The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Conversation
Review(s): 31

Reviewer: readerDate: 2005-02-02
Reviewid: 112687Chapter: 1
ouch
very good
ouch

Reviewer: LittlewolfDate: 2005-01-11
Reviewid: 110530Chapter: 1
Hi! I followed up this story from fictionalley.org, and I must say, this is a beautiful characterization of both Fudge and Percy. You must continue thestory. Good luck!

Reviewer: 1701Date: 2004-12-10
Reviewid: 107418Chapter: 1
Character driven stories always work best for one shots I find. This was brilliant, keep writing Zequist :).

Reviewer: HummieDate: 2004-12-06
Reviewid: 107010Chapter: 1
Hullo :) This was recommended at schnoogle.com so I came a read :) This was a fascinating insight into Fudge and Percy. I really hope you follow up on this fanfiction. It was really well done :)

Reviewer: Andrea13Date: 2004-12-05
Reviewid: 106951Chapter: 1
Oh, poor Percy! You captured his character very well. Congratulations on your Niffle. It's very much deserved.

Reviewer: ChelsieDate: 2004-11-30
Reviewid: 106375Chapter: 1
Wow. This is a pretty acurate portrayal of Percy in my opinion. Great job.

Reviewer: MaskDate: 2004-01-09
Reviewid: 66383Chapter: 1
A good take on what I imagine many of us have imagined in our own minds since reading OotP. I think it was interesting how you showed at the end of the piece that this is not just a problem that can be resolved instantaniously. Its going to take some hard work and effort. Anyway I look forward to reading more of your work.
Mask

Reviewer: DianaDate: 2003-10-20
Reviewid: 57121Chapter: 1
Yea, it's hard 2 give in with courage when all u can do is break down and cry; I've done that many times because I somehow can't control the how my body reacts, so I can't always stay strong when trying to talk to someone about my problems and all. Anyways, I- LOOOVVED IT!

Reviewer: eDate: 2003-10-19
Reviewid: 57080Chapter: 1
Very great.I love it! Please, oh please, write a sequel. This, besides being one of the best SQ stories ever, is perfect.I love it. Please please write more. Super story!

Reviewer: ZequistDate: 2003-10-19
Reviewid: 57018Chapter: 1
Thanks for the reviews, everyone! I appreciate it.

Stella - yes, Hannah is next on the agenda. The first chapter is going through the beta cycle now, so it hopefully won't be too long.

Muggle Molly - I've written a few other things that I have archived at fanfiction.net, that will probably never see the light of day on the Quill. Mostly filks, but there's also a short H/G piece. I also have a new project in the pipeline coming soon, that will be posted here.

Insanity and Myf - Under normal circumstances I agree that this would be way out of character for Fudge (even Percy thinks so), because he doesn't normally let himself show any signs of weakness, but he's under lots of stress here. His whole framework of belief has been upended by Voldemort's return, people he trusted turned out to be agents of the enemy, and he's been up all night presiding over interrogations and other emergencies, so he hasn't slept in over 24 hours, or probably even had many chances to sit down and relax. Under those circumstances, I think it's believable that his defenses are down and he's more open than, well, maybe ever in his life. Shock combined with sleep deprivation has a way of making people do things they normally might not.

Reviewer: AeternaDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 57003Chapter: 1
That was really sweet and very much in Percy character. I always knew he would come around ::tear::.

Much love,
'Terna

Reviewer: Lady NorbertDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 56938Chapter: 1
Very good! I'm personally very curious to see how the Weasley situation really gets resolved in the canon, since Percy went and made such an @$$ of himself. This is a definite possibility, and well written. I look forward to more from you.

Reviewer: Margaret B.Date: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 56917Chapter: 1
Really, really good and in-character!! I do hope there is a sequal or another chapter...this needs it!!!
~Meg

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 56896Chapter: 1
It's an incredible missing moment- very ic :)

Reviewer: wilaniaDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 56880Chapter: 1
Very moving. A thoughtful piece that I enjoyed reading very much. Thank you for keeping Percy so in character. It does you credit that you can take an honest and yet empathetic look into the life of someone most people just pass over as an "evil git".
Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: InsanityDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56857Chapter: 1
Wonderful job with Percy, perfectly in character. A nice plot idea, too, although I can't see Fudge being so wise and honest... May be another Ministry official could have been more believable

Reviewer: Muggle MollyDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56844Chapter: 1
Good piece of writing. I also think it would be very hard for Percy to knock on that door and admit he was wrong. Do you have any other stories? I hope so.

Reviewer: Fawkes101Date: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56837Chapter: 1
Brilliant fic! I always wondered what Percy would do after OotP. Awesome job!

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56829Chapter: 1
What a wonderful look inside Percy’s head! I’m so glad he still cares for his family, even if he is not ready to ask them to forgive him yet. Psychologically speaking, you’ve done a superb job with Percy’s personal “war” with himself.

“He could have forgiven his family had they been wrong, but he couldn't forgive himself. He didn't know how; he'd never dealt with this before. And if he couldn't forgive himself, he knew he wasn't ready to ask his family to forgive him yet either.”

I couldn’t have said it more perfectly myself. Your closing paragraphs really got to me, too. You’ve written a wonderful story which I will enjoy reading many times over.

Reviewer: beckDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56819Chapter: 1
LOVED it it was so good i think you should write more on it but if not its good the way it is so well written you protrated percy so well it was great

Reviewer: P.D. YerfDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56793Chapter: 1
That was great!! Write more!! PLEEEEEEEEASE??

Reviewer: LeelaDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56769Chapter: 1
Nicely written. :~)

Reviewer: AshturDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56750Chapter: 1
Bravo!
Percy is appropriately officious, and I love his new "determination" at the end!

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56736Chapter: 1
Great story, Zequist!! Definitely a missing moment worth bringing to light. I am really hoping that we will get to see the moment in canon when he reconciles with his family. You've written this moment very well, with a very believable characterization of Percy.

Favorite line: "He could have forgiven his family had they been wrong, but he couldn't forgive himself." Yet if he'd examine that thought, he'd see that they would forgive him, too. Well done.

Reviewer: StellaDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56733Chapter: 1
Awww, Percy! Very good portrayal of a very difficult character. I have a hard time being sympathetic toward Percy, so I don't think that I could write him well (though maybe if I tried, I might get to like him more), but you towed the line nicely between him still being a decent human being who still loves his family and his being a prat who refuses to admit when they're right.

Nice story!

-Stella

p.s. Does this mean that we're going to get to see the Hannah series soon???

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56728Chapter: 1
Oh, I'm very impressed with this one! While the conversation with Fudge is a bit -- odd -- it sets up a very interesting scenario for looking at how Percy will have to face the coming times, as well as the past he's created for himself. I feel you've caught him completely in character, and that's not an easy feat!

Reviewer: MyfDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56724Chapter: 1
Oh, poor Percy. I still want to kick him, hard, but still.

I've been wondering whether Fudge would act as you've described, admitting he's wrong and quickly working to fix things, or whether he'd still be rather belligerent and defensive, the shame of his actions manifesting themselves in impatience with everyone else. I like your take on it, but I'm not sure about it. But you address the confusion and pain of admitting you're wrong and asking for forgiveness really well.

Thanks.

Reviewer: LDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56714Chapter: 1
aw, precious missing moment! Great job!!

Reviewer: KimDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56685Chapter: 1
I love this.

Reviewer: nindeDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56680Chapter: 1
J.K. Rowling could have written that!
It is perfect!
I Love It!

Reviewer: VeritaserumDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56679Chapter: 1
Wow this is fantastic, I really like it! I have a firm belief that Percy will go over to the dark side but I think that this is very real and powerful. Maybe you can write a sequel of him telling his family?

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --