The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 16

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2005-07-30
Reviewid: 128258Chapter: 1
this is great! You really captured snape's character

Reviewer: MaliceDate: 2004-12-19
Reviewid: 108125Chapter: 3
Very nicely done! Can't wait for more! Great talent there. :))

Thanks!

Reviewer: kitzamaeveDate: 2004-02-21
Reviewid: 71720Chapter: 3
powerful. I love it. excellent writing, I look forward to seeing more.

Reviewer: SarahDate: 2003-06-20
Reviewid: 37946Chapter: 3
damn good! wonderful!ispired!your muse musta been working super hard! LOVED the ending!

Reviewer: Super ElfDate: 2003-05-11
Reviewid: 31635Chapter: 3
Whoa.

Reviewer: lucysnoweDate: 2003-02-22
Reviewid: 21510Chapter: 3
Oh wow. This is so beautifully written. It's dark material and you've handled it so well. I really like chapter two. The imagery of the woman in white showing Snape his future is so intense. Off to read the next part!

Reviewer: Shivawn T.Date: 2003-01-27
Reviewid: 18065Chapter: 3
good job

Reviewer: missy hallanDate: 2003-01-25
Reviewid: 17757Chapter: 3
OH MY GOD! This is so freakin good! lol I love it. It's so creepy and just...excellent. I like it so much, I can barely leave a comprehensible review ^_^ Can't believe I got the title wrong in my review of //tries to remember other tile :)// A Boy and his Mother. It's For the Love of Hufflepuff, not For love of a Hufflepuff. I thought that was what it was called for the longest time...Oh well. Off to read part two because I can't wait any longer to see what happens ^_^

Reviewer: SassyDate: 2003-01-23
Reviewid: 17389Chapter: 2
Very good story so far! Poor Sev...Must be so confusing for someone that young to go through that.

I was wondering if Balin a reference to Alfred Lord Tennyson's King Arthur tales...

Reviewer: LaurynDate: 2002-08-26
Reviewid: 3264Chapter: 3
OOOOH! Good!

Reviewer: Night ZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2384Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: csteresa
Queen of Paranoia
Posts: 76
(5/7/02 2:52:54 am )
Reply
Re: I started it!
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Juliane - thank you so much for all your lovely reviews. You've been here since the very beginning and I can't tell you how much your comments and encouragements have meant to me. You're a peach!

Damn. I hate to see this end

Me too.

Catherine - I'm so glad you finally got to me though I realize that reading FTLOH is quite a commitment. I look forward to your thoughts on the rest of it, but I promise to be patient.

This guy scares me.

Kewl! Balin scares me too and I'm his mummy! I'm torn between being absolutely delighted with the way he's turned out and disturbed by just how EVIL he is. I still haven't quite discovered what he symbolizes, but I hope to figure it out in my prequel dealing with him, Tom Riddle and Poppy Pomfrey as students

Obviously, my take on Snape is very different than yours (my Snape is tortured child trying to cope), but I think your story will do him him credit.

I have a feeling that once you've gotten past Part One, you'll like my Snape a lot. Thanks for your nice comments on my writing style. To be honest, sometimes I think I write so tightly that it's not descriptive enough.

I've heard nothing but wonderful things about your Snape story and have added it to my list of must-read fics I get to enjoy as soon as school's out (two more weeks, I can't wait!).

Christina

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2383Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: Catherine
The Noisy Introvert
Posts: 1065
(5/7/02 1:21:07 am )
Reply
I started it!
------------------------------------------------------------------------
I don't know how soon I'll get back to it, but I have to gush a little bit about your opener.

Snape talking to Balin, and Balin revealing himself to be a sadistic bastard is done without overkill. This guy scares me. You DO have nice villains. I'd heard. I think they come to an interesting understanding, and the dialogue is grand.

"Crystal." Excellent.

Overall, the writing style is tight. It's nice to read a writer who can do the craft. Even if I find parts of your story I don't concur with (and I don't think I will, this is just a compliment set up ) the craft alone would make this worth reading. You have an exact way with words.

Obviously, my take on Snape is very different than yours (my Snape is tortured child trying to cope), but I think your story will do him him credit.

I'll try to get back to this soon, but I just had to say "Yeah!" to your descriptive prose.

Catherine

Reviewer: NightZephyrDate: 2002-08-18
Reviewid: 2379Chapter: 1
posted on the original SQ by: NightZephyr
Registered User
Posts: 16
(2/8/02 4:50:23 am )
Reply
Re: Christina Teresa
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Okay, I sooo wanted to go on to "Hufflepuff", Part 2 immediately, but I need to tell you how great Part 1 was first!

First of all, I'm awed. You paint such wonderful "mind pictures"! I felt I was right there at the Burning Ritual--but I didn't want to look! (Luckily, you broke the tension with the line about Snape not wanting to attend "some DeathEater mixer"--indeed! HeeHee!)

Balin and Isela are appropriately slimy creatures--they deserve each other, and, of course you've depicted a hateful, despicable Voldie. I like how you've made him seem less maniacal and more coldly calculating here.

I've always sort of wondered about the Snape/DeathEater/ Hogwart's/Dumbledore combo and how that all happened--you've created some good plausible background.

I LOVE how you've personified Snape's nagging doubt about Voldie into the person of Miss Robbins (hmmm...a nurse, perhaps?). And the best part... how, in the dream, Miss Robbins, sends Snape the answer to his problems in the form of Dumbledore. Really great stuff!! So *now* I get to meet Veronica!

Night Zephyr

Reviewer: kDate: 2002-08-15
Reviewid: 2045Chapter: 3
It was really good all of it chapt 2 was so cool!

Reviewer: Christina TeresaDate: 2002-08-12
Reviewid: 1701Chapter: 3
Thanks Genny for letting me know about chapter 2. It's now up and ready to be read. Glad you like it so far.

Christina

Reviewer: gENNYDate: 2002-08-11
Reviewid: 1672Chapter: 1
gREAT BUT CHAPTER TWO IS MISSING GOES BACK TO PROLOGUE

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --