The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Reflections
Review(s): 80

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-01
Reviewid: 141512Chapter: 1
Nice ficlet

Reviewer: CayleeDate: 2005-09-01
Reviewid: 131481Chapter: 1
*sob...sob...sniff* this is the saddest thing ive ever read. i cant read it again or ill start weeping uncontrollably.

Reviewer: KaleighDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131345Chapter: 1
this made me so sad.it was the letter that finally made me cry. Sirius didnt think he would be dead when Harry got the letter. What really got me was when it said:
"Hopefully, I'll find a way to get this into your hands before summer, but if not... I'll see you then"
J.K couldnt have said it better herself.

Reviewer: kalezDate: 2005-08-30
Reviewid: 131319Chapter: 1
That was so sad. It made me cry. I know that Sirius and Harry are fictional characters, but that story made them seem like real people.i would rate that story 5 stars.

Reviewer: anonDate: 2005-03-02
Reviewid: 115296Chapter: 1
came across this through a rec list. crying now.

Reviewer: Ivy WryterDate: 2005-02-06
Reviewid: 113094Chapter: 1
*tears*
Great job.

Reviewer: BogglemindFGDate: 2004-12-07
Reviewid: 107112Chapter: 1
That was so good, and so sad. I love your writing.

Reviewer: MaryDate: 2004-09-25
Reviewid: 99326Chapter: 1
Well this just made me burst into tears. Well done! Really.

Reviewer: SamDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98933Chapter: 1
This is awesome. I agree, hopefully in the 6th book there is some sort of funeral for Sirius. Everyone needs closure, especially a teenager with the weight of the world on his shoulders.
I'm looking forward to what JKR does. I think it might be very similar to what you have done here.
Thanks,
Sam

Reviewer: jascinthDate: 2004-09-19
Reviewid: 98648Chapter: 1
*weeps*

thanks.

Reviewer: KatiDate: 2004-07-07
Reviewid: 91197Chapter: 1
Oh my goodness. That is so sad. I nearly started to cry during it. You're a great writer, and that's a great peice. Sad, but great.

Reviewer: ZenDate: 2004-07-07
Reviewid: 91077Chapter: 1
Very beautiful. Makes me all nostalgic...

Sigh.

Reviewer: KathrynDate: 2004-07-06
Reviewid: 90951Chapter: 1
WOW that was so sad... 1 for ur best...

Reviewer: PlineDate: 2004-07-06
Reviewid: 90852Chapter: 1
Omg, that's so sad!! It made me cry. Poor Harry. Poor Sirius. Sob. Why did he have to die??

Reviewer: Hitchhiker's Guide to the GalaxyDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85908Chapter: 1
I've got tears in my eyes.

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2004-04-30
Reviewid: 80732Chapter: 1
*sob* That was beautiful...

Reviewer: SeluneDate: 2004-04-27
Reviewid: 80440Chapter: 1
I" mcrying. and i wantt you to swithc with jkr adn write book 6. {{Hugs}}

Reviewer: Jolie BlackDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78911Chapter: 1
I normally donít even try reading post-OOTP Sirius-related stories, the thought of the subject alone makes me want to howl at the moon with misery without having to read any of the actual story... But I read this because it was recommended to me and Iím glad I did.

Itís simple Ė not overdoing it, but not making light of things, either. I like the way you write that Harry has no words, and leave it at that. Because thatís what life is like, sometimes there *are* no words. I like the ďlast letterĒ, too, for the same reason Ė there are numerous ďlast lettersĒ floating around in the fanfic world, but not all by far are as good as this. I like yours because itís *not* full of heavy foreshadowing, but real, too Ė youíve got your thoughts, you make your plans, and then death comes and leaves so many things unsaid and unspoken, so many loose ends that will never really be tied up. The realism of this piece is right up there with JKRís. Very well done.

Thanks for sharing this with us! :-)


Jolie


P.S. Slightly irrelevantly I loved the line about Hermioneís diary being as clever as Hermione herself!

Reviewer: IcE uNiCoRnDate: 2004-04-11
Reviewid: 78132Chapter: 1
that was a really beautiful and sad story. I almost started crying.
CONGRATULTIONS for a job well done.:)

Reviewer: DailyhopingDate: 2004-04-07
Reviewid: 77627Chapter: 1
You use amazing similes; you have this way with words to paint awesome pictures in the reader's mind. Kudos for your approach to the story. It was such an emotive story... amazing. I expescially like the letter from Sirius. Probably the part that made me the saddest, but also the most realistic. It sounds exactly like something Sirius would write/say. Bravo.

Gramatically: "will you." - When Harry is digging the square patch of land. Will you, is a question, you have a period.

Reviewer: Angel of the NorthDate: 2004-03-29
Reviewid: 76264Chapter: 1
WOWEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

Came here because of the review challenge, and that I'd decided to read something of yours. The emotion is beautifully handled, and I'm fascinated by your take on Harry and Sirius. Not that I necessarily agree with Harry's emotional maturity that you seem to have here, but I find it a wonderful portrayal of grief and emotion.

Thank you very much.

Reviewer: KristenDate: 2004-03-29
Reviewid: 76230Chapter: 1
I don't read much fanfic, but I saw this linked on a Sirius thread on a fan board and I had to read it! Sirius was my absolute favorite character, and I agree there needed to be more closure, Thank You for writing this :)

Reviewer: SierraDate: 2004-03-28
Reviewid: 76118Chapter: 1
I loved it I thought it was great but I have a couple complaints. 1)I dont like to think that harry would neglet Hegwig that way.2)I thought that Harry burned that book Hermione gave him?
Other than that I thought it was almost like J.K. was wrighting it.

Reviewer: Amy BennfeildDate: 2004-03-26
Reviewid: 75897Chapter: 1
This story is so good!!!!!!!!!But it is really sad,it made me cry.And i'm 13

Reviewer: mellow-meDate: 2004-03-24
Reviewid: 75839Chapter: 1
good story, it has given me closure, something that i needed because i LOVED sirius. pathetic i know but whatever!! it's me.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-03-20
Reviewid: 75305Chapter: 1
Weird how a summary can make you feel as though your hair is standing on end so bad it's actually sticking straight up. But the story isn't so creepy as the summary...... just so sad.

Reviewer: DogsonDate: 2004-03-13
Reviewid: 74506Chapter: 1
(Heavy sigh)

Reviewer: RyDate: 2004-03-13
Reviewid: 74501Chapter: 1
only thing I can think of is Awwww
I hope I have said enough

Reviewer: KariDate: 2004-02-14
Reviewid: 70737Chapter: 1
A really good story, it made me cry from how real it seemed.

Reviewer: KaraDate: 2004-01-28
Reviewid: 68701Chapter: 1
Ah, that was very touching. In character...I enjoyed it. It's very sad, but still extremely well written. I'd encourage you to write more, as Sirius is my favorite character of the canon. I also liked how you portrayed Harry. I know he is wounded and suffering, but in so many fanfics...he doesn't function. I think your story is the best portrayl of Harry so far. Please write more!

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2003-12-29
Reviewid: 65009Chapter: 1
Oh my gosh! It's so sad. But it flowed really well. Great job!

Reviewer: JennDate: 2003-12-28
Reviewid: 64959Chapter: 1
this is a very touching fanfic. i cried as i read it.

Reviewer: SanneDate: 2003-12-25
Reviewid: 64818Chapter: 1
After I had read this I was quiet for a long, long time... Poor Sirius, and poor Harry
This could be a scene from the next book, can you ask JK Rowling to put it in there??? :)

Reviewer: SamDate: 2003-12-24
Reviewid: 64769Chapter: 1
*sob sob* Sirius...no...amazing. Padfoot would have liked it...

Reviewer: SehilaDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63357Chapter: 1
STUPID!, IDIOT!, (I COULD SAY OTHER WORDS THAT WOULD BE INAPPROPRIATE BUT...) IDIOT!IDIOT! STUPID! STUPID! GOSH DARN BELLATRIX!!!!!!!

Reviewer: KathleenDate: 2003-12-15
Reviewid: 63318Chapter: 1
Great story, it felt a little short. It really seemed part of the series.

Reviewer: Delleve MiststoneDate: 2003-11-04
Reviewid: 58718Chapter: 1
Oh my gosh! You almost made me cry! This was really sad and really touching. Die, Bellatrix, die!

Reviewer: spsbDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 57008Chapter: 1
that was really good..... it even made me cry!

Reviewer: RianneDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 57006Chapter: 1
I love it. but are you gonna write more?

Reviewer: Phoenix BlackDate: 2003-10-16
Reviewid: 56645Chapter: 1
OMIGAWD!!! I bawled my fucking EYES out!!! Sirius is the only adult in a story that I've ever fallen in love with, and when he died, so did I! This helped me feel better, for some reason. I loved Sirius more than I love Harry, or Draco, or Ron, or Remus, or Lucius, or anyone! Thank you, SO--MUCH for this story; it was beautiful.

Reviewer: zakiDate: 2003-10-13
Reviewid: 56457Chapter: 1
Beautiful, and well-written, and yes, it made me cry. You're right- Harry needed a funeral for Sirius. We all did. Thank you!

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2003-10-12
Reviewid: 56356Chapter: 1
*tries to hold back tears...fails* WAAAAH!! Oh my God, that was so, so beautiful and so distressingly sad. My God, you've portrayed Harry's grief so perfectly. And that letter...I seriously felt my throat constricting. It was so sad. Hedwig is such a good owl...my poor Harry *hugs him and author* Thank you!

Reviewer: KatiaDate: 2003-10-11
Reviewid: 56191Chapter: 1
oh god! this is oooo sad! I'm crying like mad....this is just so beautiful....

Reviewer: ScarlettDate: 2003-10-10
Reviewid: 56171Chapter: 1
Girl, you amaze me how you can give us the hilarity of Blue Hawaii and then this tear-jerker in Reflections. Sirius' letter was heart-wrenching and very canon-like. Can't wait for your next story.

Reviewer: GillianDate: 2003-10-08
Reviewid: 55776Chapter: 1
aww cute story so sad!!!!

Reviewer: drbman55Date: 2003-10-07
Reviewid: 55755Chapter: 1
did jk write that

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2003-10-06
Reviewid: 55645Chapter: 1
Ohmigod, you made me cry. There are tear stains down my cheeks, and all because of your story. Do you no what an excellent writer you are?! Geesh, if you can make me cry you are definetly one of the best writers out there. Continue writing!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-09-26
Reviewid: 54445Chapter: 1
There are no words to describe this other than "absolutely beautiful." I'm glad you gave Harry some form of closure in regards to Sirius (who is not gone from the series, mark my words) and a little something to improve his opinion of his dad. The wording of the letter was very in-character, too, but I wouldn't have expected less from you! :D

Reviewer: RussaDate: 2003-09-23
Reviewid: 54050Chapter: 1
That was unbelievably sad. Very well-written. I miss Sirius!

Reviewer: JennyDate: 2003-09-22
Reviewid: 53919Chapter: 1
Wow... this was really really moving... I almost cried... You did a great job with Harry's emotions and with that letter from Sirius... it was sad and angsty, but still not too mushy to be something written by Sirius... Good job!

Reviewer: BurcuDate: 2003-09-21
Reviewid: 53853Chapter: 1
Interesting so far, I want to read more:)

Reviewer: Padfoot's PrincessDate: 2003-09-21
Reviewid: 53818Chapter: 1
Oh my goodness - sooo sad!! But so lovely at the same time. Bittersweet to the extreme, brought a lump to my throat. You are very talented and I can't wait to read more of your stuff! :-)

Reviewer: lineDate: 2003-09-20
Reviewid: 53705Chapter: 1
*sniff*...I..I...can't say a word...
I'm crying... It's so sad...
but wonderfully written....

Reviewer: S. Erin GowerDate: 2003-09-20
Reviewid: 53695Chapter: 1
Beautiful...Touching...Eloquent. (That's all I have to say.)

Reviewer: SamDate: 2003-09-20
Reviewid: 53672Chapter: 1
The tears are starting to flow. That was beautiful. Thank you!

Reviewer: mattyDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53565Chapter: 1
all i have to say is that you are a very talented writter.

Reviewer: Sunny DayleeDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53561Chapter: 1
Darn you for making me cry...again! The most tragic scene for me in the book, apart from that crumpitful tear Dumbledore shed, was when Harry broke the mirror.

And darn you for making me come to terms with the one something I've been trying to deny since The Fifth!

Very well written. Very true to Rowling's characters. You certainly have a way with words, emotions, and all.

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53530Chapter: 1
Oh no - another story that I shouldn't have read at work (sniff, sniff)!!

Wonderful story - very emotionally real. You have definitely written a Harry that rang true to canon, with reactions and feelings that we can all identify with. Marvelous job!

Reviewer: miss_lily_lupinDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53509Chapter: 1
*sniff* Every time I read this it keeps getting better and better. The wait was worth it, siriusly! I definitely agree with the Professors for giving you a NEWT.

Reviewer: KMDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53506Chapter: 1
Oh my... oh look at me, Im crying! This is... *sniff* so SAD. I MISS SIRIUS! It isnt fair! And we KNOW he isnt coming back because its a cheap way to make us happy. And Jo wouldnt do that.
You've caught his pain in this story. Its heartbreaking.

Reviewer: PelirrojaDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53496Chapter: 1
Touching and very real.
" Iím sorry, Sirius. You deserve so much more. This was the best I could do."~~ a simple, yet honest line

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53478Chapter: 1
Very well-written, very realistic, very sad...

Reviewer: RienDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53471Chapter: 1
Yes, he did deserve a memorial. We all deserved to see one. This story is lovely and breaks my heart.

"I donít know how to say good-bye. I havenít the words, I havenít the inclination." Ugh. *reaches for tissue* He ain't the only one.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53470Chapter: 1
Very touching.
I think it's important that Harry does something like "burying Sirius". It'll help him accept his death.

And the letter is wonderful. In my opinion, this is much better than the stories with "if you read this, I'm dead"-letters.

Excellent story!

Reviewer: JaquelyneDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53467Chapter: 1
Simply Beautiful. Bravo!

Reviewer: jessicaDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53463Chapter: 1
Beautiful. Absolutely heart touching and very realistic. Nice job.

Reviewer: poison ivyDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53418Chapter: 1
*wipes away tears* ohhhhhhhhh. so sad. poor harry.

Reviewer: QueenieDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53413Chapter: 1
Very sweet. Very touching. Very well done.

Reviewer: MarissaDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53409Chapter: 1
*tear* too wonderful to comment! *tear*

Reviewer: Miss E BennettDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53408Chapter: 1
Very emotional. This is one of the best Harry-after-Sirius'-death fics I've seen. Bravo.
(Drat and Blast. I am soo bad at constructive criticism.)

Reviewer: FioDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53401Chapter: 1
Awwwwwwww! this was so sad and sweet!

Reviewer: LeeDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53400Chapter: 1
thats so sad.......but its really well written. it could have been JK, it was so much like what might happen. the feelings were portrayed really well.
good job
-Lee
ps. i'll go cry now...

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53391Chapter: 1
This was really good! Very sad and touching... great job.

Reviewer: eca celliDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53379Chapter: 1
It was absolutely gorgeous. I loved how the letter from Sirius was written in a way that indicated he didn't plan to die--because he didn't. I love that Sirius' first concern was restoring Harry's faith in his father. I love that Sirius said he loved Harry, because Harry needs to hear that. It's breath-taking--a fic that could easily fit into canon.

Reviewer: Loriel ErisDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53378Chapter: 1
Oh, poor Harry. *sniff* I shed a few tears reading this, but despite that, I really liked this!

Reviewer: shannonDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53372Chapter: 1
that was beautiful. my heart aches for Harry and Sirius (Remus too, but he's not in this one so much, but anyway..). I like it a lot. I'm crying (im soooo sensitive) so im going to get a tissue and read something funny.
great story.

Reviewer: RobinDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53359Chapter: 1
Beautiful. There simply aren't words...but it's beautiful.

Reviewer: Zephyrus ProlixityDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53358Chapter: 1
This was just as powerful reading it again as it was when you first shared it with me... Now, since you've posted, finally I have a proper forum for my praise of your Roxin' Awsome Kewlness.

It's easy to see why you earned your N.E.W.T.!

Reviewer: KatinkaDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53354Chapter: 1
<<Iím sorry, Sirius. You deserve so much more.>>

Isn't that the truth. This was just lovely, lovely. After both losing his father and losing FAITH in his father, Harry really needed to hear this:

<<Be proud of them, Harry; be proud of who they were and who you are. They loved you so greatly, enough to lay down their lives for you.>>

You've captured Harry's depression and grief in a way I can believe. Thank you for this!

~Katinka

Reviewer: alphabetDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53353Chapter: 1
That's a really lovely, touching story. Poor Harry. You wrote him well, and the letter was very Sirius. Good job.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --