The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: PASSAGES
Review(s): 82

Reviewer: krumfanDate: 2006-03-19
Reviewid: 141079Chapter: 14
Wow, really interesting fic. Incredibly sad, yet I enjoyed it immensely

Reviewer: LesleyDate: 2006-02-27
Reviewid: 140346Chapter: 14
This tale is one of the very few that brought me to tears, several times, in fact. Ever hear the noise a person makes when they laugh and cry at the same time? That sound was forced out several times. Tears without laughter as well. This is one of the best fictions that Ive read here at the Quill. Not just here,but every other online site Ive been to. Please, keep those quills sharpened, ink wells filled, and a stack of parchment at hand! Entertain us with more stories like this one!!!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-10
Reviewid: 139600Chapter: 14
A Splendid Read.
Thank You

Reviewer: NicoleDate: 2005-07-08
Reviewid: 126560Chapter: 14
This was such a wonderful story. I have been reading since the beginning and have enjoyed every minute of it. The ending is so sweet and sad at the same time it is just perfect. Thank you for writing such a great story.

Reviewer: cristixDate: 2005-07-01
Reviewid: 125830Chapter: 14
Really?Is this really the end?

How sad!

It has been a lovely story. The one I looked most forward to on sugarquill.

I like the interaction between Remus and Sirius in this chapter. The way Sirius looks after Remus is really touching and so very sweet. Remus is a very proud man, but he shouldn't get upset! It is really touching that someone loves him so much.

And I like how well Sirius knows Remus. Sirius understand Remus's every move. he knows when Remus is upset of nervous, he knows how Remus thinks and feels and he knows how to make Remus feel better!

It is a great friendship and it is great to see it continue, even if in not a common way!

Have you decided? Are you going to write more one shots following Remus through Harry's six year?

I wish you will! You are very talented and you like Remus, which is very important and you write very canon characters!

Thanks for a lovely reading!

Reviewer: saiyanwizardgurlDate: 2005-06-29
Reviewid: 125639Chapter: 14
This is a wonderful story; thanks for sharing it! I recall when you first wrote chapter 1...I didn't review because I was fairly new to the realm of Harry Potter fan fiction (sorry bout that), but I enjoyed your work nonetheless. I really hope that you will put out more for us to read (I'll keep an eye out for your work)! Once again, thank you for this great story, and I look forward to more from you!

Reviewer: Steve CalabreseDate: 2005-06-29
Reviewid: 125591Chapter: 14
Thanks for writing this story - it was quite enjoyable.

-Steve

Reviewer: CaseyDate: 2005-06-18
Reviewid: 124400Chapter: 1
Wow! So far I really enjoy it! Keep it up!

Reviewer: Steve CalabreseDate: 2005-05-12
Reviewid: 121999Chapter: 12
Wow.

Reviewer: jules rohdeDate: 2005-05-12
Reviewid: 121994Chapter: 12
First off, I just wanted to say that I like the story from Remus' POV. It's great and I hope you continue with it.
The only comment I had was that I sure Harry had more detention days than 11 during OOTP. Let's see...
one week= 5 school days

He got one week for saying Voldemort was back, one week for his comment about Quirrell having Voldemort on the back of his head, one day for defending Hagrid's teaching, and then another week in Febuary after the Quibbler article. 5 + 5 + 1 + 5 = 16 I guess that's all there was.

Reviewer: MelindaleoDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121823Chapter: 12
That was a fantastic chapter. The dramatic tension was equisite. My heart nearly broke when Harry didn't know how to answer the question of where he lived. Is it realy any surprise to any of them that he felt he had nowhere to turn. As he flatly stated all the things that happened to him, I had a pit in my own stomach. I LOVED that he called Remus on the fact that Remus never contacted him during the TriWizard tournament. I'm still not satisfied with Remus's answer. I'll be interested in how you have DD react to Snape's involvement with the Veritaserum. I really enjoyed this chapter.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121822Chapter: 12
but I didn't want to upset you or Sirius by dragging up memories of them
-well done. How very sad.

stories were popping up in The Daily Prophet
-so very believable. Wonder how much the DP will be believed. Will Harry be doing any more Quibbler interviews?

Fudge’s puppet
That filthy sack of dung
That sick, evil, twisted troll
That old troll
-Good descriptions of Umbridge

He really was just like James and needed to be put in his place sometimes...I didn't want to give Umbridge the satisfaction
-you did a good job with Harry

tried to expel you for saving your own arse?
-how very Moody sounding.

whoever wrote Moody did an inspired job.

Malfoy and Millicent Bulstrode
-look forward to hearing the results of those interviews.

Hope you update soon.

Reviewer: washuDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121793Chapter: 12
Just don't forget that Dumbldore had said that Snape gave Umbridge a FAKE truth potion to give Harry. This is still a good story.

Reviewer: NicoleDate: 2005-05-10
Reviewid: 121768Chapter: 12
That was so funny. It probably wasn't ment to be and I am just strange enough that I found it, well parts of it, just so funny. And I love your Moody. He was so awsome. Can't wait to see what happens next and what punishment Umbridge gets. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: cristixDate: 2005-04-04
Reviewid: 118622Chapter: 11
Needless to say that I want very, very much for you to continue with your fic and write as many chapters as possible. If you want to make it not a sole chaptered story, but more one-shotts, it is also ok, as long as you don't skip big periods of time.

i want to follow Remus closely. To see his relationship with harry grwoing, to see his role within the Order- I want to believe that he is quite important for the Order and that Jo has reserved a very important role for him to play- his confrontation with Bellatrix etc.

So, please continue with the fic1 I loved the last chapter!

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2005-04-04
Reviewid: 118614Chapter: 11
Such a good fic should get far more reviews.

The article by Rita was perfectly in her style. Nice job.

“Does Robert know he was appointed?”
-hope it comes with a bit of pay.

“My own Quidditch set? No way!”
-Isn't that a bit expensive?

You have it available in doormats?” asked Minerva. “I'll take one, Mr Weasley."
-Great F&G idea.

I like how you had Remus having mixed feelings about Harry's present from the Weasley's. Is this between them or are they going to go through official channels for adoption? I expect it is just between them, but still...

The grin on Remus’ face was now fairly hurting his cheeks as he bowed crisply to the twins and said gleefully, “Guilty as charged.”
-One of the better F&G-find-out-who-MWPP-are scenes I've read.

Remus's gift of the old textbook was wonderful (and so very affordable). Nice to see something to balance out that awful pensieve scene.

Great ending. Hope you update soon.

Reviewer: HayleyDate: 2005-04-03
Reviewid: 118555Chapter: 11
Love how Fred and George finally figure out who MWPP are their reactions were priceless...
Luv the textbook idea and dialougue waz funy lol....

Reviewer: HayleyDate: 2005-04-03
Reviewid: 118554Chapter: 11
Awesome chapter!!!! I hope the pictures of Harry and Lupin turn out well....
Please Update soon!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: MelindaleoDate: 2005-04-02
Reviewid: 118447Chapter: 11
I was holding my breath waiting for them to see the scarring on Harry's hand...then felt a little bit let down when they didn't.
I loved the birthday, though. I really hope that Harry does get a hand on that Weasley clock, it seems so right. And Fred and George realizing who MWPP were was priceless! It's not often someone gets something over on them, and does it so well. Loved it.

Reviewer: MariposaDate: 2005-04-01
Reviewid: 118377Chapter: 11
*Warm fuzzies*
This was a great chapter! Absolutely loved the Umbrage doormat that McGonagall wanted and the devil's tape! The sixth year texbook was priceless! I loved the banter you came up with! If only you could have put each line in a differnet script like they did in the 3rd book. It was like christmas! Great chapter!

Reviewer: SnufflesDate: 2005-03-22
Reviewid: 117379Chapter: 2
YES PLEASE WRITE MORE THAN 2 OR 3 MORE CHAPTERS! ITS TOO GREAT, MY FAVORITE FANFIC! PLEASE WRITE MORE!

Reviewer: MaryDate: 2005-02-24
Reviewid: 114809Chapter: 10
I love this story so much!!! I hope you update real soon!!!

Reviewer: EmmaDate: 2005-02-23
Reviewid: 114751Chapter: 10
Only 2 or 3 chapters left?
and I thought that the story was just beginning. I mean, Harry has barely started his holiday. I thought it will be a sixth year fic, from Remus point of view, but it is more a dealing-with-Sirius's loss fic, isn't it?

Wouldn't you like to write a sequel?

Reviewer: GryffinjackDate: 2005-02-23
Reviewid: 114736Chapter: 10
Punctuation codes are now fixed! Thanks again for alerting me to the problem and I hope it didn't cause too much of an inconvenience for anyone.

We're getting toward the end of this story - only two or three more chapters probably.

Reviewer: GryffinjackDate: 2005-02-22
Reviewid: 114626Chapter: 10
Thanks for alerting me to the problem, everyone! I'm trying to get it sorted out and promise to upload it again once it's right.

Also, thanks for the kind reviews!

Reviewer: dzennkaDate: 2005-02-22
Reviewid: 114613Chapter: 10
Your encoding is funny here. Using IE 6 with Western European encoding (which is what my browser chose automatically) all the apostrophes are equals signs (=) and there are random @ signs scattered around the text.

Reviewer: EmmaDate: 2005-02-21
Reviewid: 114541Chapter: 10
There are all kind of funny signs! A lot of @ and a lot of =. And I don't think it is my computer!
Can't you do anything about it?

apart from this the chapter was great as always! I love to see Remus interact with Harry more!!!!

Reviewer: MinuialDate: 2005-02-20
Reviewid: 114459Chapter: 10
Okay, I tried again and it was so good that I read the whole chapter, though my eyes are hurting now ;-)

I love how you are shaping Harry and Remus's relationship. The scene with the photo album is absolutely wonderful. It's good to see that Remus is still able of laughing.
They really need each other and I hope they'll grow even closer.

Reviewer: MinuialDate: 2005-02-20
Reviewid: 114458Chapter: 10
Apparently I'm the only one who couldn't read the whole chapter because of the formating problem. Maybe it's because English isn't my first language but I was only able to decipher the two first paragraphs before giving up. Could you do something? (I know formating in HTML is tedious)

Reviewer: SnufflesDate: 2005-02-20
Reviewid: 114423Chapter: 10
PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE WRITE MORE! I love it. Just enough humor, i loved it.
Snuffles

Reviewer: LoriDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114363Chapter: 10
I've been following this story for awhile, and I especially enjoyed the Remus/Harry bonding in this chapter. I'll be keeping my eyes open for more...

Reviewer: MariposaDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114361Chapter: 1
*SNIFF*
That was such a sad chapter but it was beautiful too. It gave me a good cry. Well done.

Reviewer: SnufflesDate: 2005-02-19
Reviewid: 114301Chapter: 10
Great! PLEASE WRITE MORE! One of the best remus fics i've ever read. It really sounds like his true personality. I almost wanted to cry in some parts. I believe I reviewed one of your other fics and it was great too! You have a real talent for writing. Thanks for the great fanfics! Cheers Gryffinjack!
sincerely,
Snuffles

Reviewer: MelindaleoDate: 2005-01-30
Reviewid: 112535Chapter: 9
Nice work. I enjoyed the arrival of the "owl carrying the OWLs". I would have liked to stay and see the fight between Molly and Ron, I somehow expect this is one time Ron won't back down. Harry didn't mention his History of Magic grade, but I can't imagine he did very well. I hope he and Ginny get so spend some time together while the others argue.

Reviewer: SnufflesDate: 2005-01-29
Reviewid: 112361Chapter: 2
Listen, my eyes are watering, the pocket watch part! Oh my gosh, thats so sad.

Reviewer: SnufflesDate: 2005-01-29
Reviewid: 112359Chapter: 1
Oh my gosh, i'm on the first chapter and its GREAT. I LOVED Remus's thoughts about Molly and Dumbledore being old. Thats hilarious. Cant wait to read the other chapters!

Reviewer: MinuialDate: 2005-01-10
Reviewid: 110464Chapter: 8
I'm glad that there was an update that permitted me to discover this gem of a story because I didn't know at all it existed.
I'm jealous, envious and admirative because I didn't have the guts to write a post-OotP story entirely from Remus's point of view. I'm too much of a coward to do that. You were brave enough to tackle this and you're doing a very good job of it. Writing Grieving!Remus can be a treacherous trap but not for you, it seems. I'm curious to see how far you have planned to write this :-)

Reviewer: saiyanwizardgurlDate: 2005-01-10
Reviewid: 110425Chapter: 8
I simply love this story (it has the potential to be one of my favorites)! It might be because I would have written something similar if the idea had arisen, but your potrayal of Remus is excellent! Please continue with this story and keep up the good work!

Reviewer: tinerynDate: 2004-12-27
Reviewid: 108778Chapter: 7
Fantastic job, dear! I do hope you plan on updating this--I am a sucker for Remus anguish... he's so angstable! Delicious, really. He's an adorable character and gets too little attention in the books.

Good job!

Reviewer: ScifinutDate: 2004-11-03
Reviewid: 103388Chapter: 7
Guh. Just...guh. I admit I hadn't read this until you posted this chapter, so now I'm up FAR too late reading it all because I can't stop. Except now I have to, because there's no more.

I absolutely love it, I can imagine being there watching Remus blaming himself, and I definitely know the feeling. Beautiful, I can't wait to read more.

Reviewer: CheddarTrekDate: 2004-10-01
Reviewid: 100010Chapter: 7
This is a good story, I enjoyed reading these first... 6? 7? Chapters. I look forward to the update. I also like how you are incorporating bits and pieces of other fics into this one. The budding friendship between Arthur and Remus is great too.

Reviewer: washuDate: 2004-09-30
Reviewid: 99984Chapter: 7
I like this chapter, but I'm unsure as to how far your going to take this story.

Reviewer: EvieStarkDate: 2004-06-08
Reviewid: 86379Chapter: 6
Oh, how terribly wonderful! I'm so glad Harry and remus will finally see each other. I must say, I've gotten myself very wrapped up in this fic - I've wanted to cry a fair few times, your writing is just that gorgeous. Brillinat, *brilliant* job, please update soon! :)

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84831Chapter: 3
Funny title, great chapter. I'm having a bit of trouble with Remus - not that I think he is out of character, I just haven't read many fics from his point of view.

Nice job with Dumbledore. He sure is getting some mileage out of his "old man" speech.

Those comments by Snape were just vile - so very in character.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2004-05-27
Reviewid: 84826Chapter: 2
Kritter, Goon, Vagrunt, Lackie, Grinch, and Brewt
-Great names.

Nice job with Arthur.

Reviewer: cileagDate: 2004-05-26
Reviewid: 84653Chapter: 6
I really enjoyed the interactions between Arthur and Remus...how brave of Arthur to admit his previous prejudices..and honest of him too. I liked the story about the Marauders...nice way of putting in some backstory while keeping it relevent to the main story line. One nit: In this line "Your father (and Snuffles) was stuck on the pitch until practise was over." change "was stuck" to "were stuck" and take out the parantheses or say "Your father was stuck on the pitch until practice was over, along with Snuffles." But I still like the first way better. Great characterization of Remus, Harry, and the rest of the Marauders--I like how you keep Peter involved.

Reviewer: KateydidntDate: 2004-05-26
Reviewid: 84627Chapter: 6
excellent story so far. I look forward to more

Reviewer: whizbeeDate: 2004-05-26
Reviewid: 84575Chapter: 2
I just wanted to say that I think this is a wonderful story. I don't usually read the coping-after-Sirius stories because they seem to wallow in depression and misery. But I think you do it particularly well. I found this quote particularly inspiring:
"You could play in the shallows all your life, thinking the ocean safe, friendly, even beautiful; but then something like this happens, and all of a sudden, that ocean inside rises up and drowns you, mercilessly dragging you out into the depths where there is no light and no land."
I mean wow. Did you come up with that separate from the story and decide to stick it in or did it just flow naturally? I'm very curious. Well anyway, lovely story. :)

Reviewer: SiriuslyLupinDate: 2004-04-12
Reviewid: 78323Chapter: 5
Wow, this just keeps getting better and better! Wonderful chapter. I love the relationship that's forming between Remus and Arthur, and I love how you've put Robert in this. Arthur's reaction while Remus was explaining the transformation to him was quite entertaining :) But why'd you have to end it there? Please update soon, I'm anxious to see what happens!

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2004-03-19
Reviewid: 75264Chapter: 5
The chapter has turned out very well indeed, and it is good to see the developing friendship between Arthur and Remus. I wonder if we will see any hint of that in canon? I like Arthur's care for Remus, and his awkwardness in looking after him and asking questions. Newspapers for training a puppy indeed - LOL!!

Werewolves and Silver:-
For all those reviewers who have insisted that werewolves cannot touch silver, I suggest you go and read Chapter 5 of OotP again. There has been a meeting of the Order, and when Harry and the others get to the GP kitchen, the table is littered with stuff, including goblets. When they set the table for dinner, more goblets are set out. Mundungus comments that the goblets are SILVER!! which Sirius acknowledges.

There is no mention of them getting out a glass or other goblet just for Remus, which Harry would have noticed. As he was at the meeting and the dinner, I think we can safely assume that he drank out of those silver goblets like the rest of them. If silver IS harmful to werewolves (not part of the older folklore) then is probably only harmful in their transformed, wolf state.

We are talking abotu JKR's world here, not the world of Hollywood, which is where the 'silver is bad' idea largely came from.

Reviewer: FireCatDate: 2004-03-16
Reviewid: 74859Chapter: 5
Thanks for mentioning the Girl Scout cookies! I always have to get extra Samoas in order to meet the demand (even though my favorite is the Thin Mint--placed in a blender with chocolate chip ice cream).

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-03-13
Reviewid: 74408Chapter: 2
So far I like it! I do have one small bit of constructive criticism though- you've got a werewolf touching silver without any reaction to it. Remus washes Sirius's silver goblet and he eats using the Blacks best silverware, which I think would be nothing but pure silver. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: RuthieDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74312Chapter: 5
I love love love Arthur. Besides the trio and Ginny he's my favorite, running neck and neck with Remus. I'm glad you developed this level of friendship between them.

Reviewer: CyndiDate: 2004-02-26
Reviewid: 72210Chapter: 4
That is one beautiful, heartfelt story ~ You really have managed to portray the grieving process very well. I have an extreme love for both Sirius and Remus, and I can totally understand poor Remus's frustrations, anger, sadness, bitterness, etc. We will all miss Sirius.

Reviewer: Mamma WashuDate: 2004-02-10
Reviewid: 70089Chapter: 4
OOOOOOOOOoooooooooo! That's good so far, please write more.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2004-02-10
Reviewid: 70076Chapter: 4
Very nice so far hope you continue writing

Reviewer: DTTWDate: 2004-02-07
Reviewid: 69872Chapter: 4
This is great! I love it! Really good! There were a few wording mistakes and OOC moments, but I thought that the entire "Punch Snape" scene was very IC. Yeah Fred and Remus! Snape deserved it.

Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: DTTWDate: 2004-02-07
Reviewid: 69869Chapter: 1
Wow! this is really good. Some of the wording bugged me, but other than that, this is great!

Reviewer: LinnetDate: 2004-02-05
Reviewid: 69641Chapter: 4
This was lovely! My favorite chapter so far-- I love Alkari's works, and this echoed them perfectly. I especially loved the lines:
"Friendship … loyalty … love … laughter.  They are no small things, Remus.  They drove Sirius, and they kept him going. "

"I can meet the rest of the challenges Sirius and I face."

It was beautiful. And the descriptions of Sirius were wonderful, too... I love Remus's memories of them. McGonagall is great, isn't she?

Write more!
-Linnet

Reviewer: Lady GDate: 2004-01-06
Reviewid: 66013Chapter: 3
very compelling story. lupin's dialogue is so intense and strong - i wanted to cry. i had to reread the beating snape up scene to figure out what happened. loved how that all came about, with lupin and with the twins.

Reviewer: DocDate: 2003-12-27
Reviewid: 64888Chapter: 3
Great chapter, Gryff! All the hard work of rewriting and editing and tweaking really paid off!

I like how Remus managed let off some steam in this chapter-- sort of a way to begin washing away the depression. Hopefully this summer will bring a bit of recovery for him. And Harry, too. I look forward to their meeting at King's Cross!

~ Doc

Reviewer: MelisandeDate: 2003-12-22
Reviewid: 64452Chapter: 3
Remus' pain really tore me up inside, you portrayed it so well. I felt I wanted to put my arms around him and comfort him. Poor Moony. Poor Padfoot. Poor Harry.

Reviewer: MariannDate: 2003-12-22
Reviewid: 64379Chapter: 3
That was VERY intense! Loved that outbreak and Fred's 'support'! Remus is such a controlled person at all times, but I suppose the loss of Sirius must be some catalyst for a break. I don't even want to imagine his first transformation after that death. You portray Remus very, very well, giving him the final straw to cause that necessary outbreak.

Reading OotP I constantly wanted to kick Snape and slap Molly Weasley. And a few others. Actually, if the purpose of most of the book was to make the readers lose sympathy for Sirius it probably only worked on those who weren't fond of this character in the first place. But it only made me like Sirius even more.

Dumbledore is pure Macchiavellism. I think I started to dislike him early on in the book, but his putting Sirius down barely half an hour after his death was much more than an 'old man's mistake', which more and more becomes a very lame excuse in my ears.

Do I leave the impression of strongly disliking the book? That was intended.

Mariann

Reviewer: Julia PotterDate: 2003-12-22
Reviewid: 64320Chapter: 3
I really like the story

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2003-12-22
Reviewid: 64302Chapter: 3
Excellent chapter, and glad it has finally seen the light of day. Fred probably thinks the pain of his knuckles is worth it (seven years' worth of frustration and bullying taken out in one blow - LOL!) and I am sure he will not have to explain himself too much to Molly.

Nice glimpses of the past with Remus-Tonks, and I think you have caught both Sirius and Tonmks extremely well. It is always easy to under-estimate those who go through life with a laugh and an apparent carefree attitude: many of the best comics also have tragic or unpleasant personal lives behind the public persona.

Your Dumbledore-Remus talk was very heartfelt and poignant, and it sets the foundation for Remus to move on from Sirius' death.

Alkari

Reviewer: B. NonymousDate: 2003-12-22
Reviewid: 64301Chapter: 3
Oh that was just beautiful. It's amazing what can happen when the characters tell you what to do! And this chapter illuminates the point.

Reviewer: pennyDate: 2003-11-13
Reviewid: 59884Chapter: 2
You have the measure of this situation correct. I lost my son at age 16 1/2, and he was a Sirius type - the light of everyone's life. Your story made me wonder if you had lost someone too, it was so spot on. I have been worrying about Remus ever since I read OOTP the first day. Please write more and let Remus and Harry and Tonks help each other. I think this was very well done.

Reviewer: NigellaDate: 2003-11-12
Reviewid: 59841Chapter: 2
I loved the names of the house-elves (what was left of them, poor things!), and it was great to see more of Mundungus.

Er - would you mind me asking if you have any plans for Lupin/Tonks? I can't help liking that idea, although according to the Daily Affirmations it's not officially approved by SQ! Ah well - I'm going to touch on it in my story, anyway - I think they need each other! I'm looking forward to seeing Tonks in yours. Good luck!

Reviewer: BabyRuthDate: 2003-11-12
Reviewid: 59787Chapter: 2
I love Arthur. Next to the Trio, he's my favorite character. This was a very nice insightful chapter. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: Delleve MiststoneDate: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59761Chapter: 1
That was very good and very detailed. There's only one problem: I have the Henry the Eighth song stuck in my head. Grr.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59717Chapter: 2
I'm reviewing chapters 1 and 2 here. I really like this fic so far. I hope you update soon, it's really interesting. I like how you are writing Remus...reflective and all. Can't wait for more.

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2003-11-11
Reviewid: 59680Chapter: 1
Oh yes, I like this chapter! The names of the family house elves are suitably 'black' in nature, and the whole prospect of taking them off the walls and burying them is just so ... gruesome.

Remus and his 'there but not there' feelings of grief, guilt and remembrance are very realistic, and I really liked the visits by Mundungus and Arthur. Two friends, so much a contrast to each other, yet they both in their own way help Remus to cope. Arthur's memories bring home how this is looming as a second war to so many people, and we see his own quiet brand of strength and understanding.

Alkari

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2003-09-29
Reviewid: 54740Chapter: 1
Wonderful story. You've described Remus' feelings very well. He couldn't even tell what happened because he kept drifting off in memories. I think that's quite realistic.

The part with Buckbeak is very touching.

It's great to see that Remus seems to learn something and now tries to do for Harry what he didn't do for Sirius. But it made me angry that Dumbledore doesn't seem to have learned anything at all. He still thinks that safety is more important than feelings of people, while that was what killed Sirius.

I'm looking forward to see how Remus will cope with Sirius' death in the next chapters.

Reviewer: Kate LynnDate: 2003-09-29
Reviewid: 54683Chapter: 1
A wonderful start. Love it so far. I especially like what you've done with Remus's character - him not knowing quite how to react. And him taking care of Buckbeak at the end, to do something to help, and his words were wonderful. Very nice handling of an emotional premise so far. I look forward to more. 8-)

-Kate Lynn

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2003-09-25
Reviewid: 54355Chapter: 1
"The morning after the night before" ... only it was no celebration. Good setting and mood, and the ending is very melancholy. Somehow, it is always hardest to see animals missing their owners - you can't explain things to them.

And I LOVE Henry the Eighth! - that song was SO Sirius, as was the way he went on at Remus. Look forward to the next instalment.

Reviewer: MPPDate: 2003-09-25
Reviewid: 54332Chapter: 1
Excellent work, Smurfinjack!!

The much-awaited (at least by me) fic is wonderful!

I look forward to following it.

Reviewer: MincotDate: 2003-09-25
Reviewid: 54294Chapter: 1
Ha! All that hard work paid off. Excellent job, Gryff. I really like the tension you are building up. Keep on writing ...

Reviewer: DocDate: 2003-09-25
Reviewid: 54242Chapter: 1
Great first chapter, Gryff!!

I know I said I was going ot read it last night, but I didn't know how long it was, and it was getting late.

Anyway. Very good job on Remus' conflicted emotions-- he can't decide whether to be angy or sad or what.

The flashbacks were presented nicely-- good transitions between past and present.

Looking forward to the next chapter!!

~ Doc

Reviewer: shannonDate: 2003-09-24
Reviewid: 54158Chapter: 1
very good characterization. I always wondered what happened after Toast, and this is a good story on that.
Poor Remus. I feel for him. But i think he tried to help Sirius a little more than just ignoring him, no?
But anyway, great job and i hope there are more chapters!

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2003-09-23
Reviewid: 54068Chapter: 1
Oh my. That was just lovely. You have done a wonderful job of capturing Remus and all his rollercoaster emotions & thoughts. Your Dumbledore & Moody were wonderfully in character, too. Such a sad & touching story...very beautiful.

Reviewer: PelirrojaDate: 2003-09-23
Reviewid: 54062Chapter: 1
It is hard to say what I love the best about this chapter, or where to begin. There are so many layers here. I guess it comes down to the build to the last four paragraphs; they are touchingly, credibly poigant and make me cry.

Reviewer: mattyDate: 2003-09-23
Reviewid: 54058Chapter: 1
that was so great. write more!! hehe im the first!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --