The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 29

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2005-12-07
Reviewid: 136846Chapter: 1
Funny - Thanks

Reviewer: Seedy BeaDate: 2005-11-17
Reviewid: 135959Chapter: 1
Yes, they are, aren't they? Write what Godric and Salazar did!

Reviewer: ThessalyDate: 2005-10-12
Reviewid: 134376Chapter: 1
Hah hah hah. I can't stop laughing. Great dialogue - it flies along smoothly and is quite inspired.

Reviewer: Thomas NøhrDate: 2004-04-08
Reviewid: 77746Chapter: 1
Funny, and as for male bashing.. nahh no disclaimers needed, we are sometimes dim.. I think it's just a part of being human really, you know, two arms, two legs, one head.. dim..
Liked the story, gave me a chuckle.

Reviewer: SprainrainDate: 2004-03-07
Reviewid: 73521Chapter: 1
Wonderful little fic that explains one of those little things that really could do with an explanation. And male bashing can be so grand, especially for the mood I'm in now. Thanks.

Reviewer: JolieDate: 2004-02-21
Reviewid: 71749Chapter: 1
This is not only funny, but also *witty*, which is not always the same thing, and which is why I like it!

I don't usually read founder fics - there's so little canon to build on, I simply don't feel at home in that era - but in this case I do. Maybe because I can identify so much with the need to express the fact that men *can* be incurably stupid at times. ;-)

Anyway, great idea - I wonder if JKR has a story of her own behind the Hogwarts motto? If not, I'm totally willing to accept this as canon!

Reviewer: emmelineDate: 2004-02-21
Reviewid: 71689Chapter: 1
Hee hee...I like it! Very nice indeed - humourous, light-hearted and most likely true! A welcome break from a lot of the darker fics around at the moment (specifically mine!). Keep writing.

Reviewer: Cameo CaelanDate: 2004-02-20
Reviewid: 71527Chapter: 1
Wow! I love founder fics and Latin, but the two together can't be anything less than a masterpiece. A funny, somewhat male-bashing masterpiece!

Reviewer: Katie BellDate: 2004-02-19
Reviewid: 71458Chapter: 1
I loved it. I also liked your other fic (the prequel).

Reviewer: GryffinMiraurDate: 2004-02-19
Reviewid: 71349Chapter: 1
Classic! Absolutely classic! I really enjoyed reading this. What a wonderful way to get a motto.

Reviewer: RainydaieDate: 2004-01-10
Reviewid: 66416Chapter: 1
Oh, that was great! I've always wondered about the motto, execelent... educated guess? Whatever. Great title, too. Where'd ja get that? Not that you can awnser, i suppose. Sorta. Whatever. Sorry. Anyway, very funny story. Was choking (had been drinking) by end. More!

Reviewer: TLDate: 2003-12-02
Reviewid: 61604Chapter: 1
^^ This was highly amusing! I did notice some latin mistakes ('homo' means 'human' as in 'homo sapiens', 'vir' means man), but as this fic was great in all other aspects I'll forgive you. ^^

I don't know about any free translation sites, but if you want you can e-mail me (*points above at e-mail addy*) and I'll do my best (after two semesters of Latin, that has to be /okay/ ^^).

Write more!

-TL

Reviewer: Talking Purple RabbitsDate: 2003-11-16
Reviewid: 60227Chapter: 1
HAHAHA!!!!

The beginning was ok, the middle was fine, but the ending was HILARIOUS!

"“Godric!” Both women scurried towards him. He dropped the necklace and managed to gasp out, in a hoarse voice, “Never--ticklea--sleeping...dragon,” just before he collapsed in a clash of armor, face forward, a singed smell still emanating from him."

BRILLIANT!
And I love your title. I think it shall be my new motto. :)

ta,
~TPR

Reviewer: 1726dedicatedfanDate: 2003-11-05
Reviewid: 58840Chapter: 1
i love it!! iloveitiloveitiloveitiloveitiloveit! lol, goodness that just made my day *wipes tears of laughter from eyes*
;D

Reviewer: nindeDate: 2003-10-30
Reviewid: 58342Chapter: 1
I LLLLLLLOOOOOOOOVVVVEEEEEE it!!!!!!!!!!!!
I myself like, Dux Femina Facti or, Homo insanabilis socordis.
I love that poem, The Jabberwocky!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Thanks for that link to find it in Latin!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-10-27
Reviewid: 57997Chapter: 1
LOL! I find nothing wrong with this, it was hilarious, except that it's a tad bit short.

Reviewer: ProngsyDate: 2003-10-25
Reviewid: 57816Chapter: 1
Love it darling! I died when you brought in Jabberwocky!

If you need any beta help or anything, do email moi!

ROFL!!! LOVED IT!!

Reviewer: warlockDate: 2003-10-23
Reviewid: 57588Chapter: 1
Catapultam habeo. Nisi pecuniam omnem mihi dabis, ad caput tuum saxum immane mittam.

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2003-10-20
Reviewid: 57127Chapter: 1
I liked it very much, and since I don't speak latin at all, I don't give a Billywig if it's wrong!

Reviewer: AdyDate: 2003-10-19
Reviewid: 57056Chapter: 1
*grins* Funny. There were some punct. things that were bugging me: After -- your end quote was always turned the wrong way. Check symbols in Word to fix that.

I did want more of this... I might just have to filch your idea and play my own tune. ^_^

Reviewer: MeianhDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 57012Chapter: 1
lol, lol, lol !!! ha, ha, ha. It was really funny!!! and I can really imagine that it was exactly the way Hogwarts ended with such a motto. It was great!!

Reviewer: Twilight's DawnDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 56958Chapter: 1
That was incredibly amusing, and I like your take on the founders. I also admire your dedication to finding Latin translations. Something I'd like to point out though - Lewis Carroll didn't write the Jaberwocky until WAY after the founders would have lived. Lewis Carrol wrote in the 1800s, I think, and the Founders would have been...around the year 1000, I think.

Reviewer: H'tariDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 56898Chapter: 1
I have to agree with the 'men are stupid' comment. :) Great fic, btw

Reviewer: PaulineDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 56888Chapter: 1
Absolutely corking! Extra credit points for the translation of Lewis Carroll and (more importantly) explaining why those blasted borogroves were mimsy. Mind you, I've always thought "Ave Nauta" was a nice motto too ....

If I have a criticism of your stories (and I have to try veeery hard to find one) it's that everything you write is so short. Not that this story need to be increased by a single word - it's pretty much perfect. But I can't help wishing you'd write something that went on for ages, so that I could enjoy it for longer. Here's hoping that somewhere in the fertile nooks and crannies of your imagination there's an epic waiting to come out. :)

Reviewer: ...Date: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 56884Chapter: 1
*Dies of laughter* Hysterical!

Reviewer: ScarlettDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 56878Chapter: 1
That was great!

“And given today’s events, it undeniably gives the message, ‘Men are incurably stupid,’” she said, pointedly looking down at the comatose knight.

LMBO!!

All this time, I never thought about the fact that the Hogwart's founders were neatly broken down into 2 witches and 2 wizards. Interesting!

Reviewer: dinkaDate: 2003-10-18
Reviewid: 56874Chapter: 1
that was cute. I love that quote. :o)

Reviewer: DonDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56735Chapter: 1
Very Good!! That is a perfect way to bring that about! And you got in a few good sexist remarks. Well done!

Reviewer: CendrillonDate: 2003-10-17
Reviewid: 56688Chapter: 1
Very cute! I liked it, especially the "men are incurably stupid" part. I'd love to see another little Hogwarts founders vignette from you.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --