The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 36

Reviewer: vega blackDate: 2008-09-15
Reviewid: 151113Chapter: 1
I liked the idea of Sirius in dog form comforting Hargid in his suffering. I thought you did a good job of fitting all of this into canon and giving insights into moments that needed more explanation.

Reviewer: SuzanneDate: 2008-08-31
Reviewid: 151066Chapter: 1
I just wanted to let you know that I have rec’d your story and posted a link to it in the new LJ HP community hpmssgmoments, or Harry Potter Missing Moments. Your story fits nicely into canon and makes a nice addition to our archives. Please feel free to come over and take a look at what we are doing and your entry (posted under "Appearances Deceive"). We are a small group at the moment, but we hope to get your story some new readers and some new reviews as we grow.

Reviewer: Author By NightDate: 2008-08-24
Reviewid: 151036Chapter: 1
What a great fanfic! I'm not sure if I've reviewed this before - I may have, it seemed familiar. But I like it as much as I did when/if I read it the first time. :) I like the clever last line, and I like how Sirius was sure Hagrid hadn't done anything. I also like that two books later, it's still canon.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-24
Reviewid: 140226Chapter: 1
Quite Nice

Reviewer: 1SadFoolDate: 2006-01-13
Reviewid: 138452Chapter: 1
Dude, running low on wonderful things to say. All I know is that I am absolutely addicted to your style of writing. You're good for laughs and then also seem to have a knack for the serious things as well (no pun intended :-p) Keep it up.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-07-17
Reviewid: 92794Chapter: 1
Geez, when I imagined them meeting up in Azkaben, it was more Hagrid attempting to make good on his intentions to whallop Sirius into next week. This is much much much better! Even though it shows through in a few places that your talent is really for humour, that's just 'cos it's got a bit more funny lines than you'd expect in a fic about Azkaban.

Reviewer: KacieDate: 2004-07-09
Reviewid: 91554Chapter: 1
I really liked this story. It's exactly something I could see happening in the books if we coulda seen what went on there. It makes me wonder about Hagrid's reaction when he found out it was actually Sirius and not the Grim...

Reviewer: LizzyDate: 2004-06-27
Reviewid: 89099Chapter: 1
Nice idea, but Barty's mother (in the disguise as Barty) died approimately 10? or so years before this

Reviewer: TiffDate: 2004-06-14
Reviewid: 87053Chapter: 1
you should continue this. It's good.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2004-05-22
Reviewid: 84066Chapter: 1
Very touching, but the timeline is off. Barty Crouch Jr was far earlier than CoS, Hagrid's release a few weeks before the Weasley's visit to Egypt.

Reviewer: ChelseaDate: 2004-03-19
Reviewid: 75214Chapter: 1
Hi I'm new to all the and I was hopping you could help me with something. See I write a story but I don't know how to send it anywhere? Can you help me
Thanks
Chelsea

Reviewer: Phoenix BlackDate: 2003-12-29
Reviewid: 65116Chapter: 1
Yes!!! Bloody Brilliant!!! I loved it!!!

Love,
PB

Reviewer: FlamewingDate: 2003-12-28
Reviewid: 64999Chapter: 1
Made me smile for some reason - this is really, really good. Huzzah for Sirius.

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-12-18
Reviewid: 63895Chapter: 1
::shivers::

So much darkness, wrapped up into one tiny piece of writing! But good things come in small packages too.

Yay Hagrid! Hurrah for Sirius, saving an old friend...old friend? I sense more fic possibilities there. Hagrid seems to revere James the way Peter did in the OotP flashback. Did he revere Sirius in the same way before Hallowe'en 1981?

you give me so many fic ideas! :)

~TPR

Reviewer: EllenDate: 2003-11-28
Reviewid: 61007Chapter: 1
Good!!! I liked this, and I don't usually like "missing moments" stories... good work!!!

Reviewer: RachelDate: 2003-11-28
Reviewid: 61005Chapter: 1
That was really cool. I had never realized how... fitting all the timing was. Brilliant! That was very, very good. Can't wait to see your next fic!

Reviewer: MoonyDate: 2003-11-16
Reviewid: 60315Chapter: 1
Yay! I like it. But wouldn't Sirus have tried escaping then instead of waiting for Harry's third year?

Reviewer: US HP fanDate: 2003-11-16
Reviewid: 60207Chapter: 1
Good story! Very enjoyable!

Reviewer: PandaDate: 2003-11-16
Reviewid: 60167Chapter: 1
I love the way Sirius was portrayed! The whole thing was fantastic!

Reviewer: Knight SamarDate: 2003-10-04
Reviewid: 55464Chapter: 1
Great picturisation of Hagrid's thoughts and Azkaban.

And yes, I love the last line :)

Looking forward for more such good fics from you...

Reviewer: BeakerDate: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55197Chapter: 1
Very nice little missing moment, and not one that had occurred to me before. Scrupulously in canon, in character, and well-written, too. The only thing I'd question is the timing of Barty Crouch Jr.'s escape. Seems like that would have been more than two years before GOF. But maybe not; have to go look that up.

Reviewer: AsheDate: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55113Chapter: 1
You're a genius! That's all I can say anymore; you're a genius!

Reviewer: AnneDate: 2003-10-01
Reviewid: 55009Chapter: 1
That was really well done - I liked the descriptions of Azkaban, and I was really pleased that Sirius heard Hagrid being released - that was so sweet. The best by far was the conclusion - great job!

Reviewer: PelirrojaDate: 2003-10-01
Reviewid: 54993Chapter: 1
An excellent missing moment. The sincerity of the emotion is wonderful. I look forward to future work.

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-10-01
Reviewid: 54986Chapter: 1
aw, cute ending!

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54932Chapter: 1
This was excellent! I loved the last line. Very Sirius-esque. I'm glad you brought out this missing moment. I've never thought about it and it was great to read a fic about it. :)

Reviewer: IceDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54907Chapter: 1
ooohhh. great ending. it ties nicely with the 2nd, 3rd, and fourth books. just an awesome piece.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54860Chapter: 1
Great story. I really enjoyed it. I never thought about the possibility that Sirius noticed Hagrid in Azkaban, but it's likely.

Your Fudge is quite good. "So you're still here, then." Great!

I think the death of Barty Crouch should have been years before. But that doesn't matter much.

I liked it!

Reviewer: AlyndraDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54845Chapter: 1
Well done. The story is beleivable, but one mistake that may be noticable to those of us who have reread the HP books far more times than is good for one's mental health is that Barty Crouch was said to have died about a year after they brought him in (GoF, Padfoot Returns), so he would have been safe and sound (grr) by the time poor Hagrid was incarcerated. I loved the way you ended with the crossword line, which I've seen quite a few variations on in various fanfics. Yours was neatly done, and a good ending to the piece. Actually, the whole thing was well written. Good job.

Reviewer: InsanityDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54844Chapter: 1
Great idea, and your writing is lovely!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54838Chapter: 1
Great portrayal of Sirius. It was nice of him to try and offer some solace to Hagrid. It was clever of you to weave in Barty Crouch Jr.

Reviewer: PortiaDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54826Chapter: 1
This was wonderful. It went from touching--Sirius making Hagrid eat--to darkly humorous at the end, and the transition felt perfectly natural.

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54809Chapter: 1
Excellent - definitely a missing moment that never occurred to me. Love the ending! I like the very understated way that you write about Sirius' suffering in Azkaban. It was clear that he was in a miserable place, but doing what he could to keep his mind since he was innocent...absolutely in character. Well done!

Reviewer: Narishma RebornDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54798Chapter: 1
Nice, well-written story, plus an idea I haven't seen before. The only minor quibble is the timing towards the end... if that final portion is to be the incident in which Sirius sees Peter in the photo, well it doesn't quite fit the timeline.

But nice story otherwise! :-)

Reviewer: eca celliDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54791Chapter: 1
I never thought about Hagrid and Sirius seeing each other in Azkaban. Original. Well done, Jack.

I hate you. And you know I mean that in a loving way.

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54789Chapter: 1
What a wonderful idea!

I love the notion of Sirius helping Hagrid through his time at Azkaban--it's so true to the way he is. And of course, poor Hagrid would think he was a Grim!

<<“Yer a Grim, aren't yeh? I'm dyin'?”

_Not if you eat,_ you stupid man, Sirius wanted to say. He settled for shaking his head and using his nose to push one of the plates of food to him. >>

The impatience at this point is what really makes the story work well. This could be a sappy sort of thing, but the edgy, will-you-wake-*up* tone of Sirius's inner voice makes it very realistic and non-sentimental.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --