understand this, the Hat will most definatly say, 'Gryffindor.'
Thank you,
AW

Reviewer: EmmaDate: 2005-01-02
Reviewid: 109525Chapter: 1
I loved this story-I've always wondered what happened to Hagrid when he got expelled. Poor Hagrid...

Reviewer: JetamorsDate: 2004-12-08
Reviewid: 107136Chapter: 1
Aww, Hagrid! *squees* And I love how Gryffindorish you've made him.

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2004-12-06
Reviewid: 107036Chapter: 1
I discovered this story while looking for Hagrid fics since today is Hagrid's birthday.

Interesting insight! You show us the relationship between Hagrid, his parents, and his pets.

Reviewer: MariagonerDate: 2004-12-06
Reviewid: 106991Chapter: 1
This honestly bought tears to my eyes. Poor Hagrid.

Reviewer: clara chaiDate: 2004-11-21
Reviewid: 105460Chapter: 1
awwww... that's suchhhh good writin about hagrid!!! GOOD JOB! you made it just like JK woulda wanted the story to be like!

Reviewer: BeccaDate: 2004-10-31
Reviewid: 103084Chapter: 1
Do I really need to say how much I adored this story? Oh well, if I must.

I adored this story. It made me sniffle at the unfairness of it all, made me tear at the resolution of dear old Hagrid.

Fantabulous job, I loved it.

Reviewer: BerniceDate: 2004-10-12
Reviewid: 101137Chapter: 1
This is lovely! You capture Hagrid's voice perfectly. This story was recced to me from a fellow Hagrid fan, and I just wanted to say thank you for writing this terrific Hagrid centric fic.

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-09-29
Reviewid: 99789Chapter: 1
Wow. "The hat said 'Gryffindor'." Cheers to you for a great Hagrid story. (the only Hagrid story?)

Reviewer: Hitchhiker's Guide to the GalaxyDate: 2004-08-03
Reviewid: 95465Chapter: 1
WOW. Thank you for writing this! You really captured Hagrid's personality, bravery, and heart. I've also always wondered why everyone (including Dumbledore, who usually calls people by their first names) calls him Hagrid. This was a very interesting way of explaining it.
~~“He was deathly afraid o’ whatever killed Myrtle and Petrified all o’ the others.”
Dumbledore’s eyes widened, but he said nothing.~~
Dumbledore totally knew, eh? I mean, he surely knows Acromantulas fear Basilisks, and a giant snake seems like a logical possibility for Slytherin's monster.
~~ "Monsters, real monsters, they don’t love.”~~
Like, maybe, Tom Riddle?
There is also one more thing I've always wanted to know: When Hagrid's name was cleared, why didn't they give him a new wand and let him do magic again?

Reviewer: JeeDate: 2004-07-01
Reviewid: 89961Chapter: 1
So so so so so so so so good. There are so few Hagrid fics around, and this was a veeery good one. YOu completely "got" Hagrid. I liked how Hagrid's pre-Sorting Ceremony feelings mirrored Harry's.

Reviewer: lycanthropeDate: 2004-06-12
Reviewid: 86885Chapter: 1
LOVE werewolves! They are the best!

Reviewer: TinkaLinkaDate: 2004-05-14
Reviewid: 82594Chapter: 1
That made me cry! (well, it didn't, but it mad me FEEL like crying...)
And you're right - I can't find any Hagrid fics...

Well Done!!!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-04-13
Reviewid: 78534Chapter: 1
Really great story. SO much like Hagrid, so much like Dumbledore.

Only, never once in the book does Hagrid call his pets monsters, here he does.

Reviewer: JolieDate: 2004-03-02
Reviewid: 72938Chapter: 1
A Hagrid fic! Your story is as unusual as it is great to read! Your Hagrid and Dumbledore are spot on, character-wise – particularly the contrast in the way they talk, that’s excellent. Hagrid’s accent is so hard to write well, but you did it!

The line “Ain’t nothing monstrous if you love it.” is of course the key line, and it’s very much to the point. I’ve sometimes found Hagrid’s liking for monsters slightly annoying in JKR’s books but now that you’ve reminded me where it comes from, I find it very touching.

I really like the notion that Hagrid is called “Hagrid” by Dumbledore as a sign of respect for his giant heritage.

I love Hagrid’s confession of the excursions into the Forbidden Forest, how it gets just worse and worse (in Dumbeldore’s eyes)! And I really like the way the monster discussion ties in with Hagrid’s memories of his own Sorting.

And LOL at the “Aragorn” quip! I’ve always wondered whether the striking similarity between those names was a coincidence.

The last paragraph a great way to end the story.


Thanks for giving Hagrid some of the attention he really deserves!

Jolie

Reviewer: Twilight's DawnDate: 2004-03-01
Reviewid: 72759Chapter: 1
You're right, there aren't enough Hagrid stories. But this one made up for the lack.
You gave awesome reasons for why Hagrid should be in Gryffindor, and you made him a realistic character, not just a stereotype. I also really liked Dumbledore in this story; he seemed very wise, and yet younger than how we see him in the books. I'm not sure how you did that, but you did.

Reviewer: AuthorByNightDate: 2004-02-26
Reviewid: 72253Chapter: 1
Wow, I really liked this! I did have one issue, though-JK Rowling has confirmed that Riddle's slur about the Werewolf cubs was just slander. But other than that, I really like this, and do hope for more! That is, if there's going to be.

Reviewer: JuliaDate: 2004-02-24
Reviewid: 72149Chapter: 1
its really good! Deep...lol

Reviewer: DonDate: 2004-02-24
Reviewid: 72135Chapter: 1
I read this story ages ago, before I swore to review. I am leaving a review to make up for that. But also as an acknowledgement that this story is the basis for my story "Puppy Love". I could not remember where I had seen this story to acknowledge your work at the time. So I do so here to make amends.

I do love this story. You capture the fright that the young Hagrid must have had. The feeling of abandonment. His father gone and his world ripped away. Dumbledore is ... well ... Dumbledore. That is a compliment.

There are many parts that I like.

>> I was thinking ‘if they got a house fer somebody who feels a mite sick, that’s mine’. << What a great way to deal with this common experience.


>>“Hagrid, surely you didn’t go into the forest?”

“I had to, Professor!” Rubeus winced,<< This whole exchangeis great!

>>Told it me dad’s secret. Nothin’ is monstrous when it’s loved. << The best! The heart of Hagrid right there!

Reviewer: JellyDingyStarDate: 2004-02-23
Reviewid: 72050Chapter: 1
Great fic! I really liked all of it but 'Tell me about Aragorn'... That was quite funny.

Reviewer: Susan LynnDate: 2004-01-02
Reviewid: 65517Chapter: 1
You have superbly captured Hagrid's personality and his voice. Through your missing moment, I could truly feel how isolated Hagrid must have felt at Hogwarts as a half-giant and the solace he found in the forbidden forest. The lines that most resonated with me were "Nothin' is monstrous when it's loved" and "The Hat said 'Gryffindor.' Rubeus Hagrid sat down on his new bed, in his new life, and was brave."

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2003-12-29
Reviewid: 65053Chapter: 1
*tear*
stupid Tom Riddle, deprived Hagrid of a proper education.
Oh, how I hate him!

I found this fic because someone on the Hagrid thread mentioned that Hagrid's dad was in Ravenclaw, and then realized that they confused canon with this story. So, of course I had to come and read it!

Your charaterizations of Hagrid and Dumbledore were spot-on. I was fully convinced that they were both there, and I understand how someone can confuse this with canon. The dialogue was very good as well--as was Hagrid's accent! I've seen a lot of choppy attempts at Hagrid's accent, and this one was perfect.

I never got so emotional thinking about Hagrid as I did while reading this fic. All the OotP-Hagrid haters should come and read this fic
*hugs Hagrid*.

"The Hat," he said at last, "said ‘Gryffindor’" *tear*

This was absolutely perfect.

Reviewer: elokinDate: 2003-11-13
Reviewid: 59887Chapter: 1
I love stories that expand on the wizarding world so tangibly that you can just imagine them being little scraps of paper on J.K.'s desk.

Excellent job.

elokin

Reviewer: ExiledroseDate: 2003-10-06
Reviewid: 55649Chapter: 1
You've done a nice job with this - I really enjoyed it. I'm not much for Gryffindor fics it general, but I'm glad I read this one.
I love how you didn't brush over Hagrids dangerous side (with the werewolf cubs) but also kept him very honest, good natured and friendly at the same time. Not to mention the job you did on his accent - making it readable AND realistic - was pretty impressive.
Thanks.

Reviewer: eDate: 2003-09-29
Reviewid: 54695Chapter: 1
Wow! Great Hagrid story! It sounds just as if it might have really been. And it's the only Hagrid story I've ever read. I like it very much!

Reviewer: Rana EresseaDate: 2003-09-09
Reviewid: 51471Chapter: 1
I badly want more fics like this in the world. That broke my heart. And such a simple ending, yet so damn powerful. I bow at your feet for this.

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-09-03
Reviewid: 50524Chapter: 1
VERY good Hagrid story. Yes, you don't see enough of them *sigh*

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49812Chapter: 1
I loved this story. You're right--not enough is written about Hagrid.

Reviewer: WildernessDate: 2003-08-31
Reviewid: 49739Chapter: 1
Wonderfully remarkable sentiments. Something thst's loved isn't a monster... that's beautiful. This was a fantastic story. You caught Dumbledore's gentle understanding well, and Hagrid... well, I've not read a better one besides JK herself. I wish there were more stories about him.
Thankyou for this, it's a brilliant piece of work.

Reviewer: AYDate: 2003-08-16
Reviewid: 47358Chapter: 1
Hagrid is a spectacular character when you get down to it. And you most definitely did him justice.

Thank you for this lovely piece.

Reviewer: CourtneyDate: 2003-08-15
Reviewid: 47226Chapter: 1
Another great story by you! (I just finished reading and reviewing the one about Neville.) I like your definition of bravery, and Hagrid definitely has it. This story was very moving, it nearly had me in tears. I remember hating Tom Riddle after finishing CoS more than ever for what he had done to Hagrid (my favorite Harry Potter character.) I can definitely see from your story why Hagrid is so incredibly loyal to Dumbledore, how he defended his honor from the Dursleys willing to use magic (break a law), and I find Dumbledore very trusting, he trusted Hagrid who had many doubting him about Aragog not being the monster, and he trusted Hagrid to bring Harry to the Dursley's house right after the Potters were murdered. This story also portrays Dumbledore's willingness to accept people's word when no one else will. Again it was a very moving story, I am off to read more of your works.

Reviewer: RaterDate: 2003-07-08
Reviewid: 40776Chapter: 1
Bravo! Long have I searched for truly great works of fanfiction literatrue, and it is in a rare event that I have found such a work.
Your story merits your hard work and devotion. Well done.

Reviewer: meDate: 2003-07-03
Reviewid: 39880Chapter: 1
That is so sweet it broght tears to my eyes
i reakon it would of happened just like that too
good work.

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-06-04
Reviewid: 35265Chapter: 1
THAT...was wonderful. Very sweet and deep. You're right,there aren't any Hagrid fics.

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-05-30
Reviewid: 34362Chapter: 1
::sniffs::
::eyes water::

WAAAAAAAH!

::cries::

Oh, Hagrid.... Oh....

[Amazing as usual, Circee. You always have the most perfect last lines.]

>>Rubeus Hagrid sat down on his new bed, in his new >>life, and was brave.

ta,
~TPR

Reviewer: HeleneDate: 2003-04-26
Reviewid: 29602Chapter: 1
Oh, that's lovely. Wonderful. Well told.

Reviewer: HecatonchiresDate: 2003-04-13
Reviewid: 27812Chapter: 1
Gaaah! You did it again. Everytime I read one of your stories my eyes tear up ;_; You keep making me cry! Lovely sad story of Hagrid, and what it means to be a Gryffindor.

Reviewer: Jil KikideeDate: 2003-03-15
Reviewid: 24123Chapter: 1
A most beautiful, moving story. Usually I dislike Hagrid fics as he isn't done very well by most authors, but you have taken Hagrid and made him a wonderful character. Also, you got the accent right! A pet peeve of many authors and readers in the fandom is a bad accent, but you did that well. Lovely fic, great title. I'd read more of your work.

Reviewer: VeritasDate: 2003-03-13
Reviewid: 23854Chapter: 1
You've captured the essence of Gryffindor bravery. My heart went out to Hagrid. I've always found JKR's Hagrid speak difficult to understand, but yours flowed so easily, and fit well with the character.

Reviewer: GreenLilyDate: 2003-03-12
Reviewid: 23786Chapter: 1
This was a superb bit of writing. I loved the way you wrote Hagrid's frustration at the fact that no one would listen to him and that they saw him as a monster. I also like your theory on why Dumbledore doesn't call Hagrid Rubeus. I've always wondered why Hagrid is the only person Dumbledore isn't on a first name basis with. The end of the story was beautiful. I like the idea of Hagris needing bravery to stay at Hogwarts and watch his classmates become fully trained witches and wizards.

Reviewer: OzmaDate: 2003-02-24
Reviewid: 21715Chapter: 1
What a beautiful story!! You're right there aren't enough Hagrid stories. He's such a sweetie, one of my favorite characters! Pogonia recommended this one to me, and I'm so glad that she did!

“If you love something, it’s not monster. Ain’t nothing monstrous if you love it. It…they…know. They know when you love ‘em and they feel it and they c’n love you. Monsters, real monsters, they don’t love.”

That was so lovely. And it says so much about Hagrid and his father. Dumbledore's amazement that Hagrid can successfully wander about in the Forest, warning trolls and unicorns about the new predator in their midst was fantastic!

I also loved the part where the Hat puts Hagrid in Gryffindor because he'll be accepted there. And your description of Hagrid facing his new future with courage got me all choked up.

Reviewer: ...Date: 2003-02-18
Reviewid: 20811Chapter: 1
Wonderful!!

Reviewer: aDate: 2003-01-27
Reviewid: 18028Chapter: 1
ur right there arent many stories about hagrid.... if not any..
but this one touched me.....i love hagrid.... who doesnt???

Reviewer: Red LeopardDate: 2003-01-26
Reviewid: 17917Chapter: 1
A lovely little character piece. It gave me a new perspective on Hagrid, a character I hadn't thought about much before.

Reviewer: mDate: 2002-12-14
Reviewid: 12635Chapter: 1
That was a wonderful, wonderful story. Thanks for writing it!

Reviewer: JulianeDate: 2002-11-27
Reviewid: 10358Chapter: 1
Laughing at the Aragorn mixup. Viggo Mortenson with eight legs....

>sending a be-whiskered tea-set crashing to the floor.

It's the little details like this that set your writing apart. Lovely.

I've never read anything that captured Hagrid so well - I find both the character and his dialogue impossible to write, and here you've done both, and in such a heart-wrenching way. Hagrid's speech about love and monsters is brilliant.

Reviewer: WeaverDate: 2002-10-10
Reviewid: 5890Chapter: 1
Brilliant. And you're right, there are no Hagrid stories out there. I'm so glad you wrote one... even gladder that it was a sparkly shiny niftykeen one and not a plebian one. Many schnoogles. *awards medal*

Reviewer: pubDate: 2002-09-12
Reviewid: 3785Chapter: 1
Awesome story.

Reviewer: JaimeDate: 2002-09-11
Reviewid: 3720Chapter: 1
Circe, you're amazing. I don't know how I missed this story before; I've always noticed that no one seems to want to write about Hagrid. He's such a joy, and this was just utterly wonderful, and I got teary at the last paragraph. As I tend to do. :) Lovely.

Reviewer: alphabetDate: 2002-08-21
Reviewid: 2712Chapter: 1
What a wonderfully WAFFy story! I just feel all wonderful on the inside...I never really thought about that. I mean, I knew Hagrid was expelled, but ... anyway. This story's so SAD. It would be, wouldn't it, but wow. It just hurts. I mean, my brother's just about to turn 13. And I couldn't imagine Beau in that situation ... so, poor Hagrid. You really just wrote the whole thing wonderfully.

On a side note, I'm impressed at how well you wrote Hagrid. Frankly, the idea of trying his dialect frightens me, so points to you there, too!

Reviewer: TrishaDate: 2002-08-12
Reviewid: 1778Chapter: 1
And the Hat Said 'Gryffindor' is a wonderful fic. Very realistic for the times, and heartfelt. You got Hagrid's dialect to a tee, which is uncommon for fics-- I know I can't pull it off. Professor Dumbledore's expressions are also well done. Thanks for writing this-- great job!

*trisha*

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2002-08-07
Reviewid: 1217Chapter: 1
Wow, that was incredible. You mastered the Hagrid accent, no small feat, but the continued on to make him a beautiful character. Just wow. I loved it.

Reviewer: AnjerlaDate: 2002-08-02
Reviewid: 701Chapter: 1
EEEEEEEEEE!! Hagrid story!! Hagrid story!! *bounces around the room* HAGRID STORY!! Yay!!! Um, yeah, review...story....that was cute and adorable and wonderful. I don't think I've ever seen anyone get the measure of Hagrid's character like that. I wish I could do it! It's so hard to understand him so well, he's so complicated, and I think you did an amazing job. YAY! *resumes bouncing around the room*

Reviewer: lucysnoweDate: 2002-08-02
Reviewid: 646Chapter: 1
Oh, what a lovely story! I love Hagrid so much, and I'm so happy that you decided to write a story about him. He and Dumbledore were absolutely perfect in this story. I love how you showed that through the whole proceeding he stayed brave and really showed himself to be a true Gryffindor.

Reviewer: AngiesphinxDate: 2002-08-02
Reviewid: 643Chapter: 1
for the ones who love Hagrid and his innocence!!!!
cool

Reviewer: PînkpantherDate: 2002-07-29
Reviewid: 258Chapter: 1
You`re right, there aren`t that many stories about Hagrid. However, I really enjoyed this one. It was very touching and it brings out what Hagrid might have gone through. Very well written.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --