The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Taking a Chance
Review(s): 35

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-11-29
Reviewid: 136495Chapter: 1
Very Entertaining.

Reviewer: MadrigalDate: 2004-06-29
Reviewid: 89541Chapter: 1
Holy Cow!!! This is VERY well written. Very cute and amusing. I love it. This is exactly how I pictured these two to be like around each other. And it's Fluffy!!!! IIEEEEE! *giggles like the idiot James* ^_^

Reviewer: AnnikaDate: 2004-04-25
Reviewid: 80076Chapter: 1
I absolutely love this story. It's one of the sweetest things I've ever read.

Reviewer: NikkiDate: 2004-02-01
Reviewid: 69130Chapter: 1
I can think of one person people deserve to hate and should and is completely evil: Voldemort! I thought your story was so cute. it was amazing I loved it. perfect!

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-01-31
Reviewid: 69026Chapter: 1
[Fiber Charm for Irregularity] Very clever! That's just the sort of thing teenage boys would have a lot of fun with! Good insight!

You really nailed Peter's character. He would be the type to find the cruelest prank funny. You've done a great job with the other characters; they're just callous enough so that they echo the Pensieve scene from OotP and yet just clueless enough so that they resemble typical teenagers.

I liked Lily's list of reasons to go out with James. I also really like your Lily's spirit and how she's not this perfect person (she dislikes Slytherins too). The bit about Gideon being gay though seemed unnecessary. Lily strikes me as the type who doesn't feel she has to explain herself to James or anyone else and would most likely keep this private.

I usually don't read much J/L, but I liked this one.

Reviewer: CassieDate: 2004-01-28
Reviewid: 68770Chapter: 1
Oo, yay! That was beautifully written, and just exactly how I imagine Lily! I love Lily/James. 'itís a beautiful, complicated thing.' So right, so right.

Reviewer: ttaDate: 2003-10-28
Reviewid: 58175Chapter: 1
Loved it! I always wandered how those two got together and I liked your idea on it.

Reviewer: jo-AnneDate: 2003-10-16
Reviewid: 56653Chapter: 1
that was one of the best lily/james stories i have ever read! please continue with this, you are such a good writer!

Reviewer: The Grey LadyDate: 2003-10-09
Reviewid: 55873Chapter: 1
Wow, what superb characterization! I loved Lily in this story, especially her top ten list. It was a credible transition from Snape's Worst Memory to end-product-Harry. lol Quite, charming. My compliments.

~ Me, the Resident Ravenclaw

Reviewer: lizzypadfootDate: 2003-10-05
Reviewid: 55569Chapter: 1
update sooon soon soon!!!! or make a sequel or whatever!!! i love lily/james fics and this one is really good!! please more lily/james stuff!!!

Reviewer: jessicaDate: 2003-10-05
Reviewid: 55522Chapter: 1
THAT WAS BEAUTIFUL. You're writiing style is very natural and doesn't seem forced at all.I'll definitely be reading any other fics you have.

Reviewer: shooting starDate: 2003-10-04
Reviewid: 55475Chapter: 1
OMG! That was wonderful! Thanks ^-^ Love the way that James is such an imperfect person and that their relationship wasnt all so rosy! wow. well done!

Reviewer: FioDate: 2003-10-03
Reviewid: 55261Chapter: 1
Awww! I got the biggest case of giggles! I was grinning like an idiot over Lily's reasons James deserves a date! So cute! I REEEEEAAAALLLY loved this and I'm going to send it to all my friendz cuz they'll love it too! R u gonna update? I'd really love to see more, although it was a good enough ending to not have a sequal...I really loved this!!!

Reviewer: Basil MDate: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55129Chapter: 1
Cute. I like you way you delve into James' emotions. It's adorable, how infatuated he is with her.

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55060Chapter: 1
mmm, good.

I liked this a lot more than I expected to. Good on you, really, that was an excellent interpretation of James. Lily was cute too and I liked her 10 ten reasons...her letter was a teensy bit preachy though. I know it's tough to write something like that - I would have trouble doing it. But maybe you could pare down a few of your commments about being judicious. They're...a bit much. As is the way you phrased the comment about Gideon being gay. Besides the fact that it's unnecessary...(I guess that's a matter of opinion; I think it would be interesting for Lily to say she liked James and Gideon even if that wasn't true). You could have had James read the letter and then go, "but what about Gideon?" and Lily could say casually, "what, haven't you noticed? He's gay, James." James would be shocked, and we and Lily could laugh at his denseness. That would be a cool way to add that tidbit in. Sorry for prattling on...

ciao!
~TPR

Reviewer: Teresina DragonwagonDate: 2003-10-01
Reviewid: 55026Chapter: 1
Gah, men can be such assholes. At least James redeemed himself. A little. I like Lily in this one, she amuses me..."He worships me. Worship is good."

Reviewer: shannonDate: 2003-10-01
Reviewid: 54995Chapter: 1
Brilliant. Just the way James and Lily should be. I like that she isn't immediently in love with him at the end of the fic (not yet, at least). Very good interpretation of what might've happened. I love J/L fics and yours is beautiful!

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-10-01
Reviewid: 54989Chapter: 1
aw, I'm glad someone's doing this with the "non-perfect" James!!! Great!!

Reviewer: RachaelDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54977Chapter: 1
That was great. Everyone was in character and it was funny and sweet. You should do a sequel to this fic where Lily falls in love with James.

Reviewer: ReynaDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54963Chapter: 1
This is AWESOME! Really, really believable after what we found out in Book 5. I love it. James is totally...he's got his hangups but he's still...I don't know. Great job. With Sirius and Lily too. Are you going to continue this? Plese?

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54937Chapter: 1
This was really good! I was wondering when this took place... I'm guessing after 5th year. Excellent job!

Reviewer: Olivia PitcherDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54930Chapter: 1
This is a seriously brilliant story. Of course, I should be doing coursework right now, but tearing myself away from this story was damn near impossible. i laughed, i sniffed, i awwwed - please write more james and lily, you're so good at it! You're the only writer i've come across, in fact, who can put across the point that james is an arrogant bully, but still make you feel sorry for him, and want to get the girl.

lovely stuff. and so much better than coursework.

Reviewer: Margaret B.Date: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54925Chapter: 1
Gahhh...I usually despise romance stories, but this was brilliant!! You have a lot of talent! Keep writing!
~Meg

Reviewer: LamarquiseDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54920Chapter: 1
Really good. Definitely the best L/J I've seen after OOTP. His friends don't come out quite as well, but Lily and James themselves come out sparkling. That's what it has to be...James is too smart not to recognize the emptiness of his existence and Lily is just kind enough to give him a chance.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54909Chapter: 1
very nice story and well written i like how you protraited each character

Reviewer: TariDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54905Chapter: 1
great fic! I really liked it. Esp. Lily's change of heart about going on a date w/James and how she wasn't suddenly in love with him.

Reviewer: Susan B.Date: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54880Chapter: 1
Well. I'm not so sure the Mauraders were *that* bad. No matter how bad they treated Snape or even Rigellus...

Reviewer: ChloťDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54843Chapter: 1
Wow ! Oh my... duh...oh my god...gah ...PERFECT !!
just perfect ...it was so RIGHT ! you wrote James true to ootp canon without trying to smooth him or anything and that is so much more better, it makes him so much more interesting ! And Lily is so Lily you know ! I'll tell you something if nothing comes about "how" in the 2 next books this is how it happened for me, yep that's right your fic is now my canon version of how !! hope you're satisfied ...and proud to have achieved such thing ...lol!
Again well done !!!!!

Reviewer: RosebethDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54837Chapter: 1
I laughed and I cried. What more can I say?

Reviewer: DelylahDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54829Chapter: 1
Good take on how she finally wound up going out with him. I hope JKR will shed some light on the subject herself in the next 2 books. Nice job!

Reviewer: mattyDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54817Chapter: 1
AWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54810Chapter: 1
Pretty nice, except for Lily's letter. I thought that was overdone. It sounded too mature, and too apologetic (even an adult wouldn't apologise so profusely, honestly!), and too groveling on Lily's part. It's one thing to give someone a chance, and quite another to *beg* to give him a chance, after everything that's gone on between them. But you built up nicely to them understanding each other better. I enjoyed that.

Reviewer: ZoŽDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54804Chapter: 1
I love it! You captured James in a way I thought to be impossible by anyone except none other than JKR.

Ah, such a sexy lil prat.

I like Lily's change of heart. And her "10 reasons" list! Hahaha!

Nice job. VERY nice job.

Reviewer: JackDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54787Chapter: 1
We really are horrible with summaries.

And I like it. Even if Lily is Gin.

Reviewer: SonicDate: 2003-09-30
Reviewid: 54785Chapter: 1
Well, Damn. I believe you've got Lily down pat. Although, for James, I think he would be just a bit more mature than shown here in his 7th year. Still, cool. That was definitely funny and a nice quirky/warm fuzzy feeling read. :)

- Sonic

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --