The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Flying Free
Review(s): 25

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-04-24
Reviewid: 120459Chapter: 1
:-)

Reviewer: AngharadDate: 2004-09-26
Reviewid: 99410Chapter: 1
*Sigh* Oh the memories you have brought back. Hehe, I sang that song in chorus YEARS ago, I was thinking about it just the other day, and I couldn't remember the words, then, I saw this titled, and thought, "I wonder" so I read it, and enjoyed a great fic while remembering an old song I had liked, although my friends and I did have some fun messing around with it, hey, we were only twelve years old...but I did like it, it's such a pretty song, even if your chorus teacher stinks...

Reviewer: KatieDate: 2004-09-26
Reviewid: 99396Chapter: 1
I say the title of this story, and I immediatly thought of the song we sang in chorus! It's great! I love the song! Flying Free actually relates to Harry Potter, sort of like a recent fic my friend, ZHeRoTaN wrote on a song by Evanescene.
This fic is a really good reflection of the last few months that Harry's had to go through, and I'm glad you used a good song to help describe the events!

*Katie*

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2004-03-09
Reviewid: 73772Chapter: 1
thank you thank you I was looking for a website just like this one its the best I even printed out 5 copies to hand out to my freinds

Reviewer: Elizabeth BaxterDate: 2004-03-09
Reviewid: 73770Chapter: 1
I love this website 'cause I love to sing flying free thanx
P.S Next time canyou add the sound then it will be great

Reviewer: TimDate: 2004-02-19
Reviewid: 71404Chapter: 1
I really think you captured Harry's emotion really well. I can really see him acting the same way you portraid him in this fic. Your very talented i hope you continue to write.

Reviewer: emmelineDate: 2004-02-17
Reviewid: 71118Chapter: 1
Oh! Wonderful. Truly.

You have written a beautiful fic, and truly captured Harry's despair in the light of Sirius' death. I had not thought that it could effect his flying, but I can see how it might bring back painful memories.

However (brace yourself - constuctive criticism on the way!), I do think that, while I enjoy Harry's adult, philosophical view at the end of the fic, that it may not fit entirely with the canon. Harry was very traumatised, and maybe he would not have recovered enough from the shock and grief of his godfather's death, and therefore maybe this reaction is a bit too measured and calm.

But otherwise, absolutely fantastic! Please write again soon!

Reviewer: AUNT!Date: 2003-10-25
Reviewid: 57857Chapter: 1
I loved the use of the song to thread through the theme. Since first reading this, I have found the piece of music and have listened to it many times. Well done.

Reviewer: zakiDate: 2003-10-13
Reviewid: 56462Chapter: 1
I enjoyed all your fics, but this one touched me the most. Beautifully done, and it captures Harry perfectly. And normally I dislike song lyrics jammed into fics that don't need them, but you picked a song I heard once as a child and have remembered only in pieces ever since. It added to your story a sense of nostalgia over loss of innocence, which touched me in a very personal way. Thanks for giving me both the fic, and the long-lost song!

Reviewer: FarieDate: 2003-10-13
Reviewid: 56418Chapter: 1
can I just say how much I am impressed by your writing skills? this is the 3rd story of yours that I have read and there is not one of then that has not made me think about the books and examine them. the way you tie in ALL the books is fantastic! even when you are writing about 5th year, you are able to tie in his emotions from 2nd year, and it works so well! your charictarization is right on spot, and makes us really like them and support them. I really liked this fic, which although it was a very sobby subject was not a sobby story. It made me think, and was very poetic in nature. you have a really good tendency to write beautiful stories. they really are a work of art. write more, I can't wait for the next one!!!

Reviewer: HP Story SurferDate: 2003-10-12
Reviewid: 56353Chapter: 1
Very Good. You should make a sequel where he kills Voldemort

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2003-10-06
Reviewid: 55644Chapter: 1
Awww what a cute story, *sob* how sad! Poor Harry, he needs a hug! LOL. Write more stories, I like your stlye. Its very interesting to read. Update some more!

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54774Chapter: 1
Oh my God, that was such a beautiful story. The song described perfectly the emotional torment that Harry is going through, as well did your fic. You described depression and grief PERFECTLY. I very nearly cried. Poor Harry. I hope he triumphs in the end and can finally be happy.

Reviewer: AtlantisDate: 2003-09-26
Reviewid: 54465Chapter: 1
What a great short tale. A wonderful look inside Harry's heart and head as he deals with everything. Great work!

Reviewer: VequihellinDate: 2003-09-25
Reviewid: 54342Chapter: 1
Wow, that was amazing, really powerful. The firebolt and its connection to sirius was beautifully written.

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-09-25
Reviewid: 54239Chapter: 1
A very well written reverie. Well done.

Reviewer: sisDate: 2003-09-24
Reviewid: 54228Chapter: 1
that was a really cool story... it probably has some truth to what harry i actually thinking.... nice touch about the firebolt... i would have forgotten to associate it with sirius.... he was my fave character too...

Reviewer: RachaelDate: 2003-09-24
Reviewid: 54219Chapter: 1
I really loved this fic and it made me cry. Maybe it's because I have personal ties with the song 'Flying Free' I was in chourus with my friends and we always sang it at graduation. I never got to graduate because I moved this year and this song always makes me cry. Te song went perfectly with the fic. Lovely.

Reviewer: R1 & R2Date: 2003-09-24
Reviewid: 54187Chapter: 1
I've sung this choral piece in my church. I never would have thought to pair it with a fanfic, but you've done a good job using it to illustrate Harry's thoughts as he reaches acceptance. Nice introspective story!

Reviewer: KewiiDate: 2003-09-24
Reviewid: 54175Chapter: 1
That was very sweet and sentimental..it felt very real.

Well done

Reviewer: shannonDate: 2003-09-24
Reviewid: 54160Chapter: 1
Poor Harry. Poor angsty Harry. I am glad he feels better at teh end of this fic, really, I am. I've been reading too many Remus-grieving fics, not too many Harry...
I feel so bad for him. JKR was not right in doing that to Sirius...
Sorry about the rambling: Good window on Harry's feelings, I enjoyed your fic :)

Reviewer: doyaDate: 2003-09-24
Reviewid: 54159Chapter: 1
Thank you, Arnel, I very much enjoyed that read, and the song was beautiful; I'd like to hear it. I could see your Harry, and his thoughts and emotions felt very real, and somehow very soothing.

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2003-09-24
Reviewid: 54153Chapter: 1
"He had not realized how important Sirius had become to him until he wasn't there any longer. It had been so comforting to know that almost any time he needed an adult to talk to Sirius would be available or would risk everything to see that Harry had the support he needed. Now Sirius was gone and there was no replacing him; that hurt."

Thank you for summing up the Harry / Sirius relationship so beautifully. You may well see me quoting them on a couple of the threads here!!

This was a gentle, sensitive look at Harry coming to grips with what has happened. The loss of Sirius being brought home when Harry touches the Firebolt was very believable: I wonder if JKR will write that in Book 6. And the fact that Harry finds a sort of peace while flying is also very Harry - as you say, he felt he belonged in the Wizarding world when he first flew, and of course his flying skills got him through the First Task.

A thoughtful and beautifully-written fic.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-09-24
Reviewid: 54148Chapter: 1
This was excellent! I love how while Harry is reflecting, he is not angsty... which is good! :) Awesome fic!

Reviewer: AmyDate: 2003-09-24
Reviewid: 54146Chapter: 1
First reviewer! Anyway, this fic was truly awesome.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --