The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Cor Leonis
Review(s): 18

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-07-25
Reviewid: 127765Chapter: 1
Quite a decent tale. Thanks.

Reviewer: Jo WickaninnishDate: 2004-03-02
Reviewid: 72962Chapter: 1
That was a very good piece.

"Be careful with your choices. Don't go ruining you life now, alright?" -I can just hear Sirius saying that to Regulus. It's a great line.

I liked the ending, very fitting.

Reviewer: Kally*StarrDate: 2003-10-08
Reviewid: 55790Chapter: 1
Lovely story. It almost made me cry, and let me tell you, that's hard to do. Practically the only other piece of writing that can make me cry is Catcher in the Rye. : )
-K : D

Reviewer: MinoukatzeDate: 2003-10-07
Reviewid: 55750Chapter: 1
What a wonderful, touching story! I love how you took a character mentioned off-hand and gave him a soul and a purpose. I can't wait to see more of your work.

Reviewer: Katie BellDate: 2003-10-05
Reviewid: 55544Chapter: 1
very nice
I really like how you got inside he's head!

~~Katie Bell

Reviewer: Paige Knorr (The Muggle Hermione)Date: 2003-10-03
Reviewid: 55283Chapter: 1
Yukirei,
Stunning. Chilling. Expressive. Vhement. Amazing. Beautiful. Scary. Wonderful. Superbly written. It was full of emotion. This is very, very good. I just finished dishes (pruny hands :@) so naturally I came here to check up on the day's updates... Glad you were one. Cor Leonis really is a great title, and a good name to suit this man and his choice. Wonderful.

Paige, The Muggle Hermione

Reviewer: AmethystPhoenixDate: 2003-10-03
Reviewid: 55274Chapter: 1
Really good! I like how you put Regulus in this perspective!

Reviewer: StellaDate: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55205Chapter: 1
Oh, yay! I'm so excited to see this up here! You really had such an original idea here - a stroke of genius that allows Regulus to shine a little bit on his own.

The story is almost poetic at points and the voices in it are very vivid. Sirius sounds like Sirius. The Blacks sound just the way you might have expected them to sound. The flashbacks and voices are the best part of the story for me.

My favorite line:

"They aren't always right, you know? And you don't always need to listen to them."

I think that line sums up the whole process that Regulus goes through here. This sudden overwhelming realization that you've never questioned anything in your life. That you just assumed that it was all exactly the way it was presented to you. That by listening to whatever those you respected told you to do, you would become something respectable.

Wonderful!

-Stella

Reviewer: NigellaDate: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55166Chapter: 1
Wow! I was just wondering, yesterday, whether anyone had written anything about Regulus - and there you are! Thank you so much for this - I'm so glad I read it, even though the summary didn't mention his name and I might have missed it. It's a great idea that he was asked to kill Sirius, and by refusing he was so much braver than Wormtail (I was thinking of Sirius shouting at him, in PoA: 'Then you should have died!'). This is exactly how I imagined Regulus - you've done a great job.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55158Chapter: 1
Wow. Beautiful. Very touching. I couldn't get my eyes of the screen while reading. And I have to say that it was the great summary that made me read it, although I had no idea what the story would be like. I was hooked after reading the first line.
This story is brilliant. Thank you for writing it.

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55144Chapter: 1
Excellent fic, with so many elements in the theme of choices.

"I suddenly realised… this had been his last year at Hogwarts and he was not going to go home, which meant that this might be the last time I’ll be seeing him, actually talking to him. I felt an impulse to shout out, to call him back. To tell him, that I cared about him too. But for some reason, I didn’t."

The way you portray the relationship between the two brothers is so very poignant. Sirius has made his choice and broken free, but still cares enough for his brother to make a last effort to warn him. But Regulus does not yet have his brother's strength, and takes the wrong path ...

Well done.

Reviewer: Basil MDate: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55120Chapter: 1
Nice. You did a great job of giving some humanity to a character we know little about. I really enjoyed this story.

Reviewer: RachaelDate: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55103Chapter: 1
This is your first fic? It's excellent. Good job.

Reviewer: InsanityDate: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55100Chapter: 1
Great job! Regulus might have been thinking like this, indeed.

Reviewer: ChloéDate: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55093Chapter: 1
WOW ! powerful story!
I never read any fic on the matter (which is rather strange now that I think about it) and you handled it very beautifully. good job !
Keep up ...

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55068Chapter: 1
This was really good! I loved your take on Regulus. Excellently written.

Reviewer: SzandaraDate: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55061Chapter: 1
Well done. You took a character so minor as to be just part of a canon character's backstory, and gave him a heart, a brain, and some courage. Too bad you couldn't give him a trip to Kansas too. It would be nice to think that this is what Regulus was really like...and it's sad to think that Sirius never knew that his brother had his doubts about being a Death Eater and ultimately sacrificed his own life to avoid killing Sirius.

Quite good. Please do keep writing.

Reviewer: Myster webDate: 2003-10-02
Reviewid: 55056Chapter: 1
What a cool idea! We never really find out what Sirius's brother was like or why he tried to back out of the Death Eaters. This story shows all of that in breath-taking perfection. Please keep writing, I love your work!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --