The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Vigil
Review(s): 46

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2007-10-01
Reviewid: 149466Chapter: 1
A great use of POV. I really like Hermione's Mum.

Reviewer: Jolene_xxDate: 2005-05-01
Reviewid: 121160Chapter: 1
This is such an original fic and it's great to see how Hermione's parents feel about what she gets up to at Hogwarts. Also a good description of why they decided that she would be allowed to go to Hogwarts - I've often wondered why muggle parents let their children go.
Most of it was really well written but the conversation between Ron and Ginny did seem a little unnatural. Apart from that though it was fantastic.

Reviewer: Reader2Date: 2005-04-24
Reviewid: 120457Chapter: 1
Nice POV

Reviewer: MelDate: 2005-01-18
Reviewid: 111262Chapter: 1
This is such a great story! Your ability to weave Mr. and Mrs. Granger into a plot-line thats already been written in unbelieveable. This is an incredible story, so keep up the great work!

Reviewer: MelDate: 2005-01-18
Reviewid: 111261Chapter: 1
This is such a great story! Your ability to weave Mr. and Mrs. Granger into a plot-line thats already been written in unbelieveable. This is an incredible story, so keep up the great work!

Reviewer: unavailableDate: 2004-08-17
Reviewid: 97742Chapter: 1
that was amazing. it was written from a unique perspective
i never though about what it would be like to be a parent
one of the trio. i loved the story and think u are a great
author.

Reviewer: TazDate: 2004-06-19
Reviewid: 87825Chapter: 1
This story was one of the best fan-fics I've ever read! you are a very talented writer. your story was very moving! thanks for taking the time to write it!~Taz

Reviewer: Dark SaiyanDate: 2004-02-19
Reviewid: 71457Chapter: 1
...um, well I should start by saying its refreshing to see a fic done from a lesser heard of character as in the Grangers. Its plot is very quick and drawn out at the same time, each person is intitled to his or her own interpratation of the books and IMO, in this you've portraid the kids as far too open, its a great fic I just never thought thatmrs Granger could take to Ron at a snap of a finger, most parents would be slightly over protective of thier child Esp after the injury Hermione had just gotten, anger too...I could see the Grangers being very angry at Harry for leading thier only daughter into danger.

Thats just my opinion though, its still a great fic

Reviewer: story645Date: 2004-02-17
Reviewid: 71205Chapter: 1
Great story, the last line was funny. I liked how you delved into Mrs. Granger's emotions.

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2004-02-16
Reviewid: 71024Chapter: 1
Incredibly beautiful and moving.
Gufa

Reviewer: LizzieluDate: 2004-02-16
Reviewid: 70930Chapter: 1
Wow, absolutely and completely brilliant!

I have never read such an perfect and detailed peice of fanfiction. Honestly, this was amazing. I have always wondered what Hermione's parents think of her never being with them for the holidays, and I've always wondered how often she writes to them.

You've captured a muggle's naiveness at the wizarding world perfectly, but throughout this story, Mrs. Granger's love and devotion is the most apparent. I absolutly love how Ron writes to the Grangers, and how they find him to be a great guy. It's funny to see how they think of Harry, as you never get to see how other people view him in the books.

You're an amazing writer, perfectly descriptive. By that I mean that you capture a moment and paint a scene perfectly. I honestly felt like I was in the hospital wing along with everyone.

You had some heartwrenching lines throughout this fic, my favorite being:

"Who would have thought two silent little words spoken in the heat of battle would do so much damage, inflict so much pain?"

This was one of the best fics I have ever read!
Fabulous job!

Lizzielu (sorry about this review, I got kind of carried away)

Reviewer: MaryannDate: 2004-02-12
Reviewid: 70282Chapter: 1
Wow, that was incredibly good! I absolutely loved it. It was definitely one of the best fanfics I've read in a long time. This was the first of your stories that I've read, but if your others are even half as good, I'll have spent my time well reading them. Keep up the good work, you are amazingly talanted!

Reviewer: StefanieDate: 2004-02-10
Reviewid: 70063Chapter: 1
I have to say, that was positivly one of the best fanfics I've seen written in a long time. I've always wondered how much DO the Grangers know? Do they know anything? Its one of those questions that I suppose we'll have to wait until the end to find out about, ne? But well done, a delightful yarn.

Reviewer: EmilyDate: 2003-10-30
Reviewid: 58382Chapter: 1
Great job. Love the ending.

Reviewer: AUNT!Date: 2003-10-25
Reviewid: 57856Chapter: 1
Excellent. Congratulations on a job well done. Hermione's mother shows the love,care, and conern a mohter would show at a time of grave concern. I look forward to reading more.

Reviewer: Jessica NicoleDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56684Chapter: 1
Amazing.

Really, really good.

You've perfectly captured the innocent view of a Muggle mother, attempting a peek into her daughter's extraordinary life.

A truly entertaining piece of writing!

Reviewer: *Ginny Starre*Date: 2003-10-16
Reviewid: 56668Chapter: 1
*That was very yummy! A bit sad. :( Poor Harry. Liked seeing sumthin from Mrs. Granger's POV.*

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-10-15
Reviewid: 56582Chapter: 1
Nice job! I like the way you have Hermione's parents caring for her AND her friends. And it's cute the way you have them see Ron's interest in Hermione so early. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-10-14
Reviewid: 56496Chapter: 1
Very good story- although the characters seemed a bit too open with each other ^_^;;

Reviewer: Timothy T KroggDate: 2003-10-14
Reviewid: 56493Chapter: 1
To Arnel,
A very good story indeed, Please keep up
the writing on a very Difficult Board to
be accepted on. Please continue to write
Baron Von Krogg

Reviewer: Teresina DragonwagonDate: 2003-10-13
Reviewid: 56443Chapter: 1
Ooooooooooh. This was absolutely fantastic. Wow...yeah...and now I'm really late to class, too...

Reviewer: FarieDate: 2003-10-13
Reviewid: 56412Chapter: 1
wow, that was really great. I really liked ron sending letters to hermione's fam while she was paralized. very sweet!!!

Reviewer: AmeliaDate: 2003-10-12
Reviewid: 56357Chapter: 1
awwwww, sweet. Ron rocks my world! If there isn't a bit more R/H in the next book I'm boycotting Potter-no, I take it back. But I'll be damn angry.

Reviewer: DrewDate: 2003-10-12
Reviewid: 56323Chapter: 1
OMG, excellent fic! I love it! I think you should be on the Professor's Bookshelf, you're so good! I'd love for you to write a sequel to this!

Reviewer: LourDate: 2003-10-11
Reviewid: 56295Chapter: 1
This fic was very, very good! I loved it! :)

Reviewer: CourtneyDate: 2003-10-11
Reviewid: 56275Chapter: 1
Hey. That story was amazing. I like how you showed that Ron fancied Hermione, and how much they truly cared about each other. I also found Mr. and Mrs. Granger's characters really good. Keep up the writing.

Reviewer: ValerieDate: 2003-10-11
Reviewid: 56257Chapter: 1
Very nice! I liked how you explored the friendship within the Trio. It truly is beautiful the way they all love each other so much. I liked the POV you used, as well. It gives the analyzation a very unbiased feel to it; especially when it comes to the hints about R/Hr :). Poor Harry; the kid really does need a hug...

Reviewer: EmmalineDate: 2003-10-11
Reviewid: 56196Chapter: 1
I LOVE IT!! That was really raelly good!!! I hope you keep writing!
~Em

Reviewer: godricshollowDate: 2003-10-11
Reviewid: 56195Chapter: 1
That was a fantastic fan fic. You did a very good job and it's nice to be able to read a fan fic and understand it completely. A lot of fics these days have terrible grammar coupled with a horrible plot. That was VERY good! I just told all of my friends to go read it as well.

Reviewer: DemonAngiDate: 2003-10-11
Reviewid: 56192Chapter: 1
Wow. That is the only word that can describe this. What a wonderful story! I loved it :o)

Reviewer: P. D. YerfDate: 2003-10-10
Reviewid: 56148Chapter: 1
Wow. What a great story. I loved how you covered all five years of school from the parent's point of view. It was incredible, as well as original. It made me feel awful that Mr. and Mrs. Granger don't know what's going on. Very enjoyable. I'm looking forward to reading more of your writing.

Reviewer: Sugar ThiefDate: 2003-10-10
Reviewid: 56145Chapter: 1
Beautiful...

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2003-10-10
Reviewid: 56136Chapter: 1
I am writing this in response to a comment Lourdes made which may clarify the question of why the Grangers can see Hogwarts when they are Muggles.

First off, I really believe in sticking to canon. When I first began writing this story, I went back to the books looking for scenes in which Hermione's parents could see things other Muggles couldn't. In chapter 4 of CoS, for instance, Harry and the Weasleys meet the Granger family in Gringots Bank in Diagon Alley and the Leaky Cauldron. (Two places Muggles are not supposed to see.) Second, I posed much the same question to Ashwinder at the end of her fic, "Ginny's Gift". Her answer to me was that Harry (who had been rendered Muggle-like by a spell) could see Hogwarts because he knew it was there and knew what it looked like. Therefore, I felt justified in having Mr. and Mrs. Granger see the school. I also had Professor McGonagall escort the Grangers back to Hogwarts via Portkey so that any problems could be taken care of.

As always, I appreciate your reviews very much. They encourage me to keep writing when I know people enjoy my work.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2003-10-10
Reviewid: 56133Chapter: 1
This is a very nice story. It's quite fascination. The way you alternate reflections and conversations, makes that the story is never boring.
I enjoyed this very much!

Reviewer: lineDate: 2003-10-10
Reviewid: 56126Chapter: 1
wow... beautiful written :D
really incredible, sweet and fantastic..
I would love to read more...:)

Reviewer: IxiusDate: 2003-10-10
Reviewid: 56114Chapter: 1
Arnel that was amazing, touching and moving.

I believe you captured everything so well. The hurt her parents have to be experiencing to see Hermione growing from their little girl into the young woman before them and not even being there for it. Mrs. Grangers doubts, her fears and the pain she has felt from missing her daughter.

I hope Hermione spends some time with her parents to get to know them again and for them to get to know her.

Reviewer: AshturDate: 2003-10-10
Reviewid: 56105Chapter: 1
I've wondered at times how the Granger's could deal with everything that had happened to their little girl, and you bring it out so well. I think they all need a long talk soon.

Reviewer: FernWithyDate: 2003-10-10
Reviewid: 56095Chapter: 1
A nice perspective. I particularly liked how attentive Mrs. Granger is to the importance of both of Hermione's friendships, and her special relationship with Ron. What a brilliant idea to have Ron write to her when Hermione was petrified! I can really believe that of him. I think there are a lot of corners of Ron and Hermione's friendship that Harry doesn't see.

I also like the fact that you acknowledge that Hermione's mechanations to stay at school are *hurtful* to her parents. We all want her to stay and be part of the adventures, but it really has to take a toll on her relationship with her family. I hope next year they *join* her for Christmas!

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-10-10
Reviewid: 56088Chapter: 1
aw, that was precious!!!

Reviewer: LourdesDate: 2003-10-10
Reviewid: 56074Chapter: 1
I am glad that the Grangers were given permission to see Hogsworth. I thought that muggles cannot see the castle at all. Great story.

Reviewer: R1&R2Date: 2003-10-10
Reviewid: 56073Chapter: 1
It's very refreshing to see a story from a character we know little or nothing about. Not many people would think of the Granger's perspective. I know I didn't.
Good job.

Reviewer: AzyneDate: 2003-10-10
Reviewid: 56020Chapter: 1
Oh that was lovely! I skimmed over the beginning, hope you don't mind, but everything was very well-written and very in Mrs. Granger's POV. Of course her mom would notice something like that...

"...knowing that our daughter will indeed be “all right” and back in good health before long…especially if one incredibly handsome red-headed young man is keeping her company."

Awwww!

Reviewer: JoséDate: 2003-10-10
Reviewid: 55999Chapter: 1
ONe of the most sensible and poetic stories I've ever read...

I was filled with good emotions when I read it...

Just one word: beautiful...

Reviewer: Hannah LeeDate: 2003-10-09
Reviewid: 55989Chapter: 1
Wow! This was really great reading! It must be really hard for Hermione's parents not seeing her hardly ever... well, I love it!

Hannah

Reviewer: KristinaDate: 2003-10-09
Reviewid: 55975Chapter: 1
Absoultely positively entrancing! It was a great fic, very glad I read it.

~Kristina

Reviewer: KateDate: 2003-10-09
Reviewid: 55965Chapter: 1
I loved this. It's great writing and wonderful insight into how Hermione's parents must feel. It made my heart hurt, really. It was sooo real, and I can see any pair of Muggle parents feeling this way. I wish Hermione could read this, and see just how much she's hurting her parents.
This is a beautiful story, you did a fantastic job.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --