The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Late Bloomers
Review(s): 67

Reviewer: hollow_now_goneDate: 2008-03-31
Reviewid: 150701Chapter: 1
THAT'S THE ONLY ONE!?!?!?!?!?! Why? It was GREAT! Man... That was good. I felt like snape was a human being capable of someone loving him. You're right about the goth/grunge thing. it really is hot over in the US.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-21
Reviewid: 136113Chapter: 1
Excellent. Thank you very much.

Reviewer: the spam girlsDate: 2005-10-17
Reviewid: 134648Chapter: 1
we really liked this story. it was fun to read

Reviewer: lysithaDate: 2005-09-03
Reviewid: 131636Chapter: 1
great story, very original ! i love it ! :)

Reviewer: Maria M.Date: 2005-06-27
Reviewid: 125346Chapter: 1
Hey, I started thinking more about ol' Snapey-Snape too after seeing the movies with Alan Rickman. (Tomorrow I get to watch Sense & Sensibility with him in. Can't wait.) Unlike most of the readers, apparently, I've actually read some stories like this before (at www.ashwinder.sycophanthex.com--Snape/Hermione fiction). Anyways, I liked it.

Reviewer: SlugabedDate: 2005-05-08
Reviewid: 121608Chapter: 1
Cough cough. It was such a funny fic! But highly, HIGHLY improbable. Good nonetheless. Normally, I'd look upon the fic with disdain, but you've seemed to accomplish what no one else has - so kudos, man!

Reviewer: imeldaDate: 2005-01-28
Reviewid: 112283Chapter: 1
I think I've probably reviewed before, I was just rereading and wanted to mention that this is the best fic ever. Sigh.

Reviewer: Brian TurkDate: 2004-12-30
Reviewid: 109232Chapter: 1
Delightfully disturbing! I loved it! You NEVER disappoint, do you?

Reviewer: LilDate: 2004-12-19
Reviewid: 108096Chapter: 1
Oh, that was cute! And fluffy! I love Alan Rickman as Snape as well, yay! And this is a very interesting child, perhaps she does have a history of insanity in her family? I mean, she is a little... nevermind. Anyway, I loved it, and I hope you write more! Oh, except about the poor dog being attacked by a viscious lawnmower. Damn those gardeners, so cruel!

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2004-11-24
Reviewid: 105788Chapter: 1
I laughed out loud at "Especially the part with the lawn mower" and "Snape the wonder dog." Thank you. You made my work day go a little bit faster.

Reviewer: MISTIQUEDate: 2004-10-31
Reviewid: 103113Chapter: 1
I'TS THE MOST DISGUSTING THING I HAVE EVER READ, SNAPE IS A GIT, PRAT SON OF A ...... HOW THE HELL DO YOU MANAGE TO WRITE THAT? SERIOUSLY I WANT AN ANSWER.

Reviewer: imeldaDate: 2004-10-05
Reviewid: 100447Chapter: 1
Ewwww!!! Haha I'm sorry, but that was gross!!!! I can't stop laughing, though, it was a very enjoyably silly story. And as much as I was grossed out by Tara kissing Snape at the end, and his smile (shiver), it was totally appropriate. Thanks for sharing this!
Oh, and Snape was very IC.

Reviewer: KateDate: 2004-08-23
Reviewid: 98316Chapter: 1
this is great... words dont descirbe it... just great.

Reviewer: SpencerDate: 2004-05-23
Reviewid: 84188Chapter: 1
OMG!!!! This is one of the best stories I've EVER READ. You should contact J.K. Rowling and get permission to publish it! I LOOOOOOVE IT!!!

Reviewer: Seraphina HoneydukeDate: 2004-05-12
Reviewid: 82380Chapter: 1
I loved this fic! I always enjoy Snape fics (wonder why??) and this was no exception!

Well written, very enjoyable! Well done!

Reviewer: ParanoidDate: 2004-05-09
Reviewid: 81901Chapter: 1
*Smile crosses face as the story ends* Awwww.... How absolutely sweet! *Smiles some more* Adorable. You should become a professional writer. I was captivated the whole time. :P

Reviewer: HIYA !!!Date: 2004-04-27
Reviewid: 80427Chapter: 1
HAHAHAHA!! That was CUTE and FUNNY !! But I hate the fact that Harry and the other
Gryyffindors (sp) were mean 2 her!!

Reviewer: snickerdoodleDate: 2004-04-03
Reviewid: 76979Chapter: 1
Great story!!!! Just wanted to let you know that I enjoyed it immensely (ever thought of writing a sequal?) Keep writing!!!!

Reviewer: IsabelA113Date: 2004-03-30
Reviewid: 76393Chapter: 1
Wonderful work! It is nice to see a Snape-crush story featuring cannon Snape. (Like Tara, I have a weakness for the grouchy old Potions master for reasons that don't bear rational explanation.) Funny, touching, and honest writing. Great job.

Reviewer: Verna S.Date: 2004-03-28
Reviewid: 76053Chapter: 1
This was amazingly good. Very effective satire of most OC!/Snape pairings. Hilarious. Stupendous.

The best part was how *realistic* it all was. Everyone remained as they are in the novels without being dramatically altered.

Reviewer: nomedeuserDate: 2004-03-19
Reviewid: 75278Chapter: 1
wow this was such a nice fic. i loved the way you wrote the characters and snape was brilliant he's still greasy and evil but human and all.
and the bit with dumbledore choking. hehehee. yes it was a well written storry with interesting characterization, a flowing plot and an interesting premise.

in other less bombastic words it was awesome! Also I liked the way Tara was californian because it would make sense that being from a very different place she could have a different perspective and find Snape
at least a little attractive. I'm from Cali as well so I understood that in a way the story works better her being American and all. Oh I found this fic on the FictionAlley nifflers page.

Reviewer: SamDate: 2004-03-12
Reviewid: 74314Chapter: 1
Too cute! Bloody brillant. I was laughing so hard I was crying. Thanks for brightening up my day!

Reviewer: JamieBellDate: 2004-01-04
Reviewid: 65724Chapter: 1
Disturbing... But funny and well written! Good job!

Reviewer: MinkychanzDate: 2004-01-01
Reviewid: 65393Chapter: 1
AWW! I LOVED THAT! ><

You MUST do a sequel x,x!

Reviewer: Lady LyandraDate: 2003-12-28
Reviewid: 64949Chapter: 1
Jesus, I almost wish that I had written <i>my</i> "student gets a crush on Snape" story before I had read yours. Well, what can I say, other than I like your taste? Although, I just always thought that he must really look pretty good despite the scowl (some ppl can never seem to gat their hair clean, I have a friend with that problem, but I never really minded it).

Reviewer: KimLongbottomDate: 2003-12-16
Reviewid: 63529Chapter: 1
sorry, But I have to agree with snorkak, that is against the law. but, I hope you'll write a sequill when Ross is older & her & snape get together

Reviewer: SnorkackDate: 2003-12-03
Reviewid: 61746Chapter: 1
ummm...no offens but isn't teacher/student relationship...illegal? You did a good job describing the slytherins though!

Reviewer: elokinDate: 2003-11-07
Reviewid: 59200Chapter: 1
I love it! I especially like the first time Snape tries to tell McGonagall and Dumbledore about the student crush.

Excellent characterization all around.

Two thumbs up.

elokin

Reviewer: ShaeDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 56952Chapter: 1
ahhhh! I hate to say I loved that, but I also love to say I loved it. Great story.

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2003-10-10
Reviewid: 56156Chapter: 1
Aww, very sweet fic. Hope Tara makes a reappearance. :)

Reviewer: Lexa PendragonDate: 2003-09-25
Reviewid: 54323Chapter: 1
This is a great story, it really makes for a funny read. I highly recommend it.

Reviewer: MeDate: 2003-09-19
Reviewid: 53537Chapter: 1
MMMMOOOOOOOOOOOOOORRRRRRRRRREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: CassDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53382Chapter: 1
That was a really cute and funny story.Thank you for showing that Snape isn't as cruel and heartless as everyone thinks.
You should write a sequel!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: MaggieDate: 2003-09-02
Reviewid: 50328Chapter: 1
Okay, the story was really well written, but i couldnt help but feel strange at the thought of it happening! It makes me feel quezzy (lol i cant spell) to think of Snape and a younger girl.

Reviewer: CordeliaDate: 2003-08-06
Reviewid: 45793Chapter: 1
aaaw, that was really really good!
totally original idea, which is cool. good fanfic!!
Cordelia

Reviewer: TapestryDate: 2003-07-19
Reviewid: 42828Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this fic, the humor laced throughtout it was wonderful and you've done a great job capturing the angst of being a teenager faced with her peers' ridicule. Snape the wonder dog positively had me in tears from laughing, right up there with Draco - the amazing bouncing ferret. But I really think my favorite line must be "She had spent the rest of the day sitting in the out-of-order girls' bathroom crying so hard that Moaning Myrtle flushed herself down the toilet just to escape the noise." My goodness that must be bad if she could annoy even Myrtle! Excellent job, very well written and thank you for sharing it.

Reviewer: NetherMagicDate: 2003-06-23
Reviewid: 38335Chapter: 1
haha nice one Christina luved how you kept the HP characters just like how their personalities are. Great short story! And Snape's dialogues are just hilarious =]

Reviewer: ChrissyDate: 2003-06-22
Reviewid: 38282Chapter: 1
*applauds* wonderful story. Snape isn't cruel or mean, he's just misunderstood. *nods* yup yup

Reviewer: Moona PerunaDate: 2003-06-21
Reviewid: 38209Chapter: 1
Brilliant, Christina, simply brilliant. It's kinda funny because I found an article about your stories in the newspaper, what with the release of HP 5 nearing, and I just had to check these stories out. I'm really impressed. You kept true to the characters all the way, and the dialog (especially Snape's) was witty and just seemed to fit. I really love the ending, too! That's so cute! ^_^

Reviewer: Sunshyne_NCDate: 2003-06-20
Reviewid: 38093Chapter: 1
C. Teresa, has absolutely created the world of J.K. Rowling here in her own world. Bravo!!

Reviewer: becca04Date: 2003-05-02
Reviewid: 30440Chapter: 1
Woo Hoo! I'm not the only one with a weird Snape- fanfic attraction!

Reviewer: JessanndiDate: 2003-04-17
Reviewid: 28217Chapter: 1
I can really hear, Alan's silky tones in your lines. Very seductive and entraping.

Reviewer: CourtneyDate: 2003-04-16
Reviewid: 28179Chapter: 1
I liked how you showed a nice side of Professor Snape. It was also very cool how you added in the part about Snape liking Lily, it was really unexpected but also fits in with everything else in the story.

Reviewer: bookwrm1989@aol.comDate: 2003-04-16
Reviewid: 28122Chapter: 1
OMG! That was so FUNNY! SO CREATIVE!!!!!!!!!! *laughs so hard she snorts* ok, breath, breath, *settles down* Really though, that was SUPERB!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Malfoy1Date: 2003-04-15
Reviewid: 28019Chapter: 1
That was so cool! Good Job!! professor Snape is........well professor Snape!

Reviewer: MiliDate: 2003-04-11
Reviewid: 27527Chapter: 1
so cute! though i think you've got a bit of ron, hermione and harry wrong, but it was still pretty cute!

Reviewer: JennDate: 2003-03-12
Reviewid: 23730Chapter: 1
That was too cute! I loved it :D

Reviewer: AlisaDate: 2003-03-05
Reviewid: 22804Chapter: 1
I love this story. This is the first HP fan fiction i ever read. I did have a magor crush once on my math teacher who was twenty five years older than me. I know how it feels. Plese write a sequal.

Reviewer: LarkynDate: 2003-02-17
Reviewid: 20629Chapter: 1
i think this story is just great! furthermore i think you should write a sequel where tara and snape get together, i mean she is 16 so it's legal. at my school the band director dated a student and he didnt get in trouble... this is one of the most romantic things i've read here, applause to you!

Reviewer: Rage PointDate: 2003-01-09
Reviewid: 15736Chapter: 1
Ha! Christina, this was terrifically cute. I enjoyed it the entire way through. And a funny thing--you know, there are about a half dozen elements in this story that would send people away screaming "Mary Sue!" from just about anything else. But I'm impressed how well you handled things! Student with a crush on *Snape*, of all people. Hehe. Adorable. And the ending was just delicious. Thanks for this!

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2003-01-09
Reviewid: 15727Chapter: 1
*laughs*

That was one of *the* funniest things I've read in ages. :D

It was brilliant - fantastically written (I love the switches in PoVs), funny, heartwarming, sad.. and all the little comments (like Mrytle flushing herself) just made the whole thing all the more enjoyable. Tara's a brilliant character, and both her and Snape seemed to act totally IC to what they would do.

The "Where were you when I was 16?" line was fantastic... with your permission of course, I may have to nick some of them for a siggy. ;)

Luv Jules - Snape/Tara fan! xxx

Reviewer: Angiesphinx!Date: 2002-12-19
Reviewid: 13329Chapter: 1
this story is great!! i actually don't like snape's stories but this one worths to be read
smile!!!!!

Reviewer: Missy HallanDate: 2002-12-07
Reviewid: 11627Chapter: 1
Well, that was certainly different than anything else I've ever read. I liked it a lot though ^_^ Originalilty can be hard to come by in the HP fanfic world by now.

Reviewer: liana-fidesDate: 2002-10-10
Reviewid: 5897Chapter: 1
brilliant. just brilliant

Reviewer: NM(NarcissaMalfoy)Date: 2002-10-05
Reviewid: 5440Chapter: 1
First Snape "romance" story I've liked!

This was incredible. I found Snape so in character,
and Tara was like many a girl (including myself) with
a silly crush.

NM

Reviewer: Murasaki99Date: 2002-09-28
Reviewid: 4899Chapter: 1
This was a nice story! I was on tenterhooks throughout, waiting for Snape to make a total mess of things, but he actually came through! Yay Severus! (I'm a bit of a fan.) I had to laugh over his realization that he couldn't enjoy being *right* for once. Poor fellow.
Great work!

Reviewer: A GoldfeeshDate: 2002-08-28
Reviewid: 3399Chapter: 1
Well, I probably first read this over a year ago...but never reviewed this excellent piece. In fact it is one of the first Snape stories I recall reading.

First, I'd like to say I'm glad this remained a single piece...I can't see how it could be improved by any continuation.

Secondly, you have such a gift for humor and turn of phrase. For instance I love how Moaning Myrtle even had to flush herself away. And of course "Snape, the wonder dog!" among others. *L*

Finally, Snape seemed quite in character. I always like how he thought of himself first when suspicious of the crush- "It's all a diabolical plot to make *me* look silly!"

Keep up the good work.

A Goldfeesh
(who puts this fic on her top five list)

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2378Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: Hazel Slytherin
Registered User
Posts: 8
(4/26/02 7:52:14 am )
Reply
Late bloomers
------------------------------------------------------------------------
I love both Late bloomers & FTLOH,but I cant help wanting to see Tara together with snape...
but i like veronica too...
maybe you can make one of htem AU?
but both are great fics & I'm looking forward to read more of your works!

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2377Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: NightZephyr
Registered User
Posts: 11
(2/4/02 8:15:34 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just read "Late Bloomers"--it was sooo adorable--and I mean that in the sweet, warm, sincere sense of adorable. You did such a great job of navigating Snape, of all people, through what would be his own personal minefield. And you kept him perfectly in character all the way!

I loved his attempt to bring up the crush with McGonagall and Dumbledore--even if it didn't turn out well for him. I think that was the first time I ever felt sorry for the man (wizard?).

And that Snape had a crush on Lily? Hmmm... That's why he hates Harry so much! Isn't that 'transference' in psychological terms?

I was smiling and/or chuckling throughout.I loved - LOVED some of your lines, like (roughly):
Peeves with the "how about a snog, girlie?"
Snape, when Harry didn't die of veela blood poisoning, just: "Pity."
Moaning Myrtle, when she flushed herself to avoid the noise of
Tara's crying
McGonagall to Snape, re: a life of bitterness and resentment: "It's
done wonders for you."
"Where were you when I was sixteen?" was great, too!

I liked Tara as well. You did a fine job of bringing out her character in such a short piece. I've known a few girls that had to deal with just such radical physical changes, and a California girl could be attracted to Snape--the grunge/Goth thing. Great story!!

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2376Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: csteresa
Registered User
Posts: 33
(1/22/02 1:30:32 am )
Reply
Re: Late Bloomers
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Anyhow, great fic. It was funny and sweet. I sometimes think that having your fic called sweet may seem a bit insulting, but I hope you take it as a sincere compliment.

My favorite movie (and one of my greatest inspirations) is Frank Capra's It's a Wonderful Life, surely one of the most sweetly funny films ever made. I take 'funny and sweet' as the greatest of compliments. Thank you.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2374Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: iamjane
Registered User
Posts: 187
(1/20/02 8:26:31 pm )
Reply
Late Bloomers
------------------------------------------------------------------------
I really enjoyed this story. As someone who has had a lot of crushes on unattainable people, I felt really bad for poor Tara. Snape was still pretty despicable, but you did make him seem more human:

Quote:
------------------------------------------------------------------------
"Who am I kidding? It's bloody miserable. Where in the hell were you when I was sixteen?"
------------------------------------------------------------------------
I can't believe how horrid Peeves was! I though he was scary.

This line really made me giggle:

Quote:
------------------------------------------------------------------------
He scowled. "Tell anyone and I'll poison your porridge."

Tara giggled, but stopped when she realized he was serious. "Don't worry, your secret's safe with me." She got up and started for the door.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Anyhow, great fic. It was funny and sweet. I sometimes think that having your fic called sweet may seem a bit insulting, but I hope you take it as a sincere compliment.

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2373Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: Murasaki Shikibu
Registered User
Posts: 82
(1/10/02 9:27:24 pm )
Reply
Late Bloomers ^_^
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Oh, if only the story had been a teensy bit longer.. I loved this. It was just.. adorable is the only way I can think of describing it. The classic schoolgirl crush on a typically unloveable guy (Snape fans would tend to disagree with me, though.. no worries).

Great job!

DA

Reviewer: Night ZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2372Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: csteresa
Registered User
Posts: 24
(12/27/01 12:43:54 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina - Late Bloomer
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Glad you liked the story. I had actually planned on writing a sequel to "Late Bloomers", but scrapped the idea when I came up with "For the Love of Hufflepuff". If you want something longer, that story is almost novella length already and I haven't even started on part 3.

As far as the description is concerned, I believe I forgot to send one in when I sent in the story, so the one on the author's page is the work of the headmistress. Besides, when the story was posted, I think Snape was a more unlikely choice for a crush. In fact, I hadn't read any HP fanfic before I wrote it, so I thought I was the only one who liked Snape. Silly me.

Reviewer: Night ZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2371Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: that hp guy
Registered User
Posts: 33
(12/26/01 5:49:15 pm )
Reply
Re: Christina - Late Bloomer
------------------------------------------------------------------------
From the look of things, I'm the only one to review "Late Bloomer" so far.

First, one criticism: your description isn't quite right...Tara doesn't develop a crush on an unlikely instructor. Had it been Flitwick or McGonnagal, I'd agree, but everybody here loves Snape far too much for it to be a big surprise.

In general, though, I liked it a great deal. I think I wanted it to be longer, with more detail. I was enjoying myself too much for it to be over already, even if it was a bit of one-off fluff by your own admission. I imagine it could be worked into a much longer and even more entertaining piece.

J

Reviewer: Incurable RomanticDate: 2002-08-15
Reviewid: 2119Chapter: 1
How cute is that? I like the part about the dog. "Snape the wonder-dog!" eh eh eh. Excellent story.

Reviewer: ginnydragon54Date: 2002-08-11
Reviewid: 1665Chapter: 1
OMG!!! THAT was diffrent! but in a good way. a student with a crush on snape!!!! wacky!!! 20 ppoints to the house of your choice for that story!

Reviewer: CadenzaDate: 2002-08-11
Reviewid: 1645Chapter: 1
I like it. It fits the Hogwarts world, and the world of teenagers. The Gryffidors seem to have been lost in generalities a little bit, but the reactions of everyone involved in the story (even, or especially, Snape) are genuine.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --